Customer reviews for Petaluma Sweater Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Petaluma Sweater Skirt

Petaluma Sweater Skirt
Average rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 of 25(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
Review 1 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromBoulder, CO
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Full figured may need to size up

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Pros: weight of knit, earthy natural stylish, rich neutral color
Cons: little narrow for those with big saddlebags
"I really liked this skirt. Another poster used the word "chunky" and that is a good description. Rather than being polished, it has a homey, earthy, natural feel to it. The heathered eggplant color is great. It is warm and rich but neutral. I love the contrasting band at the bottom. The skirt is unlined but I did not find the material itchy.
The skirt is quite substantial. The weight of the knit makes it hang in a flattering column without adding bulk. This skirt is going to work on a variety of body types. Unfortunately on my 5'4" size 14 frame I got just the hint of saddle bag cling over the top of my thighs. Bummer. Sadly, the XL was already gone from the store and you can see that it sold out on line as well, so I think others must have had to size up.
I know that my local Anthro staff is really good about hunting down sizes at other stores even when they are sold out on line. I may ask them to try to find me an XL. However, the L size already went all the way down to the floor on me so I'm a little worried that the XL might be too long.
The only other concern I have is that, substantial as this skirt is, it might almost be too warm for indoors in the winter in those areas where homes and business crank their heat up to 70+. Of course at my age, that might be my own personal summer talking. Younger, thinner women who always seem to feel the cold are going to LOVE being wrapped up in this skirt!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromoutside Chicago
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love it, but what to wear on top?

PostedOctober 23, 2011
"This is a great winter skirt. I am 5'5" 100 lbs and tried the XS. The waistband looked great around my hips, and the skirt is narrow but not form fitting. But, the problem was what to wear on top. I tried it with a fitted knit top, tucked in, but I couldn't find the right color combination. Prints didn't seem to work with the marled purple/beige of the skirt, and cream/beige washes me out. Straight up plum didn't look right either. I asked the SA's for suggestions, and they couldn't find anything either! I was worried that this skirt would languish at the back of my closet, waiting for me to find the perfect top. That's happened to me too many times. Anthro, any ideas? If you think of one, I'll snap this up!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromBaltimore, MD
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Loving this warm skirt

PostedOctober 5, 2011
"This is so soft and comfortable. A yes for me. I'm 5'3" , 130 lbs and the small fit great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromupstate ny
Age range:Over 55
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

petaluma skirt

PostedNovember 18, 2011
"I love this skirt, especially at the sale price. It comes to my ankles and I have long legs so I appreciate that. I am normally a large in these knit skirts, and this fits very nicely. I am an older woman, so don't like the clingy "show everything" look. If anything, the skirt runs a bit large, which is fine with me.
The colors, a dusky muted purple with taupe, is very practical. I wore it with a pink turtleneck and a purple cowl neck sweater and it worked well, as it will be taupe and beige - greys might be trickier but will also work. Texture is nice, well made, warm without being heavy. I am a teacher in upstate NY, and this will be my go-to skirt for the winter.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromupstate new york
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedNovember 4, 2011
"I'll start by saying that I love this skirt. But I few disagreements with previous reviews and Anthropologie's description of it. First - it is not chunky! It is light sweater weight. The sizing is fine - i am 5'8" and curvy and it is a perfect length and comfortable around the waist. If anything, it has too much room in the hips and thighs. Wearing it today with a hip-length black boucle sweater - works perfectly. At sale price, it's a great deal."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromSeattle, WA
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Warmth + style

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
"Found this to be the perfect mix of texture, warmth and style. The color is a refreshing neutral in heathered purplish/brown/white that goes with most of my basics. The hem is ribbed in the lighter color for interest. It is both comfortable and well made -- not itchy, and a good weight so it keeps its shape and hangs nicely. Recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Chunky, yet flattery

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Pros: material
Cons: length
"The knit is nice and chunky, yet is lays well. It is smidge too long (5'7", 115 lbs) and I like to wear flats, but I will suck it up because the skirt is so comfy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromBC, Canada
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful winter maxi skirt

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Pros: color, fabric quality, design
Cons: fits a bit big
"Beautiful fabric - heavy and perfect for winter. Design is nice - I like the waist belt like look. Fit is a bit big - only reason I rated it a 4 instead of a 5. FYI - I am 5'9" and 142 lbs and I bought the M. I found the skirt length a bit long and the waist a bit too big. Ordered online, probably would have been better with a S, but I kept the M."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromMassachusetts
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Super flattering skirt!

