Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Adelaide Dress

Adelaide Dress
Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
8
1 Star
1
32 of 45(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress
Review 1 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedAugust 13, 2011

I am the only reviewer thus far who did not love this dress nor did I find it to be flattering on.. I do love the green color but found the top part to be very unflattering to my arms and the bottom.had alot of static cling. It was clinging to my legs and inbetween them so much I could noit walk. The fabric is very thin and the dress seems very pricey for the quality. The sash IS attached to this dress. I think it would have been best for me to have been able to belt it with a wider belt since I am wider waisted-5'6" 36-30-37 for reference.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 15, 2011

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESS

I originally looked at the dress online and loved the color. In person, it pops even more! As someone stated earlier, on the hanger it doesn't seem like it will do much for you, but once you put it on, it does great things for your body. The belted waist gives a great shape and the top and bottom hide flaws without looking baggy. I bought it to wear to a wedding but I think I will get so much more use out of it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color, shape
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 17, 2011

Great Dress

I tried this dress on in the store and it was sensational. I am tall and have no chest, and this dress was perfect for me. It did fit true to size, though I can't remember what size I tried on. If it goes on sale, I am BUYING!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 31, 2011

dress of my dreams

I've never been happier with an Anthro product. I'm short and VERY curvy (5'/ 145 lbs with a 26-inch waist) and I thought this was going to look dumpy on me. I usually by size 4 in Anthro dresses, and this was the right call here, too. It's sexy in a classic but energetic way, and very flattering. The back drapes perfectly. I'm thrilled - perfect for a beach wedding I have to go to later this year!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedSeptember 2, 2011

Would wear it every day if I could!

This dress is amazing! I love the color ( bright green ) I bought this dress true to size and it fits great, with beautiful drape in the back. Although it is a bit looser fitting on the top it is very flattering and has great waist definition. I love the fabric, so soft and has a great texture. This dress is perfect for so many occasions and is subtly sexy. This dress makes me feel like a million bucks!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great fabric, flattering, awesome color!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 19, 2011

size down

I'm 5'8", 34A, 26" waist and 38" hips. I tried this on in my normal size 6 and the top was waaay too big so I sized down until I tried the 2 and the top fit perfectly and the bottom did too, surprisingly. I think if this didn't have the tie waist there'd be no way for the 2 to fit on the bottom for me, but I'm glad it did because this is a great dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 20, 2011

My LGD (little green dress)

This dress is FAB!!! I am 5'7 123lbs 34b and I actually got the size 0. So sizing is off because I am more like a 4. The back hits the back of my knee and the front is about 5 inches high. I am wearing it to a rehearsal wedding and I loooove it! The fabric is butter soft and the ribbon is gorgeous. THe draping in the top half of the back of the dress is so nice, it looks like old hollywood and the front is sexy so.. old hollywood meets new hollywood:) I recommend, just go down 2 sizes! Conservative enough, sexy enough, polished enough, and relaxed... it has everything! I bought the green because I have wanted a green dress since for like 10 years. Its soo fantastic!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedNovember 11, 2011

tres chic

I have been a regular (almost weekly) shopper at anthro for years and this is my first review, so bare with me. Like this if it helps and I will find time to write more reviews :) This dress is beautiful! great for busty, curvy figure. For reference i am 34E-27-35 so dresses are always difficult for me on top. I am usually a 6 in dresses at anthro and bought the 2 after debating between 2 and 4. Not much difference in the size, the 4 was just a bit baggy under the arms. The hemline is a bit short in front but I love to highlight my legs so not a problem! Just don't blouse the dress in front and it will not cross the line from sexy chic to risque. I instantly went for the navy! my fave color. I paid regular price and had the store steam it to get the wrinkles out and wore it that night! The dress is very slimming! Some people are saying the sash is black, but it looks like a darker shade of navy to me! I think big jewelry is gaudy with the dress and detracts from it's simple elegance and will make it look too cheap and trendy. Stay simple and you will look like you stepped off Worth Ave! I simply pulled my hair back and wore gold drop earrings, cognac color heels (black or metallic would work too), clutch bag and pop of color on my lips! Turned a lot of heads! :) You can tie the sash in front or wrap around and knot in back for more polished look. May need hose now that it is getting cold, but i would go with neutral color. Not sure the silk dress will pack well, but I am going to try to roll it in a towel for holiday travel. Classic dress and a steal at sale price! jealous ;)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great fabric, classic, slimming
Cons: wrinkles
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 13, 2011

Disappointed

Read the reviews, hoped for the best but back it went. To me it was cheap looking and no lining was a deal breaker. Since I live in Alaska i need a little weight for dresses in the winter. It just was not what I wanted. Back it went.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: style and color
Cons: fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedDecember 11, 2011

