Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Oblique Pointelle Pullover

Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Overall rating:
3.825 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 of 40(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Review 1 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 2, 2011

soft, elegant and lovely

This is a soft weave that feels wonderful to put on, it doesn't feel like wool. It's just loose enough that you would not want to wear a colored bra. The neckline is very flattering, and though I was worried the trim would look a little overwhelming or silly on, it blends in and just adds to the shape. The overall appearance on is gently fitted and very flattering. I got the gray version, which is just a little darker than the photo. This runs true to size.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft nicely fitted very flattering
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 3, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedAugust 3, 2011

I did not like this sweater at all. Unlike the first review, I found it did in fact feel like wool, and wasn't terribly itchy but since I have sensitive skin it did bother me. Granted I am petite (5'1, XS), but the shoulder embellishment was overwhelming - the ruffle is very stiff and stuck straight out. It was not drapey and soft like I thought it would be. The shape of the sweater is also quite odd - the length is fine, but it runs very wide. The underarm seam is cut rather low, so it poofed out in a very strange way on the sides, which you can see in the photo. This sweater is a miss for me.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 16, 2011

itchy

I tried on my usual size and it fit TTS. I found the material to be itchy and the ruffling detail to be a little too overwhelming. I was disappointed as it looked very cute online.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 16, 2011

Beautiful Color!

I loved the purple color. It was perfectly "heather," and all the lights and darks make the sweater look quite rich.
I disagree with the previous reviewer, for the sweater is actually very soft. It's lovely (merino?) wool. Obviously it isn't soft like cotton, but it is certainly not rough. Indeed, I wore it without a camisole and was perfectly comfortable all day.
Secondly, the shoulder embellishment is not "too much." It's quite lovely and sits nicely on the shoulder/upper chest. It is soft and flow-y, but not sloppy.
My only critique is that it sits differently on each hip because of the shoulder embellishment. However, this does not take away from the beauty of the sweater. It is flattering because the ribbing sits right on the hips, showing the thinness of my waist without being too tight.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 18, 2011

Fabulous light weight wool sweater

I purchased this sweater in purple. It is a lovely flattering shade, that is lightly heathered. I found it true to size. It is extremely flattering for my shape.. accents my waist.. makes my chest look proportional. I love how it is fitted on one arm, and flowing on another.. it brings to mind what a Greek goddess would wear if she was around in this time, lol.. The sleeve length is great for it's weight, they end a few inches below the elbow, and I push them up just slightly.. looks great!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: lovely weight unique style
Cons: no cons
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedSeptember 23, 2011

Oddest, most spectacular little sweater.

I know this sweater fits oddly. That is what I love about it. If you're into things that are both feminine and quirky, look no further. The fiber is a tad on the scratchy side, but this isn't much of a bother to me.
I had to "practice" with it to see how it is worn.. The side that sits as a normal top is the side with the ruffle, the other side is cut oddly and wider, and so it should hang there. So the sweater is a little work, will need an under layer if you're modest and taller, and it may be scratchy.. But I am completely in love with this thing and wouldn't give it up..
I bought a size up (small) to layer with a button up. On the topic of sizing, I noticed a significant sizing difference between x-small and small, which I hadn't preciously encourantered at Anthropologie. The x-small had very narrow arms and it was much shorter than expected. I cannot swear that this is the same for all sizes, but x-small and small are the top sizes I bounce between here, and never has it been this tight in my arms (I could have done it but never with a later, every seam would have shown).
I agree with a previous reviewer that the sweater runs short.. This is true. I'm a very petite woman, standing at around 5 feet tall, and the sweater falls just at my pant line..
The "yellow" is more of a greeny yellow, incase one isn't sure about the monitor.. It also has burnt orange flecks in the fiber. I found this to be gorgeous with my red hair and hope Anthro picks up more items with this little flecking in the future.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: construction, beautiful, feminine, quirky, appealing coloring
Cons: scratchy, a bit short
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 25, 2011

Cute but not on me

I was prepared to buy this before I tried it on but the neckline didn't look right on me. I am petite (5'2" 100lbs) and for some reason, this looked boxy. Also, the neckline is beautiful on one side but comes to a sharp point at the other which looked harsh on me. The colors are beautiful and the fabric was soft but I had to put this one back.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: colors and overall look
Cons: funky neckline
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 18, 2011

might not work for all body types

If you're busty, it might work for you. I'm a size 2, 34B and the excess fabric was not an issue. I got the XS. Took off a star coz the fabric is quite itchy. Hoping a little fabric softener could help.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
PostedNovember 3, 2011

