Customer reviews for Rideau Sweater Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Rideau Sweater Dress

Rideau Sweater Dress
Average rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
18 of 26(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rideau Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromLos Angeles
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

awful! cheap!

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
"This dress looked so cute, classic, and a staple. I was so dissapointed!
Its too short, and with the strange pleats around the skirt, I look like a fat doll.
How can Anthro call this a sweater dress? There is no "sweater" in it. The cheap material is that of a thin T shirt. The top is so cheap and thin, again! what is with the see through fabric! Definitely going back. It is not even worth the sales price.
"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromMalibu, CA
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Can't Hold Me Down

PostedMarch 18, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: great for chest enhancement, supremely comfortable, fun styling options, no guess work sizing
Cons: not for those who want to minimize the bust
"I stepped out of the dressing room at the much revered Santa Monica Anthropology in this dress and one of the wonderful, sweetly polite sales associates exclaimed "Wow, you look like you went up cup size in that dress!"
It's true, the white patterned bodice looks like it's perched upon gothic arches to highlight the bosom. Additionally, the buttons are intentionally sewn with gaps between them, giving the impression that you're "busting at the seams" (pun intended). My 36B did look a lot larger. There is nothing wrong with this styling as long as you're aware that you may want a cami or half-cami for the gaps between buttons.
Also, if you really do have a larger chest (not just a visual enhancement from the way the dress is designed), take into account that the waist will be raised. The zig-zag waist looks about mid-torso on the promo-shot, but my thicker chest eats enough of the fabric for it to become more of an empire waist. Nothing wrong with that, just know that the hem will hit higher on your legs and the zigs will hit under your bra and the zags will not come close to the belly button.
I am wearing my normal medium in the photos and felt very comfortable in it. Overall, this is a great breezy pull on dress that is as easy to style as it is to wear. You would school-house rock in some sky high Mary Janes! (Just don't be too surprised if you catch some wayward glances from male passer-bys!)"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromLos Angeles, CA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

cute but flawed

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: vintage feel
Cons: construction
"I'm 5'7" (32c-27-38) and the small was still a tad roomy. There is no zipper or buttons so it's pretty shapeless. I didn't try the XS however because the dress's construction flaws would have been even more apparent in a smaller size. There is WAY too much excess fabric inside where the top of the dress is sewn to the zigzag waistband. If you look at the photo from the front you can see how it pokes out under my right arm. None of those seams really lay flat. I didn't mind the see through aspect of the top half (I was wearing a flesh colored bra) and the light weight knit seemed fine to me."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromVentura County, CA
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very Surprising!

PostedMarch 3, 2012
"I never took a second look at this dress on line and passed it by a couple of times in the store, but just recently I decided to try it on. I was expecting that it would be OK but what I got instead was a big WOW! This dress for me fit perfectly in all the right places! I'm around 118 pounds, generally a 2 -4 in dresses with a 34D bust. I tried this in an XS and it was perfect. It cinched in nicely at the waist and showed of the "girls" nicely too. I am 5' 7" and this was an inch or two above my kneees. I have to say, I thought this dress was going to end up being on the "dowdy" side but on the contrary, I found it to be sweet, sexy and retro all in one! This dress left with me that day and I plan on finding some fun retro heels to wear with this. Ladies, don't let this dress fool you on the hangar or in the pictures, give it a try! :-)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromOakland
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Pros: lightweight year round fabric
"To start with - other reviewers addressed the thin-ness of the fabric and the see-through top. I liked these aspects of the dress - it's light and ethereal like an actual 30's dress. I live in California (bay area) and the weight of the dress will allow me to wear it in winter or summer. the crochet top is pretty and will show off a pretty vintage camisole - I'll probably pair it with one of my silk tanks.
I think if the dress "pokes" out at odd spots you should order a size up.
I'm very petite 5'4 100 lbs no curves (sadly) and the size xs fit me just skimming my body. I love the vintage look and feel of this piece - I think it will work beautifully on a slim (non curvy) body type."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rideau Sweater Dress
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

cute with a few issues

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This really is a cute dress with a great vintage style. It's great for a petite, as it hits just about to my knee. (I'm 5'1, 115 lbs, curvy.) The xs fit my small shoulders perfectly, and the top looks nicely tailored. The problems, as others have pointed out: The zigzag waist, which is great in concept, juts out somewhat oddly, and you'll find yourself pulling on it to make it lay flat. The buttons on the top portion leave a gap down the front, which means you really need to wear a cami underneath (which I'm so tired of, and especially at this price.) It's even more of an issue if you're at all busty. The top is slightly sheer, but with a nude bra underneath, I didn't find it a problem. I worry a bit how it would hold up. All in all, I would consider if it it went on sale, but it has a few too many issues for full price."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age range:Over 55
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Fit me like a dream

