Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Oblique Pointelle Pullover

Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Overall rating:
3.825 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 of 40(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Review 1 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 26, 2011

unique neckline

I usually wear a size S Anthro sweater, but sometimes XS if it's a larger cut. I tried this in both sizes and two colors, the gray and the purple. I found the XS to be too tight in the bust and too short. I'm only 5' tall, but have a 34D bust. There was quite a bit of difference between the size of the XS and S. The S fit quite loosely, and reminded me of a 1950's crewneck sweater - which is actually not a bad look on me. The two colors seemed ot fit differently; not sure if that was real or my imagination. I liked the fit of the gray better, but thought the color washed me out. The color of the purple was better, but it seemed larger and more awkward through the body. I did not find the ruffle to be too large, even though I'm petite, and the length of the S was perfect.I like the concept of this one, but wish the fit was just a bit better. I seemed to be wider on the side without the ruffle, which looked a bit odd. I'm thinking I'll wait for a sale and maybe try the light blue one, which wasn't available at my store. I like this, but definitely not enough to pay full price.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedSeptember 23, 2011

Oddest, most spectacular little sweater.

I know this sweater fits oddly. That is what I love about it. If you're into things that are both feminine and quirky, look no further. The fiber is a tad on the scratchy side, but this isn't much of a bother to me.
I had to "practice" with it to see how it is worn.. The side that sits as a normal top is the side with the ruffle, the other side is cut oddly and wider, and so it should hang there. So the sweater is a little work, will need an under layer if you're modest and taller, and it may be scratchy.. But I am completely in love with this thing and wouldn't give it up..
I bought a size up (small) to layer with a button up. On the topic of sizing, I noticed a significant sizing difference between x-small and small, which I hadn't preciously encourantered at Anthropologie. The x-small had very narrow arms and it was much shorter than expected. I cannot swear that this is the same for all sizes, but x-small and small are the top sizes I bounce between here, and never has it been this tight in my arms (I could have done it but never with a later, every seam would have shown).
I agree with a previous reviewer that the sweater runs short.. This is true. I'm a very petite woman, standing at around 5 feet tall, and the sweater falls just at my pant line..
The "yellow" is more of a greeny yellow, incase one isn't sure about the monitor.. It also has burnt orange flecks in the fiber. I found this to be gorgeous with my red hair and hope Anthro picks up more items with this little flecking in the future.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: construction, beautiful, feminine, quirky, appealing coloring
Cons: scratchy, a bit short
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedOctober 20, 2011

So cute!

It fit well and it goes with slacks and jeans!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: super comfortable, assymetric neckline, ruffles
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
PostedNovember 10, 2011

Cute but don't wash or it will shrink!

Really loved the look of this sweater. Like other reviewers, I found it to be a bit itchy but I could deal. I washed it in cold water and did not dry it as per the instructions and now it wears like a cropped sweater- which is not the look I was going for! Because it's so cute, I'm going to try and take it back to Anthro and exchange for another sweater. This time, I'll know to dry clean only!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 3, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedAugust 3, 2011

I did not like this sweater at all. Unlike the first review, I found it did in fact feel like wool, and wasn't terribly itchy but since I have sensitive skin it did bother me. Granted I am petite (5'1, XS), but the shoulder embellishment was overwhelming - the ruffle is very stiff and stuck straight out. It was not drapey and soft like I thought it would be. The shape of the sweater is also quite odd - the length is fine, but it runs very wide. The underarm seam is cut rather low, so it poofed out in a very strange way on the sides, which you can see in the photo. This sweater is a miss for me.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 7, 2011

Pretty but strange-fitting sweater!

I saw this in the store today and thought it was beautiful in all colors. However, when I tried it on, I realized that each sleeve has a different type seam, thus creating a strange look. One side has a seam all the way up to the armpit, but the other side is more dolman and blousy! I would not recommend this sweater!
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 19, 2011

love!

soft but sturdy sweater with 3/4 sleeves, a neckline that is interesting without being too revealing, a fitted fit and a length just right for skirts.
i'm 5/4 and size 16 and purchased the black in XL. i would say this runs a bit small, i can usually wear an L in anthro sweaters but went to the XL on this. the sleeves are not dolman on me, but i have plump upper arms. the length does reach my navel but not much past. i wore it untucked with a high waisted pencil skirt and it worked out well (and kept me warm sitting under the office air conditioner)
my only negatives that the black looks heatherier/grayer in person than in the photo.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 26, 2011

This top looked so cute on the hanger but wasn’t very flattering on my body type when I put it on. I tried on the XS. The arm holes are fairly tight and the body of the top is very loose-fitting and cropped. I tried on the grey and it is definitely see-through. I could see my bra though it so it would probably require a cami underneath but because it is so cropped I’m not sure how “good” a cami would look layered underneath the sweater. It doesn't seem as versatile as the other sweaters out right now not only because it's difficult to style but because the sizing is off. If you like this top I would definitely recommend trying it on in person first.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cons: cropped length, see-through material
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 17, 2011

