Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Adelaide Dress

Adelaide Dress
Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
8
1 Star
1
32 of 45(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Adelaide Dress
Review 1 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedAugust 13, 2011

I am the only reviewer thus far who did not love this dress nor did I find it to be flattering on.. I do love the green color but found the top part to be very unflattering to my arms and the bottom.had alot of static cling. It was clinging to my legs and inbetween them so much I could noit walk. The fabric is very thin and the dress seems very pricey for the quality. The sash IS attached to this dress. I think it would have been best for me to have been able to belt it with a wider belt since I am wider waisted-5'6" 36-30-37 for reference.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 19, 2011

size down

I'm 5'8", 34A, 26" waist and 38" hips. I tried this on in my normal size 6 and the top was waaay too big so I sized down until I tried the 2 and the top fit perfectly and the bottom did too, surprisingly. I think if this didn't have the tie waist there'd be no way for the 2 to fit on the bottom for me, but I'm glad it did because this is a great dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 20, 2011

My LGD (little green dress)

This dress is FAB!!! I am 5'7 123lbs 34b and I actually got the size 0. So sizing is off because I am more like a 4. The back hits the back of my knee and the front is about 5 inches high. I am wearing it to a rehearsal wedding and I loooove it! The fabric is butter soft and the ribbon is gorgeous. THe draping in the top half of the back of the dress is so nice, it looks like old hollywood and the front is sexy so.. old hollywood meets new hollywood:) I recommend, just go down 2 sizes! Conservative enough, sexy enough, polished enough, and relaxed... it has everything! I bought the green because I have wanted a green dress since for like 10 years. Its soo fantastic!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adelaide Dress
PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
PostedOctober 6, 2011

I am in love. This dress is so glamorous! The fabric is amazingly soft. Silhouette is classy and timeless. I have a small waist and wide hips and I think that the style is very flattering for my shape. After seeing the dress online I had my heart set on the green, but once in the store I was disappointed in the shade. It was not as true kelly green as I hoped, but I was pleasantly surprised with the navy color. Also, the front was shorter than I was hoping for. I am planning on wearing this to a work event, and almost didn't buy it because of the length in front. Adding a dark pair of tights makes a big difference. I also added great shoes and a brooch to the sash to pull the look all together.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adelaide Dress
PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedOctober 18, 2011

Has potential

If you are shorter and busty this dress could be great for you! Unfortunately for me though the dress was too short for work (I'm 5' 8") and too baggy on top (32 B/C). The green is beautiful though and would look stunning on almost anyone!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fabric, color
Cons: length, fit on top, belt can't be detached
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adelaide Dress
PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 27, 2011

Such a surprise since I made a mistake!

I was so angry at myself when I ordered the wrong size. I ordered a 2 and I normally am a 6-8 in dresses. I was considering ordering another one but before I could make my decision all the right dress sizes were sold out. So I waited for this beautiful dress to arrive in the mail for me to return it. I chose to try it on anyways and OMG. It is so cute. Plus it was not to small. It might be a little tighter on my hips. But not too tight. Because the dress is suppose to be loose it just have a different look to the bottom. The top part of the dress looks exactly like I imagined it would :) I'm so happy with this buy!
The Good:
1. wonderful quality
2. beautiful colors
3. ribbon is sown into back which I like because it will keep it in place.
The Bad:
1. Its a little short in the front but the dress is so classy looking I think I can get away with it for certain events. But I will be wearing tights to cover my legs most of the time.
2. That's it :)
Good luck Ladies, I have a feeling this one looks good with all kinds of sizing.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality, soft fabric, ribbon sown on
Cons: it's a little short in the front
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 10, 2011

Silky, soft, yet edgy

This dress is cut very well, hiding upper body bulges without looking like it's hiding them. I wasn't sure about the rise in the front hem, but it works. This dress definitely shows leg in front. The back of the dress is fitted, hugs the rear nicely but provides a bit of room, too. I like that the belt is anchored in the back. I think the blousy effect up top is fresh. The dress is very chic overall. I feel sexy but comfortable in it, which is hard to pull off.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality of material and cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 13, 2011

<3 LOVE THIS DRESS <3

I bought this dress without trying it on in both colors--sometimes the size 12 fits me and other times it falls short--i was worried slightly about it being silk and having no stretch but the drape and overall design put me at ease. I got home and tried it and LOVED IT--so glad i bought it and have it in both colors--I will wear each one in a different way and think they are great for work or weekends. It is cut high as other people have said in the front however i am 5'4 and the slight increase in the hem length is flattering and just above the knee--the back drape is also nice for hiding any bra bulges ;)
Totally reccommend this dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 30, 2011

awkward fit

The dress fits very awkwardly on top. Very disappointing. I will be returning this unfortunately. The fabric was fantastic, but it's the fit that counts.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: soft comfortable beautiful fabric
Cons: fit and overall design
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 12, 2011

