Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Adelaide Dress

Adelaide Dress
Average rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
8
1 Star
1
32 of 45(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress
Review 1 for Adelaide Dress
fromMontreal, Canada
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

This is great - for the right height though

PostedOctober 6, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"OK, here is my take on this dress: this is a great dress, the fabric is suede-like silk, it is unlined, the green color is just so unique and flattering. I personally love it, but I believe that you should be on the shorter side for this to work. I'm 5'2'', 100 lbs, 32 A, and got the size 0. As you can see from the pics, the higher-hem hits me right above the knee, keeping the look classy. I love how this dress makes me look curvy. But i can imagine how on someone curvier it would also have a slimming look. A winner either way. But you have to be SHORT!"
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adelaide Dress
fromsouthern California
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Maybe for the right person

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is just weird on me. I think for a tall, willowly type, it might be OK. I don't like the change in hemline length from front to back either."
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adelaide Dress
fromHouston, TX
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Just not flattering

PostedAugust 30, 2011
User submitted photo
"I wish I had a picture of this from the back, because it was very flattering when I looked at my back in the mirror, but from the front...it's just not good. I was also surprised at how high the inseam came up in the front. Wasn't really fond of that. The color is pretty though. I feel like if a little more effort was put into making the front of this dress flattering, then it would be a home run."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adelaide Dress
fromboca raton, florida
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

<3 LOVE THIS DRESS <3

PostedAugust 13, 2011
"I bought this dress without trying it on in both colors--sometimes the size 12 fits me and other times it falls short--i was worried slightly about it being silk and having no stretch but the drape and overall design put me at ease. I got home and tried it and LOVED IT--so glad i bought it and have it in both colors--I will wear each one in a different way and think they are great for work or weekends. It is cut high as other people have said in the front however i am 5'4 and the slight increase in the hem length is flattering and just above the knee--the back drape is also nice for hiding any bra bulges ;)
Totally reccommend this dress!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adelaide Dress
fromPortland, OR
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful dress!

PostedAugust 4, 2011
"I tried this one on today and while it didn't fit me perfectly...I think it's gorgeous!!..and would have snapped it up if it did.
The front is amazing..I tried it in the beautiful green color w/the black belt...which hit me at my true waist.
I am short waisted and also sometimes have issues the the upper body of a dress where I have extra material and usually have to have the shoulder/strap area shortened. This is what happened with this one...there was too much blousy material hanging down in the back..some would have been okay but it was a bit much on me. I tried the 2 and the 0..the 0 might have been the best out of the two...but I couldn't get past the material up top..if this works for you..I'm jealous! :-)
I think its a unique dress that's funky and fun.
(I'm 5'3..124..34C..small framed)
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adelaide Dress
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

My LGD (little green dress)

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
"This dress is FAB!!! I am 5'7 123lbs 34b and I actually got the size 0. So sizing is off because I am more like a 4. The back hits the back of my knee and the front is about 5 inches high. I am wearing it to a rehearsal wedding and I loooove it! The fabric is butter soft and the ribbon is gorgeous. THe draping in the top half of the back of the dress is so nice, it looks like old hollywood and the front is sexy so.. old hollywood meets new hollywood:) I recommend, just go down 2 sizes! Conservative enough, sexy enough, polished enough, and relaxed... it has everything! I bought the green because I have wanted a green dress since for like 10 years. Its soo fantastic!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adelaide Dress
fromClaremont, CA
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

pretty dress

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Cons: front of dress is a little too short
"Before I got this dress, I read the reviews. They were right. Its about 2 sizes too big. Im a size 4 and I went down to a 0. Its a really pretty dress. The color is nice. The front is a little shorter in person than on the mannequin. Once you put the belt around you, the front part of the dress pulls up. The back length I like.
The fit is perfect, in the size 0 that is. Overall I like the dress. Do I think its worth the price, no. Wait for it to go on sale. I bought this dress for a formal banquet. Pair it with brown suede tall boots and its perfect for fall. Classy!
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adelaide Dress
fromChicago, IL
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

