Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Adelaide Dress

Adelaide Dress
Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
8
1 Star
1
32 of 45(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress
Review 1 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 12, 2011

Very flattering

I must say I was not impressed with the dress when I saw it online, but I tried it on in the store because I liked the darker gery color and the fabric. And it exceeded my expectations... It dose not look like it online but it is very flattering on, especially if you like to accent your waist. It drapes lovely in both the front and back. I also loved the aline hem to the dress. I wear a 00 and this dress is nice for smaller frames because of the sash at the waist.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 13, 2011

May not work for petites

Like another reviewer, I'm very tiny up top and had trouble with this dress. The cut, draping and assymetrical hemline are fabulous and chic but on a petite like me (5'2", 105), I just looked a little swallowed up in it. It would be great on someone a little taller or one who'd like to conceal a little heaviness I imagine though!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: chic modern elegant
Cons: too boxy on petites
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 27, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedAugust 27, 2011

Disappointed with fit

I loved the way this dress looked on-line but I was disappointed with the fit. There was an excessive amount of material around the arms that just did not look right even though the draping in the back was fine and the rest of the dress looked flattering. It's too bad because I found the length of the dress to be unusually perfect for my height (5'2) as it hit right above my knee. I also received the dress in the mail in an extremely wrinkled condition. I would recommend trying this one in the store.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: good length for petities
Cons: too baggy under arms
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adelaide Dress
PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedOctober 18, 2011

Has potential

If you are shorter and busty this dress could be great for you! Unfortunately for me though the dress was too short for work (I'm 5' 8") and too baggy on top (32 B/C). The green is beautiful though and would look stunning on almost anyone!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fabric, color
Cons: length, fit on top, belt can't be detached
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedNovember 11, 2011

tres chic

I have been a regular (almost weekly) shopper at anthro for years and this is my first review, so bare with me. Like this if it helps and I will find time to write more reviews :) This dress is beautiful! great for busty, curvy figure. For reference i am 34E-27-35 so dresses are always difficult for me on top. I am usually a 6 in dresses at anthro and bought the 2 after debating between 2 and 4. Not much difference in the size, the 4 was just a bit baggy under the arms. The hemline is a bit short in front but I love to highlight my legs so not a problem! Just don't blouse the dress in front and it will not cross the line from sexy chic to risque. I instantly went for the navy! my fave color. I paid regular price and had the store steam it to get the wrinkles out and wore it that night! The dress is very slimming! Some people are saying the sash is black, but it looks like a darker shade of navy to me! I think big jewelry is gaudy with the dress and detracts from it's simple elegance and will make it look too cheap and trendy. Stay simple and you will look like you stepped off Worth Ave! I simply pulled my hair back and wore gold drop earrings, cognac color heels (black or metallic would work too), clutch bag and pop of color on my lips! Turned a lot of heads! :) You can tie the sash in front or wrap around and knot in back for more polished look. May need hose now that it is getting cold, but i would go with neutral color. Not sure the silk dress will pack well, but I am going to try to roll it in a towel for holiday travel. Classic dress and a steal at sale price! jealous ;)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great fabric, classic, slimming
Cons: wrinkles
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 27, 2011

Such a surprise since I made a mistake!

I was so angry at myself when I ordered the wrong size. I ordered a 2 and I normally am a 6-8 in dresses. I was considering ordering another one but before I could make my decision all the right dress sizes were sold out. So I waited for this beautiful dress to arrive in the mail for me to return it. I chose to try it on anyways and OMG. It is so cute. Plus it was not to small. It might be a little tighter on my hips. But not too tight. Because the dress is suppose to be loose it just have a different look to the bottom. The top part of the dress looks exactly like I imagined it would :) I'm so happy with this buy!
The Good:
1. wonderful quality
2. beautiful colors
3. ribbon is sown into back which I like because it will keep it in place.
The Bad:
1. Its a little short in the front but the dress is so classy looking I think I can get away with it for certain events. But I will be wearing tights to cover my legs most of the time.
2. That's it :)
Good luck Ladies, I have a feeling this one looks good with all kinds of sizing.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality, soft fabric, ribbon sown on
Cons: it's a little short in the front
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 11, 2011

Pretty dress, poor design

I got the dark blue dress and it was pretty but I had a lot of the same issues that other reviewers had. There was just too much excess fabric at he top half, and considering that I have a lot going on up top, this is saying something. I normally have no trouble filling out the top half of dresses but with this one, it was too big and made me look odd and square.
That said, if you are small in the bust and relatively un-curvy, this dress could be really pretty on you. It is simply not proportioned for an hourglass with a short waist, but for anyone with a longer waist and slender shoulders, this could be quite pretty.
Back it went!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty color
Cons: odd dimensions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 13, 2011

<3 LOVE THIS DRESS <3

I bought this dress without trying it on in both colors--sometimes the size 12 fits me and other times it falls short--i was worried slightly about it being silk and having no stretch but the drape and overall design put me at ease. I got home and tried it and LOVED IT--so glad i bought it and have it in both colors--I will wear each one in a different way and think they are great for work or weekends. It is cut high as other people have said in the front however i am 5'4 and the slight increase in the hem length is flattering and just above the knee--the back drape is also nice for hiding any bra bulges ;)
Totally reccommend this dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
PostedAugust 25, 2011

shapless, thin material, not flattering

I also had high hopes for this dress, but it looked terrible! Large arm holes, and even after belting it up it still did nothing for my hourglass figure. I'd--at the very least--wait for this to go on sale.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2011

Surprisingly cute.

