Customer reviews for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Holding Horses High-Rise Flares

Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
Average rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
Review 1 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromNorthern Virginia
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

high rise flares

PostedNovember 10, 2011
"My local store just got these in. These jeans are high to mid rise - they come almost to my belly button and I am 5'7" trying a size 27. They run tts; I am usually a size 27, or 2/4. The denim is medium to heavy weight, a bit thick but very soft. They are cotton with 2% stretch (spandex I guess). They are too long on me and will need to be hemmed, but the waist, hips, butt, and legs fit perfectly. They are flattering, giving a nice shape since they are tight in the hips and then flare out below the knee; the back pockets are positioned well so the back view is good too. The denim is pretty uniform in wash. These could be dressed up or down, I think. An extra cute touch is that they come with a horse red ribbon pin (like an award) on the back pocket - removable of course. Nice jeans!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

great quality but long and pricey

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Pros: good quality, durability, good fit
Cons: too long, more money to hem
"I don't normally spend this type of money on jeans but these days you have to to get good quality and fit. I am 5'6 with hour glass figure(32D-26-36). These are true size bought my regular 27. However, they are long and need to be hemmed at least 3 inches!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

My new favourite jeans

PostedDecember 4, 2011
"These are super-flattering and super forgiving. I am 5'7 with curves, larger butt and thighs but small waist. These jeans make my body look great. I feel like a million bucks. They have added a breath of fresh air to my wardrobe, can wear casually or dressed up, tucked in tops or untucked. I can't get enough of these. I usually hate wearing jeans, but these are comfortable and soft.
They run true to size and are very reasonably priced."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

My favorite jeans - but run long.

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Pros: fit, material
Cons: length too long
"I am 5'8 and not curvy but these fit great. I see that the other reviewers are mostly curvy and find the fit flattering. I am the opposite but still find these jeans to be extremely flattering. The larger pockets on the back side are very flattering. This is my first pair of high-waisted jeans and I was worried that I might have the "mom jeans" look since I am not in my twenties anymore and need to be careful with the styles I choose so I still look fashionable.
My only complaint is that I had to get these hemmed. I am taller than the average gal and find it strange that I now need a tailor. It seems that most jean manufacturers are making the jeans on the longer size these days."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromSan Diego, CA
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

My new favorite jeans!!

PostedNovember 19, 2011
"These jeans are great! Perfect high to mid rise. The back pockets are positioned perfectly. Love the front pockets. The flare is great. The denim is nice and soft. Very comfortable. Seems like it'll hold its shape and won't stretch out if you wear it all day. I am a size 25 but have worn size 26. With this jeans my usual size 25 fit like a glove. So I think it fits TTS. The only issue I have is that the length is pretty long. But since I love these jeans I'm willing to get it hemmed!!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromChicago, IL
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

subtle sexy

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Pros: flattering for curves
Cons: very long legs
"these jeans are super flattering - i am 5'5 and hourglass-curvy, and they look really great on. i like the high waist and the butt/hips/thighs look smooth and lovely, with the flared legs adding nice contrast and length. two button fly, nice pockets. they are quite long - i need to figure out if i like them rolled or want to hem them. but they can definitely dress up or down and are the most attractive new jeans i've tried in awhile. good to wear with heels."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromVentura County, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedDecember 12, 2011
"I absolutely fell in love with these jeans the minute I put them on! They are so comfortable and really flattering! I love the whole high waisted, flared styles that are out right now. I am usually a 4/27 in jeans but I needed the 2 in these, they were only a tad tight but they will stretch! I did not get them yet but definatly on my "wish list"!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very flattering

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Pros: flattering fit
Cons: long in the length
"I tried these on in the store today in a size 25 and they almost fit. However, since they do come in size 24 online, I went ahead and ordered them right after I left the store. These jeans have just the right amount of stretch to really fit any body type and they are a medium to heavy weight denim. They are extremely flattering and comfortable; I might have to get two pair or get an extra pair if they go on sale!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromMadison, CT
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
"I cannot say enough good things about these pants! I love them!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromProvidence, RI
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

The Perfect High Rise Jean

PostedDecember 2, 2011
"These jeans completely live up to their description. Anyone looking for a go to high rise jean does not need to look any further. I had been shopping for months for a pair and these do not disappoint. They are very comfortable and can easily be dressed up and down."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Sooooo heavy & thick

