Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Oblique Pointelle Pullover

Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Overall rating:
3.825 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
30 of 40(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
Review 1 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 3, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedAugust 3, 2011

I did not like this sweater at all. Unlike the first review, I found it did in fact feel like wool, and wasn't terribly itchy but since I have sensitive skin it did bother me. Granted I am petite (5'1, XS), but the shoulder embellishment was overwhelming - the ruffle is very stiff and stuck straight out. It was not drapey and soft like I thought it would be. The shape of the sweater is also quite odd - the length is fine, but it runs very wide. The underarm seam is cut rather low, so it poofed out in a very strange way on the sides, which you can see in the photo. This sweater is a miss for me.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 16, 2011

itchy

I tried on my usual size and it fit TTS. I found the material to be itchy and the ruffling detail to be a little too overwhelming. I was disappointed as it looked very cute online.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 16, 2011

Beautiful Color!

I loved the purple color. It was perfectly "heather," and all the lights and darks make the sweater look quite rich.
I disagree with the previous reviewer, for the sweater is actually very soft. It's lovely (merino?) wool. Obviously it isn't soft like cotton, but it is certainly not rough. Indeed, I wore it without a camisole and was perfectly comfortable all day.
Secondly, the shoulder embellishment is not "too much." It's quite lovely and sits nicely on the shoulder/upper chest. It is soft and flow-y, but not sloppy.
My only critique is that it sits differently on each hip because of the shoulder embellishment. However, this does not take away from the beauty of the sweater. It is flattering because the ribbing sits right on the hips, showing the thinness of my waist without being too tight.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 28, 2011

pretty asymmetrical sweater

I love this sweater, but as other reviewers have mentioned, I'd recommend that you try it on first. I had to adjust the fabric on the side with the ruffles, but after playing with it a bit, I was able to get it to look just right. The fabric is soft and not itchy (and my skin can be very sensitive to wool). Also, the sleeves are snug, but I felt comfortable and it looked great overall. I'm petite with short torso, and the length was just right on me. If you have a longer torso, it may fun to short for you. Can't wait to wear this with skirts this fall and winter.
Note that the sky and grey colors are rather sheer, and because of the neckline, a camisole wouldn't work so you'll have to wear a nude bra. Also, the purple and black are a heathered material. I think you can tell easily when looking at the purple, but the black looked more like a charcoal grey in person.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: soft material pretty design
Cons: sleeves may be tight for some
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
PostedOctober 13, 2011

Flying Squirrel

I thought this sweater was destined for my wardrobe when I saw it on the hanger. When I tried it on and I well, felt like a flying squirrel. The armpit has extra material I don't care for and the length is on the short side. I'm a fan of simple structured construction for sweaters, but if slouchy and cropped is your style this is the sweater for you.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: lace detail
Cons: short length
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 20, 2011

Very cute...a little short

I really like this sweater. I was tempted to buy it several times, but when it went on sale I had to pick it up! I love the design and the fabric, but like other reviews have mentioned...it's a little short. I am only 5'2 and I have to wear a tank under it to prevent it from riding up on me.
If you don't mind having to layer something underneath then I would say this sweater is a good choice for you. I have received several compliments on it too!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: nice fabric, cute details
Cons: short
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 18, 2011

might not work for all body types

If you're busty, it might work for you. I'm a size 2, 34B and the excess fabric was not an issue. I got the XS. Took off a star coz the fabric is quite itchy. Hoping a little fabric softener could help.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 17, 2011

Alas, not a worthy soft dusty rose pullover

I was so excited about this piece. I love the dusty rose hue, which is fall-y but can be many other seasons too. I loved the idea of the corsage neckline, which is rarely seen on a pullover.
But to try on, the material wasn't soft enough. It had that slightly itchy knit that needs a cami underneath (but I find that ruins the neckline). Strike one.
The arms were fitted at the elbow, then went almost dolman style in the armpits. The neckline didn't fall on my body right, and it looked awkward, loose and dumpy. The pullover didn't fit nice at all. Strike two.
And it was too short and rode up. Strike three.
I took my usual xsmall (I'm 32b). Maybe it'll work out better for busty gals
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful colour
Cons: too short, weird fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedAugust 26, 2011

unique neckline

I usually wear a size S Anthro sweater, but sometimes XS if it's a larger cut. I tried this in both sizes and two colors, the gray and the purple. I found the XS to be too tight in the bust and too short. I'm only 5' tall, but have a 34D bust. There was quite a bit of difference between the size of the XS and S. The S fit quite loosely, and reminded me of a 1950's crewneck sweater - which is actually not a bad look on me. The two colors seemed ot fit differently; not sure if that was real or my imagination. I liked the fit of the gray better, but thought the color washed me out. The color of the purple was better, but it seemed larger and more awkward through the body. I did not find the ruffle to be too large, even though I'm petite, and the length of the S was perfect.I like the concept of this one, but wish the fit was just a bit better. I seemed to be wider on the side without the ruffle, which looked a bit odd. I'm thinking I'll wait for a sale and maybe try the light blue one, which wasn't available at my store. I like this, but definitely not enough to pay full price.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedAugust 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 2, 2011

