Customer reviews for Summer Ballad Maxi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Summer Ballad Maxi

Summer Ballad Maxi
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 of 30(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Summer Ballad Maxi
Review 1 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 18, 2011

Cute, but not for everyone

First, I love this dress. The fabric is very high quality and super feminine and soft, the pattern is really cool and it looks so much better in person than the photo shows.
Sadly, the dress did not love me back.....
Frankly, this dress has a lot of volume and if you're petite (but also hour-glass shaped and slightly busty) like me, it might just be too much of a good thing for you.
I'm used to having to hem dresses, particularly maxi length, but this was puddled on the floor around me. I can imagine if I were a quite tall gal, it would graze the tops of my feet and be just perfect. I would have considered getting it hemmed (I liked the overall effect enough to spend $$ getting it hemmed) but I also felt the hemming would destroy the natural line of the dress.
The best way for me to describe this is if you've ever had to hem boot cut or flared legged pants. You have to be very careful because if you have them hemmed at the wrong point, it ruins the flow of the entire leg cut. This is the same with this dress.
So I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, unless you're shaped like me, on the short side and hour-glassy...in which case I'd not necessarily pass on it, but just file it away as something to be aware of.
Overall, a nicely made dress that would look amazing for summer with bright colored sandals peeking out.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fantastic shape particularly in the bust and body, really nice fabric, nicely made
Cons: very long even for a maxi
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJune 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJune 8, 2011

Great dress!

I ordered this in the black print because I love black and white. Ordered both the 10 and the 12 to see which was better - I'm keeping the 10. It fits beautifully in the bodice and the length is perfect. I'm 5'7", have broad shoulders and am proportionally curvy. I love the fit, fabric, and style --- the gathered layered tiers are a nice design element. I"m glad they make this in the other color for those who love brights!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJune 23, 2011

Effortless Chic, Great Every Day Dress

Just went to the store today and tried on a million things - and this was my favorite and actually my only purchase!
This is a very flattering dress for a pear-shape like me :)
I am normally a 4-6 dress size, but I actually got this in a size 0 i as it has a lot of volume on the bottom. Since I am also fairly short (5'5), and the dress is fairly long, the 0 was a perfect length for me.
If you're small up top like I am (34B/Size 4 top), I would size down for a better fit.
I tried on the black and the coral, and the black was MUCH more forgiving and flattering and stylish (IMHO). Since the material is very thin, I thought the coral looked a bit more "sloppy" and see through as you could see the hems, etc.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: comfortable flattering chic
Cons: lots of volume on bottom - careful with sizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJuly 4, 2011

it's a winner

This dress is soft and pretty, floats and rests. Tall - I'm 5'9" so it's fine but way too long for shorter women. inside slip is nice, dress would not work without it.
my size is in between, I'm a full size bigger below so things that fit are hard to find. A bit loose and low on top but a quick tuck at the shoulders to pull it up made it work well.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJuly 28, 2011

Maybe it is running a tad too large..

I snatched one size down at the store (size 4, normally a 6) and tried it at home later on. The material is soft and the coral color is gorgeous. The slip is a little tricky to put on, but no big deal. I find the hem grazing the floor while bare footed, but a 1" heel fixed the problem. I'm debating to exchange it for a size 2 or 0 because this dress really has a lot of volume.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJuly 28, 2011

size down

I am 5' 10" and nearly always a size 6 in anthro tops and dresses, because I have broad shoulders and carry my weight in my midsection and unfortunately in my armpits. I ordered both a size 4 and a 6 to try on, based on the reviews, thinking that the 4 surely would be too tight across the chest. I was surprised to find that the 4 not only fit me best, but that the 6 hung off of me and looked kind of pitifully baggy. The only downside to the 4 is that it is not as quite as long as the 6, and I like my maxis super duper long. The 6 comes down to the tops of my feet, while the 4 ends just past my ankles (about 1/2 - 3/4" difference). I know I'm splitting hairs here, but being tall, I hate feeling like clothes look like they're a tad too short on me. Probably comes from adolescence. I tried them both three times, and ultimately decided that the 4's shorter length was better than the 6's baggy top, so I'm keeping the 4. BTW, I'm very fair, and I think the black looks great, so if you like it, don't listen to the other reviewers who say the colors are bad. Trust your gut!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 3, 2011

Love this dress!!

This is a wonderful dress. Nice material and a slip ta boot! Fit's well and looks like me. Just my style. I am 5'9" and it was plenty long for me. I bought my size and the sizing is true. I'll wear it till I'm 80 : )
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedAugust 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 23, 2011

Wonderful dress

I, too, stalked until sale -- bought the black and love it completely. Note to the person who felt it was not a silk dress -- it is. You have to look at the care tag on the outer dress. The inner slip is viscose. Love it so much am now buying the orange.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
PostedOctober 19, 2011

What a steal!!!

This is my new favorite maxi dress! The coral color is beautiful, the fabric lays perfectly, and i can wear a normal bra!! I can't say enough plus with the second markdown you're crazy not to give this one a try! I'm thinking about ordering the darker print just because i love this one.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedOctober 21, 2011

Beautiful in black!

