Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Oblique Pointelle Pullover

Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Average rating:
3.825 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 of 40(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Review 1 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Petite
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Cons: cropped length, see-through material
"This top looked so cute on the hanger but wasn’t very flattering on my body type when I put it on. I tried on the XS. The arm holes are fairly tight and the body of the top is very loose-fitting and cropped. I tried on the grey and it is definitely see-through. I could see my bra though it so it would probably require a cami underneath but because it is so cropped I’m not sure how “good” a cami would look layered underneath the sweater. It doesn't seem as versatile as the other sweaters out right now not only because it's difficult to style but because the sizing is off. If you like this top I would definitely recommend trying it on in person first."
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

PostedAugust 3, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I did not like this sweater at all. Unlike the first review, I found it did in fact feel like wool, and wasn't terribly itchy but since I have sensitive skin it did bother me. Granted I am petite (5'1, XS), but the shoulder embellishment was overwhelming - the ruffle is very stiff and stuck straight out. It was not drapey and soft like I thought it would be. The shape of the sweater is also quite odd - the length is fine, but it runs very wide. The underarm seam is cut rather low, so it poofed out in a very strange way on the sides, which you can see in the photo. This sweater is a miss for me."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromLouisiana
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

awkward fitting top

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: colors
Cons: fit, short, rough material
"I don't know what kind of body this top will fit but definitely not mine. I am 100 lbs at 5'5" with 34A and I just couldn't figure the idea behind this design.
First, it's a little short. As you can see from the photos it rises above my pants a little. I could keep pulling it down but it rises back up.
Second, the fit. The style is meant to be somewhat loose but one side seemed to be looser than the other. I'm sure my small chest doesn't help fill it out so maybe those with a curvier figure may be able to pull this one off.
Third, the material. Not the softest thing in the world but not really itchy either. It's kind of a rougher, light weight material."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromny
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

love!

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
"soft but sturdy sweater with 3/4 sleeves, a neckline that is interesting without being too revealing, a fitted fit and a length just right for skirts.
i'm 5/4 and size 16 and purchased the black in XL. i would say this runs a bit small, i can usually wear an L in anthro sweaters but went to the XL on this. the sleeves are not dolman on me, but i have plump upper arms. the length does reach my navel but not much past. i wore it untucked with a high waisted pencil skirt and it worked out well (and kept me warm sitting under the office air conditioner)
my only negatives that the black looks heatherier/grayer in person than in the photo."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromCanada
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Alas, not a worthy soft dusty rose pullover

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Pros: beautiful colour
Cons: too short, weird fit
"I was so excited about this piece. I love the dusty rose hue, which is fall-y but can be many other seasons too. I loved the idea of the corsage neckline, which is rarely seen on a pullover.
But to try on, the material wasn't soft enough. It had that slightly itchy knit that needs a cami underneath (but I find that ruins the neckline). Strike one.
The arms were fitted at the elbow, then went almost dolman style in the armpits. The neckline didn't fall on my body right, and it looked awkward, loose and dumpy. The pullover didn't fit nice at all. Strike two.
And it was too short and rode up. Strike three.
I took my usual xsmall (I'm 32b). Maybe it'll work out better for busty gals
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

pretty asymmetrical sweater

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Pros: soft material pretty design
Cons: sleeves may be tight for some
"I love this sweater, but as other reviewers have mentioned, I'd recommend that you try it on first. I had to adjust the fabric on the side with the ruffles, but after playing with it a bit, I was able to get it to look just right. The fabric is soft and not itchy (and my skin can be very sensitive to wool). Also, the sleeves are snug, but I felt comfortable and it looked great overall. I'm petite with short torso, and the length was just right on me. If you have a longer torso, it may fun to short for you. Can't wait to wear this with skirts this fall and winter.
Note that the sky and grey colors are rather sheer, and because of the neckline, a camisole wouldn't work so you'll have to wear a nude bra. Also, the purple and black are a heathered material. I think you can tell easily when looking at the purple, but the black looked more like a charcoal grey in person."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromIthaca, NY
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful Color!

PostedAugust 16, 2011
"I loved the purple color. It was perfectly "heather," and all the lights and darks make the sweater look quite rich.
I disagree with the previous reviewer, for the sweater is actually very soft. It's lovely (merino?) wool. Obviously it isn't soft like cotton, but it is certainly not rough. Indeed, I wore it without a camisole and was perfectly comfortable all day.
Secondly, the shoulder embellishment is not "too much." It's quite lovely and sits nicely on the shoulder/upper chest. It is soft and flow-y, but not sloppy.
My only critique is that it sits differently on each hip because of the shoulder embellishment. However, this does not take away from the beauty of the sweater. It is flattering because the ribbing sits right on the hips, showing the thinness of my waist without being too tight."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Cropped and awkward

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
"The detail on the neckline here is very pretty. The texture of the sweater was also not too itchy, as I initially feared.
The big problem here for me was length. I am only 5'2" and pretty short waisted. The was above my belly button. It was hard for me to imagine how this would work except maybe with highwaisted pants. It looked awkward and made me look even shorter than nature intended. ;)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromWV
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Dismayed at the fit

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Pros: color
Cons: length
"I purchased this top in purple, size medium. Pretty style and color, but the fit does not work for me. It was incredibly short as I am longer in the torso. I am 5'8 and there was really no way for me to work with this. Unfortunately, it will have to go back."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromMichigan
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Fabulous light weight wool sweater

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Pros: lovely weight unique style
Cons: no cons
"I purchased this sweater in purple. It is a lovely flattering shade, that is lightly heathered. I found it true to size. It is extremely flattering for my shape.. accents my waist.. makes my chest look proportional. I love how it is fitted on one arm, and flowing on another.. it brings to mind what a Greek goddess would wear if she was around in this time, lol.. The sleeve length is great for it's weight, they end a few inches below the elbow, and I push them up just slightly.. looks great!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromCincinnati, Ohio
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Oddest, most spectacular little sweater.

