Customer reviews for Sailboat Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Sailboat Skirt

Sailboat Skirt
Overall rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
49 of 55(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sailboat Skirt
Review 1 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 24, 2011

Love this Skirt!

This skirt has already been out for a couple of weeks in stores so I was fortunate enough to try it on already. Overall, the skirt has a very cute print comprised of numerous trendy colors, which will go with a lot of different color tops. The button detailing is charming, although I'm not sure how they will hold up in the wash. As far as sizing is concerned, I generally find Odille skirts to run about 1 size large, but with this skirt, I didn't find that the case, so would recommend that you purchase your normal size in this item. Also, with this skirt there is little to no poofiness to contend with either, so it will probably look great on many different body types and shapes. I would defintiely receommend this skirt to others.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: tts, print, colors, versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 3, 2011

Adorable summer time skirt!

I'm not really into the "nautical" look, but this print is so vintage and unique that it's definitely a must have! This skirt is the perfect shape and length. It hits just in the middle of my knees when worn at my natural waist. It has a wonderful a-line shape without being too poofy at all! The buttons down the front are a very cute detail. I usually wear a size 14 in skirts, but I ordered the 12 since the 14 was sold out already online. It fit perfectly at my natural waist. So, I'd say to size down if you want to wear it as a high- waisted skirt, but to stick with your regular size if you want to wear it lower. I may try to track down a 14 because I think I may be more comfortable wearing it lower. We'll see...
Very well-made skirt and it's even lined! Woohoo!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: knee length, a-line without being too poofy, beautiful print
Cons: none!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 4, 2011

To the Lighthouse, everyone!

This is a fantastic skirt - beautifully lightweight for hot summer days, lined, good price point, and a number of sizing options are available. It's also very versatile. It's casual enough in style to be worn at the beach, playground, etc., but the print is special and works really well in other settings. There are lots of good summer colors in the skirt so it can easily be worn with white, yellow, light green, red, and blue tops and cardigans.
I was thrilled to be able to get this in a petite length (which I measured to be 21.5 inches). This is a full A-skirt and the regular skirt would have been too much, in width and length, on a small petite (5 ft 3 inches tall, 100 lbs, got size 0P). I notice that some reviewers indicate the regular sizes are running a little big, but I would guess that the petite sizes are smaller in the waist and hips as well as in length. I have a 24 in waist and often have problems
with the waist of skirts being too big, but the 0P skirt worked really well for me.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cotton, lined, well-priced, versatile, good fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):11
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 17, 2011

Perfect summer skirt

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the fabric has an almost weathered worn-in look due to be being turned inside out - this makes it a great summer casual skirt. The skirt is TTS for me and rests a bit below my natural waist with the length just to the mid-knee (I'm 5'11"). Looks great with a simple tee tucked in..
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: casual summer perfection, good price point
Cons: length may be too long for petite ladies
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 20, 2011

Love this

Super flattering, very springy! A little roomy around the waist, but the length was good. Love the nautical scene and the buttons on the front. Fun to wear!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJune 11, 2011

sadness

I am really sad that you don't have this skirt in my size online or at the store. I take a size 14. I really want this skirt!!!! I love it. Today I traveled over 50 miles to the nearest store to see if they had this skirt since you don't have it in my size online. :-( Unfortunately the store's biggest size was a 6. Please bring this skirt back in bigger sizes. I would buy it. There are curvy woman out there too.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cons: no larger sizes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 13, 2011

a little poofy, good on the right person

I love the idea of this skirt, and the buttons are great, and the material is nice. however, having a cotton lining makes it quite poofy, and on me it just didn't quote look right. i'm 5'7", 115, and the 0 was the right size for me, but because i have a small waist and big hips, it just made me look a little ridiculous. this might be better on someone with a straighter figure. also i found the print just a bit too cartoonish for my taste.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: 50's style buttons high waist
Cons: thick material print
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJune 29, 2011

In Love!

