Customer reviews for Wise Ol' Canister

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Wise Ol' Canister

Wise Ol' Canister
Overall rating:
4.821 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 of 28(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wise Ol' Canister
Review 1 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedMarch 30, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 30, 2010

Love this jar

This cookie jar is great quality and a nice size. I use it for dog treats. It really adds color to my kitchen. A bit pricey, but it was worth it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedMay 5, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 5, 2010

Sheer Joy and Utter Cuteness

She's back! I got her a year ago and not a day goes by that I do not stare at her! Of course she is perched high above all clumsy hands and as of yet has not had a single cookie becrumb her inards! Maybe one day when I have kids I will allow it (of course myself and myself only will handle her) but till then, she's just a peice of art that is getting my money's worth by just looking beautiful! Hopefully, she'll be passed down to my grandkids! (My mother still has her cookie jar that her grandmother gave her!)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color, design, quality
Cons: you won't want to use it it's so cute!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 15, 2011

Perfect!!!

I have been in love with this owl cookie jar for some time but the price tag was holding me back. I finally gave in and got him and am so glad I did! The color and design is beautiful and every time I see him on my kitchen counter I smile. I wouldn't actually store cookies in this jar as the lid has no seal and I am afraid to break it. I know it's crazy to spend $128 on a cookie jar and not use it, but this is such a special piece and looks amazing in my kitchen next to my stack of colorful latte bowls!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: super unique
Cons: won't keep your cookies fresh
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 7, 2011

Wise old owl cookie Jar is Best!

I kept debating between the winking cookie jar, and wise old owl. The winking was less money(that is if almost $70 seems like less!) whereas the other was over $100. The winking is a cutie! I decided to see them at my Local anthro stores to compare. The winking is cute, but much cheaper in quality. Just has that fake replica look. The painting is sparse and rather sloppy. Kinda reminded me of the very cheap decorative ceramic products made in China, that can be purchased at the large chain stores. The molding on the winking is nice, but that paint...not good. Also it appears prone to chipping. The Italian designed owl is far superior and amazing! Of course Italian ceramics are renoun, so for more money, the quality does off set cost. The painting is vibrant and far far superior as is the design. So, out I walked with my wonderful Wise owl!
I think the wise old owl is a wise old purchase!!!!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: gorgeous italian quality & design
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 12, 2010

Cute Touch

My husband actually purchased this, which is quite shocking! We always get comments on it "oh there's the orange owl". He's off our table now, higher up. I put cookies in him, and they dried out, so I'm guessing it doesn't seal well. You'd have to put cookies in a plastic bag inside the owl to keep fresh, but other than that I'd say he's worth the price for the cuteness he adds to our house! Something different is always good!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute, well made, unique
Cons: doesn't seal well
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 17, 2010

COULDN'T BE CUTER!!!

I LOVE this cookie jar!!! I have a thing for owls and birds, and this looks SO cute in my eclectic kitchen. The only down fall...$128 for a cookie jar that is for decoration purposes only. It's not air tight, so you have to keep your cookies in baggies inside the jar. It is made in Italy, though. Great quality. I couldn't resist!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: too cute for words!
Cons: way too expensive for a non-functional cookie jar
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedAugust 6, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 6, 2010

adorable, fun

i saw this in store and am about to place an order for it as soon as i finish writing this review. in store, the markings on the owls face etc were a lighter grey color whereas they appear darker and more brownish online. i don't know if that's a poor representation or if the colors vary from piece to piece. one thing i wanted to state in a review, since no one else had, is that this cookie jar is not airtight- there is no rubber or plastic inside the lid or anything like that to better seal up the jar's contents. i will not be using this for treats for now as i live in a VERY OLD ("historic") apartment building. i would get bugs if i left anything out in a container that wasn't airtight. but i'm buying it just because it's cute enough to sit on my counter, and someday when i'm in my "forever home", maybe i will use it for cookies, too!!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 11, 2010

I have been watching this lovely cookie jar ever since I started shopping at Anthropologie a little over a year ago. I just love the vintage appeal it has. For the past few months, I have not seen this cookie jar in any of my local Anthro's and it is now back ordered online. Finally, the other day while shopping in Anthro with a friend of mine, I noticed one sitting on the shelf. The SA told me they sell out as soon as they come in, and it was the last one left. I decided to go ahead and make the purchase so that I wouldn't miss out again, and regret it later. I plan on using it for decoration rather than a cookie jar. She is now sitting pretty on the top of my fireplace & she adds the perfect little pizazz to my living room. She is a bit pricey for a cookie jar, but she's not just "any" cookie jar, and I think she is worth every penny!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 14, 2010

love this - so fun!

