Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Adelaide Dress

Adelaide Dress
Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
8
1 Star
1
32 of 45(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress
Review 1 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 10, 2011

Silky, soft, yet edgy

This dress is cut very well, hiding upper body bulges without looking like it's hiding them. I wasn't sure about the rise in the front hem, but it works. This dress definitely shows leg in front. The back of the dress is fitted, hugs the rear nicely but provides a bit of room, too. I like that the belt is anchored in the back. I think the blousy effect up top is fresh. The dress is very chic overall. I feel sexy but comfortable in it, which is hard to pull off.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality of material and cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 13, 2011

<3 LOVE THIS DRESS <3

I bought this dress without trying it on in both colors--sometimes the size 12 fits me and other times it falls short--i was worried slightly about it being silk and having no stretch but the drape and overall design put me at ease. I got home and tried it and LOVED IT--so glad i bought it and have it in both colors--I will wear each one in a different way and think they are great for work or weekends. It is cut high as other people have said in the front however i am 5'4 and the slight increase in the hem length is flattering and just above the knee--the back drape is also nice for hiding any bra bulges ;)
Totally reccommend this dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 30, 2011

awkward fit

The dress fits very awkwardly on top. Very disappointing. I will be returning this unfortunately. The fabric was fantastic, but it's the fit that counts.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: soft comfortable beautiful fabric
Cons: fit and overall design
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 15, 2011

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESS

I originally looked at the dress online and loved the color. In person, it pops even more! As someone stated earlier, on the hanger it doesn't seem like it will do much for you, but once you put it on, it does great things for your body. The belted waist gives a great shape and the top and bottom hide flaws without looking baggy. I bought it to wear to a wedding but I think I will get so much more use out of it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color, shape
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 17, 2011

Great Dress

I tried this dress on in the store and it was sensational. I am tall and have no chest, and this dress was perfect for me. It did fit true to size, though I can't remember what size I tried on. If it goes on sale, I am BUYING!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 31, 2011

dress of my dreams

I've never been happier with an Anthro product. I'm short and VERY curvy (5'/ 145 lbs with a 26-inch waist) and I thought this was going to look dumpy on me. I usually by size 4 in Anthro dresses, and this was the right call here, too. It's sexy in a classic but energetic way, and very flattering. The back drapes perfectly. I'm thrilled - perfect for a beach wedding I have to go to later this year!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedSeptember 2, 2011

Would wear it every day if I could!

This dress is amazing! I love the color ( bright green ) I bought this dress true to size and it fits great, with beautiful drape in the back. Although it is a bit looser fitting on the top it is very flattering and has great waist definition. I love the fabric, so soft and has a great texture. This dress is perfect for so many occasions and is subtly sexy. This dress makes me feel like a million bucks!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great fabric, flattering, awesome color!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adelaide Dress
PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 6, 2011

Frumpy

I was in love with this dress online, but it did not deliver in person. The straight line at the bust made it fit really boxy. The tapering at the bottom gave it a peter pan feel. I was so disappointed! It also was not flattering at all. Great color, but that's it. I returned it.
Also, I ordered 2 sizes down and it was still way too big, especially the arm holes. Order way down!
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: fit, material, design
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedNovember 11, 2011

tres chic

I have been a regular (almost weekly) shopper at anthro for years and this is my first review, so bare with me. Like this if it helps and I will find time to write more reviews :) This dress is beautiful! great for busty, curvy figure. For reference i am 34E-27-35 so dresses are always difficult for me on top. I am usually a 6 in dresses at anthro and bought the 2 after debating between 2 and 4. Not much difference in the size, the 4 was just a bit baggy under the arms. The hemline is a bit short in front but I love to highlight my legs so not a problem! Just don't blouse the dress in front and it will not cross the line from sexy chic to risque. I instantly went for the navy! my fave color. I paid regular price and had the store steam it to get the wrinkles out and wore it that night! The dress is very slimming! Some people are saying the sash is black, but it looks like a darker shade of navy to me! I think big jewelry is gaudy with the dress and detracts from it's simple elegance and will make it look too cheap and trendy. Stay simple and you will look like you stepped off Worth Ave! I simply pulled my hair back and wore gold drop earrings, cognac color heels (black or metallic would work too), clutch bag and pop of color on my lips! Turned a lot of heads! :) You can tie the sash in front or wrap around and knot in back for more polished look. May need hose now that it is getting cold, but i would go with neutral color. Not sure the silk dress will pack well, but I am going to try to roll it in a towel for holiday travel. Classic dress and a steal at sale price! jealous ;)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great fabric, classic, slimming
Cons: wrinkles
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 28, 2011

Amazing.

