Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Oblique Pointelle Pullover

Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Overall rating:
3.825 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 of 40(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Review 1 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 2, 2011

soft, elegant and lovely

This is a soft weave that feels wonderful to put on, it doesn't feel like wool. It's just loose enough that you would not want to wear a colored bra. The neckline is very flattering, and though I was worried the trim would look a little overwhelming or silly on, it blends in and just adds to the shape. The overall appearance on is gently fitted and very flattering. I got the gray version, which is just a little darker than the photo. This runs true to size.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft nicely fitted very flattering
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 3, 2011

I love all the colors but bought this in SKY and I think it is so pretty with skirts or slacks for work. The fabric is a bit thin as are many of Anthros sweaters. Not sure how it will hold up. Fit was TTS.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedSeptember 18, 2011

Fabulous light weight wool sweater

I purchased this sweater in purple. It is a lovely flattering shade, that is lightly heathered. I found it true to size. It is extremely flattering for my shape.. accents my waist.. makes my chest look proportional. I love how it is fitted on one arm, and flowing on another.. it brings to mind what a Greek goddess would wear if she was around in this time, lol.. The sleeve length is great for it's weight, they end a few inches below the elbow, and I push them up just slightly.. looks great!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: lovely weight unique style
Cons: no cons
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2011

Cute Cropped Sweater

I would consider this a cropped sweater. Its short.
The colors are beautiful, especially the plum. However staying in my comfort zone, I tried on the black. It is cute...its what I refer to as the "bat-wing" sleeves which are on trend right now, but not overly exaggerated. The knit is lighter in weight which is nice for layering and for less severe weather. Its a bit assymetric with the gathering on one shoulder. It fit true-to-size for me. Just not a "wow" factor here.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lightweight, nice color
Cons: bat wing sleeves, too short
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedSeptember 23, 2011

Oddest, most spectacular little sweater.

I know this sweater fits oddly. That is what I love about it. If you're into things that are both feminine and quirky, look no further. The fiber is a tad on the scratchy side, but this isn't much of a bother to me.
I had to "practice" with it to see how it is worn.. The side that sits as a normal top is the side with the ruffle, the other side is cut oddly and wider, and so it should hang there. So the sweater is a little work, will need an under layer if you're modest and taller, and it may be scratchy.. But I am completely in love with this thing and wouldn't give it up..
I bought a size up (small) to layer with a button up. On the topic of sizing, I noticed a significant sizing difference between x-small and small, which I hadn't preciously encourantered at Anthropologie. The x-small had very narrow arms and it was much shorter than expected. I cannot swear that this is the same for all sizes, but x-small and small are the top sizes I bounce between here, and never has it been this tight in my arms (I could have done it but never with a later, every seam would have shown).
I agree with a previous reviewer that the sweater runs short.. This is true. I'm a very petite woman, standing at around 5 feet tall, and the sweater falls just at my pant line..
The "yellow" is more of a greeny yellow, incase one isn't sure about the monitor.. It also has burnt orange flecks in the fiber. I found this to be gorgeous with my red hair and hope Anthro picks up more items with this little flecking in the future.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: construction, beautiful, feminine, quirky, appealing coloring
Cons: scratchy, a bit short
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 25, 2011

Cute but not on me

I was prepared to buy this before I tried it on but the neckline didn't look right on me. I am petite (5'2" 100lbs) and for some reason, this looked boxy. Also, the neckline is beautiful on one side but comes to a sharp point at the other which looked harsh on me. The colors are beautiful and the fabric was soft but I had to put this one back.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: colors and overall look
Cons: funky neckline
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 22, 2011

Perfect sweater for skirts

I bought this in the yellow and just adore almost everything about it. I bought it expecting to wear it with skirts and it's worked out perfectly. The shape is beautiful with knee-length pencils and a-lines. I received all sorts of compliments when I wore it to work with a pretty non-adventurous bock skirt and retro peep-toe wedges -- very retro sexy secretary, but without being at all revealing.
I'm slightly pear shaped (35-29-39 and between a 34C and 36B with small shoulders). This top really balances me nicely. You other pears out there will know what I mean.
The only issue I had with this sweater was that I tend to be more on the athletic side and don't have slender limbs so the sleeves are a little snug, but not so much that it's not wearable (they're not tight like sausage casings). If you do tend to have larger arms, this may not work for you. It also won't work if you want to wear it with low rise pants without exposing your midriff.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: interesting design colors
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedOctober 12, 2011

Dismayed at the fit

I purchased this top in purple, size medium. Pretty style and color, but the fit does not work for me. It was incredibly short as I am longer in the torso. I am 5'8 and there was really no way for me to work with this. Unfortunately, it will have to go back.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: length
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
PostedNovember 3, 2011

Love this sweater! Purchased the yellow in my usual size xs - it fits tts. Love the off center neck-line and ruffles. It is shorter but I wear a cami underneath. The material is soft and doesn't feel scretchy to me but I don't have very senstive skin. Planning on getting another color!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
PostedOctober 27, 2011

