Customer reviews for Wise Ol' Canister

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Wise Ol' Canister

Wise Ol' Canister
Average rating:
4.821 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 of 28(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wise Ol' Canister
Review 1 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Wise old owl cookie Jar is Best!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Pros: gorgeous italian quality & design
Cons: none
" I kept debating between the winking cookie jar, and wise old owl. The winking was less money(that is if almost $70 seems like less!) whereas the other was over $100. The winking is a cutie! I decided to see them at my Local anthro stores to compare. The winking is cute, but much cheaper in quality. Just has that fake replica look. The painting is sparse and rather sloppy. Kinda reminded me of the very cheap decorative ceramic products made in China, that can be purchased at the large chain stores. The molding on the winking is nice, but that paint...not good. Also it appears prone to chipping. The Italian designed owl is far superior and amazing! Of course Italian ceramics are renoun, so for more money, the quality does off set cost. The painting is vibrant and far far superior as is the design. So, out I walked with my wonderful Wise owl!
I think the wise old owl is a wise old purchase!!!!!
"
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromWashington, DC
Age range:45-49
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

What's not to love about an orange owl?

PostedJuly 24, 2012
" I didn't even know this piece existed until it was presented to me by dear friends for my birthday. It is one of those things that you may not run out and buy for yourself but you'd like to have it ... thereby making it a pretty perfect gift! The contrasting periwinkle against the bright orange is a very nice touch, this is very well made pottery. My owl head fits securely whether it is looking straight ahead or turned quizzically to the side, I prefer the sideways glance. No, there is not seal but that will not prevent me from using this as a cookie jar ... zip lock bags people! Fresh cookies and no mess. My microwave just lost it's main job. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromMinneapolis, MN
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Wise Ol' Owl, not-so-wise mom of 4

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
" I love, love, LOVE this item! As soon as I saw it, I knew I had to have it, as it coordinates with my newly remodeled kitchen perfectly. I do have 4 kids, though, so it will most likely not be actually "used", as it would surely be sitting on the floor in a pile of broken glass if their grubby little hands got all over it! For now they are content just looking at it. They love it too! I also bought the owl switchplate, so I have a mini-theme of sorts going on. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromOrlando, FL
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Fabulous

PostedAugust 20, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: color, workmanship
Cons: price
" Great, great piece. The color is rich and vibrant, and the craftsmanship is first-rate. It looks even better in person than it does in the picture. I winced a little bit at the price when I ordered it, but once it arrived I was very happy. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromSan Diego, CA, USA
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

He's just perfect!

PostedJune 20, 2013
User submitted photo
Cons: eyes are a little crooked but okay!
" Okay, I saw this owl in early spring, and oh how I wanted him. He was Orange, he was dreamy, and hit a chord with me. I love orange, I love cookies, and Owls.. now. They have some kind of intrigue, yet I do not collect any owl "chakis"
I read all the reviews again last night and reflected on Mother's Day I had hoped to have been my owl day, as I couldn't justify the purchase for myself. Online, I saw the blue and green, and thought
Oh! Even better!
Today I went to my Anthro store, and there on clearance 69.99 was Orangelo the Owl. He's home on the counter and loaded with lemon snaps. His head is cocked for fun, and he is not camera shy!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

So, So Cute, Classic Anthro!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Pros: adorable unique
Cons: so so cute yet so so pricey!
" I LOVE this cookie jar - so unique and would look so cute in my kitchen. I have yet to succumb to the temptation though - I can't bring myself to pay $128.00 for a cookie jar that I will never use as a cookie jar! Just wish that SOMEDAY it would go on sale! "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute!

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Pros: cute, makes me smile, bright, nice size
Cons: no rubber seal around top, price is high
" This owl cookie jar is adorable. It adds a nice pop of orange to a dull kitchen. Made in Italy and nice quality. The only thing that I don't like is that it doesn't have a rubber seal around the top. Without a seal, if I do put cookies or whatever inside, they will not stay fresh. Cookie jars don't always have a seal but for this price, it should! "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromatlanta, ga
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Using mine as a bowl/vase...

PostedDecember 22, 2011
" I purchased just the base of this cookie jar on super markdown (because it was missing its head). My dad purchased me a whole one for Christmas, but I returned it because I like the look of just the base and it will serve me better as a vase or bowl (since there's no seal, and I wouldn't actually keep cookies in it). I'm not encouraging you to damage your own! Just pointing out that it's a versatile little jar. "
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love it!!!