I bought this owl more as a decorative piece, rather than to use as an actual cookie jar (i have three young kids, so i worry about it breaking) - right now it is sitting on our fireplace mantle, and it looks great! It is pricey, but a really fun piece to have!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: bright color vintage look size
Cons: price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 29, 2010

Wise Ol' Owl, not-so-wise mom of 4

I love, love, LOVE this item! As soon as I saw it, I knew I had to have it, as it coordinates with my newly remodeled kitchen perfectly. I do have 4 kids, though, so it will most likely not be actually "used", as it would surely be sitting on the floor in a pile of broken glass if their grubby little hands got all over it! For now they are content just looking at it. They love it too! I also bought the owl switchplate, so I have a mini-theme of sorts going on.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 7, 2011

So, So Cute, Classic Anthro!

I LOVE this cookie jar - so unique and would look so cute in my kitchen. I have yet to succumb to the temptation though - I can't bring myself to pay $128.00 for a cookie jar that I will never use as a cookie jar! Just wish that SOMEDAY it would go on sale!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: adorable unique
Cons: so so cute yet so so pricey!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedFebruary 9, 2011

Love this cookie jar! It's so vibrant & cute! The owl cookie jars from here are my favorite, I always get them! This one, as well as the others, are in Claire's kitchen on Modern Family!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedDecember 28, 2011

Unique, Quirky & Lovely Orange Color

My 2nd owl cookie jar! I have the gray as well. I'm not a crazy owl fanatic but these are beautiful cookie jars. So quirky and unique, truly beautiful pieces. I bought mine in my local store. It did have a few chips around the eyes so I got a discount. Yes!! I had a LePen that matched perfectly and it's now perfect. Love that its not made in China. Wearing well so far. I had over a year now.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful orangey-red color
Cons: some chipping likely over time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 27, 2011

Love it!!!

I looked at this wise old owl so many times. It was love at first sight but just couldn't get around the price tag... finally gave in, No regrets, he is the guardian of my kitchen counter and looks fantastic!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful detail
Cons: no seal
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedJanuary 21, 2011

Cute!

This owl cookie jar is adorable. It adds a nice pop of orange to a dull kitchen. Made in Italy and nice quality. The only thing that I don't like is that it doesn't have a rubber seal around the top. Without a seal, if I do put cookies or whatever inside, they will not stay fresh. Cookie jars don't always have a seal but for this price, it should!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: cute, makes me smile, bright, nice size
Cons: no rubber seal around top, price is high
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedAugust 20, 2011

Fabulous

Great, great piece. The color is rich and vibrant, and the craftsmanship is first-rate. It looks even better in person than it does in the picture. I winced a little bit at the price when I ordered it, but once it arrived I was very happy.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color, workmanship
Cons: price
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 22, 2011

Using mine as a bowl/vase...

I purchased just the base of this cookie jar on super markdown (because it was missing its head). My dad purchased me a whole one for Christmas, but I returned it because I like the look of just the base and it will serve me better as a vase or bowl (since there's no seal, and I wouldn't actually keep cookies in it). I'm not encouraging you to damage your own! Just pointing out that it's a versatile little jar.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
PostedSeptember 30, 2012

Adorable owl canister

I've had this owl canister for a few months and I always receive compliments on it when people see it. It adds a cute flair to your kitchen!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
PostedAugust 21, 2012

Oh my orange owl!

There are certain things you buy that make you feel tinglely..this is one of them. I love orange and I love owls. I originally went looking for antique owl cookie jars because a neighbor had one when I was a child. When this owl came up I feel like he was made for me..Love, Love!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: perfect match for my kitchen
Cons: have a terrible two visitor occasionally.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wise Ol' Canister
PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 17, 2012

The Highlight of my kitchen

This canister is so vibrant in color! It's so beautifully made.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>