Simple, versatile dress

Bought this dress in Navy/Black on sale. It fits TTS and is great on a body with a DD bust! The waist tie/band is the perfect width.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 10, 2011

Silky, soft, yet edgy

This dress is cut very well, hiding upper body bulges without looking like it's hiding them. I wasn't sure about the rise in the front hem, but it works. This dress definitely shows leg in front. The back of the dress is fitted, hugs the rear nicely but provides a bit of room, too. I like that the belt is anchored in the back. I think the blousy effect up top is fresh. The dress is very chic overall. I feel sexy but comfortable in it, which is hard to pull off.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality of material and cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 13, 2011

<3 LOVE THIS DRESS <3

I bought this dress without trying it on in both colors--sometimes the size 12 fits me and other times it falls short--i was worried slightly about it being silk and having no stretch but the drape and overall design put me at ease. I got home and tried it and LOVED IT--so glad i bought it and have it in both colors--I will wear each one in a different way and think they are great for work or weekends. It is cut high as other people have said in the front however i am 5'4 and the slight increase in the hem length is flattering and just above the knee--the back drape is also nice for hiding any bra bulges ;)
Totally reccommend this dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 30, 2011

awkward fit

The dress fits very awkwardly on top. Very disappointing. I will be returning this unfortunately. The fabric was fantastic, but it's the fit that counts.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: soft comfortable beautiful fabric
Cons: fit and overall design
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 4, 2011

Beautiful dress!

I tried this one on today and while it didn't fit me perfectly...I think it's gorgeous!!..and would have snapped it up if it did.
The front is amazing..I tried it in the beautiful green color w/the black belt...which hit me at my true waist.
I am short waisted and also sometimes have issues the the upper body of a dress where I have extra material and usually have to have the shoulder/strap area shortened. This is what happened with this one...there was too much blousy material hanging down in the back..some would have been okay but it was a bit much on me. I tried the 2 and the 0..the 0 might have been the best out of the two...but I couldn't get past the material up top..if this works for you..I'm jealous! :-)
I think its a unique dress that's funky and fun.
(I'm 5'3..124..34C..small framed)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 10, 2011

RUN DON'T WALK...

this dress is my new favorite thing! it's sexy, but chic. bought it to wear to a wedding but i can also wear to work. the front rise is really flattering allowing you to show a little leg and the back draping detail is beautiful. the sewn in belt keeps it from making you look frumpy and actually highlights my waist. i tied the belt in the back, wrapping it twice, which made it wider and more flattering on me. so hard to find flattering dresses but this one is!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 13, 2011

May not work for petites

Like another reviewer, I'm very tiny up top and had trouble with this dress. The cut, draping and assymetrical hemline are fabulous and chic but on a petite like me (5'2", 105), I just looked a little swallowed up in it. It would be great on someone a little taller or one who'd like to conceal a little heaviness I imagine though!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: chic modern elegant
Cons: too boxy on petites
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 14, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 14, 2011

Brilliantly Coloured, Extremely Flattering

The green is amazingly eye-catching in person, and although the dress looks boring online, it falls nicely on smaller frames. I'm a size two with a 34D cup and was worried when I first picked it up if it would make me look heavy like some looser fitting dresses tend to do when your a little disproportional; the sash is slightly dropped and provides a nice contrast which really prevents this from happening. It has a slight Grecian look to it, and I'd probably dare wearing it with a cute pair of gladiators if I found the right ones...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedAugust 20, 2011

Disappointed

I had high hopes for this dress based on all of the positive reviews. The shape seemed like it would be very flattering for an hourglass figure, but it just did nothing for me. I opted to try on the navy, since the green color just makes my olive skin look more green. However I think the green is a beautiful color and would look amazing on anyone with fairer skin (regardless of hair color) or of a very dark complexion. I tried on the 4 and the 6. I found the cutout in the front of the 4 to come up much too high on me for my liking, but the 6 was too big overall. I think part of the problem is that I am just so short that the waist just didn't hit correctly on me, throwing the whole fit of the dress off. This would probably look fantastic on taller girls of a variety of body shapes. The material is also very thin and did not seem to be worth the price tag. Otherwise it's a versatile dress that could be worn for a variety of occasions
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 27, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedAugust 27, 2011

Disappointed with fit

I loved the way this dress looked on-line but I was disappointed with the fit. There was an excessive amount of material around the arms that just did not look right even though the draping in the back was fine and the rest of the dress looked flattering. It's too bad because I found the length of the dress to be unusually perfect for my height (5'2) as it hit right above my knee. I also received the dress in the mail in an extremely wrinkled condition. I would recommend trying this one in the store.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: good length for petities
Cons: too baggy under arms
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 1, 2011

Maybe for the right person

This is just weird on me. I think for a tall, willowly type, it might be OK. I don't like the change in hemline length from front to back either.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>