Customer reviews for Summer Ballad Maxi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Summer Ballad Maxi

Summer Ballad Maxi
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 of 30(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Summer Ballad Maxi
Review 1 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJune 8, 2011

Great dress!

I ordered this in the black print because I love black and white. Ordered both the 10 and the 12 to see which was better - I'm keeping the 10. It fits beautifully in the bodice and the length is perfect. I'm 5'7", have broad shoulders and am proportionally curvy. I love the fit, fabric, and style --- the gathered layered tiers are a nice design element. I"m glad they make this in the other color for those who love brights!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJune 23, 2011

Effortless Chic, Great Every Day Dress

Just went to the store today and tried on a million things - and this was my favorite and actually my only purchase!
This is a very flattering dress for a pear-shape like me :)
I am normally a 4-6 dress size, but I actually got this in a size 0 i as it has a lot of volume on the bottom. Since I am also fairly short (5'5), and the dress is fairly long, the 0 was a perfect length for me.
If you're small up top like I am (34B/Size 4 top), I would size down for a better fit.
I tried on the black and the coral, and the black was MUCH more forgiving and flattering and stylish (IMHO). Since the material is very thin, I thought the coral looked a bit more "sloppy" and see through as you could see the hems, etc.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: comfortable flattering chic
Cons: lots of volume on bottom - careful with sizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJuly 4, 2011

Beautiful

This is a beautiful flowing dress that feels like a nightgown. However, I have had to return it for a smaller size. The real fit is the top which is large in the bust and long. I hope that a smaller size (6) will fit better.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: color, fabric, drape
Cons: sizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedJuly 27, 2011

Not for me

I didn't care for this dress, and I thought I would. I tried the peach/coral, which is quite bright, and it did nothing for my skintone (fair with caramel/honey hair) I saw the black motif on a sales associate, and thought it looked quite old and dated. It was difficult to put on, the fabric wasn't soft and the slip didn't hang right on me. On the upside, the length was good, and the idea is sound. If it had been in a soft silk, I might have gone for it. For reference, I'm 5'7 and I tried on the 0.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: length
Cons: colour, slip, fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJuly 28, 2011

size down

I am 5' 10" and nearly always a size 6 in anthro tops and dresses, because I have broad shoulders and carry my weight in my midsection and unfortunately in my armpits. I ordered both a size 4 and a 6 to try on, based on the reviews, thinking that the 4 surely would be too tight across the chest. I was surprised to find that the 4 not only fit me best, but that the 6 hung off of me and looked kind of pitifully baggy. The only downside to the 4 is that it is not as quite as long as the 6, and I like my maxis super duper long. The 6 comes down to the tops of my feet, while the 4 ends just past my ankles (about 1/2 - 3/4" difference). I know I'm splitting hairs here, but being tall, I hate feeling like clothes look like they're a tad too short on me. Probably comes from adolescence. I tried them both three times, and ultimately decided that the 4's shorter length was better than the 6's baggy top, so I'm keeping the 4. BTW, I'm very fair, and I think the black looks great, so if you like it, don't listen to the other reviewers who say the colors are bad. Trust your gut!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedAugust 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 23, 2011

Wonderful dress

I, too, stalked until sale -- bought the black and love it completely. Note to the person who felt it was not a silk dress -- it is. You have to look at the care tag on the outer dress. The inner slip is viscose. Love it so much am now buying the orange.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedOctober 24, 2011

Perfect!

I absolutely LOVE this dress!! I'm 5'7" and usually wear a size 6-8, and this dress fit perfect in an 8. I do like things loose and comfy, so I probably could have gotten a 6. The length is perfect and the black is lovely and flows perfectly. This dress is beautiful and how can you go wrong with $29!! It's more of a summery dress, but looks lovely with a sweater or poncho over it as well. Buy this before it runs out!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 26, 2011

Simple

Comfy simple dress........suggest belting it to give more curves. Now i just need to decide which color to keep......
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 3, 2011

Love this dress!!

This is a wonderful dress. Nice material and a slip ta boot! Fit's well and looks like me. Just my style. I am 5'9" and it was plenty long for me. I bought my size and the sizing is true. I'll wear it till I'm 80 : )
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 4, 2011

Love it

I love this dress. It is as pretty in person as online. Can't wait to wear it!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
PostedJune 25, 2011

My Favorite New Dress!!

