Customer reviews for Petaluma Sweater Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Petaluma Sweater Skirt

Petaluma Sweater Skirt
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 of 25(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
Review 1 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 25, 2011

Like wearing a soft blanket!

At 5' 6", this skirt swept the ground on me, add 1" with my 'flat' pair of shoes and I think it's good. Interesting heathered light purple color, I think it will wear well as a neutral. I thought I'd be an "M" but found the "S" worked better. I usually expect a size 6 in Anthro skirts if this helps. There's a nice stretch in this. Warm and cosy. Pull on style (read elastic waist).
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: soft and easy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedOctober 5, 2011

Loving this warm skirt

This is so soft and comfortable. A yes for me. I'm 5'3" , 130 lbs and the small fit great.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedNovember 4, 2011

I'll start by saying that I love this skirt. But I few disagreements with previous reviews and Anthropologie's description of it. First - it is not chunky! It is light sweater weight. The sizing is fine - i am 5'8" and curvy and it is a perfect length and comfortable around the waist. If anything, it has too much room in the hips and thighs. Wearing it today with a hip-length black boucle sweater - works perfectly. At sale price, it's a great deal.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 7, 2011

Love this skirt

The color is a lovely lavender purple and subtle. The skirt fits like a glove. it is very long. I am 5'91/2" and it's long for me, so if you are shorter than me, you will have to get it hemmed. I can't wait to wear it all winter long - very warm.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 17, 2011

Most comfortable skirt ever!!!

I went to Antrhopology to get a sweater and found this skirt on sale. I fell in love with this piece because it has a earthy, 70's/vintage and fall tone to it. I tried a large and then a medium because I wanted it to me a more fitted, so I grabbed the medium. The Antrho associate suggested I wear it with a white v neck tee, with a cropped jean jacket and boots. I bought it the day my beau and I were were going out for our anniversary and dressed it up with a niice cropped leather jacket and a pair of boots with a camisole underneath it, which he loved. I like that you can dress it up or down. I also paired it up with a grey sweater that I initially went in for since it has a tint of grey in the fabric.
I have to disagree with those that think it is too long. I am 5'8 and love that it is real long, It gives it a more Bohemian look which I fancy and if you are wearing heeled boots it doesn't look shorter. The fabric is great, not heavy and itchy and satisfied with the buy. A timeless piece and skirt that will never go out of style.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fabric is light weight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 18, 2011

Chunky, yet flattery

The knit is nice and chunky, yet is lays well. It is smidge too long (5'7", 115 lbs) and I like to wear flats, but I will suck it up because the skirt is so comfy.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: material
Cons: length
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedOctober 6, 2011

Full figured may need to size up

I really liked this skirt. Another poster used the word "chunky" and that is a good description. Rather than being polished, it has a homey, earthy, natural feel to it. The heathered eggplant color is great. It is warm and rich but neutral. I love the contrasting band at the bottom. The skirt is unlined but I did not find the material itchy.
The skirt is quite substantial. The weight of the knit makes it hang in a flattering column without adding bulk. This skirt is going to work on a variety of body types. Unfortunately on my 5'4" size 14 frame I got just the hint of saddle bag cling over the top of my thighs. Bummer. Sadly, the XL was already gone from the store and you can see that it sold out on line as well, so I think others must have had to size up.
I know that my local Anthro staff is really good about hunting down sizes at other stores even when they are sold out on line. I may ask them to try to find me an XL. However, the L size already went all the way down to the floor on me so I'm a little worried that the XL might be too long.
The only other concern I have is that, substantial as this skirt is, it might almost be too warm for indoors in the winter in those areas where homes and business crank their heat up to 70+. Of course at my age, that might be my own personal summer talking. Younger, thinner women who always seem to feel the cold are going to LOVE being wrapped up in this skirt!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: weight of knit, earthy natural stylish, rich neutral color
Cons: little narrow for those with big saddlebags
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
PostedFebruary 11, 2012

Wonderful Skirt

This skirt is great. It's warm and comfortable with just enough flair. I was concerned that it might be too long but that's not a problem at all. It can be worn on a casual day/night or dressed up. Perfect for Chicago fall/winter.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 23, 2011

Love it, but what to wear on top?