Alas, not a worthy soft dusty rose pullover

I was so excited about this piece. I love the dusty rose hue, which is fall-y but can be many other seasons too. I loved the idea of the corsage neckline, which is rarely seen on a pullover.
But to try on, the material wasn't soft enough. It had that slightly itchy knit that needs a cami underneath (but I find that ruins the neckline). Strike one.
The arms were fitted at the elbow, then went almost dolman style in the armpits. The neckline didn't fall on my body right, and it looked awkward, loose and dumpy. The pullover didn't fit nice at all. Strike two.
And it was too short and rode up. Strike three.
I took my usual xsmall (I'm 32b). Maybe it'll work out better for busty gals
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful colour
Cons: too short, weird fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 18, 2011

Fabulous light weight wool sweater

I purchased this sweater in purple. It is a lovely flattering shade, that is lightly heathered. I found it true to size. It is extremely flattering for my shape.. accents my waist.. makes my chest look proportional. I love how it is fitted on one arm, and flowing on another.. it brings to mind what a Greek goddess would wear if she was around in this time, lol.. The sleeve length is great for it's weight, they end a few inches below the elbow, and I push them up just slightly.. looks great!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: lovely weight unique style
Cons: no cons
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 21, 2011

awkward fitting top

I don't know what kind of body this top will fit but definitely not mine. I am 100 lbs at 5'5" with 34A and I just couldn't figure the idea behind this design.
First, it's a little short. As you can see from the photos it rises above my pants a little. I could keep pulling it down but it rises back up.
Second, the fit. The style is meant to be somewhat loose but one side seemed to be looser than the other. I'm sure my small chest doesn't help fill it out so maybe those with a curvier figure may be able to pull this one off.
Third, the material. Not the softest thing in the world but not really itchy either. It's kind of a rougher, light weight material.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: colors
Cons: fit, short, rough material
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 25, 2011

Cute but not on me

I was prepared to buy this before I tried it on but the neckline didn't look right on me. I am petite (5'2" 100lbs) and for some reason, this looked boxy. Also, the neckline is beautiful on one side but comes to a sharp point at the other which looked harsh on me. The colors are beautiful and the fabric was soft but I had to put this one back.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: colors and overall look
Cons: funky neckline
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedNovember 16, 2011

Sweet Sweater

I bought this sweater in the sky colour to match a pair of gorgeous Anthro earrings made of pale blue stones. I wear my hair in a high bun so that it showcases the earrings and the lovely shoulder detail of the sweater, and then I also added some stacked bangles from Anthro to complete the look. I have the xsmall which fits perfectly. Not too small, not too big. It falls right at my waist. I like that the sleeves are slightly short so that I can wear a bracelet. I also like the little dip in the collar that shows off your collar bone. I gave it a 4 for quality because there was a teeny tiny little white speck that isn't noticeable at all, but the sales associate offered an additional 10% off, so I was happy with the extra discounted price. :)
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: romantic details colour price
Cons: won't be warm for the winter but isn't made to be
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 18, 2011

might not work for all body types

If you're busty, it might work for you. I'm a size 2, 34B and the excess fabric was not an issue. I got the XS. Took off a star coz the fabric is quite itchy. Hoping a little fabric softener could help.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
PostedOctober 27, 2011

Love the ruffle

I read the other reviews and was concerned about the description about the awkward sleeve, but purchased the pullover because I love slightly vintage, different pieces. The sleeve was not a problem for me. I have gotten compliments every time I wear this. I do think that the look is a little "boxy" for me, not slimming, but I love it anyway.
The only thing I don't love about the piece is that it isn't soft. Actually, it is a little scratchy.
Overall though, its a great addition to my closet.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lace ruffle design, color - purple
Cons: scratchy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 20, 2011

Adorable and romantic

Love this top, and so glad I got it! Especially since it was on sale! I get tons of compliments on it ever time I wear it. I got the mustard color in a small and feel that it fits TTS. I wish it were a tad bit longer, but it hits right at the hip, so its not bad. the detail at the top makes up for it :)
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedDecember 11, 2011

it's ok

If I had tried this on in the store I might not have bought it. It is short, and I wish the fabric was a little softer. I do like the sky blue color and the unique design.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 5, 2011

So pretty!

So I am 5'3", petite, and this sweater was too big for me. However my friend tried it on (5'10", 120lbs, 34C) and it was gorgeous on her. This trick is to size down as this sweater runs a tad large. My friend is normally a s/m and the xs fit perfectly. So flattering.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedSeptember 25, 2011

I passed on this one....

I saw wanted to like this but it was just off. The top was really wonky on me - one side was higher than the other and the bottoms was short. The body was loose and not flattering. It just did nothing for me. Too many good things out there to settle,.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 28, 2011

pretty asymmetrical sweater

I love this sweater, but as other reviewers have mentioned, I'd recommend that you try it on first. I had to adjust the fabric on the side with the ruffles, but after playing with it a bit, I was able to get it to look just right. The fabric is soft and not itchy (and my skin can be very sensitive to wool). Also, the sleeves are snug, but I felt comfortable and it looked great overall. I'm petite with short torso, and the length was just right on me. If you have a longer torso, it may fun to short for you. Can't wait to wear this with skirts this fall and winter.
Note that the sky and grey colors are rather sheer, and because of the neckline, a camisole wouldn't work so you'll have to wear a nude bra. Also, the purple and black are a heathered material. I think you can tell easily when looking at the purple, but the black looked more like a charcoal grey in person.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: soft material pretty design
Cons: sleeves may be tight for some
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>