soft, elegant and lovely

This is a soft weave that feels wonderful to put on, it doesn't feel like wool. It's just loose enough that you would not want to wear a colored bra. The neckline is very flattering, and though I was worried the trim would look a little overwhelming or silly on, it blends in and just adds to the shape. The overall appearance on is gently fitted and very flattering. I got the gray version, which is just a little darker than the photo. This runs true to size.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft nicely fitted very flattering
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 3, 2011

I love all the colors but bought this in SKY and I think it is so pretty with skirts or slacks for work. The fabric is a bit thin as are many of Anthros sweaters. Not sure how it will hold up. Fit was TTS.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2011

Cute Cropped Sweater

I would consider this a cropped sweater. Its short.
The colors are beautiful, especially the plum. However staying in my comfort zone, I tried on the black. It is cute...its what I refer to as the "bat-wing" sleeves which are on trend right now, but not overly exaggerated. The knit is lighter in weight which is nice for layering and for less severe weather. Its a bit assymetric with the gathering on one shoulder. It fit true-to-size for me. Just not a "wow" factor here.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lightweight, nice color
Cons: bat wing sleeves, too short
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
PostedDecember 8, 2011

Pretty but short

I like the light blue color and thought it would go well as a casual sweater with jeans. While it is a nice fabric and the light blue color is pretty, I found it to be too wide along the waist band and it was short. Not my favorite.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty color
Cons: unproportioned
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedDecember 9, 2011

Pretty, but not cut right for me

I thought this was a really pretty blue color, but it wasn't the right color on me (that is no one's fault, of course, so I am not rating on that), and it was very soft... but it didn't fit me well at all. It was too short, and too wide for my frame. I have a long torso, and a small frame. I tried on the XS. I think if the sweater were taken in just a bit on the sides (not as wide), and were longer, and perhaps in different color options, it would be great for me! Haha.
128#, 5' 6 1/2", 32B.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 22, 2011

Perfect sweater for skirts

I bought this in the yellow and just adore almost everything about it. I bought it expecting to wear it with skirts and it's worked out perfectly. The shape is beautiful with knee-length pencils and a-lines. I received all sorts of compliments when I wore it to work with a pretty non-adventurous bock skirt and retro peep-toe wedges -- very retro sexy secretary, but without being at all revealing.
I'm slightly pear shaped (35-29-39 and between a 34C and 36B with small shoulders). This top really balances me nicely. You other pears out there will know what I mean.
The only issue I had with this sweater was that I tend to be more on the athletic side and don't have slender limbs so the sleeves are a little snug, but not so much that it's not wearable (they're not tight like sausage casings). If you do tend to have larger arms, this may not work for you. It also won't work if you want to wear it with low rise pants without exposing your midriff.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: interesting design colors
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 5, 2011

So pretty!

So I am 5'3", petite, and this sweater was too big for me. However my friend tried it on (5'10", 120lbs, 34C) and it was gorgeous on her. This trick is to size down as this sweater runs a tad large. My friend is normally a s/m and the xs fit perfectly. So flattering.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2011

Cropped and awkward

The detail on the neckline here is very pretty. The texture of the sweater was also not too itchy, as I initially feared.
The big problem here for me was length. I am only 5'2" and pretty short waisted. The was above my belly button. It was hard for me to imagine how this would work except maybe with highwaisted pants. It looked awkward and made me look even shorter than nature intended. ;)
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 21, 2011

awkward fitting top

I don't know what kind of body this top will fit but definitely not mine. I am 100 lbs at 5'5" with 34A and I just couldn't figure the idea behind this design.
First, it's a little short. As you can see from the photos it rises above my pants a little. I could keep pulling it down but it rises back up.
Second, the fit. The style is meant to be somewhat loose but one side seemed to be looser than the other. I'm sure my small chest doesn't help fill it out so maybe those with a curvier figure may be able to pull this one off.
Third, the material. Not the softest thing in the world but not really itchy either. It's kind of a rougher, light weight material.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: colors
Cons: fit, short, rough material
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedDecember 11, 2011

it's ok

If I had tried this on in the store I might not have bought it. It is short, and I wish the fabric was a little softer. I do like the sky blue color and the unique design.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oblique Pointelle Pullover
PostedOctober 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Athletic
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedOctober 8, 2011

Great little sweater!

Love this in purple! I'm 5'4, 34b, and the small fit very nicely...I love the way
this drapes on my frame...I have squared shoulders and a longer neck, so maybe this was just meant for me? Great heathery wool fabric.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: hand washable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>