tres chic

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Pros: great fabric, classic, slimming
Cons: wrinkles
"I have been a regular (almost weekly) shopper at anthro for years and this is my first review, so bare with me. Like this if it helps and I will find time to write more reviews :) This dress is beautiful! great for busty, curvy figure. For reference i am 34E-27-35 so dresses are always difficult for me on top. I am usually a 6 in dresses at anthro and bought the 2 after debating between 2 and 4. Not much difference in the size, the 4 was just a bit baggy under the arms. The hemline is a bit short in front but I love to highlight my legs so not a problem! Just don't blouse the dress in front and it will not cross the line from sexy chic to risque. I instantly went for the navy! my fave color. I paid regular price and had the store steam it to get the wrinkles out and wore it that night! The dress is very slimming! Some people are saying the sash is black, but it looks like a darker shade of navy to me! I think big jewelry is gaudy with the dress and detracts from it's simple elegance and will make it look too cheap and trendy. Stay simple and you will look like you stepped off Worth Ave! I simply pulled my hair back and wore gold drop earrings, cognac color heels (black or metallic would work too), clutch bag and pop of color on my lips! Turned a lot of heads! :) You can tie the sash in front or wrap around and knot in back for more polished look. May need hose now that it is getting cold, but i would go with neutral color. Not sure the silk dress will pack well, but I am going to try to roll it in a towel for holiday travel. Classic dress and a steal at sale price! jealous ;)"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adelaide Dress
fromMinneapolis
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

PostedAugust 13, 2011
"I am the only reviewer thus far who did not love this dress nor did I find it to be flattering on.. I do love the green color but found the top part to be very unflattering to my arms and the bottom.had alot of static cling. It was clinging to my legs and inbetween them so much I could noit walk. The fabric is very thin and the dress seems very pricey for the quality. The sash IS attached to this dress. I think it would have been best for me to have been able to belt it with a wider belt since I am wider waisted-5'6" 36-30-37 for reference."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adelaide Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Investment Piece

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Pros: stunning colour, no fuss- no belly no bra straps
Cons: too short for work, fits a bit large
"This is the dress to grab when you want to be beautiful in a casual way, stand out from the LBD's (not that there's anything wrong with them!) and don't want the nonsense of sucking in your gut. Any nice dinner out, any date when you want to look like you put in some effort, any cocktail party- this will be my go-to dress. Get dressed in 5 mins.
I can't really afford this as I'm leaving for a trip next week, but I knew I'd always regret it if I didn't grab it - no worries about bra straps, could easily be dressed down or up, and a colour that just seals the deal (the green).
The only hitch is it's quite short - although I'm a leggy 5'8" - there's no way I could wear this to work. Also I went a size down - I'm curvy (30E) but i got a 4 - I'm usually a 6.
The other detail I looooved was that the belt is a light grosgrain - so there's a great contrast in textures with the silk - I thought it would be shiny and slippery (meh), but it's not - which works beautifully."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adelaide Dress
fromBuffalo, NY
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedOctober 6, 2011
"I am in love. This dress is so glamorous! The fabric is amazingly soft. Silhouette is classy and timeless. I have a small waist and wide hips and I think that the style is very flattering for my shape. After seeing the dress online I had my heart set on the green, but once in the store I was disappointed in the shade. It was not as true kelly green as I hoped, but I was pleasantly surprised with the navy color. Also, the front was shorter than I was hoping for. I am planning on wearing this to a work event, and almost didn't buy it because of the length in front. Adding a dark pair of tights makes a big difference. I also added great shoes and a brooch to the sash to pull the look all together."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adelaide Dress
fromSydney, Australia
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Just not for me

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Pros: beautiful colour
Cons: ill fitting, gaping sleeves
"I was really excited when Adelaide arrived in the post but my excitement recovered when I tried the dress on. The colour is beautiful, and the ribbon tie is a lovely textural touch... but the fit was terrible on me. I am a size 8 with an hourglass figure, I read the reviews stating that the dress was a big make and purchased a size 6. The dress looked like a bag with a ribbon around it when it was on - it did not flatter my curves in any way and made me look much bigger than I am. The sleeves were gaping and while I think that this would be fixed by purchasing a size 4 dress, I don't imagine that the fit would change that much. The unusual hemline did not work for me either.
I tried the dress on several times in the hope that it would miraculously change! Unfortunately it didn't and Adelaide has to go back.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adelaide Dress
fromFlorida Panhandle
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Silky, soft, yet edgy

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Pros: quality of material and cut
"This dress is cut very well, hiding upper body bulges without looking like it's hiding them. I wasn't sure about the rise in the front hem, but it works. This dress definitely shows leg in front. The back of the dress is fitted, hugs the rear nicely but provides a bit of room, too. I like that the belt is anchored in the back. I think the blousy effect up top is fresh. The dress is very chic overall. I feel sexy but comfortable in it, which is hard to pull off."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adelaide Dress
fromCalifornia
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

RUN DON'T WALK...