This is a great winter skirt. I am 5'5" 100 lbs and tried the XS. The waistband looked great around my hips, and the skirt is narrow but not form fitting. But, the problem was what to wear on top. I tried it with a fitted knit top, tucked in, but I couldn't find the right color combination. Prints didn't seem to work with the marled purple/beige of the skirt, and cream/beige washes me out. Straight up plum didn't look right either. I asked the SA's for suggestions, and they couldn't find anything either! I was worried that this skirt would languish at the back of my closet, waiting for me to find the perfect top. That's happened to me too many times. Anthro, any ideas? If you think of one, I'll snap this up!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 22, 2011

In between

The medium, too small. The large, too big. More cotton than wool.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedNovember 22, 2011

Comfy just not for me

I wanted this to work, but I had 2 problems. 1) The XS felt a little too snug around my waist and emphasized my problem area (love handles) abd the S was too big. 2) Generally I"m a cold person so I like warm clothing but I found myself getting too warm in this. Its adorable for the right body type just not for me. For reference: I am a petite-ruler shaped figure. I need things that create curves since I have narrow hips and little to no waist. I passed.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful color, soft fabric, great for comfy travel
Cons: i'm in between sizes, too warm for me, too long for petites
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 6, 2011

Absolutely beautiful skirt!

XS was perfect. I'm 5" and about 100 pounds. For once, thank you anthro, a maxi that ISN'T too long! I didn't find this too warm, as another reviewer stated, and I was glad it was more cotton than wool. It's not itchy in any way. Gorgeous color and with high boots and a snug top, I look long and lean!!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
PostedDecember 7, 2011

Lovely winter skirt

Warm, textured, like a cuddly blanket, but a skirt. It was a little thinner than I had expected from the photos, but plenty warm enough. I wear a petticoat to prevent it from getting hung up on tall boots, and to prevent the "seating" that kintted skirts can get (a permanent bottom bulge or sag that causes one to have to throw a skirt of dress out). OK so petticoats are old fashioned, but besids being practical, the heavy lace at the hem looks nice if it shows a little when crossing your legs on the bus. I am 5'3" and need to fold the waistband over, but the thicker waistband ends up looking really good peeping out from above and below a nice belt. I wore it as soon as it arrived with a taupe silk shirt and taupe suede boots, and dark brown smooth leather belt. Happy I bought it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
PostedSeptember 15, 2011

Warmth + style

Found this to be the perfect mix of texture, warmth and style. The color is a refreshing neutral in heathered purplish/brown/white that goes with most of my basics. The hem is ribbed in the lighter color for interest. It is both comfortable and well made -- not itchy, and a good weight so it keeps its shape and hangs nicely. Recommend.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedNovember 9, 2011

Great for winter

This is a great sweater skirt. It is a nice weight and feels sort of snuggly--like an old pair of sweatpants. The color is sort of a dusty purple with taupe or light gray marls.
The bottom of the skirt is finished off quite nicely and the waistband is nice and wide. My only complaint is that, even at my 5'7" height, it is a bit too long. I can foresee the hem dragging in the slush and snow (even if I'm wearing high heeled boots).
As to size, I am an hourglass 12 and found that the L fits great--not tight or clingly at all.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: neutral color, good quality knit, comfortable
Cons: a bit long
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 3, 2011

Super flattering skirt!

This skirt is beautiful. It is well made, flattering, runs true to size, and is the perfect staple for every wardrobe. It goes with everything. The length is prefect. I have nothing bad to say about this. IGet it before it is gone. I highly recommend it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering, well made, perfect length
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 8, 2011

Like a blanket

I am so happy with this skirt. It is cozy and warm, like wearing a blanket, yet it is structured enough to fit well. I am only 5 ft 2 in so I cuff the waist over and the length is just right. Given the narrowness of the skirt some may wish to size up.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 13, 2011

Comfortable

Love the look and feel of this sweater skirt. Wore mine with a white tee, belt, flat boots and a cropped denim jacket. Looks great.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedDecember 6, 2011

Beautiful winter maxi skirt

Beautiful fabric - heavy and perfect for winter. Design is nice - I like the waist belt like look. Fit is a bit big - only reason I rated it a 4 instead of a 5. FYI - I am 5'9" and 142 lbs and I bought the M. I found the skirt length a bit long and the waist a bit too big. Ordered online, probably would have been better with a S, but I kept the M.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: color, fabric quality, design
Cons: fits a bit big
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 18, 2011

petaluma skirt

I love this skirt, especially at the sale price. It comes to my ankles and I have long legs so I appreciate that. I am normally a large in these knit skirts, and this fits very nicely. I am an older woman, so don't like the clingy "show everything" look. If anything, the skirt runs a bit large, which is fine with me.
The colors, a dusky muted purple with taupe, is very practical. I wore it with a pink turtleneck and a purple cowl neck sweater and it worked well, as it will be taupe and beige - greys might be trickier but will also work. Texture is nice, well made, warm without being heavy. I am a teacher in upstate NY, and this will be my go-to skirt for the winter.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>