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Pros: construction, beautiful, feminine, quirky, appealing coloring
Cons: scratchy, a bit short
"I know this sweater fits oddly. That is what I love about it. If you're into things that are both feminine and quirky, look no further. The fiber is a tad on the scratchy side, but this isn't much of a bother to me.
I had to "practice" with it to see how it is worn.. The side that sits as a normal top is the side with the ruffle, the other side is cut oddly and wider, and so it should hang there. So the sweater is a little work, will need an under layer if you're modest and taller, and it may be scratchy.. But I am completely in love with this thing and wouldn't give it up..
I bought a size up (small) to layer with a button up. On the topic of sizing, I noticed a significant sizing difference between x-small and small, which I hadn't preciously encourantered at Anthropologie. The x-small had very narrow arms and it was much shorter than expected. I cannot swear that this is the same for all sizes, but x-small and small are the top sizes I bounce between here, and never has it been this tight in my arms (I could have done it but never with a later, every seam would have shown).
I agree with a previous reviewer that the sweater runs short.. This is true. I'm a very petite woman, standing at around 5 feet tall, and the sweater falls just at my pant line..
The "yellow" is more of a greeny yellow, incase one isn't sure about the monitor.. It also has burnt orange flecks in the fiber. I found this to be gorgeous with my red hair and hope Anthro picks up more items with this little flecking in the future."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromLong Beach, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Cute Cropped Sweater

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Pros: lightweight, nice color
Cons: bat wing sleeves, too short
"I would consider this a cropped sweater. Its short.
The colors are beautiful, especially the plum. However staying in my comfort zone, I tried on the black. It is cute...its what I refer to as the "bat-wing" sleeves which are on trend right now, but not overly exaggerated. The knit is lighter in weight which is nice for layering and for less severe weather. Its a bit assymetric with the gathering on one shoulder. It fit true-to-size for me. Just not a "wow" factor here."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute but don't wash or it will shrink!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
"Really loved the look of this sweater. Like other reviewers, I found it to be a bit itchy but I could deal. I washed it in cold water and did not dry it as per the instructions and now it wears like a cropped sweater- which is not the look I was going for! Because it's so cute, I'm going to try and take it back to Anthro and exchange for another sweater. This time, I'll know to dry clean only!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Charming & Unique

PostedNovember 15, 2011
"I'm 5'10", 135 lb, 34B, 27 waist. I purchased size small in grey. This sweater fits very nicely on my body. It is asymmetrical, which is what makes it so charming. One sleeve is bigger/looser than the other sleeve, but I don't find it to be a problem. Just pull the sleeves above the elbows to conceal the size difference. I personally don't find the material to be itchy. It's very comfortable and feels soft. There are lots of comments that say the material is scratchy. I suppose it is a risk for those who have sensitive skin. The sweater is very thin, so you have to wear a camis/undershirt to cover your bra. The sweater is short, but not in an unattractive way. I am happy with this purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Flying Squirrel

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Pros: lace detail
Cons: short length
"I thought this sweater was destined for my wardrobe when I saw it on the hanger. When I tried it on and I well, felt like a flying squirrel. The armpit has extra material I don't care for and the length is on the short side. I'm a fan of simple structured construction for sweaters, but if slouchy and cropped is your style this is the sweater for you."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromBoston, MA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

So pretty!

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
"So I am 5'3", petite, and this sweater was too big for me. However my friend tried it on (5'10", 120lbs, 34C) and it was gorgeous on her. This trick is to size down as this sweater runs a tad large. My friend is normally a s/m and the xs fit perfectly. So flattering."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromUpper Saddle River, NJ
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

I passed on this one....

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
"I saw wanted to like this but it was just off. The top was really wonky on me - one side was higher than the other and the bottoms was short. The body was loose and not flattering. It just did nothing for me. Too many good things out there to settle,."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromNew York, NY
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Pretty in Purple

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Pros: great sale price!
"Great Price! I loved the asymmetrical ruffle detail. This sweater looks great in the purple color. I need to wear a cami underneath, as it is a little short. If you have a very long torso, this sweater may not be for you."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromMidwest
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great little sweater!

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Pros: hand washable
"Love this in purple! I'm 5'4, 34b, and the small fit very nicely...I love the way
this drapes on my frame...I have squared shoulders and a longer neck, so maybe this was just meant for me? Great heathery wool fabric.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
fromnew york, ny
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

might not work for all body types

PostedOctober 18, 2011
"If you're busty, it might work for you. I'm a size 2, 34B and the excess fabric was not an issue. I got the XS. Took off a star coz the fabric is quite itchy. Hoping a little fabric softener could help."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>