Customer reviews for Hobnail Tumbler

Hobnail Tumbler

Hobnail Tumbler
Average rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
32 of 37(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hobnail Tumbler
Review 1 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromPearl City, HI
Age range:25-29
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

WICKED AWESOME RETRO TUMBLERS!!!

PostedJune 4, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: fun vintage looking design, nice and heavy drinking glasses, manly enough for my boyfriend to use!
Cons: may be fragile - one arrived broken!
"These tumblers are gorgeous! I bought four in each color. They are all beautiful, but the blue color is brighter than I was expecting. It's less turquoise and more of a true blue. For those that are curious about the size of the glasses, they are almost 6 inches tall and 3 1/2 inches in diameter. When water gets below half way full, it bubbles up from the bottom and may splash you in the face. Others may find this annoying, but I find it to be a charming aspect of these drinking glasses.
In my order of twelve, one arrived broken. I called Anthropologie on the spot and they have already mailed me a replacement no questions asked. Because one arrived broken in their well-packaged box, I am concerned about how long they will last. Overall though I love them! They are kitschy cute!!!"
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Sturdy and pretty

PostedJuly 29, 2009
Pros: gorgeous, well made, retro
Cons: get splattered in the face with your beverage
"I was so excited to get these glasses for my bridal shower as I had been lusting after them for weeks! I have 2 in each color, they are very pretty and very well made. This may sound like an analogy, but if you purchase these glasses, please make sure your glass is always half full! My only complaint is that at the bottom of the glasses there is a lip (as you can see in the pictures) and if your glass gets less than half full when you take a sip, a bubble forms and your drink makes a funny "plop" noise and you get splattered in the face with the beverage you were drinking. I didn't tell my fiance about it and he actually asked me if they were "trick cups" haha But since I really do love these glasses, I have decided to keep them and just always make sure that my glass is always more than half full :)"
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

disappointing

PostedDecember 19, 2012
"I got a set of these glasses for Christmas last year and I was so excited about them, but have since had to retire them because of their design flaw which makes them unsanitary. The bottom lip of the glass is not sealed off, so it creates a narrow pocket that can't be cleaned by regular dishwashing. It allows mold to grow and even though I've treated the cups with different liquid cleaning agents, the mold and grime festers. The glasses are very pretty, but unusable."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Not all tumblers are created equal!

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Pros: look great
Cons: vary in quality, thorough cleaning necessary
"I bought two of these in clear and within another few days decided to buy two more! They are great looking and so far, no breakage. I want to point out that not all of these glasses are of the same exact quality though. Sometimes the bubbles are not fully formed. These means that sometimes one tumbler will have a smoother surface than the others. ALSO please note that the heft of these glasses may vary. I have one that is quite light (I almost wondered if it was plastic) and then another which is almost double the weight. Inspect them carefully before you buy
PS: My one REAL complaint is about the area at the bottom where liquid gets trapped. If there is any sediment in the liquid it can be a pain to clean. I have found that the only way to clean this is to put a very small amount of hot water in the glass and swirl until it erodes away the particles."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

I love these glasses

PostedOctober 8, 2009
"I bought a dozen of these in blue. They go well with the blue glass that I inherited from my grandma (from the 1940's and earlier). I love them and am eyeing the smaller glasses as well. They do make a popping noise when you're drinking the last of the liquid from them, but it's more fun than annoying."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Nice glass

PostedJuly 21, 2014
"Great glass, but I haven't considered it is so big, so can be use as a small vase, and there is space on the bottom, so it quite difficult to wash it"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Windowsill Worthy

PostedJune 25, 2010
"I love these vintage inspired glasses... Well, except for the surprise-splash-in-the-face every time I reach the bottom. My guests get a kick out of that as well if I forget to warn them. Anyway, these are worth the price. The glass is very thick, although I have had to replace two because they broke (by being dropped). They are such pretty colors, I have all three, and just want to set them on display in the windowsill for the sun to shine through. I have the smaller ones, my husband refuses to drink out of them because they are so tiny. I will keep these for as long as I can."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hobnail Tumbler
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Do NOT buy!

PostedMay 14, 2012
"I loved the look of these glasses and have been looking everywhere for a reasonably priced hobnail style. BUT was very disappointed when I actually tried to drink out of them. Based on so many of the other reviewers having the same complaint, I wonder why this product still has such a high rating! As another person wrote, "...the bottom of the glasses has a lip (as you can see in the pictures) and if your glass gets less than half full when you take a sip, a bubble forms and your drink makes a funny "plop" noise and you get splattered in the face with the beverage you were drinking." Do you really want to warn your guests about drinking from your glasses? I was sooo disappointed and ended up returning all of them (I received 12 for my birthday).
I actually have "das boot" - for those of you who've seen Beer Fest. These glasses function the exact same way as the boot!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Adorable Product, Not So Practical