Love this sweater! Purchased the yellow in my usual size xs - it fits tts. Love the off center neck-line and ruffles. It is shorter but I wear a cami underneath. The material is soft and doesn't feel scretchy to me but I don't have very senstive skin. Planning on getting another color!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 7, 2011

Individual and Pretty

Here in Australia our clothing is same old same old. Huge fan of Anthropologie for it's individual and unusual designs. So pretty and feminine, with the softest of wool. The colour is awesome but the yellow is more of a mustard colour.Flattering cut on a curvy figure and the lace detail is glorious.
Have just hit summer so looking forward to wearing in on cooler days.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: amazing colour. stylish feminine design.
Cons: sleeves are shorter than what i thought they were.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
PostedDecember 8, 2011

Pretty but short

I like the light blue color and thought it would go well as a casual sweater with jeans. While it is a nice fabric and the light blue color is pretty, I found it to be too wide along the waist band and it was short. Not my favorite.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty color
Cons: unproportioned
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedDecember 9, 2011

Pretty, but not cut right for me

I thought this was a really pretty blue color, but it wasn't the right color on me (that is no one's fault, of course, so I am not rating on that), and it was very soft... but it didn't fit me well at all. It was too short, and too wide for my frame. I have a long torso, and a small frame. I tried on the XS. I think if the sweater were taken in just a bit on the sides (not as wide), and were longer, and perhaps in different color options, it would be great for me! Haha.
128#, 5' 6 1/2", 32B.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedDecember 11, 2011

it's ok

If I had tried this on in the store I might not have bought it. It is short, and I wish the fabric was a little softer. I do like the sky blue color and the unique design.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 3, 2011

I love all the colors but bought this in SKY and I think it is so pretty with skirts or slacks for work. The fabric is a bit thin as are many of Anthros sweaters. Not sure how it will hold up. Fit was TTS.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2011

Cute Cropped Sweater

I would consider this a cropped sweater. Its short.
The colors are beautiful, especially the plum. However staying in my comfort zone, I tried on the black. It is cute...its what I refer to as the "bat-wing" sleeves which are on trend right now, but not overly exaggerated. The knit is lighter in weight which is nice for layering and for less severe weather. Its a bit assymetric with the gathering on one shoulder. It fit true-to-size for me. Just not a "wow" factor here.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lightweight, nice color
Cons: bat wing sleeves, too short
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 22, 2011

Perfect sweater for skirts

I bought this in the yellow and just adore almost everything about it. I bought it expecting to wear it with skirts and it's worked out perfectly. The shape is beautiful with knee-length pencils and a-lines. I received all sorts of compliments when I wore it to work with a pretty non-adventurous bock skirt and retro peep-toe wedges -- very retro sexy secretary, but without being at all revealing.
I'm slightly pear shaped (35-29-39 and between a 34C and 36B with small shoulders). This top really balances me nicely. You other pears out there will know what I mean.
The only issue I had with this sweater was that I tend to be more on the athletic side and don't have slender limbs so the sleeves are a little snug, but not so much that it's not wearable (they're not tight like sausage casings). If you do tend to have larger arms, this may not work for you. It also won't work if you want to wear it with low rise pants without exposing your midriff.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: interesting design colors
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 7, 2011

Pretty but strange-fitting sweater!

I saw this in the store today and thought it was beautiful in all colors. However, when I tried it on, I realized that each sleeve has a different type seam, thus creating a strange look. One side has a seam all the way up to the armpit, but the other side is more dolman and blousy! I would not recommend this sweater!
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedOctober 12, 2011

Dismayed at the fit

I purchased this top in purple, size medium. Pretty style and color, but the fit does not work for me. It was incredibly short as I am longer in the torso. I am 5'8 and there was really no way for me to work with this. Unfortunately, it will have to go back.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: length
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 21, 2011

Sleeve lengths are bit uneven

Beautiful purple color and rather soft material. I sized up to M from S due to many length complaints from previous reviews and it worked. However, the length of the right sleeve is a tad shorter than the left. This can be fixed by scrunching up the sleeves, but I expected better quality control from Anthro.
The soft material is rather thin, so I gotta be careful about it being snagged...
Hoping it's going to last a long time as I like it a lot.
Overall, it's a unique and comfy top.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedSeptember 25, 2011

I passed on this one....

I saw wanted to like this but it was just off. The top was really wonky on me - one side was higher than the other and the bottoms was short. The body was loose and not flattering. It just did nothing for me. Too many good things out there to settle,.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>