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Pros: flattering, well made, perfect length
Cons: none
"This skirt is beautiful. It is well made, flattering, runs true to size, and is the perfect staple for every wardrobe. It goes with everything. The length is prefect. I have nothing bad to say about this. IGet it before it is gone. I highly recommend it!"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromSouthern California
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Love this skirt

PostedNovember 7, 2011
"The color is a lovely lavender purple and subtle. The skirt fits like a glove. it is very long. I am 5'91/2" and it's long for me, so if you are shorter than me, you will have to get it hemmed. I can't wait to wear it all winter long - very warm."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromSouthern California
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Most comfortable skirt ever!!!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Pros: fabric is light weight
"I went to Antrhopology to get a sweater and found this skirt on sale. I fell in love with this piece because it has a earthy, 70's/vintage and fall tone to it. I tried a large and then a medium because I wanted it to me a more fitted, so I grabbed the medium. The Antrho associate suggested I wear it with a white v neck tee, with a cropped jean jacket and boots. I bought it the day my beau and I were were going out for our anniversary and dressed it up with a niice cropped leather jacket and a pair of boots with a camisole underneath it, which he loved. I like that you can dress it up or down. I also paired it up with a grey sweater that I initially went in for since it has a tint of grey in the fabric.
I have to disagree with those that think it is too long. I am 5'8 and love that it is real long, It gives it a more Bohemian look which I fancy and if you are wearing heeled boots it doesn't look shorter. The fabric is great, not heavy and itchy and satisfied with the buy. A timeless piece and skirt that will never go out of style.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromBay Area, California
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Like wearing a soft blanket!

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Pros: soft and easy
"At 5' 6", this skirt swept the ground on me, add 1" with my 'flat' pair of shoes and I think it's good. Interesting heathered light purple color, I think it will wear well as a neutral. I thought I'd be an "M" but found the "S" worked better. I usually expect a size 6 in Anthro skirts if this helps. There's a nice stretch in this. Warm and cosy. Pull on style (read elastic waist)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromWest Hartford, CT
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Like a blanket

PostedNovember 8, 2011
"I am so happy with this skirt. It is cozy and warm, like wearing a blanket, yet it is structured enough to fit well. I am only 5 ft 2 in so I cuff the waist over and the length is just right. Given the narrowness of the skirt some may wish to size up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromLos Angeles
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Comfortable

PostedNovember 13, 2011
"Love the look and feel of this sweater skirt. Wore mine with a white tee, belt, flat boots and a cropped denim jacket. Looks great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

J'adore

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
"I live in LA so sweater weather has a different definition. This is cozy without being hot. Fits tts and very flattering. Can be worn at waist or pulled a bit down for a more modern look. Love it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromCanada
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Great Winter Basic

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Pros: nice color, nice cut and length, affordable price, warm, good quality
Cons: slightly narrower than expected
"This is a great skirt for a reasonable price. The color is nice and will go with just about anything. The cut is a little bit narrower than most maxis but is flattering nonetheless. The skirt falls to the tops of my feet but could be worn on my hips. I am a big fan of the material and find it very cozy in this brisk fall weather. If you are looking for a sweater maxi, you can't go wrong with this affordable option."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromMichigan
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Great for winter

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Pros: neutral color, good quality knit, comfortable
Cons: a bit long
"This is a great sweater skirt. It is a nice weight and feels sort of snuggly--like an old pair of sweatpants. The color is sort of a dusty purple with taupe or light gray marls.
The bottom of the skirt is finished off quite nicely and the waistband is nice and wide. My only complaint is that, even at my 5'7" height, it is a bit too long. I can foresee the hem dragging in the slush and snow (even if I'm wearing high heeled boots).
As to size, I am an hourglass 12 and found that the L fits great--not tight or clingly at all.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromPhiladelphia,Pa.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very Warm and Comfy!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Pros: just a nice skirt
Cons: none
"Well ANTHRO I must say you guys have done it again. I recieved this skirt and although it's not the one that I ordered I really like it. I'm on the fence though about whether I should keep it or not because the weather here in Philly has been a little warm so I don't know that I will get much wear out of the skirt. Thanks agian ANTHRO!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great skirt

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
"I wore this today with a cowl neck sweater with black, taupe and white in it, Hue purple tights and purple leather booties (Everybody Pintucked booties - had a problem with the fit on those at first but they loosened up). I got an XL and normally wear a 12 to 14 in Anthro skirts."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petaluma Sweater Skirt
fromNJ
Age range:Over 55
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

In between

PostedNovember 22, 2011
"The medium, too small. The large, too big. More cotton than wool."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>