Customer reviews for Descending Peplum Blouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Descending Peplum Blouse

Descending Peplum Blouse
Overall rating:
4.174 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
18 of 23(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Descending Peplum Blouse
Review 1 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJune 17, 2012

a bit old-fashioned and stuffy looking on me

This piece on me seemed matronly. I would say it is definitely short. Even when I sized up once to a ten it seemed short and with the highly defined waistline, the emphasis on my chest was too pronounced. I'm 5'10" about 150 36C. I think this piece would look better on women with broader shoulders than I have. Also, maybe not as tall. The black color is very bright. The leaves are large. Not as subtle looking as some anthro pieces.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedAugust 24, 2012

Beautiful

This was a great blouse and I loved the structure of it. The shoulders and sleeves felt great, and despite the strong detail, I feel like this would work with many bottoms (and even dresses) I already own. I covered the waist in these photos with a belt I had in my dressing room, but it is a simple elastic waist, and many types of belts would work well.
I highly recommend this beautiful top!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
PostedSeptember 8, 2012

Cute--unless you are tall

This is a beautiful top that really flatters your waist. However it is probably best on someone of average or petite height. I am 5'8 and the waist hit at more of an empire level and it did not flatter at all. But on a shorter person, this would be beautiful.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2012

No good if you are tall

GORGEOUS top, great detail, soft and comfortable fabric. Generous in the shoulders, too, which is a plus for me. But I am 5'7", 32B, 115lbs, and the elastic above the peplum hits about 2" too high. I usually wear 0 or 2 at Anthro and even the 4 was too high-waisted to be flattering. I am so disappointed because this top is beautiful. Great if you are less tall! Sale price is great for the detail and feel of this piece.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: everything except...
Cons: the fit at the waist
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 25, 2012

Cute, chic and flattering

The overall design and stitching on this is lovely. I am a little curvy in the hip area and was worried this would not look right, but it accentuates my small waste and is long enough that it's still totally flattering to the hips. I like that I can wear this casual or really dress it up.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: flattering and multi- functional
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 26, 2012

If I had to use one word to describe this blouse, it would be "amazing". I never really noticed this shirt until I saw it on a blogger. I decided to try it on, and it was love, love, love. It has a really nice vintage vibe to it. The fit is very flattering. It will go perfect with a nice pencil skirt, jeans and also with a pair of nice slim capri shorts. The quality is definitely worth the price. I highly recommend this blouse.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 22, 2012

Elegant

This is another one of those Anthro pieces that I could easily pass over on-line but in person could not walk by. I read the other 3 reviews so far and have to agree with all of them. When I first put it on I thought '"oh, matronly" but then I thought "lovely vintage...unique.....will look great dressed up or with skinny black pants". I am petite 5 ft 2 in and thin and the size 0 fits well. I did not want to chance missing out on this one so I snatched it right up.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
PostedJune 11, 2012

Descending Peplum

I love this! Got it in the mail today-it is incredibly well made and structured yet soft. I am typically a 4 or 6-I ordered a 6 and I actually think I'll exchange for an 8.There is elastic at the waist and it fits perfect without stretch but I think I want to try to get a looser fit at the waist and a bit more length. The embroidery is gorgeous and the eyelet and button details are perfect. I also really love the sleeve length-hitting me a tad above the elbow. This is a great blouse that truly is worth the money and not worth the risk waiting for sale time...I would recommend trying this on in person though.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):4
Height (inches):11
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 9, 2012

Love!!!

I love this shirt. I take an XS and it fits TTS. I love how the arms bell out and that it has a empire waist for a flattering figure. You could either wear this with jeans or nice pants to dress it up a bit. It's very comfortable as well and the quality is great. It's a unique top and definitely worth the money!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: design, quality
Cons: pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 27, 2012

A good purchase

Love this shirt. It does exactly what it should: looks good and is super flattering. I wear a size 12 and it doesn't accentuate my upper body (which can be a problem with most shirts) and the elastic middle adds great shape and emphasizes the smallest part of me. Hits a little below the hips so it's not too short (I can bend over without worry) but it's also not tunic-long. TTS and comfy!
The neckline is fantastic as is the embroidery. An easy shirt to dress up a casual pair of jeans. A little pricey for a shirt but definitely great quality. I love it!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering, dressy, easy
Cons: expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedAugust 10, 2012

LOVE!!!