For reference: 5'7, 128, 34D-26-35, bought size 2 in the black motif. I bought the Tombolo Maxi and love it to death, but the light-colored silk somewhat limits wear as I'm constantly worrying about dirtying or damaging the dress. Since the Summer Ballad has the same sort of a-line look, I was excited to try it in a more practical black. My order just arrived today and I absolutely LOVE this dress! I sized down to a 2 from my regular 4 and that was the right decision. The slip fits a touch tight across my chest, but the dress itself is perfect in volume and length (just touching the floor barefooted). To be honest though, the slip straps cross in the back and did throw me for a loop like some of the other reviewers. No matter how carefully I layed it out, I kept ending up with a strap on the front of my chest. However, the slip is only snapped to the dress straps, so I finally just put them on separately: problem solved. The dress does fall straight down from the breasts; I like that look, but it's an easy fix with a belt if you don't. I think it looks great belted high on the waist or lower with or without blousing some fabric over the belt. Now I want the coral too.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great length, black pattern is beautiful, versatile cut, bonus black slip
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 22, 2011

Very pretty

I ordered this dress in the orange, which is a really pretty coral color. The dress is really comfy and flowy. I will wear it this winter on our Caribbean cruise. Definitely roomy, so if you are larger on the bottom than on the top, like me, order it in the size your would for a shirt or top. The only bummer is I paid the $49 price instead of the newly reduced $29.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty flattering nice color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJuly 4, 2011

Beautiful

This is a beautiful flowing dress that feels like a nightgown. However, I have had to return it for a smaller size. The real fit is the top which is large in the bust and long. I hope that a smaller size (6) will fit better.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: color, fabric, drape
Cons: sizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJuly 27, 2011

stunning beauty!!

so love this dress. I totally did not agree with the other reviewer's comment. This dress is a great buy, the fabric is made of silk, well made, good quality plus it does not need high maintenance, Handwash only baby. No need for dry cleaning. I have an olive skin the coral really complemented my skin tone. Sorry it does not look good on fair skinned individiuals but it's really up to you if you feel good with this dress on then go for it!! So stunning and beautiful. I gave it a 5 star! Plus it's on sale now guys. so worth it to buy this dress. ELEGANT, STUNNING, BEAUTIFUL, WELL MADE, QUALITY FABRIC. LOVE IT!!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedAugust 10, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 10, 2011

Not silk

I was disspointed to know that it doesn't have any silk as described online. It is 100% biscose. It is very very long, about two inches touching the floor without shoes (I am 5'4) and I'll need it hemmed. The color and style are nice.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: sale price
Cons: not silk
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedNovember 4, 2011

Love it

I love this dress. It is as pretty in person as online. Can't wait to wear it!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedAugust 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedAugust 9, 2011

Beautiful dress

I love this dress. It's beautifully feminine and flowy. The color is a perfect coral shade, vibrant but not too bright, and the fit is great. I wore this to work today with a large waist belt and a light scarf, and I got compliments everywhere! On the street, in my office, at a cafe while I was grabbing lunch. It really is a stunning dress. I'm very small - 5'2" and 103 pounds - and the 0 fit fine, so I would say it's TTS. It's obviously not tapered to my body, but the style is meant to be loose, so it falls nicely. Length-wise, it's a bit long, but I wear platforms or large heels, so I haven't had to take it to the tailor. The only reason I gave it 4 and not 5 stars is because the slip underneath fits a bit weird on me. It dips very low in the front so my bra pops out. Nothing I can't fix but just a bit of a hassle. All in all though, a great buy - especially at the sale price! I definitely recommend.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flowy great material beautiful color
Cons: slip
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 21, 2011

Underlayer doesn't lie flat

I sized down to a 0 in this dress after reading about how some people went down 1-2 sizes. The length was still too long for my petite statue and skimmed the floor. I belted it with a chunky brown belt and pulled some of the fabric in front of the stomach are out so that it wouldn't be so long. The look was beautiful. However, it was always quite difficult to get into this dress because of the criss-cross back. The outside is 100% silk which is excellent quality. It's a flattering design and while it didn't necessarily elongate my figure, it definitely made me think Maxi dresses could work for a shorty like myself.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality
Cons: underlayer/slip twists
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 26, 2011

Flowy goodness

I ordered this dress in a size 12. For reference, my measurements are 41-31-41 and normally a 12-14 in Anthro clothes. this dress was on my cart for weeks! I finally purchased it and tried it on as soon as i received it. I was a little bummed, the bust is a tad tight. if you are larger than a 38C/36D and between sizes, I suggest going with the larger size.
The fabric is thin but the dress comes with a great, sturdy slip that is detachable. there are snaps at the shoulders to keep it in place. I found a black sash from another anthro dress to cinch in the waist, without it i looked 7 months pregnant. the dress is roomy from the bust down. highly recommend it to pear shaped ladies, or those with a small bust.
Even though my dress is tight across the chest, it is not cutting circulation yet and therefore i will keep it because size 14 is sold out in both colors.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: design, fabric, print, detachable slip included
Cons: tight at bust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedNovember 9, 2011

Yummiest of colors and super flowy. Love!

I absolutely love this dress. I picked the coral color, it's wonderful, and the slip that comes underneath is well made and has little snaps on the shoulders for securing. The only downfall is that I put it on with some heels to try, and it's so long I was stepping on the back every step, and was afraid I was going to put a hole through it. So, I'm going to have to rethink the shoes I wear with it, I'm thinking wedges or some flats will be better. It's lovely though, and will surely be the star of the room wherever its worn!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color, fabric, style
Cons: a little long
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Summer Ballad Maxi
PostedAugust 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):11
Body type:Curvy on top
PostedAugust 11, 2011

Love it

I stalked this dress until it went on sale and love it. Super soft and flowy. It's more orange than peach and that's a good thing in my book. I find the slip underneath a little annoying only bc of the criss-cross straps/bra coordination thing but it's a great dress. I'm tall and it's the perfect length.Wearing it to a garden wedding next weekend where I'll obviously look amazatron.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: sale price, long
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>