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: very cute
Cons: splash in your face
"I was so excited about my recent purchase of 12 Clear Hobnail Tumblers. However, upon use I found a major problem. Every time myself or my guests took a sip from one of these glasses, our beverage would splash back in our faces. The base of the glass is not just a pretty design element, it also fills with liquid. Therefore when you move the glass away from your mouth, you hear a bubble noise and then you are splashed."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

pretty

PostedJune 2, 2011
Pros: color and style
Cons: bottom space
"Love it! The bottom has a place that you must be careful to keep clean. It would be better if it did not. Perfect weight and feel while holding it. Great for water."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromDestin, Florida
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedDecember 21, 2009
"some of the prettiest glasses i have ever seen. i bought 4 of the blue and love them..now i want 4 of another color! you will not be disappointed."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Not designed properly.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Pros: lovely
Cons: annoying to wash
"Firstly..I LOVED these glasses. I have been searching for hobnail glassware. I waited and waited to get them because they are not cheap and I wanted a set of 8. Oh so lovely when I opened them. But the trouble came when I washed them. There were little puddles of water floating in the bottom. They were draining upside down! So I shook the glasses to get the water out. Still there remains a puddle! If it dries like that over time it will look dull and crusty. So I used a dish cloth to dry. STILL THE PUDDLE EXISTS So I take a paper towel and twirl it to point to try to get into the very bottom. Still a puddle exists!! You have to twirl the paper towel to a point the then curve it to try to fish the tip right into the puddle. The problem can be found by looking at the bottom of the glass the base is out then in and up to form the glass. That lower base area is hollow not solid. So the water catches in there and and the surface tension of the curve holds the water. I can't tell you how annoying this is. I don't want crusty glasses. How much trouble would it be to return them though! Manufacturer and QA dropped the ball on this one."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromChapel Hill, NC
Age range:18-24
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

favorite glassware

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Pros: beautiful great quality
Cons: minor issues with cleaning
"i received 6 of these as a wedding gift last april and absolutely love them! the glass seems strong and a great quality-- i've had them almost a year and none have chipped or cracked. as others have mentioned they can sometimes collect dried ick in the dishwasher or be a bit hard to clean. this is a really minor issue though. definitely a great deal!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age range:25-29
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love - but I don't use it as a drinking glass...

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Pros: color (green), style
Cons: gunk gets caught under the rim at the bottom
"Bought this in green to hold toothbrushes and I love it. Several people have asked if it was vintage so if that's not a look you like then I do not recommend these glasses. Good quality glass and very pretty...considering getting more for other bathrooms in my home."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromNew York, N.Y.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Green Hobnail Glasses

PostedJune 28, 2012
Pros: color style size
Cons: cleaning the base inside
"I purchased these glasses in olive green. I love hobnail, and the size of this tumbler is generous. I recommend the glasses for liquids that are clear that can be easily washed out. If you make a smoothie, the contents can collect around the bottom inside the base, and can stick to the areas within the hobnails. I needed to use a straw brush cleaner to get blended fruit out of the bottom - soaking alone didn't dislodge it. I also needed a toothbrush to scrub out the inside of the glass to clean every hobnail. From now on I will be using clear drinks with no pulp for these glasses."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Awesome service!

PostedApril 17, 2010
Pros: too numerous to mention!
"Fast delivery! Exquisite products! Beautiful wrapping! What more can I say? Have already placed another order."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great Glasses

PostedMay 8, 2011
"Pretty, substantial, REALLY well-packed for shipping. Ordered 6, and all arrived intact."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hobnail Tumbler
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Love these tumblers

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Pros: lovely, feel great in the hand, sturdy
Cons: minor issue with washing
"I absolutely addore these tumblers! My family (including the boys) love these tumblers. They feel great in the hand, they are sturdy and the bumps are charming. When I look at these, I'm reminded of those old glasses you would see at a carnival. I had to give it an overall rating of four stars because in the inside, where the glass scoops out at the bottom, stuff gets caught up there in the diswasher. It's not a big problem, but a little gross when it does happen. I just have to remember not to tilt the glasses too much when loading the dishwasher."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromChicago, IL
Age range:25-29
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

So cute!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
"I have owned these for over two years now and they are my absolute favorite glasses. They add such a cute flair to the table, and people always compliment me on them. Yes, the bottom lip does sometimes surprise you with a splash of whatever you're trying to drink... but it hasn't happened to me often enough to stop using them. I have also never had a quality issue with them. I am pretty clumsy and have broken my fair share of dishes of all kind - but not these! (:knocks on wood:)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hobnail Tumbler
fromLos Angeles
Age range:30-34
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Fun and functional

PostedJuly 27, 2012
"I just bought 1 to replace a broken glass. I have a set of 8 green glasses. Love everything about them, especially their old-fashioned look! As other reviewers have said, once the glass is less than half full and you do not finish your beverage, the foot of the glass causes a bubble that may pop up at you and you may get water or juice or whatever you're drinking splashed on your nose! Doesn't really bother me, just thought you may want to know."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>