PostedAugust 10, 2011
"this dress is my new favorite thing! it's sexy, but chic. bought it to wear to a wedding but i can also wear to work. the front rise is really flattering allowing you to show a little leg and the back draping detail is beautiful. the sewn in belt keeps it from making you look frumpy and actually highlights my waist. i tied the belt in the back, wrapping it twice, which made it wider and more flattering on me. so hard to find flattering dresses but this one is!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adelaide Dress
frombrooklyn, ny
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

dress of my dreams

PostedAugust 31, 2011
"I've never been happier with an Anthro product. I'm short and VERY curvy (5'/ 145 lbs with a 26-inch waist) and I thought this was going to look dumpy on me. I usually by size 4 in Anthro dresses, and this was the right call here, too. It's sexy in a classic but energetic way, and very flattering. The back drapes perfectly. I'm thrilled - perfect for a beach wedding I have to go to later this year!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adelaide Dress
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Disappointed

PostedAugust 20, 2011
"I had high hopes for this dress based on all of the positive reviews. The shape seemed like it would be very flattering for an hourglass figure, but it just did nothing for me. I opted to try on the navy, since the green color just makes my olive skin look more green. However I think the green is a beautiful color and would look amazing on anyone with fairer skin (regardless of hair color) or of a very dark complexion. I tried on the 4 and the 6. I found the cutout in the front of the 4 to come up much too high on me for my liking, but the 6 was too big overall. I think part of the problem is that I am just so short that the waist just didn't hit correctly on me, throwing the whole fit of the dress off. This would probably look fantastic on taller girls of a variety of body shapes. The material is also very thin and did not seem to be worth the price tag. Otherwise it's a versatile dress that could be worn for a variety of occasions"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adelaide Dress
fromChicago, IL
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

size down

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
"I'm 5'8", 34A, 26" waist and 38" hips. I tried this on in my normal size 6 and the top was waaay too big so I sized down until I tried the 2 and the top fit perfectly and the bottom did too, surprisingly. I think if this didn't have the tie waist there'd be no way for the 2 to fit on the bottom for me, but I'm glad it did because this is a great dress!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adelaide Dress
fromTexas
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Pretty dress, poor design

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Pros: pretty color
Cons: odd dimensions
"I got the dark blue dress and it was pretty but I had a lot of the same issues that other reviewers had. There was just too much excess fabric at he top half, and considering that I have a lot going on up top, this is saying something. I normally have no trouble filling out the top half of dresses but with this one, it was too big and made me look odd and square.
That said, if you are small in the bust and relatively un-curvy, this dress could be really pretty on you. It is simply not proportioned for an hourglass with a short waist, but for anyone with a longer waist and slender shoulders, this could be quite pretty.
Back it went!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adelaide Dress
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Has potential

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Pros: fabric, color
Cons: length, fit on top, belt can't be detached
"If you are shorter and busty this dress could be great for you! Unfortunately for me though the dress was too short for work (I'm 5' 8") and too baggy on top (32 B/C). The green is beautiful though and would look stunning on almost anyone!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adelaide Dress
fromFL
Age range:18-24
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Almost loved it...

PostedOctober 21, 2011
"This dress is beautiful, and the green is very different. I'm 5'7"/36C/30 waist/38 hips. I tried on the 12, and it just wasn't working for me. Though the length in the back was great, the cut in the front made the dress a little too short for my comfort. When tied, too much fabric gathered on the sides along my hips, and it was very unflattering. Though I'm sure sizing down would have helped that problem, the store didn't have a 10 or an 8, and the length issue would not have gotten better with the smaller sizes. If you're petite and slim, this dress should be a nice purchase for you, but for me it was a bit of a disaster."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 3 next>>