PostedMay 27, 2011
Pros: beautiful detail
Cons: no seal
" I looked at this wise old owl so many times. It was love at first sight but just couldn't get around the price tag... finally gave in, No regrets, he is the guardian of my kitchen counter and looks fantastic!! "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromSD, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love this jar

PostedMarch 30, 2010
" This cookie jar is great quality and a nice size. I use it for dog treats. It really adds color to my kitchen. A bit pricey, but it was worth it! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

adorable, fun

PostedAugust 6, 2010
" i saw this in store and am about to place an order for it as soon as i finish writing this review. in store, the markings on the owls face etc were a lighter grey color whereas they appear darker and more brownish online. i don't know if that's a poor representation or if the colors vary from piece to piece. one thing i wanted to state in a review, since no one else had, is that this cookie jar is not airtight- there is no rubber or plastic inside the lid or anything like that to better seal up the jar's contents. i will not be using this for treats for now as i live in a VERY OLD ("historic") apartment building. i would get bugs if i left anything out in a container that wasn't airtight. but i'm buying it just because it's cute enough to sit on my counter, and someday when i'm in my "forever home", maybe i will use it for cookies, too!!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
" I have been watching this lovely cookie jar ever since I started shopping at Anthropologie a little over a year ago. I just love the vintage appeal it has. For the past few months, I have not seen this cookie jar in any of my local Anthro's and it is now back ordered online. Finally, the other day while shopping in Anthro with a friend of mine, I noticed one sitting on the shelf. The SA told me they sell out as soon as they come in, and it was the last one left. I decided to go ahead and make the purchase so that I wouldn't miss out again, and regret it later. I plan on using it for decoration rather than a cookie jar. She is now sitting pretty on the top of my fireplace & she adds the perfect little pizazz to my living room. She is a bit pricey for a cookie jar, but she's not just "any" cookie jar, and I think she is worth every penny!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age range:30-34
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Unique, Quirky & Lovely Orange Color

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Pros: beautiful orangey-red color
Cons: some chipping likely over time
" My 2nd owl cookie jar! I have the gray as well. I'm not a crazy owl fanatic but these are beautiful cookie jars. So quirky and unique, truly beautiful pieces. I bought mine in my local store. It did have a few chips around the eyes so I got a discount. Yes!! I had a LePen that matched perfectly and it's now perfect. Love that its not made in China. Wearing well so far. I had over a year now. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromNew Bern, NC
Age range:45-49
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Oh my orange owl!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Pros: perfect match for my kitchen
Cons: have a terrible two visitor occasionally.
" There are certain things you buy that make you feel tinglely..this is one of them. I love orange and I love owls. I originally went looking for antique owl cookie jars because a neighbor had one when I was a child. When this owl came up I feel like he was made for me..Love, Love! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Age range:40-44
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

This is NOT a cookie jar

PostedApril 27, 2013
Pros: pretty & well made
Cons: somewhat impractical
" If you are buying this to store cookies, don't. It is blled as a "canister" because it doesn't have a seal to prevent cookies from going stale. I bought this simply as a design that I can use to store spare change, wrapped candies or other random items, and for that purpose it works well. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromOld Bridge, NJ
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Sheer Joy and Utter Cuteness

PostedMay 5, 2010
Pros: color, design, quality
Cons: you won't want to use it it's so cute!!
" She's back! I got her a year ago and not a day goes by that I do not stare at her! Of course she is perched high above all clumsy hands and as of yet has not had a single cookie becrumb her inards! Maybe one day when I have kids I will allow it (of course myself and myself only will handle her) but till then, she's just a peice of art that is getting my money's worth by just looking beautiful! Hopefully, she'll be passed down to my grandkids! (My mother still has her cookie jar that her grandmother gave her!) "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Cute Touch

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Pros: cute, well made, unique
Cons: doesn't seal well
" My husband actually purchased this, which is quite shocking! We always get comments on it "oh there's the orange owl". He's off our table now, higher up. I put cookies in him, and they dried out, so I'm guessing it doesn't seal well. You'd have to put cookies in a plastic bag inside the owl to keep fresh, but other than that I'd say he's worth the price for the cuteness he adds to our house! Something different is always good! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromChicago
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

COULDN'T BE CUTER!!!

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Pros: too cute for words!
Cons: way too expensive for a non-functional cookie jar
" I LOVE this cookie jar!!! I have a thing for owls and birds, and this looks SO cute in my eclectic kitchen. The only down fall...$128 for a cookie jar that is for decoration purposes only. It's not air tight, so you have to keep your cookies in baggies inside the jar. It is made in Italy, though. Great quality. I couldn't resist! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wise Ol' Canister
fromLos Angeles, CA.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

love this - so fun!

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Pros: bright color vintage look size
Cons: price
" I bought this owl more as a decorative piece, rather than to use as an actual cookie jar (i have three young kids, so i worry about it breaking) - right now it is sitting on our fireplace mantle, and it looks great! It is pricey, but a really fun piece to have! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wise Ol' Canister
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Pros: super unique
Cons: won't keep your cookies fresh
" I have been in love with this owl cookie jar for some time but the price tag was holding me back. I finally gave in and got him and am so glad I did! The color and design is beautiful and every time I see him on my kitchen counter I smile. I wouldn't actually store cookies in this jar as the lid has no seal and I am afraid to break it. I know it's crazy to spend $128 on a cookie jar and not use it, but this is such a special piece and looks amazing in my kitchen next to my stack of colorful latte bowls! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>