Customer reviews for Colchester Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Colchester Jacket

Colchester Jacket
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Colchester Jacket
Review 1 for Colchester Jacket
PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 29, 2011

This customer did not provide a text review.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft quality material, great fit, classic with a twist
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Colchester Jacket
PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedSeptember 12, 2011

Boxy yet so adorable

I will admit I have tried this coat on twice. The first time, I wasn't so pleased. I also didn't turn around, and tried it on over a dress. This is a cut probably better over pants, especially skinny pants. It is boxy, and it hits at one's hips, at least from the front view. Thus, it gives a sort of sack-like look with a below the knee dress. But then I went back, and tried it on with the AG red Stevies, and it was adorable. First off, it fits well through the shoulders and chest, making the fact that it's double-breasted unproblematic, even for a slightly wide-shouldered, not exactly small-chested lady. The best part, though, is the extended hemline towards the back. It's that Anthro touch, that one detail that takes it from being classic, verging on boring, and makes it classic but fun and stylish. It's a great touch that also adds a little interest to the rear view, and makes it more wearable with longer tees and sweaters. It's a great layering piece, especially here in New England where the evenings already feel quite fallish.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: classic color good fit, fun hemline
Cons: fairly boxy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Colchester Jacket
PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedSeptember 19, 2011

Eclectic take on a classic piece

Not your typical double-breasted khaki coat. This jacket is completely on point with the "slouchy" trend. Another reviewer described it (positively) as boxy, which is true but it is extraordinarily well executed in this piece. The asymmetrical hem is what offsets the boxey-ness of the piece, and the polished feel of the buttons and lapels keep the classic feel.
I think some women might find the length of the back to hit a little low. I'm 5'8" with most of my length in my torso, and it hits about halfway on my bum. I have long arms and the rolled up sleeves add an excellent effect (I don't want to roll them down but I'm pretty sure it's possible). Overall, this coat does very well what Anthro is known for--taking a classic, adding some current trends, and making it into a very unique, well-styled piece!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful style, on trend
Cons: thin material, back may be too long for most
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Colchester Jacket
PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 13, 2011

Nice but Snug

This jacket has a great design and it's very high quality. It's heavier than I thought it would be so the arms were thick and it was almost too small. I bought a medium, I have a another jacket by this brand that's a medium so I didn't worry about it ... but when it arrived, the arms are a little snug due to how linred it is. I am keeping it because it is not uncomforable and I really like the look of it. The jacket has a boxy design, but it's pretty adorable and I can't wait until the weather cools down and I can wear it. In San Diego, this jacket will take me through the late Fall and into our "Winter", it's very warm!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Colchester Jacket
PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 17, 2011

Perfect fall jacket

this is such a cute modern version of a trench coat. Love it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Colchester Jacket
PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedNovember 21, 2011

Creative Take on the Short Trench

Read the other reviews and expected the medium to be very snug. Not the case for me, but I am small up top. Love that it's longer in the back. It covers my bum perfectly. Looks really great with skinnies. The quality is excellent. The jacket is lined. Very versitle item for fall/early winter in Arkansas.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: longer in back, quality fabric, creatively designed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Colchester Jacket
PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
PostedAugust 6, 2011

Great jacket for the fall

I recently purchased the Heritage Raincoat from Anthro (adorable by the way) & couldn't wait to wear it this Fall/Winter. But who was I kidding, that jacket is a heavy duty jacket, and is completely inappropriate for Summer/Fall weather, unless there is a monsoon, and in that case I will be sporting it proudly. So during my weekly visit to Anthro, I spotted this jacket seconds upon entering the store. I did a quick jog over to it, grabbed my size (TTS) & proceeded to buy it.
This is a lighter jacket, but has enough weight to take you through the Fall. Note, the sleeves are slightly cropped, although I believe they can be unrolled.
The front diagonal pockets are just to die for along with the darling back design with the button. The jacket is a little fuller, so it will not be tight on you, allowing layers to be completely possible.
I can't wait to balance this with cute skinny jeans, a great Anthro printed scarf and some nice boots this Fall.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Colchester Jacket
PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedAugust 15, 2011

Trendy take on a classic

I saw this jacket through the window and had to have it. It fits true to size (I bought a small) and will be great for fall, winter and spring in southern CA... it is medium weight with room for layers underneath. The cut is unexpectedly loose and longer in the back so it is not a classic style... Really cute with skinny jeans and shorts. Beautiful shade of golden tan. Love it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: excellent quality
Cons: trendy (but stylish!) cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Colchester Jacket
PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedSeptember 20, 2011

classic with a twist

I agree with the previous review that this is a great example of a classic double breasted trench coat jacket with a modern twist: the cropped length, longer back, and swing styling. Honestly, the last thing I need is another coat, yet this one fits a hole in my closet - I don't have a trench style jacket that is cropped yet has long sleeves!! That is what sold me - the long sleeves. Yes, Anthro displays the jacket with rolled sleeves and this is a great option, but so many times I find myself wanting the warmth of long sleeves. The sleeve length unrolled is perfect too. This is not a winter jacket, but since it is totally lined with a cotton material it provides nice fall weather comfort. I like that this piece can be worn more casually with jeans and sneakers or a little dressed up with nicer trousers and heels. Size wise I found this to run tts.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Colchester Jacket
PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedOctober 3, 2011

Cute but big

I'm 5'7", 113 lbs and usually wear a size XS in anthro things. I got this coat in that size and though the shoulders and arms fit perfectly, the shape is a little bit more flared and A-shaped than I was expecting it to be, making it a lot more of a swing coat than it looks in the picture. I like the idea of the longer back enough that I might get it tailored to be a bit closer to my body, but otherwise, a super cute coat.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute idea, great longer back
Cons: big
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Colchester Jacket
PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 3, 2011

In between sizes

I loved this jacket, especially the lower-than-the-front back. However, the size Small was too tight in the arms but looked great in the back - and the size Medium was too big all over. Bummed about it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Colchester Jacket
PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedDecember 12, 2011

lovely jacket, but not for me

I thought this would be perfect to throw over a casual outfit, but the jacket was far too boxy for my liking. Since i have very broad shoulders, the top fit me while there was too much material on the bottom. I like the way the coat was slighly longer in the back and it was surprisingly warm, but it just didn't work for me. The material wrinkled easily and was not as structured as i expected.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: nice color details
Cons: too boxy, wrinkly material
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Colchester Jacket
PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedJanuary 30, 2012

Colchester Jacket

This jacket is decent quality. I would suggest ordering up 1 size. And note the lower back (more noticeable/strange from a side view).
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.