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Pros: fit me to a "t"
Cons: none
"I had my heart set on another dress for a while and was waiting for it to go on sale. Went in the store for my periodic check on it to see that it was still there and, of course, saw some things I liked and happened to see this dress behind some other dresses. My first impression was oh no, another black and white/cream dress of which I have many, but liked the style. Because of the price, I had no intention of buying it (was looking for something for my NY trip to visit my daughter). I tried it on and went so nuts, the lady in the next dressing room came out to see it. It was perfect and I generally have a hard time with dresses and usually where tops w/skirts or pants. I was so surprised because I have plenty of body issues, but you couldn't see anything off them. I where a D cup bra (no pulling in the front ) and did not cling to my back either. All my weight is in my stomach yet because it's more of an empire waist, it's a non issue. I am 5'3" tall and weight 125# and bought a small. The pleats lay beautifully and slimmed the one area of my body that needs it. It is now hanging in my closet and can't wait to wear it."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rideau Sweater Dress
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

1930's chic

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
"This dress worked well for me. Maybe because I am petite it fell on me in a different way than for others, I didn't find that the pleats flared out at all. It was a great length for me,, hitting at my knee, and defined my waist nicely. Someone else said this reminded them of the 1930's and I so agree. My grandmother would have worn a dress like this, and I just love that. the top is sheer and there are spaces between the buttons, so it needs a nude cami underneath. For the price, this should have been included. I found the dress soft, and not itchy. I would pair it with my grandmother's pearl drop earrings and black or red platform pumps. I wish I were a little less busty (34c) because I think this will fall perfectly on smaller chested girls."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromCT
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Very cute sweater dress!

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
"This dress is very cute and the styling is great. I love the look and it is pretty flattering on. I didn't have an issue with the materials - they were pretty much what I expected based on the pictures. That said, I picked this out the day it arrived in the store and I tried on the last size L and there was no size XL and only one XS. If anyone from Anthro reads these reviews, PLEASE send a range of sizes to the stores! I really don't want to pay shipping on every item I buy from Anthro. There were about 7 in size M. I did buy the L, but it is really a little short on me with the flared skirt. I paired this with leggings and long cardigan and tall boots, but I still wouldn't want to bend over too far. I'm 5'8" and the dress is otherwise very comfortable. There is though a strange "crease" where the top of the dress and the skirt are attached. It doesn't look terrible, but it does ruin the effect of the stitches and pleating at the waist a bit."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rideau Sweater Dress
Age range:45-49
Height:6 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

LIKE it!

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
"Tried it on and bought it! Im 6'0" tall and wear a size 10. The dress is shorter but not too short like some Anthro dresses. The black waste makes me look thin, LOVE IT! The see through is not bad at all. Very vintage. With thin black stockings and over the knee black boots, I think it looks great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromSacramento, CA
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Very disappointing....

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Pros: concept
Cons: see-thru, poor quality, design problems
"I raced out to my local Anthro to see this dress I had admired online. But, alas, this dress did NOT live up to my expectations. 1) The top is completely see-though, so you'll need a great camisole; 2) the points of the skirt where the godets meet the bodice poke out strangely at the sides of the top; and 3) the skirt material is poor quality-- the dye is fragile. I applaud the concept of this vintage 1930's-look dress, but I do hope Knitted and Knotted attends to details such as the above to create a truly wearable piece of art."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rideau Sweater Dress
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Darling dress, except for...