This skirt is so quirky and cheerful! It reminds me of growing up at the shore in the 80's.
The fit is great on my hourglass figure. Based on other reviews, I tried on my normal size, and one size up. I ended up buying my normal size. I've worn it several times, and gotten compliments each time.
What versatility too! It's perfect to dress up with wedges and a nice blouse, or go super-casual with a tee and flip flops.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJune 29, 2011

I absolutely LOVE this skirt from the min I saw it online. I just had to have it. The selling point for me, a-line fit, it's whimsical chic, great quality, price and it definitely has the classic and timeless nautical vintage look/feel, which I love. I know for sure this skirt will be one of my spring/summer wardrobe staple for many, many years to come.
Now that said, I was on the fence about ordering petite or regular am only 5'3. So I headed to my local Anthro store to try on the regular size 8 and 10. I tried on the size 10 first (am in the process of finding my waist after having my baby didn't want to set my expectations too high as far as size) and I was feeling disappointed, the skirt looked like it had too much fabric, too much poof and a tad loose around my natural waist. So I tried on the 8 and WOW, I must say w/this skirt size did make a huge difference from me. It was perfect all around, length very flattering, just a bit below my knees and it did wonders to my waistline I could finally see it.
Honestly this skirt deserves 10 stars. Beautiful details, such as semi deep pockets, light cotton solid blue lining w/a thin yellow crochet border and a extra front button in a little draw string pouch made out of the skirt fabric. Overall this is a very thoughtfully made skirt.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: a timeless skirt
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:Over 55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 5, 2011

details in photo are different

I loved this skirt but I did not find it big in the waist but small! I usually wear a 2 and needed a 4. I woudl like to try on the petite for length tho. But why does the photo show NAVY buttons???? I only see white top with this on me as the other colors are not as flattering next to my face.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute vintage print
Cons: may be limited in what can be paired with it for m
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 24, 2011

Perfect summer skirt--differs from model shot

I spotted this skirt a few weeks back in store. I ended up sizing down to a 0 (25" waist, 36" hips) since the skirt is meant to sit higher on the waist. This looks great tucked in with a basic top. It is lined and has pockets--so a bit heavier, but still comfortable for summer.
The fabric of the skirt is inside out; the bright print is on the inside, and the outside has the faded reverse of the print. This makes the pattern seem less "loud" or dated and more vintage looking.
Looking at this on-line, it looks to me as if the model is wearing the skirt inside out--in other words, the bright print is on the outside. I do not see the big brass buttons in the model shot either, again, suggesting it might be inside out.
I prefer the faded, vintage fabric look of the skirt when worn right side out. I am usually not a fan of big buttons, but these are very nice and even have a kind of blue paint around their center that makes them more of a piece with the skirt.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 31, 2011

pretty fabric and silouette

This is a very pretty skirt, however the fabric/pattern makes me worried I would only be able to style it a few ways. It runs TTS, and the metal details on the front are adorable. It's a more full skirt, but its just at/slightly below the knee. Will definitely pick up on sale!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedJune 2, 2011

amazing skirt!

I love this skirt so much, it's beautiful and it does look like a full skirt without so much bulkiness. It sits high on the waist and hits right below the knee (I'm 5'6"). Great skir for those of us who have boyish figures because it creates an hour-glass figure. The only little thing I didn't like much is the back, I don't get the gathering behind but it's still a great skirt. Worth the price. It fits true to size, I bought the size 12 and it fits very comfortable, I usually wear a 10 or 12.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fantastic looking skirt for good price.
Cons: gathering at the back a bit odd.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJune 5, 2011

Super cute skirt!

Love this skirt! The print is super cute! It's so comfortable! Great for summer! Tried my usual size 0 and it fit snugly. Tried on a size 2 and it fit also, but more comfortably. It also sat a little lower on my waist. Decided to go with size 2. Totally happy with my purchase!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 24, 2011

I love it!

