Customer reviews for Basque Floral Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Basque Floral Dress

Basque Floral Dress
Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Basque Floral Dress
Review 1 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 28, 2012

The Perfect Retro Red Dress

Finally a red dress with sleeves! The length is good too. The waist is slightly high, but not empire high. This is my favorite purchase all year!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: retro, sleeves, length
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 29, 2012

Friday Work Fun

I'm expanding my summer wardrobe, and spotted this dress online. What a pleasant surprise! I have a pear shape, and this dress was true to size and flattering. This was dress was perfect for Friday work dress...especially on a rainy day.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fits true to size, color
Cons: shoulder cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 3, 2012

So cute

I grabbed this dress on the way to the fitting room on a whim. I don't wear red, but I've been trying to branch out. I typically wear a 12/14 and grabbed at 12. Fit nicely but seemed too big. That was a shock. I tried a 10 and it fit great. I stepped out of the fitting room and a fellow shopper commented on hoe great it looked. Sold! And I think it will look great with tights and boots as we get into autumn.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: nice fabric great cut.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 26, 2012

From the past ...

Tried the dress in the store from the "onesie" rack. It was a return from online so the store didn't have it and it was the only one in the store.
My.
lucky.
day.
There is a definite retro vibe here but it doesn't have the typical "vintage"y look. It's modern while also saluting the 40s. It's swirly and sassy but not "precious" or "cutesy".
The color is a strong red but the print softens it to assertive and flirty. It would be a great dress for a day wedding and it could be an office dress. I'd wear one of my own knitted cashmere wraps or if I was going to a meeting, I'd wear it with a Crew featherweight cardigan and a trim belt.
This dress will go through the seasons and I can already envision it this fall with tan boots and a blazer with messenger bag; the winter with a big chunky ribbed sweater and the spring with a crazy 4 strand pearl choker and vintage spectator pumps.
The dress is lovely on. The cut and drape of the fabric gives a powerful boost to the ego. There was no fussing with the dress. No tugging at the area under the bust or fiddling with the sleeves or wondering about the length or worrying about the shoulder seams. I put the dress on, walked around the store and knew the dress was mine, all mine.
There was something wrong with the zipper on the dress I tried but it wasn't a design defect. It looked as if the zipper had been ripped a bit from the material when someone tried to force it up. I got a hefty discount based on the weirdo zipper so the dress was a double pleasure.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pretty feminine flattering, well designed
Cons: not a single one
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 6, 2012

Beautiful Dress

I really love so much about this dress. It's very versatile with a classic shape and a feminine flair. I wore it out dancing one night paired with heels, and the next day for work I paired it with a belted cardigan, cigarette pants, and flats to make it a little more casual.
In love.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 1, 2012

Oh la la

I've been waiting for something like this! The bright floral print is simply stunning. Excellent color choice and cut. A perfect WOW. Simplicity is sophistication, as you can see here......
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedApril 19, 2012

Pretty

This is a pretty dress with a flattering design. Unlike other reviewers I found it fit a touch small. I range between a 2 to a 6 in anthro dresses (34C-27-37), and I took the 6 in this. I have broad shoulders and I found that it fits tight through the shoulders and upper back. It fits comfortably elsewhere. It falls just below my knees (5'1") so I plan to have it hemmed. The cut is flattering, nipping it at the waist. I love the print, but I wish this dress were lined.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: flattering design, print
Cons: strange fit, unoine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedNovember 16, 2012

Soft and superb!

I found this dress in-store yesterday and was surprised to see it in a 14; online, I've only seen up to a size 12 offered. But I love Karen Walker, so tried it on, and this dress is one of my most favorite finds this year! I am curvy on top and bottom, and the size 14 fit me perfectly (I am usually a 14, sometimes 12). The dress doesn't show cleavage, but has an incredibly flattering neckline. The dress hits right at my knee, and the cap sleeves make it super work appropriate.
I just kept thinking of the word "soft," the fabric is heaven, and the way it moves has me in love. The side zip is a little bit tricky for me, but nothing I can't handle. I've bought some pretty incredible dresses from Anthropologie, but I think this one might be my favorite. I can already imagine myself wearing it on so many different occasions, and throughout all the seasons!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft, feminine, work-appropriate, timeless
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 1, 2012

Adorable

My local anthro had the Spring fashion show yesterday. i saw this on the SA and thought she look amazing. very cute, vintage, girlie and sexy at the same time. i tried on 3 of karen walker's new dresses and love this one most. i had to bring it home with me which i never do (on regular price). i can't wait to wear it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: gorgeous color & cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 6, 2012

Oh. My. God.

