Customer reviews for Penobscot Poncho

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Penobscot Poncho

Penobscot Poncho
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
16 of 18(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Penobscot Poncho
Review 1 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 17, 2011

Lovely Design

I really liked the pattern and the design but don't really care so much about how it hangs in the front. When I turned the poncho around and the long part was showing in the front, it was a much more flattering shape on me, sort of like a triangle. Great piece though. The quality is excellent.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 17, 2011

Oh how I wished...

I had been stalking this garment for quite some time and was thrilled when it went on sale and I snatched it up immediately. I read amazing reviews but nothing that mentioned that it did not lay flat. There is a ton of fabric (which is fine since it is a poncho) but it bunched up all over the place when I tried it on which made me look 3x larger than I am. I was hoping it was just stiff fabric (which I might add is really wonderful quality) so I hung it up for a few days to allow the shoulder to mold better but alas, it was still box like each time I tried it on. I saw it in the store today to my surprise and tried it on hoping that the in-store version would be more "broken in" but it looked exactly the same. Perhaps you have to be extremely tall and thin to wear this without all the bunching but I don't see how you could avoid this. I am jealous of those who bought and love it. I really wanted to have this piece forever but this one is surely not for me.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality and design
Cons: fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 22, 2011

TOTALLY BUMMED!

OK, I can't remember being as excited about buying an item of clothing as I was about this one! The sale price was more than affordable and it looked awesome in the picture, but I was unprepared for the fit! I'm not a tall gal (5'2") and do not have long legs, so this poncho seemed to swallow me! As stated in other reviews, because of the bulk of the thick wool, this thing just juts out at every angle! I actually LAUGHED when I put it on and looked in the mirror. Then I cried when I realized that it would HAVE to go back! To sum it up, the quality of this piece is top notch...it is substantial and beautiful to look at but unless you are very tall and have very long legs, I just don't see this working for you. Additionally, because of all the fabric used in this poncho, I'm not sure what a thin person would do with all of it. This thing is MASSIVE! Sadly, mine is packed up to return!
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: awesome quality, beautiful design
Cons: too bulky, unflattering shape
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedDecember 28, 2011

Thick, heavy, gorgeous!

This poncho is amazing! I'm not a poncho person, I have an hourglass shape and like to accentuate my small waist, but this was too beautiful to pass up. The fabric is very thick and heavy and it will definitely keep you warm. Because of the sturdiness of the fabric, it does not drape well, but it's still attractive and you can belt the front panel and it looks great. Even if you only used it to snuggle up at home, it's worth the price. This is definitely a piece you will have for years. I would highly recommend it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: classic, quality, gorgeous fabric
Cons: bulky
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJanuary 6, 2012

A timeless piece

This is an all time classic! The design and quality are second to none! It is heavy and I have only mamaged to wear it twice as our winter has been unseasonal. With respect to one of the reviewers, I don't understand why you have to be tall. I am just under 5'4" and I feel very comfortable in it. It is chic, dress it up or down it wins every time. I imagine this will remain in my closet to the end of my days. That said I am a poncho fan, whether they are in fashion or not.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 13, 2011

WOW!

This is amazing and worth EVERY SINGLE DOLLAR! Made well and classic. The only draw back is that my head is a little large and I feel like I'm squeezing my head in a turtle neck. Otherwise perfect. -xoxo
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 28, 2011

You have to be tall

I have coveted this piece ever since it came out. Unfortunately, I'm 5'4 and a size 14 and it does not work on someone who is short and wide. The material is heavy and a bit stiff (may soften with wear). Overall, it just adds width and bulk to my already squat frame. Annoyingly, it looked great on my Mom, but she is taller and has a much trimmer figure than I.
The quality is amazing. The colors are wonderful. The pattern is fabulous. If you are tall, trim and long legged, this is going to be a statement piece that turns heads. Enjoy!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful piece, style is on trend
Cons: only works for certain body types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 22, 2011

Amazing Amazing Amazing!