This review not only applies to the sailboat skirt but to all of my purchases. Anthropologie clothes are the best!! I love everything I get from here. The skirts actually fit my waist, they aren't four inches too big around. The tops are incredibly cute, and the dresses, too. I buy almost all my clothes here. I am very small, but curvy, with a very small waist.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 29, 2011

Retro Summer

At first I thought this skirt might be a bit dowdy, but since I love the shore and sailing, I wanted to give it a try. I was not disappointed at all, it's adorable, not at all frumpy or dowdy...the muted colors give it a retro feel and the pattern is so cute..put it with a cami, sandals or espadrilles and off you go!
I ordered my usual size 0 and I would say it's TTS but I still do have room in the waist, so if it's supposed to fit high on the waist, then I should maybe have ordered a petite, but it doesn't bother me the way it fits. The length comes to just below my knee and I think it's not too bulky or overwhelming on my petite frame. I think it's a really great summer skirt! I always say...read the reviews, but if on the fence...try for yourself!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute pattern
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedJuly 5, 2011

Store skirt does not match the view online

I'm confused. Is this skirt to have a faded look because that is not what it is shown on the website. Despite the faded look, it is a cute skirt. I had to size down when I tried it on. Unfortunately I decided not to purchase because for one, the price and secondly, I don't have a top and a belt that would go well with it.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons: price, faded look
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
PostedJuly 8, 2011

Wasn't What I Thought....

I searched high and low for this skirt in my local Anthro stores. I finally ordered it online when it became available in my size. After reading all of the fabulous reviews I thought this was going to be a winner. However it's not for me. Did not love the faded blue on the fabric. I love A-line skirts this didn't look great on me. This was knee length for me. However I loved the details on the slip lining with yellow lace trim. Sadly this is going to be returned. This is probably the only Anthro purchase I didn't love.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: the lining.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJuly 10, 2011

I wanted to love it, but....

This skirt in the regular length just isn't for short girls. It was sold-out in the petite sizes, but I can usually pull off buying skirts in regular women's sizes. So, I decided to try it in the regular length (I'm 5'0'). BIG mistake. It was far too long and made me look frumpy. Plus it just seemed to billow out from my hips. I'm so sad because I absolutely love the print. It's too bad that the petite sizes haven't been reordered because I would definitely give it another try.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJune 10, 2011

If You Wear only Pencils, Try This A-Line!

I got schooled. Order now, or regret it later. So I too, jumped on the Boat-Wagon.
If A-Lines aren’t normally flattering for you (i.e. you wear only pencils) than I suggest you try this skirt.
SIZE: I normally wear Size 4 to 6 in true Anthro Brands like Odille. I’m 5’5” Tall, 130 lbs, 34C, 35-28-36. Since my waist (28”) is an inch larger than the average 4, and this skirt is meant to sit at the waist, I ordered a SIZE 6.
FIT: Slightly loose, but comfortable at the non-stretch waistband. The hips are free. This skirt is Pouf-less as expected for an A-Line. Since my hips are small for a 6, the skirt drapes very loose at the hips. The 4 would have fit better, but also uncomfortably tight through the waist. The hemline falls just below my knees. The few pleats thankfully open far below the waistband. So the skirt looks great with a belt, without creating pouf.
DETAIL:
Front slash pockets. I would expect no less from Anthro’s own Odille line.
Two front pleats closed by Brass Buttons in keeping with a Nautical Theme.
One pleat on each side, with a bank of small pleats at the back.
100% Cotton Shell with the obvious Boats and Lighthouses.
100% Cotton Lining in Navy, edged in Yellow Scallops.
Machine Wash, Tumble Dry. Needs Pressing. Wrinkles somewhat.
Edged at Waistband and Hemline in Solid Navy.
For work I paired this Skirt with Anthro’s Lundin Links Sweater (current) in Yellow, the Blue Sulky Belt, and the Framboise Peeptoes by All Black. I added a belt since the waistband tends to sit crooked, and for a slender appearance. Easily pair with White, Red-Orange, Yellow, or even Green. An opposing color for shoes. For a more casual look try a T-Shirt, tank top, or Anthro’s Leaf Filigree Tank as suggested.
I’m in complete agreement with a Recommended Full 5 Stars. Versatile, casual and career friendly. Watch your waist measurement when selecting the size. There is no stretch in the waistband. Stay away from adding more Nautical. I’m jumping on Anthro’s A-Line Band-Wagon.
Anthro: More of these please!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fun print, longer length, cotton, lined, pockets, versatile, casual and career
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>