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Pros: design love the front pockets
Cons: too heavy light in color
"Well, I guess im going to have to disagree with the other reviews here regarding this pant. I bought a similar in style, pant by J brand and I live in it everyday. They're darker ( which I love) and a lot lighter in it's denim fabric. When I saw this pair, I was sure I was going to buy them. however, I didn't try them on, my husband bought them for me.SO, It was a big let down:(. because they put on an extra 5 pounds on me. The material is super heavy. And the color is not the dark denim I like. so overall, they're too much money for me not to be ecstatic anout them as I was with the j brand ones. They'll need to be returned :(."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

The Perfect Pair

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Pros: dark wash
Cons: way too long in the leg
"Today is my second day in these great jeans. The high waist lands right at the belly button, perfect amount of room in the hips and thighs, and I love the dark wash! I gave four stars on aesthetic/design because the inseam is too long, even for my high wedge heels-I had to take up 3 inches. Vanity Sizing as well; I'd order one size down from your normal size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

didn't quite work--too much flare

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
"These are nice pants, I admit. However, they were a pass due to the design.
Fit
I usually wear a 2 or a 4, got the 27, and the fit was comfortable. They were WAY too long, as others have stated---but I am 5'5", and always expect that. The top of the pants has a super-flattering line-with the high waist and pockets placed JUST RIGHT. The stretch is wonderful, as other reviewers have stated.
Color
The wash is a bit in the middle---not dark, not light. It is very well captured in the photo. I honestly do not have all that much additional detail to add in regard to fit.
Style
Regarding style, however, while I do love the high waist and pockets, the flare was WAY too big and FLARED for me. These felt like they had a wide leg line from the knee down, instead of perhaps what I'd think of as a flare or boot cut, which is maybe a little more roomy right at the bottom. The line going down just made me feel like I was wading in my jeans.
From the photo, I just didn't expect the flare to be such a statement. It might be that the model is of course very tall, and so the flare does not seem quite so prominent on her.
If this is a look you like, these are a lovely option. For me, I tend to like a bit more toned down of a flare--like that of the J.Brand Ally jeans, which were very similar to these---but a little less 'statement flare'."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromDurango, CO
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Holding Horses High-Rise Flares

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
"These jeans are awesome. The wash is a nice shade of blue. The weight of the jeans is a nice medium weight. The length is quite long, which works for my tall frame. Dare I say they run a touch big? My typically size 30 was a little bit big on me.
After receiving them in the mail, I put them on and didn't take them off until bed time. I would say that is a win.
Keepers."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromindiana
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

heavy duty

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Pros: well made, great retro look, good color, great style
Cons: heavy fabric, wide in the hips for me
"I liked them but they did not fit. They seem wide in the hips for me. I could not fill them out. I was hoping these would be the jeans i have been searching for for months. I love the wide hem and the color. I was not a huge fan of the heavy weight denim, but If they had fit i would have kept them and loved them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

It's true, they're perfect!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
"I can only echo what everyone else has said about the quality, fit, and color of these jeans - they are beautiful, a perfect weight and wash, and unbelievably flattering. Very similar fit to the high-wasted pilcro flare cords from this fall, which I also loved. These were exactly what I had been looking for, so I thought they were worth the price. They are long, but I want to wear heels with them, so for me the length is perfect. I highly recommend them!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromMichigan
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful Fit!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Pros: perfect fit
"The color and fit on these jeans are perfect. Anthropologie has the perfect jeans, and these are proof! I fit in a size 26, which is my normal size. The jeans fit true to size. I am in love with these jeans! Buy them! They are worth every penny!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromSeattle
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Nice but way too long!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Pros: front packet, material
Cons: too long
"I loved this style of jeans, they look great on and give the illusion of longer legs. The material feels nice and the front pockets is what sold me! My only concern is the length, they are extremely too long! I am 5'1" so you can imagine how I am swimming on these pants so I had to return them. Anthro: you should consider adding length sizes to your pants. It will help capture the 5'1" audience in a much better way."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromSeattle
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedJuly 1, 2012
"Great quality, got lots of compliments. Very long but fine with boots."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Holding Horses High-Rise Flares
fromNewark, DE
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Oh my I look so good in these jeans!

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Pros: look long and lean, great quality denim
Cons: back pockets little to low
"I have been searching everywhere for jeans like this. I am 5'9, very long slim legs, 35" hips. These make me look long and lean and my waist look tiny. The denim is excellent quality. I was stepping on the hem before I washed them but after 2 washes I could wear them with 2" heels or flats. I don't mind that they shrank because I don't like heels. Everyone at work commented on how nice they looked. I can't wait to wear them with cute little summer tops. I hope they make them in a lighter wash....."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.