This poncho really lives up to the Pendleton name. It's warm and cozy yet durable and made to perfection. It's dresses up any black sweater and jeans. I added some knee high motorcycle boots and was ready to go. Wore it on a recent trip and was stopped 3 times by women in the airport looking to find it! A show-stopper!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedNovember 25, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedNovember 25, 2011

Amazing Investment Piece

This is one of those pieces that sneaked into my consciousness and later into my closet! I despise cold weather and now find myself hoping for more chilly days so I can wear it. One of the things that's so nice is that the cowl neck is a wool/cotton blend and is softer and more flexible than the "blanket" part of the poncho. I know I will have this piece for decades.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: classic brand, striking design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJanuary 13, 2012

Worth it even at full price

This poncho is amazing. I wore it to a Christmas event and everyone there loved it. It's great if you live in a very cold weather location as the fabric is thick and high-quality. I can't think of anything bad about it! :)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: high quality, lovely pattern, warm and cuddly :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 14, 2011

Beautiful - but itchy!

This is beautiful, thick, and substantial. I look forward to wearing it for years to come.
Unfortunately, it's also ITCHY! The neck feels just as itchy to me, and I'm especially sensitive there - I rarely wear turtlenecks for that reason, so I was a little bummed out. I also have Anthro's Dressage Sweatercoat, which is 100% lambswool and soooo soft, and if only this poncho were soft like that, I'd happily give it 5 stars! It is very lovely though. I bought it at the 50% off price (the exact same price as the 30% off the sale price). I didn't even consider it at full price, but I'm very happy to have it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJanuary 17, 2012

Stunning

I love it and love that you can turn it inside out to get a different look (pattern is reversed on the other side).
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 28, 2011

love this!!!

Every time I wear this I have people stop me and tell me how much they like it. I am tall and wear this with skinny jeans and boots! Very easy to wear and I don't find it itchy. Would highly recommend.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedDecember 3, 2011

It's a blanket!

Gorgeous. Thick, blanket poncho. As if I took one of their blankets and wrapped it around me.
This is absolutely fabulous.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 28, 2011

WOW!!! LOVE!

I am amazed by the bad reviews! I am petite and I still love this although I think it would look good on most body types. Here's the thing, it's a true poncho, meaning it is basically a thick wool blanket with a hole for your head. I LOVE that rustic styling but not it's not going to be hugging your curves like spandex or laying flat like lace, it's thick wool and oh so beautiful. I felt almost too stylish wearing it to the zoo with my kids but I did get a few compliments along the way. It's warm like a blanket but since it's not closed at the sides, it's going to let some cold in. I love the design and this is not a trendy poncho that will leave my closet in a year, this one will be with me for many many winters ahead. LOVE!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedDecember 29, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedDecember 29, 2011

Love, love, love!

This poncho is exceptional! I am tall (5'8) and usually wear a Anthro M and this fits extremely well. I find the wool to be amazing in quality and drapes well for the thickness of the piece. I actually love that the neck is a bit stiff because it doubles as a scarf to keep out the cold. Wore it out today in ice cold weather and was warm. I too get complimented every time I wear it. It is a striking piece that garners attention.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: high quality excellent design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedJanuary 21, 2012

I would give this 6 stars if I could!

I got this poncho today in the mail, and it's AMAAAAZING. I wasn't sure what to expect. I had seen it in store but it was too pricey for me, even on sale. Finally it went down to $100 and I had a 15% birthday coupon. I couldn't be more happy! It actually falls beautifully, and is thick and warm, not itchy at all. I love the neck/collar on it, it's so chic!! I know I'm going to get loads of compliments on it (even my dad stopped by and couldn't stop admiring it) and I can't wait to wear it for the rest of my life.
Saks still has this for $350! Anthro sales are the best.
About me, I am 5'6 and very busty but I have small shoulders. It falls wonderfully. It actually seems to bell in around my body and the sleeves fall in a very nice shape. I would say it's the most complimentary poncho I've ever worn.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: not itchy high quality fashionable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Penobscot Poncho
PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
PostedJune 22, 2013

I Love your Coat

I wore the Penobscot Poncho over the Column Tank Dress to the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta 2012. It was perfect wearing a blanket like material for Dawn Patrol and Night Glow, since it was freezing cold early in the morning and cool in the evening.
Throughout the day, I would get many complements from strangers, admiring how beautiful the poncho is. "I love your coat," was heard approximately 5 times in a single day!
As for sizing, even though I am 5'2, 118 lb, and this poncho does not show your figure, the poncho looks beautiful as is.
For versatility, I've belted the front layer of the poncho before, showing off more of a figure. I've also seen models wearing the reverse side of this Poncho out, but that would require removing the Pendleton tag, which I do not have the heart to do. Lastly, it's a poncho I can keep and wear for life! It's literally a one-size-fits all kind of clothing.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.