Very flattering

I must say I was not impressed with the dress when I saw it online, but I tried it on in the store because I liked the darker gery color and the fabric. And it exceeded my expectations... It dose not look like it online but it is very flattering on, especially if you like to accent your waist. It drapes lovely in both the front and back. I also loved the aline hem to the dress. I wear a 00 and this dress is nice for smaller frames because of the sash at the waist.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 19, 2011

Investment Piece

This is the dress to grab when you want to be beautiful in a casual way, stand out from the LBD's (not that there's anything wrong with them!) and don't want the nonsense of sucking in your gut. Any nice dinner out, any date when you want to look like you put in some effort, any cocktail party- this will be my go-to dress. Get dressed in 5 mins.
I can't really afford this as I'm leaving for a trip next week, but I knew I'd always regret it if I didn't grab it - no worries about bra straps, could easily be dressed down or up, and a colour that just seals the deal (the green).
The only hitch is it's quite short - although I'm a leggy 5'8" - there's no way I could wear this to work. Also I went a size down - I'm curvy (30E) but i got a 4 - I'm usually a 6.
The other detail I looooved was that the belt is a light grosgrain - so there's a great contrast in textures with the silk - I thought it would be shiny and slippery (meh), but it's not - which works beautifully.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: stunning colour, no fuss- no belly no bra straps
Cons: too short for work, fits a bit large
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
PostedAugust 25, 2011

shapless, thin material, not flattering

I also had high hopes for this dress, but it looked terrible! Large arm holes, and even after belting it up it still did nothing for my hourglass figure. I'd--at the very least--wait for this to go on sale.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedDecember 9, 2011

Beautiful Dress

I read all the reviews and decided to take the plunge - after seeing the green dress in the store (unfortunately the green was sold out in my size) I went with the navy dress. It is just as described. I normally wear between a 6-8 and after all the reviews decided to order the 4. No need to worry though - it fits like a glove. The only downside to the dress is the fact that it showed up completely wrinkled which made the overall look seem "cheap". Of course a quick steam later - looks great and lays fab on the body. Highly recommend!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 11, 2011

Pretty dress, poor design

I got the dark blue dress and it was pretty but I had a lot of the same issues that other reviewers had. There was just too much excess fabric at he top half, and considering that I have a lot going on up top, this is saying something. I normally have no trouble filling out the top half of dresses but with this one, it was too big and made me look odd and square.
That said, if you are small in the bust and relatively un-curvy, this dress could be really pretty on you. It is simply not proportioned for an hourglass with a short waist, but for anyone with a longer waist and slender shoulders, this could be quite pretty.
Back it went!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty color
Cons: odd dimensions
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedSeptember 16, 2011

This dress made me look so thin!

I purchased this dress in the store, in navy, and it looks absolutely fabulous. I wear it both with and without a jacket.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adelaide Dress
PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedDecember 11, 2011

Simple, versatile dress

Bought this dress in Navy/Black on sale. It fits TTS and is great on a body with a DD bust! The waist tie/band is the perfect width.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 15, 2011

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESS

I originally looked at the dress online and loved the color. In person, it pops even more! As someone stated earlier, on the hanger it doesn't seem like it will do much for you, but once you put it on, it does great things for your body. The belted waist gives a great shape and the top and bottom hide flaws without looking baggy. I bought it to wear to a wedding but I think I will get so much more use out of it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color, shape
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 17, 2011

Great Dress

I tried this dress on in the store and it was sensational. I am tall and have no chest, and this dress was perfect for me. It did fit true to size, though I can't remember what size I tried on. If it goes on sale, I am BUYING!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adelaide Dress
PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 31, 2011

dress of my dreams

I've never been happier with an Anthro product. I'm short and VERY curvy (5'/ 145 lbs with a 26-inch waist) and I thought this was going to look dumpy on me. I usually by size 4 in Anthro dresses, and this was the right call here, too. It's sexy in a classic but energetic way, and very flattering. The back drapes perfectly. I'm thrilled - perfect for a beach wedding I have to go to later this year!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adelaide Dress
PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedSeptember 2, 2011

Would wear it every day if I could!

This dress is amazing! I love the color ( bright green ) I bought this dress true to size and it fits great, with beautiful drape in the back. Although it is a bit looser fitting on the top it is very flattering and has great waist definition. I love the fabric, so soft and has a great texture. This dress is perfect for so many occasions and is subtly sexy. This dress makes me feel like a million bucks!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great fabric, flattering, awesome color!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>