This dress is heaven-sent. I put it on and fell in love .... with myself. I tend to be a bit shy with reds, but the blues and spots of yellow, white and black render a gorgeous print that makes the red much easier to pull off (or on, should we say).
Fit is TTS on the large side (I took a 6 and vary from 6-8 usually). The styling is rendered perfectly. A concealed side-zip makes it easy to get on and off. The wide waist band actually sits just a bit above the waist, a look I usually don't care for but love on this dress. The fabric is very light and flows elegantly: the sleeves, the neckline, the light silken body of the dress. Perfectly styled and executed and falls to the top of my knees. It also will be a very easy dress to wear -- no fuss or fiddling required and one can walk or sit easily.
I think this dress would fit and flatter a range of body types. Guaranteed to get compliments. Definitely falls into Anthro's "soft & romantic" category.
I'll be surprised if this isn't my favorite purchase of the year.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful flattering fit, fabric and floral pattern, washable??!!!, sweet but elegant design
Cons: nary a single one
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 20, 2012

A CLASSIC WITH AN EDGE

I'm so glad I snapped this up, it's absolutely stunning. A near-perfect dress, every feature is just as it should be.
At 5'9" and a size 8/sometimes 10, I purchased an 8 and probably should have sized up as it's a bit snug. I'm dieting though, so it should fit before long. It hits a couple of inches above my knees. I usually prefer knee-length in this style of dress, but the length works, especially as the bust-line obscures cleavage even on my 34E bust. The cap sleeves are sweet, and don't stick out as much as they appear to on the model. The wide waistband is extremely flattering and, with the a-line skirt and cap sleeves, enhances the illusion of a tiny waist.
The print is divine, and well represented by the pics - a very bright fire engine red, closer to vermilion than cherry, with a striking floral print. As others have stated, the polyester fabric really does have the feel of a a weighty, slightly textured silk. Unlike silk, it doesn't crease much, and would survive a machine wash. I do wish it was lined, but it's really okay without.
Comparing the price with other similar items at Anthropologie, the tag of $140.00 is pretty good. I hope we'll be seeing more from Karen Walker.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: sleeves neckline not too low, flattering waistline pretty print and color
Cons: may need to size up if you're an 8 or above, no lining
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
PostedApril 27, 2012

Great print

I'm 34B-29-37, usually between a 6 and an 8 depending on how tight the bodice/torso is. The 6 fit perfectly in this sweet dress. It's bright red, and the details are great--gathered cap sleeves, the fitted waist (which falls at the ribcage rather than at the natural waist), slightly ruched neckline, the lovely print. It will be a great summer dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fit color print
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
PostedAugust 5, 2012

Sizing may vary?

I'm slim but rather curvy, so this dress seemed made for me. My store only had a 0 and a 2 in stock (returns, I'm assuming) - I'm usually a 2/4 so left the 0 behind. I slipped it over my head and instantly fell in love... until I tried to zip it up! It fit over my hips and waist just fine, but when I hit my bust (32D/DD, 26 waist, 37 hip) it wouldn't budge! There was just no way it was going to work, even though everything else was so perfect - knee length, non-revealing V neck, adorable print and detailed pleats/stitching. So I cried a little at the loss and went to take it off... and got stuck! Something about the tightly-sewn edge of the little sleeves meant I couldn't lift my arms enough to get it over my head. Several minutes of contortions later, I managed to get it off without tearing anything on myself or the dress, but it was kind of ridiculous. I don't have Hulk arms or anything, so I don't really know what was up with that. I am curvy, and the dress is truly adorable - but I might have to size up to a 6 to accommodate the girls and get the waist taken in.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Full-figured
PostedAugust 25, 2012

Another glowing review

Yes, this dress is nearly perfect. Fits great, pretty pattern, gorgeous color. The only downside, which may not matter to some, is that it's made in China. For $140 I wish it wasn't.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 31, 2012

Lovely print, cap sleeves

This is a lovely dress from Karen Walker. I think it would be very flattering to many figure types, although it is a squeeze to accomodate my fuller bust, and I sized up 1. Just to note, the sleeves on the dress I tried are shorter than they appear in the picture; they seemed to me like cap sleeves.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Basque Floral Dress
PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 5, 2012

First full-priced dress buy... ever!

I've been shopping at Anthro for years and years, and have dozens of dresses... this is the first full-priced one I tried on that I couldn't leave without! I heard the Karen Walker line had a limited release, and didn't want to risk waiting for it to go on sale!
It's gorgeous. It fits in all the right places - tight on the narrow part of my ribcage, loose and flowy over my hips. I looked amazing, even with my messy hair and glasses and bare feet in the dressing room. It's one of those "transformation" dresses.
It really feels like a silk-cotton blend, not polyester. It's very light and airy without being see-through.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.