Customer reviews for Alphabet Hook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Alphabet Hook

Alphabet Hook
Average rating:
4.129 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
26 of 31(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alphabet Hook
Review 1 for Alphabet Hook
fromBrooklyn
Age range:25-29
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Alphabet Hooks

PostedApril 30, 2011
" I asked my husband to drill larger holes in these hooks after reading the reviews stating the hooks were unstable. I was then able to use #10 screws with screw holders and the hooks are now very stable and are used to hold up our towels in the bathroom. They are so cute, I highly recommend them if you can make these adjustments. "
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alphabet Hook
fromCalifornia
Age range:25-29
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Rusted in bathroom

PostedApril 24, 2013
User submitted photo
" I bought these hooks to hang in our bathroom, but they rusted along the seams (and beyond) after about 3 months. They weren't getting wet, it was just from the steamy atmosphere in the bathroom. "
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

hardware design could be better

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Pros: aesthetics - terrific
Cons: design - one screw
" These are the coolest hooks ever. They look absolutely terrific and are large and sturdy. The only real drawback that we can see is that they are designed with only one screw-hole. This makes them less stable and gives the potential to "spin" on the screw over time. My husband was able to drill a second screw hole, but because of the design, the second hole is very close to the first making the drywall weaker as a result. I guess the bottom line is that they are great, fun hooks but be careful where you mount them and how much "wear and tear" they might get if you're using them with kids. "
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Nice hooks but poor design

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Pros: design
Cons: no srews, no suggested screw sizes
" I bought these to put in our new bathroom. Like other reviews they have a poor design becuase only using one screw means the hooks rotate and scratch the wall. I even used plastic anchors but i am going to have to use trial and error to figure out the type of screw head and size to get the hooks attached to the wall securely. I came online to see if they were any suggested screw sizes but no luck! I am debating returning the product. "
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Adds a wonderful touch to our kitchen

PostedApril 1, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: rustic, spell out words
Cons: hardware not always included
" I recently purchased these hooks to showcase an apron and some potholders from Anthropologie that were given to me as a gift. They look wonderful in our kitchen, and had a hard time figuring out if we should spell out "COOK" or "BAKE," but ultimately went with "COOK." Three out of the four hooks purchased in store came with hardware, but my K didn't. I noticed that some letters had hardware while others didn't and found that a bit odd. They installed well, and they have somewhat of a rustic feel with the lettering on the hooks appearing a bit faded in spots. "
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alphabet Hook
fromKathleen, GA
Age range:35-39
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful hooks and possible install solution

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
" After reading all of the reviews and knowing there was the possible issue with only one screw to install these hooks, I still purchased the hooks for our bathroom. I love the look of these and wanted to take a chance. My husband came up with the idea to install these with some of the Command adhesives (those strips that can be used with the plastic hooks that can be stuck to your walls and easily peeled off), and this seems to work. We bought the smaller size ones (poster size) and stuck two of the strips together on the back of the hook. And the trick is making sure that the adhesive is low on the wall mount of the hook by the hole (not at the top since the top seems to bow out from the wall). So far so good...the hooks feel very sturdy, and I do not expect them to swivel from side to side. Very pleased with the finished product, but it would have been nice if the maufacturer would have just added a second hole already "
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alphabet Hook
fromSaratoga Springs, NY
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

alphabet hooks

PostedMarch 10, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: nice to look at
Cons: no screw crooked letter
" I was very disappointed that the alphabet hook did not come with a screw to match. The screw hole is not hidden and has a bevel
I now need to go searching for a machined screw that will come close to matching the hook material. For $12.95 a screw SHOULD be included.
The S is also a little crooked. "
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Adorbs Hook

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Pros: sturdy, cute
Cons: shipping was spendy
" I got this hook for my best friend to hang her keys on. It looks very sturdy and will also hold her dignity, class and etiquette when she wants to hang those up to dry before a night on the town.
Makes her new place in Chicago look tres chic!
My only beef is that they didn't have my letter in the store so instead of spending $12, I had to spend almost $20. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Poor design

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Cons: poor design, scratched bathroom wall
" These hooks are designed with only 1 hole for a screw. That means when you hang them they rotate as they are not properly anchored to the wall. They scratched up my bathroom wall a few times before we realized what was happening. Removed them and took back. Obviously poor design. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Great... if it came with screws

PostedOctober 1, 2009
Cons: no screws to install
" It doesn't come with screws, so you need to go out and find the hardware yourself. It's very annoying. The hooks themselves are great. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

They look okay

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Cons: no screws
" . . but haven't hung them yet because they didn't come with any screws!! Frustrating! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

SUPER HOOKS!

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Cons: no screws
" I got them for my bathroom that is black and white old style theme.
I used 4 to spell out the word LOVE and we will use them for towels.
They look GREAT!
drawback no screws
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Hooked on these!

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Pros: large stylish easy to install
Cons: no screws
" I love these hooks. The letter font is like my old typewriter - nice nostalgic feel for my retro bathroom. The letter button is actually big enough to hold a robe or towel so you really get two hooks in one. My family loves that they each have their own hook and I get something stylish. Would have gotten a 5 for quality but they don't come with screws which is annoying and I've only had them up a few weeks so can't tell how they will fare over time, but so far it all looks good! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alphabet Hook
fromBaltimore, MD
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Really Cute

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Pros: looks
Cons: takes a little time to hang
" These hooks are really cute! i ordered 3 for our front entry to hang coats, the dog's leash etc. I was a little concerned that with only one location for a screw these would not be very secure... however they have been fine so far. We mounted ours on a brick wall so this may have something to do with the extra strength. I highly recommend using a dry-wall screw in conjunction with the screw. (this is how we installed in the brick, which is a trick my husband learned through trial and error... and it should help with the sturdiness on dry wall as well) "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alphabet Hook
fromSydney, Australia
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Gorgeous

PostedJune 29, 2011
" The hooks are fabulous, they will look perfect on the backs of the bedroom doors. Bit bigger than I expected - but not a problem. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Nice Detail for Hooks

PostedDecember 26, 2009
" Good product, I suggest that Anthropologie make a "Buy (certain number" get 1 free" or something like that as the cost can add up if you're buying a few. I bought 9, to cover initials for my son wife and me. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

So cute

PostedDecember 29, 2009
" Great hooks, love the monograms. Wish they had another screw hole to make them sturdier but overall a really cute addition to our bathroom... "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alphabet Hook
fromDC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great accent to hallway!

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Pros: classic design, hold heavy coats
Cons: don't come with required hardware
" I love these hooks in my hallway! They are a cute way to personalize your place, and add a bit of flair to hanging coats,scarves, etc... "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alphabet Hook
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

good product but no screw

PostedMay 24, 2010
Pros: durable, goes with everything anywhere
Cons: does not come with a screw
" cute and durable but does not come with a screw! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alphabet Hook
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

old-fashioned charm

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Pros: sturdy, antique charm
Cons: matching screws not included
" These hooks are sturdy and well-made. The very slight imperfections give them an antique feel and add to their appeal. One note of dissatisfaction: these hooks (and others I've ordered from anthropologie) don't come with screws. It's not a huge problem - finding screws to fit is easy - but it would be nice to have screws designed to match the patina of the metal backing. In any event, it's a small complaint. Overall, these are charming wall hooks for clothes, purses, or linens. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>