Customer reviews for Barceloneta Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Barceloneta Dress

Barceloneta Dress
Overall rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Barceloneta Dress
Review 1 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 17, 2012

Perfect Dress

This dress is just that, perfect. It is very flattering, comfortable, pretty and can be dressed up or down for many different ocassions.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedApril 6, 2012

Cute dress but didn't work for me

This dress looks so cute online but unfortunately it didn't work for me. I ordered my usual 2, which fit, so I think this runs true to size. While I loved the top of the dress and the way it looked from the back, the front just didn't work for me. For one, I had trouble getting the belt to stay put because it's a silk ribbon which quickly loosens by rubbing against the silk material of the dress. Secondly, I didn't realize this dress was so sheer. Because the front is quite a bit shorter than the back (and came to about 3 inches above the knee on me) I couldn't have really worn a slip underneath, although you need something. I think hourglass figures would look great in this and shorter girls won't have the length problem that I did.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering neckline, cute pattern
Cons: too sheer
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 11, 2012

great dress

This is a very flattering dress, both belted and loose. I was super surprised. I disagree that a slip is needed, and because of the uneven hem line, one would be very hard to use....but note that it has transparency to it! If you are sensitive to the shear fabrics this isn't the dress you want. I do think it would look great on lots of figure types. It shows off shoulders and legs and optionally, the waist really well. I love it. I ordered a 0, which is my usual dress size
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pattern color, uneven hem, fit
Cons: might be too shear for some
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedApril 20, 2012

Very voluminous!

I ordered this online, but was disappointed when I received it. I found the skirt fabric to be beyond voluminous and I felt it added pounds to my lower half. Maybe the style was just not flattering on me. I did return it.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 24, 2012

distinctive and elegant

Several reviewers noted the need for a slip, found the fabric see-through, or disliked the high-low silhouette.
The fabric is diaphanous but I think still ladylike and appropriate --even in full sun. (I do regularly wear slips or lined dresses, but I just haven't seen a need for a slip.) The color composition is lovely.
To the last point, I found the silhouette a distinctive feature of the design, and thanks to another reviewer's suggestion, I have worn this with leggings, cardigan, and flats for an easy, elegant look. The collar-yoke combination is flattering and stylish; the draping is graceful. When it gets warmer here, I plan on wearing as a summer dress.
I'm 5'5", 117 lbs., and 32C, and size 2 was perfect in length and fit.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color combo, fabric, silhouette, collar-yoke
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMarch 26, 2012

great dress

I wasn't sure about this dress when I first put it on until I cinched the belt. It is very flattering and can easily be worn with a flat sandal to dress it down or an peep toe heel to dress it up. Love that it has black and blue!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: unique without being too trendy!
Cons: price
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 16, 2012

Really wanted to like this dress, but not for me

Here are the pros: it is a very cute design and seems well made. Because of the print, it doesn't seem to really need a slip, as some of the other reviewers suggested. That being said, the cons, and the reasons it didn't work for me are: first off, the front is much shorter than the picture suggests. I am 5'6", 122 lbs and a 32c. I ordered a 4 and the front hit me about 3 in above the top of my knee. Ergo, the dress is sophisticated, but the length is not. Also, the way the dress tapers above the bustline is cool looking, but on me made my shoulders look very broad (a con for me, but may be a plus for some). On someone larger than me, the amount of material may be overwhelming.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 17, 2012

Looks much better online-- not worth it!

Just got this in the mail today and was super disappointed. The fabric was much different in person than pictured online-- It was thinner, and the top portion of the dress just felt cheap. Also, when I examined the top portion of the dress, I noticed some of the stitching was off. I'm fairly certain the dress I received was not silk. When I tried it on, however, the length was perfect and fit was okay. I ordered a 2, my usual size and it fit just fine. Since I'm not very tall, the length was just right. Overall, I think I'm going to return the dress. Definitely not worth the price, especially for such poor quality.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros: hi-low hem, aesthetics, length
Cons: low quality craftsmanship, cheap looking fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 19, 2012

Needs a slip

Cute design. You need a slip to wear it. For this price it should have come with lining. I dont like wearing a slip. If you dont mind adding another layer then it might work for you.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedApril 5, 2012

Looked great on the mannequin

It didn't look anywhere near great on me. I was able to size down on this dress, but it didn't help any. This dress made my body seem short waisted and it did not flatter my curves. I do recommend trying it on though, it's too pretty not to.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 18, 2012

Over pants or solo

This dress looks great as is or over legging or skinnies. I wore it today to an art opening over black leggings and got so many complements. Easily worn with or without belt. Wore it without because I layered a short blazer over. I did not find it to sheer - the pattern covers anything underneath. I found it fit TTS. Flattering to those who may need a bit of camouflage. I bet it would be good for maternity wear as well. The fabric is rich and the stitching makes it look like an expensive. I wasn't expecting to like this dress as much as I do - so glad I took a chance and ordered it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: construction details fabric
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedApril 24, 2012

Not what I expected

I really liked this dress online, but it did not fit my body type, which is more hourglass with wide hips. A slip is definitley needed underneath. The quality was not as good as i thought it would be. Would recommend if you are able to try it on before purchasing.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Barceloneta Dress
PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 24, 2012

Perfect for me.

I'm 5'6, 118lbs. The dress was originally too expensive for me to splurge on, but then ended up finding it on sale so I jumped on the size 2. When it came in, I immediately fell in love with the sheer, light weight texture. It was perfect for my May graduation in the heat of the armpit of South Carolina (Columbia). When i put it on with the bra I intend to wear, the straps remained showing and the area above the belt was simply too large for my chest, since I'm only a 34 B. I also noticed that the silk tie on the belt is difficult to kept tied tightly but I can work around that. I've exchanged it for a size 0 and am anticipating it's arrival. I'm sure I am going to love the correct size and look forward to making this dress a staple piece in my wardrobe, though I'm just not sure if I would have been able to make myself pay full price. Regardless, I love this dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: light weight, flattering silhouette
Cons: silk tie on belt
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.