I have to say this dress is much cuter on. It is suprisingly cute and very flattering. I am 5'4", weigh 115 lbs and I really like the way that a small fits me. Super cute for a wedding.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 19, 2011

Just not for me

I was really excited when Adelaide arrived in the post but my excitement recovered when I tried the dress on. The colour is beautiful, and the ribbon tie is a lovely textural touch... but the fit was terrible on me. I am a size 8 with an hourglass figure, I read the reviews stating that the dress was a big make and purchased a size 6. The dress looked like a bag with a ribbon around it when it was on - it did not flatter my curves in any way and made me look much bigger than I am. The sleeves were gaping and while I think that this would be fixed by purchasing a size 4 dress, I don't imagine that the fit would change that much. The unusual hemline did not work for me either.
I tried the dress on several times in the hope that it would miraculously change! Unfortunately it didn't and Adelaide has to go back.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful colour
Cons: ill fitting, gaping sleeves
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 10, 2011

Silky, soft, yet edgy

This dress is cut very well, hiding upper body bulges without looking like it's hiding them. I wasn't sure about the rise in the front hem, but it works. This dress definitely shows leg in front. The back of the dress is fitted, hugs the rear nicely but provides a bit of room, too. I like that the belt is anchored in the back. I think the blousy effect up top is fresh. The dress is very chic overall. I feel sexy but comfortable in it, which is hard to pull off.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality of material and cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 14, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 14, 2011

Brilliantly Coloured, Extremely Flattering

The green is amazingly eye-catching in person, and although the dress looks boring online, it falls nicely on smaller frames. I'm a size two with a 34D cup and was worried when I first picked it up if it would make me look heavy like some looser fitting dresses tend to do when your a little disproportional; the sash is slightly dropped and provides a nice contrast which really prevents this from happening. It has a slight Grecian look to it, and I'd probably dare wearing it with a cute pair of gladiators if I found the right ones...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 19, 2011

size down

I'm 5'8", 34A, 26" waist and 38" hips. I tried this on in my normal size 6 and the top was waaay too big so I sized down until I tried the 2 and the top fit perfectly and the bottom did too, surprisingly. I think if this didn't have the tie waist there'd be no way for the 2 to fit on the bottom for me, but I'm glad it did because this is a great dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adelaide Dress
PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 6, 2011

Frumpy

I was in love with this dress online, but it did not deliver in person. The straight line at the bust made it fit really boxy. The tapering at the bottom gave it a peter pan feel. I was so disappointed! It also was not flattering at all. Great color, but that's it. I returned it.
Also, I ordered 2 sizes down and it was still way too big, especially the arm holes. Order way down!
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: fit, material, design
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adelaide Dress
PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedOctober 11, 2011

pretty dress

Before I got this dress, I read the reviews. They were right. Its about 2 sizes too big. Im a size 4 and I went down to a 0. Its a really pretty dress. The color is nice. The front is a little shorter in person than on the mannequin. Once you put the belt around you, the front part of the dress pulls up. The back length I like.
The fit is perfect, in the size 0 that is. Overall I like the dress. Do I think its worth the price, no. Wait for it to go on sale. I bought this dress for a formal banquet. Pair it with brown suede tall boots and its perfect for fall. Classy!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cons: front of dress is a little too short
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 28, 2011

Amazing.

This fabric, draping and shape are seriously lovely. As others have said, you should definitely size down. If you happen to be an hourglass shape such as myself, if it was possible to get a 4 on top and 6 on bottom we'd be golden. Sadly I'll have to return it as the top is way too baggy compared to the bottom. So sad, but hopefully someone will be able to snag this last one!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: draping, color, shape, belt stays put
Cons: different sizes, wrinkly fabric
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 13, 2011

You will love it or hate it

This dress will either flatter you or do nothing. I'm 5' 11lbs, and size 0 in navy fit well. I ordered the 2 online so I will see which one looks better. I love how it drapes. I'm broad shouldered and hippy so this dress balances me out. The front is a little lowered than I'd like, but not a deal breaker. The picture doesn't actually emphasize this, but as others have written, the front dress is cut shorter than the back. It is not dramatic but significant enough to be noticeable. Being on the shorter side, it is actually a good thing. The down side as with many other anthro dresses is that it does not have a slip. For the price, it really should. The other things, the sash is actually sewn onto the dress so it is not detachable. I personally like the sash, but I could see why others wouldn't. It would look cute with a different wide belt.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 13, 2011

Disappointed

Read the reviews, hoped for the best but back it went. To me it was cheap looking and no lining was a deal breaker. Since I live in Alaska i need a little weight for dresses in the winter. It just was not what I wanted. Back it went.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: style and color
Cons: fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
PostedNovember 24, 2011

Made me look like a house!

First of all, it is silk with no slip, so it will hug everything. It's not too bad though, because it isn't fitted. However, I have shoulders on the broader side, and the way this dress drapes from the shoulder (which could have been taken in a touch) and onto the chest, I totally looked like a boy. A big boy at that. :( It's really too bad because the green is absolutely beautiful! Would probably look good on athletic ladies taller than 5'5".
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful color
Cons: not flattering for my figure
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>