Love the ruffle

I read the other reviews and was concerned about the description about the awkward sleeve, but purchased the pullover because I love slightly vintage, different pieces. The sleeve was not a problem for me. I have gotten compliments every time I wear this. I do think that the look is a little "boxy" for me, not slimming, but I love it anyway.
The only thing I don't love about the piece is that it isn't soft. Actually, it is a little scratchy.
Overall though, its a great addition to my closet.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lace ruffle design, color - purple
Cons: scratchy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 7, 2011

Individual and Pretty

Here in Australia our clothing is same old same old. Huge fan of Anthropologie for it's individual and unusual designs. So pretty and feminine, with the softest of wool. The colour is awesome but the yellow is more of a mustard colour.Flattering cut on a curvy figure and the lace detail is glorious.
Have just hit summer so looking forward to wearing in on cooler days.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: amazing colour. stylish feminine design.
Cons: sleeves are shorter than what i thought they were.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 21, 2011

More than yellow...

Love this sweater. I have the "yellow" but the heathering in it make it a yellow-green-brown sort of color. Very versatile, comfortable and TTS.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 17, 2011

Alas, not a worthy soft dusty rose pullover

I was so excited about this piece. I love the dusty rose hue, which is fall-y but can be many other seasons too. I loved the idea of the corsage neckline, which is rarely seen on a pullover.
But to try on, the material wasn't soft enough. It had that slightly itchy knit that needs a cami underneath (but I find that ruins the neckline). Strike one.
The arms were fitted at the elbow, then went almost dolman style in the armpits. The neckline didn't fall on my body right, and it looked awkward, loose and dumpy. The pullover didn't fit nice at all. Strike two.
And it was too short and rode up. Strike three.
I took my usual xsmall (I'm 32b). Maybe it'll work out better for busty gals
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful colour
Cons: too short, weird fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 26, 2011

unique neckline

I usually wear a size S Anthro sweater, but sometimes XS if it's a larger cut. I tried this in both sizes and two colors, the gray and the purple. I found the XS to be too tight in the bust and too short. I'm only 5' tall, but have a 34D bust. There was quite a bit of difference between the size of the XS and S. The S fit quite loosely, and reminded me of a 1950's crewneck sweater - which is actually not a bad look on me. The two colors seemed ot fit differently; not sure if that was real or my imagination. I liked the fit of the gray better, but thought the color washed me out. The color of the purple was better, but it seemed larger and more awkward through the body. I did not find the ruffle to be too large, even though I'm petite, and the length of the S was perfect.I like the concept of this one, but wish the fit was just a bit better. I seemed to be wider on the side without the ruffle, which looked a bit odd. I'm thinking I'll wait for a sale and maybe try the light blue one, which wasn't available at my store. I like this, but definitely not enough to pay full price.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 5, 2011

So pretty!

So I am 5'3", petite, and this sweater was too big for me. However my friend tried it on (5'10", 120lbs, 34C) and it was gorgeous on her. This trick is to size down as this sweater runs a tad large. My friend is normally a s/m and the xs fit perfectly. So flattering.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2011

Cropped and awkward

The detail on the neckline here is very pretty. The texture of the sweater was also not too itchy, as I initially feared.
The big problem here for me was length. I am only 5'2" and pretty short waisted. The was above my belly button. It was hard for me to imagine how this would work except maybe with highwaisted pants. It looked awkward and made me look even shorter than nature intended. ;)
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 21, 2011

awkward fitting top

I don't know what kind of body this top will fit but definitely not mine. I am 100 lbs at 5'5" with 34A and I just couldn't figure the idea behind this design.
First, it's a little short. As you can see from the photos it rises above my pants a little. I could keep pulling it down but it rises back up.
Second, the fit. The style is meant to be somewhat loose but one side seemed to be looser than the other. I'm sure my small chest doesn't help fill it out so maybe those with a curvier figure may be able to pull this one off.
Third, the material. Not the softest thing in the world but not really itchy either. It's kind of a rougher, light weight material.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: colors
Cons: fit, short, rough material
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Athletic
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 8, 2011

Great little sweater!

Love this in purple! I'm 5'4, 34b, and the small fit very nicely...I love the way
this drapes on my frame...I have squared shoulders and a longer neck, so maybe this was just meant for me? Great heathery wool fabric.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: hand washable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
PostedNovember 10, 2011

Pretty in Purple

Great Price! I loved the asymmetrical ruffle detail. This sweater looks great in the purple color. I need to wear a cami underneath, as it is a little short. If you have a very long torso, this sweater may not be for you.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: great sale price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedNovember 16, 2011

Sweet Sweater

I bought this sweater in the sky colour to match a pair of gorgeous Anthro earrings made of pale blue stones. I wear my hair in a high bun so that it showcases the earrings and the lovely shoulder detail of the sweater, and then I also added some stacked bangles from Anthro to complete the look. I have the xsmall which fits perfectly. Not too small, not too big. It falls right at my waist. I like that the sleeves are slightly short so that I can wear a bracelet. I also like the little dip in the collar that shows off your collar bone. I gave it a 4 for quality because there was a teeny tiny little white speck that isn't noticeable at all, but the sales associate offered an additional 10% off, so I was happy with the extra discounted price. :)
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: romantic details colour price
Cons: won't be warm for the winter but isn't made to be
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>