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
"the waistline was not designed well! When I tried this dress on, I noticed the zig zag pattern at the waist did not sit flat around my torso. My guess is the two sections of fabric were not sewn well together, making me look as though I had badly tucked in a top under a skirt.
Being 5'0" tall, the length of the dress was perfect. The hem hit about an inch to an inch and a half above the knee. I loved how this dress could be worn with a blazer for work and without it for evening affairs.
As a previous reviewer noted, for the price, a slip should have been included with this dress! It is truly a darling design, reminiscent of vintage fashion, but I just couldn't get past the badly designed waistline. I wish Anthro could design a similar dress again but with a better design at the waist."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rideau Sweater Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Too short

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Cons: very very short
"Needs another 6 inches of hem."
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromCorallis, OR
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

yep, it's a baby doll

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Pros: style
Cons: too short
"Don't know why I didn't see Baby Doll anywhere in the description - it was right there on the packing slip. This was one of those cases where, yes you can make it work - black tights, high boots etc but there are too many other good options - so why not just buy somehting that works from the start.
I'm 5'7" and it really was too short - just 2 more inches would have made the diference for me this time. Just sent it back
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromoutside Chicago
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Nope!

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
"I was excited to try this dress. It looks so fashion-forward, but in reality it was just plain bad. I'm 5'6" 100 lbs and it was way above my knees, and all I could think is that it looked like it had shrunk in the wash. That goes for the length only, not the width. It had no definition in the waist at all - I looked like I was wearing a too short stretched out dress I had kept in my closet from when I was in school. I tried to add a belt but it just didn't work. Definitely no sale on this one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromhood river, oregon
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

sweet

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Pros: design color lengh cost
Cons: none yet
"I read the reviews so I did not buy the dress on line, even though I thought it was really cute. I ended up trying it on in the store and I love it. I don't think it looks or feels cheap at all but the dress is made of knit and I am not sure how it will hold up after washing but right now I love this dress. I really like the slight see thru bust, it adds to the allure!I am petite with small bust and the XS fit perfect. I agree with the other review, its very 30's with a modern update."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromSeattle, WA
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful 30s dress with a modern twist

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Pros: construction, fabric
"I asked for this dress for my birthday and am head over heels for it!! I think the quality of the fabric is quite high - it's is soft and flows nicely, especially because of the pleating. The top design is very 30s, but the length brings it into the 21st century. I am 5'5" 110 pounds and small chested, and ended up with the XS. It hugs in all the right places and hits about 4 inches above my knee. Maybe too short for some, but I think the modest nature of the top offsets the shortness. The only criticism I agree with is that the jagged waist area doesn't lay quite flat, but it's not a big deal to me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rideau Sweater Dress
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Lovely, lovely dress

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Pros: style and fit
Cons: short
"Would be head over heels in love with this dress, if it were a little longer! I'm in my 30s and I like my dresses to be knee-length or below so I can wear them to work--I'm 5'6" and this one comes to about 4 inches above my knees. But the style and fit of the dress are so beautiful I'm willing to accommodate the length by wearing footless tights or leggings. The top does need a cami under it, as many have pointed out. I'm 125 lbs. and 34C, and other than the length it fits like a dream."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromNYC
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

It's1940! Makes me want to run & buy a War Bond!

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Pros: style fabric fit
Cons: none
"Fabulous dress, and I scored it on sale! Fits like a dream (I'm 5'3 128lbs,32D!) Makes my bust look tiny, makes my waist look tiny, and the flared skirt disguises any stomach issues.( Hey, it's the pleats, it's not me!!) Hits me at 1" above the knee, perfect with high heels or wedges. The high waist makes a petite woman look taller (longer skirt line), the swing of the skirt is playful. Fabric is all weather. I'll try the red platform pumps, maybe a Mary Jane or Cuban heel if I'm going for the 1940s look. I would have paid full price for this one!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rideau Sweater Dress
fromNY
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Cleverly shaped

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Pros: fit
Cons: delicacy of lace top
"I love this dress for its demure look coupled with its flattering fit. Based on other reviews here, I wasn't sure whether or not to order it, but I'm so pleased that I took the plunge.
The top is a loose, lacy knit and the buttons are spaced to gap, so most wearers will want a camisole under it. The skirt is fun and swingy. The waist is the tricky part: there's a fairly wide waist (not a waistband, per se, but a shaped waist) with points knit into the top, where the bodice attaches, and the bottom, where the points release into gores or release pleats (not sure which, technically). This gives the dress a great hourglass shape, while the contrasting bodice gives an illusion of blockiness, so that overall it looks like the WEARER (rather than the dress) has the great shape.
I notice that some reviewers found the shaping at the top or bottom of the waistband to hit them in the wrong place. All I can say is that it lay flat and felt comfortable for me. I'm 5'1", 125lb, 34A, short-waisted, with hips. The XS fit trimly but not snugly on top and the skirt hit just above my knees. Perfect."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>