This fabric, draping and shape are seriously lovely. As others have said, you should definitely size down. If you happen to be an hourglass shape such as myself, if it was possible to get a 4 on top and 6 on bottom we'd be golden. Sadly I'll have to return it as the top is way too baggy compared to the bottom. So sad, but hopefully someone will be able to snag this last one!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: draping, color, shape, belt stays put
Cons: different sizes, wrinkly fabric
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 13, 2011

Disappointed

Read the reviews, hoped for the best but back it went. To me it was cheap looking and no lining was a deal breaker. Since I live in Alaska i need a little weight for dresses in the winter. It just was not what I wanted. Back it went.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: style and color
Cons: fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 12, 2011

Very flattering

I must say I was not impressed with the dress when I saw it online, but I tried it on in the store because I liked the darker gery color and the fabric. And it exceeded my expectations... It dose not look like it online but it is very flattering on, especially if you like to accent your waist. It drapes lovely in both the front and back. I also loved the aline hem to the dress. I wear a 00 and this dress is nice for smaller frames because of the sash at the waist.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 19, 2011

Investment Piece

This is the dress to grab when you want to be beautiful in a casual way, stand out from the LBD's (not that there's anything wrong with them!) and don't want the nonsense of sucking in your gut. Any nice dinner out, any date when you want to look like you put in some effort, any cocktail party- this will be my go-to dress. Get dressed in 5 mins.
I can't really afford this as I'm leaving for a trip next week, but I knew I'd always regret it if I didn't grab it - no worries about bra straps, could easily be dressed down or up, and a colour that just seals the deal (the green).
The only hitch is it's quite short - although I'm a leggy 5'8" - there's no way I could wear this to work. Also I went a size down - I'm curvy (30E) but i got a 4 - I'm usually a 6.
The other detail I looooved was that the belt is a light grosgrain - so there's a great contrast in textures with the silk - I thought it would be shiny and slippery (meh), but it's not - which works beautifully.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: stunning colour, no fuss- no belly no bra straps
Cons: too short for work, fits a bit large
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
PostedAugust 25, 2011

shapless, thin material, not flattering

I also had high hopes for this dress, but it looked terrible! Large arm holes, and even after belting it up it still did nothing for my hourglass figure. I'd--at the very least--wait for this to go on sale.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedSeptember 16, 2011

This dress made me look so thin!

I purchased this dress in the store, in navy, and it looks absolutely fabulous. I wear it both with and without a jacket.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 13, 2011

You will love it or hate it

This dress will either flatter you or do nothing. I'm 5' 11lbs, and size 0 in navy fit well. I ordered the 2 online so I will see which one looks better. I love how it drapes. I'm broad shouldered and hippy so this dress balances me out. The front is a little lowered than I'd like, but not a deal breaker. The picture doesn't actually emphasize this, but as others have written, the front dress is cut shorter than the back. It is not dramatic but significant enough to be noticeable. Being on the shorter side, it is actually a good thing. The down side as with many other anthro dresses is that it does not have a slip. For the price, it really should. The other things, the sash is actually sewn onto the dress so it is not detachable. I personally like the sash, but I could see why others wouldn't. It would look cute with a different wide belt.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 18, 2011

staple LBD

A great twist on the LBD... I have this in navy, which is almost a grayish/black. It is incredibly flattering and so easy to wear. Green is great, too, but this is one of those dresses you can wear 100 times if it's in a neutral color and nobody will realize they've seen it before. If you work in events, or atttend many evening events, it's a staple - comfortable, easy to transport, doesn't show sweat, not too clingy. I'm tall and have a robust butt - and it works so well. Great with gray shoes; shows your waist (and there's a sash so it doesn't matter how big or small your waist is); and it's relatively seasonless. Dress up with earrings or bangles and super high heels. Dress down with a jacket or cardigan and opaque tights. Also the little tulip opening at the hem is a little sexy but not too much. Love love.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 4, 2011

Beautiful dress!

I tried this one on today and while it didn't fit me perfectly...I think it's gorgeous!!..and would have snapped it up if it did.
The front is amazing..I tried it in the beautiful green color w/the black belt...which hit me at my true waist.
I am short waisted and also sometimes have issues the the upper body of a dress where I have extra material and usually have to have the shoulder/strap area shortened. This is what happened with this one...there was too much blousy material hanging down in the back..some would have been okay but it was a bit much on me. I tried the 2 and the 0..the 0 might have been the best out of the two...but I couldn't get past the material up top..if this works for you..I'm jealous! :-)
I think its a unique dress that's funky and fun.
(I'm 5'3..124..34C..small framed)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedAugust 13, 2011

I am the only reviewer thus far who did not love this dress nor did I find it to be flattering on.. I do love the green color but found the top part to be very unflattering to my arms and the bottom.had alot of static cling. It was clinging to my legs and inbetween them so much I could noit walk. The fabric is very thin and the dress seems very pricey for the quality. The sash IS attached to this dress. I think it would have been best for me to have been able to belt it with a wider belt since I am wider waisted-5'6" 36-30-37 for reference.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedAugust 20, 2011

Disappointed

I had high hopes for this dress based on all of the positive reviews. The shape seemed like it would be very flattering for an hourglass figure, but it just did nothing for me. I opted to try on the navy, since the green color just makes my olive skin look more green. However I think the green is a beautiful color and would look amazing on anyone with fairer skin (regardless of hair color) or of a very dark complexion. I tried on the 4 and the 6. I found the cutout in the front of the 4 to come up much too high on me for my liking, but the 6 was too big overall. I think part of the problem is that I am just so short that the waist just didn't hit correctly on me, throwing the whole fit of the dress off. This would probably look fantastic on taller girls of a variety of body shapes. The material is also very thin and did not seem to be worth the price tag. Otherwise it's a versatile dress that could be worn for a variety of occasions
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>