Customer reviews for Gracey Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Gracey Dress

Gracey Dress
Average rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
6 of 10(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gracey Dress
Review 1 for Gracey Dress
fromTexas
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Simply Stunning

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
"This dress is simply stunning. I thought I'd gone to heaven with the Crushed Roses dress this season but this one is just as fabulous. You simply cannot tell by the online shot but in the store and on.....it's a serious wow!
The dress is extremely flattering! The fabric is beautiful. The arms are flowy and sheer with beautiful detailed stitching. I love that it is not sheer in the bust area and I can wear my normal black bra!
It hangs slightly lower in the back than front. The design is meant to be slightly baggy and the built in waist sits more on your hips which elongates your frame. The v in the front is quite nice, low and plunging. I would say the dress is short in just the perfect way, you can get away with it because of the baggier style. (the dress 34 inches long....Crushed Roses mini is 35)
If you'er one of those people with issues showing your full arms - this dress has you covered. I happened to have knee high boots on the day I tried it which looked great. I plan though on taking this on a hot vacation as a dinner dress. I think it could be styled for all seasons.
There are no zippers, buttons etc so it's a pullover. I sized down 1-2 sizes. I took the 4 and am 5'7, 135 lbs, 36D and it was still fairly baggy.
It is so amazing!"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gracey Dress
fromCanada
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Not a fan of this dress

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Cons: ill fitting
"After reading the reviews I ordered this dress one size down. Big mistake, I couldn't even get it past my shoulder blades. This dress does not run large at all. Actually it seems very disproportionate. This dress is large on top and narrower on the bottom. the sleeves are huge - too huge for the dress. Looked weird.
Okay, I'm going to say it...this is my second disaster with Liefsdottir and I will never order that brand again. It fits smaller than normal and the quality is always just 'okay' not great. It can't go back fast enough.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gracey Dress
fromSan Diego, CA
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful Dress

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Pros: beautiful fit, high quality fabric and design
Cons: too short for work
"I bought this dress for an event and paired it with the Leifsdottir white jacket, and the outfit was fabulous. The quality of the dress is excellent and it it definitely a piece that is quite timeless, and can be dressed up or down. It is a bit too short to wear to work but great for a night out or on the weekends. Looks great with vintage-type heels or mary-janes."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gracey Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Vintage gem! But tricky fit!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Pros: beautiful vintage style and embroidery, quality construction
Cons: not particularly slimming, sleeves are disproportionately large/billowy, fit could be tricky
"As other reviewers have noted, this dress is gorgeous. It has a very authentic vintage look to it and is beautifully crafted. It is well lined in all the right places so you don't need to wear anything under it unless you need support. Which is one of several nice details -- it has the little snaps at the shoulders to keep a bra or slip strap in place. As far as sizing, I think this dress might be tricky for some and I disagree that it runs large, unlike most other Leifsdottir items I've purchased. For reference, I wear a size 8 or 10 in tops but have narrow hips so usually wear an 8 or 6 in pants, or 28-29 depending. I usually size down to a six for Leifsdottir items but ordered this in the 8. Although the top is fairly roomy, the dropped waist band is quite fitted at my hips, so I can see where someone with more curvy hips might have problems with the fit. It's also a pull-over style -- there is no side or back zipper -- and I had to really tug to pull the waist band over my size 34B chest. So if you are bosomy this dress might be a challenge to pull on. On the other hand, another nice detail is that it is slightly longer in the back, so the extra length drapes nicely over your rear and avoids the hiked up look in the back that most mini dresses suffer from. So if you have a generous rear, this dress is perfect because the overall bottom hem length will look even. The embroiderly is nicely done and I didn't notice any loose or gaping in threads. My only con with the dress is that the sleeves are diaphanous and I feel like the proportions are a little off because of all the fabric even though it's sheer. It gives what otherwise would be a very delicate dress a more bulky look, particularly with the drop waist styling that already emphasizes the torso. So I don't feel like this dress, despite being black, has a slimming effect. As already noted, the neckline plunges deeply, hitting about the center of my "cleavage." As far as length, I have long legs so this hits me an inch or two above my knees but would probably be almost knee length for most. In terms of the drop waist effect, which I'm a big fan of, this dress lays more flatly through the lower torso rather than blousing out significantly where the drop waist begins -- and I have a short torso so I usually get that blousing effect when I try drop waist dresses. It really is just beautiful and I think it will be perfect for the conservative evening work function I purchased it for -- it is unique and sexy but in a classy old-world art-deco way, so it is very "appropriate" for a work function. Oh, one more note if you plan to order it -- it was shipped in one of those plastic bag envelopes so it was seriously wrinkled and the georgette would not do well under an iron, so I think you either have to have a steamer or plan to take it to the dry cleaners to be steamed before you'll be able to wear it. Overall a gorgeous piece, particularly if you love a truly vintage look!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gracey Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Didn't meet expectations

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Pros: fabric quality
Cons: overall design
"This dress is good quality. They did a nice job embellishing this beautiful fabric too. It has delicate embroidery on the sleeves and a gold button on each cuff. However, it is huge: size down (1-2) as advised in other reviews. Also there is just so much material and it's so densely black, it's hard to see what makes the dress special, like the embroidery and buttons. It sort of hangs and combined with the drop waist, it shows off any tummy you might have. Oh, it will require a strapless or some other strategic bra choice. I'm sending it back."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gracey Dress
fromAtlanta, GA
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

BEAUTIFUL, DARK AND BOHO!!!

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: can't think of any
"Yes, here I am, back from the dead. Haven't purchased any Anthro since mid December, shame on me!!! Anyway, came in to the store for something else, and spotted this gorgeous beauty hiding in the back! Wow, All I can say is Wow!!! I haven't purchased yet, but it's definitely on the books for the next few weeks. This is a very free flowing kind of dress. It's slightly shorter in front, than in back, but I am digging that. The sleeves are HUGE, and all gorgeous, sheer chiffon. Remember, I am tall, so this dress hangs well on my frame. Because of the cut, it does run big, I totally took the size 4, and let's face it, after a month of comfort food in Janurary, that's a stretch for me. This is a very difficult dress to see on-line, so if you are any kind of flower-child like me, run to your Anthro and try this on. Also, there is NOTHING fitted about this dress. It comes in slightly around the hip area, again for a bit of "hippie" look, but overall this is a very kicked-up dress, for dinner out, cocktails, or even....hey, with my black studded cowboy boots.......Now we're talking!!!"
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gracey Dress
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Attractive dress with unique fit

PostedApril 10, 2012
"The dress was way too short at least 3-4 inches above my knee. I am 5'5" 130 and small on top. This dress requires very wide shoulders and small hips to hang nicely. It is not fitted at all so you need a 'hanger body'."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gracey Dress
fromMontréal
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Pretty dress

PostedMay 2, 2012
"Pretty dress, nice quality but not for my body type unfortunately. Very big."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gracey Dress
fromStamford, CT
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Makes me feel like a million bucks

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Pros: material embroidery fit
Cons: back of skirt hangs lower than front
"You can be comfortable and carefree in this dress, but look super-glamorous. It has such chic style. You can wear it with a big fancy necklace. With boots or flats. I wore it to a local Oscar viewing party, and it made me so happy!
I LOVE the embroidery - it is nice to touch. Long sleeves, too.
The only problem I noticed is that the back of the skirt sometimes slides down, and I have to pull the front down."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Gracey Dress
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
0 out of 1 recommend this product
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0