I guess I just passed right by this dress when it became available on the internet, but when I saw it in the store today I knew I had to try it on. I am so glad I did!! I purchased the black and white print. My husband actually loved it and told me it was his favorite dress that I had ever purchased from Anthro. It's very Boho Chic and I just love the effortless style! I bought my normal size, a size 6, and loved that I didn't seem to loose my shape. I usually size down in dresses with more volume, but I didn't find the need to do that with this dress. I'm really happy with this purchase!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 10, 2011

Not silk

I was disspointed to know that it doesn't have any silk as described online. It is 100% biscose. It is very very long, about two inches touching the floor without shoes (I am 5'4) and I'll need it hemmed. The color and style are nice.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: sale price
Cons: not silk
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedAugust 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):11
Body type:Curvy on top
PostedAugust 11, 2011

Love it

I stalked this dress until it went on sale and love it. Super soft and flowy. It's more orange than peach and that's a good thing in my book. I find the slip underneath a little annoying only bc of the criss-cross straps/bra coordination thing but it's a great dress. I'm tall and it's the perfect length.Wearing it to a garden wedding next weekend where I'll obviously look amazatron.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: sale price, long
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedNovember 9, 2011

Yummiest of colors and super flowy. Love!

I absolutely love this dress. I picked the coral color, it's wonderful, and the slip that comes underneath is well made and has little snaps on the shoulders for securing. The only downfall is that I put it on with some heels to try, and it's so long I was stepping on the back every step, and was afraid I was going to put a hole through it. So, I'm going to have to rethink the shoes I wear with it, I'm thinking wedges or some flats will be better. It's lovely though, and will surely be the star of the room wherever its worn!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color, fabric, style
Cons: a little long
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedOctober 26, 2011

Sooo comfy and sytlish.

What a great buy. I ordered my standard size 2 and it is perfect other than being a little lengthy (story of my life, I'm 5'2"). My new favorite!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 5, 2011

Purchased this in the black in a US size 10, i'm an Australia size 12, I really should have purchased it in the US 8. It is too big but I belt it and it works.
Lovely fabric, lovely style and comes with a slip!
A fantastic bargain - especially since i found the exact some dress retailing in a department store here in sydney for close to Aus$200.
Trying to get my hands on the Peach colour for my sister, too bad it keeps selling out and getting cancelled from my orders :(
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful, comes with a slip, soft & lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedNovember 2, 2011

Flowing and elegant

I purchased this dress on a whim. The fit up top is structured, not too loose, I am a 34C , and purchased a size 6. The rest of the dress falls gracefully. The silk outer layer is well made. I am almost 5'7, and can wear flats or heels with this dress. The lining is nice as well, great fit overall. Can't wait to sear this next spring!
The peach color is more of a beautiful tangerine in my opinion. For the price I think is is a fantastic buy.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: color, fluid movement, quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedNovember 8, 2011

Great dress!!!

Fits very well and the length is great. I am 5'6" and I can wear it with flats. It does run a bit large. I usually buy size 6 sometimes 8 and I got this dress in 4!!! The fabric is soft and depending on what kind of shoes you wear, it can be used in any occasion. Highly recommended.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fits very well
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedOctober 28, 2011

Beautiful Dress!

You can't go wrong with this dress on sale! I bought with the expectation that I could just return it if it was awful but it isn't. I did what a fellow reviewer did and paired it with a belt which dresses it up fabulously. Could be worn with out though. It fits TTS however I am usually a 0 or 2 in anthro dresses and I opted for a 2 and it was great. I am also a bit busty so for those smaller busted ladies you could probably have gone with the 0...I just needed a bit more room. Great dress. Can't wait to wear it next summer!!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 18, 2011

Cute, but not for everyone

First, I love this dress. The fabric is very high quality and super feminine and soft, the pattern is really cool and it looks so much better in person than the photo shows.
Sadly, the dress did not love me back.....
Frankly, this dress has a lot of volume and if you're petite (but also hour-glass shaped and slightly busty) like me, it might just be too much of a good thing for you.
I'm used to having to hem dresses, particularly maxi length, but this was puddled on the floor around me. I can imagine if I were a quite tall gal, it would graze the tops of my feet and be just perfect. I would have considered getting it hemmed (I liked the overall effect enough to spend $$ getting it hemmed) but I also felt the hemming would destroy the natural line of the dress.
The best way for me to describe this is if you've ever had to hem boot cut or flared legged pants. You have to be very careful because if you have them hemmed at the wrong point, it ruins the flow of the entire leg cut. This is the same with this dress.
So I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, unless you're shaped like me, on the short side and hour-glassy...in which case I'd not necessarily pass on it, but just file it away as something to be aware of.
Overall, a nicely made dress that would look amazing for summer with bright colored sandals peeking out.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fantastic shape particularly in the bust and body, really nice fabric, nicely made
Cons: very long even for a maxi
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>