I love this top. It is subtly sexy and so unique. I am petite (5'3" and 115lbs) and have a very hard time getting tops that fit well (that are non-petite sizes). This one does the trick. Looks great with jeans and could also be used like a jacket over dresses or whatever. This is pricey for a top but totally worth it for the great style, comfort and quality. Snap it up ladies!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJuly 11, 2012

Great bohemian top!!

It looks great over a maxi dress! I love this top, but I would go up a size because of the length.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 14, 2012

Beautiful but funny fit

I tried on and bought this shirt with little regard for the price because it is that beautiful. The rare design, color combination and style were like nothing I had ever seen before. I was so smitten that I put it on as soon as I got home to watch myself move around the house. And that's when the love afair ended. I had to keep pulling it down so that the chest section did not bunch and look pointy. The elastic around the waistline, which gives such a nice form to the shirt, simply does not stay down when you move! Unfortunately, I returned the shirt. This MAY NOT apply to you, so please try it on because it is a looker!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: style pattern
Cons: does not stay where it should
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 15, 2012

Interesting & mulitpurpose

I am 5'1" 103#, 32A and have difficulty finding tops that fit. I got a "0" and it fits like a charm. The garmet is well made, & TTS. Besides jeans, camel/white/black pants/skirt would go great with this. Like another reviewer mentioned, it's not a tunic lenght. It hits just above the hip. It may fit shorter women better because of this #I noticed that a lot of taller women did not like the fit as much#. Love it; worth the $.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: design, fit
Cons: price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJuly 20, 2012

Nice for the Price

I got this at my nearest Anthro. It fits true to size. It is very flattering. It nips in at the waist and hides all the right spots, (upper arms and stomach) if you need it. This would be a great date night top. Skinny jeans and heels would go well with this. It looks very expensive and classy. Even though it may cost more than most Anthro tops, it is well worth your money!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great design, flattering fit
Cons: price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 27, 2012

Very very elegant blouse! I can wear it with jeans or a clingy skirt and the proportions are sophisticated. Purchased an 8 because reviews said it ran small, but might have gotten a 6 because the waist elastic is loose and therefore needs a belt. I like the design more without a belt, but it's still a keeper. I'm 5'5 145 34ddd and think the 6 or 8 would work depending on the fit you want.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 16, 2012

beautiful but strange fit

I love this top. I think it something I will wear for a long time and is defintiely 3 season. I am normally a size 4 or small, so I ordered a 4 and it was tiny. I am a tall girl and the waist of this top hit me about 2 inches above my natural waist making the bottom half poof out. I returned and opted for the 6 for additional length. It works much better, but ideally I would like for it to be a little longer but the 8 was much too big up top. Hope this helps!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: detail, design
Cons: short waisted fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedSeptember 10, 2012

I'm tall...but it worked for me.

As other people have mentioned, the quality and beauty of fabric and details are fantastic. Well worth the price and with the sale.... crazy good deal. Even though the cloth is synthetic, it looks like a very fine, cotton/silk blend. And it isn't dry clean only.
Most tall ladies have had issues with the fit, but things worked out alright for me. I am 5'9", 35(34A#-26-38 and I got a 2, although generally I will do a 4 at Anthro to allow for more shoulder room. I think having a smaller bust and a normal torso #normal for a shorter person but perhaps short for a tall person) was the key. The waist hit *just* above my natural waist, but the peplum moves as you move, so you can still see a more defined figure. Also, shoulder room was ample.
Unfortunatly, I think you might have to try this on in person to see if it will work on you.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: materials, details
Cons: fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 12, 2012

possibly the best top I have from anthro

A great piece! I was worried that the bold feathers would be to much and just look silly on me- but this is not the case at all! It is an elegant super feminine top with a unique twist. It makes my shoulders look a bit broad but not unattractively so. I sometimes have trouble with shirts of this style because I have big hips and the bottom can make that look worse- but this top does not cause this problem at all. It is very figure flattering- I think it would look good on all body types. My favorite thing about this piece is the weight of the fabric and quality. The fabric is much better than I had anticipated. Anyone on the fence about this top should take the plunge!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Descending Peplum Blouse
PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
PostedOctober 16, 2012

Too Bad

I wanted to love this top. It ended up being too bulky and felt cheaply made. I returned it.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: gold detailing, great pattern, loved the cut outs!
Cons: obvious elastic waste band, flimsy fabric, bulky fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>