Customer reviews for Sailboat Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Sailboat Skirt

Sailboat Skirt
Average rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
49 of 55(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sailboat Skirt
Review 1 for Sailboat Skirt
fromFrom a No Anthro Zone in Bakersfield, CA
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

If You Wear only Pencils, Try This A-Line!

PostedJune 10, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: fun print, longer length, cotton, lined, pockets, versatile, casual and career
"I got schooled. Order now, or regret it later. So I too, jumped on the Boat-Wagon.
If A-Lines aren’t normally flattering for you (i.e. you wear only pencils) than I suggest you try this skirt.
SIZE: I normally wear Size 4 to 6 in true Anthro Brands like Odille. I’m 5’5” Tall, 130 lbs, 34C, 35-28-36. Since my waist (28”) is an inch larger than the average 4, and this skirt is meant to sit at the waist, I ordered a SIZE 6.
FIT: Slightly loose, but comfortable at the non-stretch waistband. The hips are free. This skirt is Pouf-less as expected for an A-Line. Since my hips are small for a 6, the skirt drapes very loose at the hips. The 4 would have fit better, but also uncomfortably tight through the waist. The hemline falls just below my knees. The few pleats thankfully open far below the waistband. So the skirt looks great with a belt, without creating pouf.
DETAIL:
Front slash pockets. I would expect no less from Anthro’s own Odille line.
Two front pleats closed by Brass Buttons in keeping with a Nautical Theme.
One pleat on each side, with a bank of small pleats at the back.
100% Cotton Shell with the obvious Boats and Lighthouses.
100% Cotton Lining in Navy, edged in Yellow Scallops.
Machine Wash, Tumble Dry. Needs Pressing. Wrinkles somewhat.
Edged at Waistband and Hemline in Solid Navy.
For work I paired this Skirt with Anthro’s Lundin Links Sweater (current) in Yellow, the Blue Sulky Belt, and the Framboise Peeptoes by All Black. I added a belt since the waistband tends to sit crooked, and for a slender appearance. Easily pair with White, Red-Orange, Yellow, or even Green. An opposing color for shoes. For a more casual look try a T-Shirt, tank top, or Anthro’s Leaf Filigree Tank as suggested.
I’m in complete agreement with a Recommended Full 5 Stars. Versatile, casual and career friendly. Watch your waist measurement when selecting the size. There is no stretch in the waistband. Stay away from adding more Nautical. I’m jumping on Anthro’s A-Line Band-Wagon.
Anthro: More of these please!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sailboat Skirt
fromSeattle
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect Summer Skirt!

PostedMay 24, 2011
User submitted photo
"I saw this skirt in the store today and bought it. Its such a fun print and perfect for Summer. I love that it has pockets and how the fabric is a bit muted (turned inside out). The colors are beautiful and I already have several tops that will go with it and it looks great with flip flops. I'm 5'4", 115lbs and got a 0 regular. IMO, it does run a little big in the waist."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sailboat Skirt
fromTexas
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

amazing skirt!

PostedJune 2, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: fantastic looking skirt for good price.
Cons: gathering at the back a bit odd.
"I love this skirt so much, it's beautiful and it does look like a full skirt without so much bulkiness. It sits high on the waist and hits right below the knee (I'm 5'6"). Great skir for those of us who have boyish figures because it creates an hour-glass figure. The only little thing I didn't like much is the back, I don't get the gathering behind but it's still a great skirt. Worth the price. It fits true to size, I bought the size 12 and it fits very comfortable, I usually wear a 10 or 12."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sailboat Skirt
fromSyracuse NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

sadness

PostedJune 11, 2011
Cons: no larger sizes
"I am really sad that you don't have this skirt in my size online or at the store. I take a size 14. I really want this skirt!!!! I love it. Today I traveled over 50 miles to the nearest store to see if they had this skirt since you don't have it in my size online. :-( Unfortunately the store's biggest size was a 6. Please bring this skirt back in bigger sizes. I would buy it. There are curvy woman out there too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sailboat Skirt
fromKansas City, Kansas
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

I wanted to love it, but....

PostedJuly 10, 2011
"This skirt in the regular length just isn't for short girls. It was sold-out in the petite sizes, but I can usually pull off buying skirts in regular women's sizes. So, I decided to try it in the regular length (I'm 5'0'). BIG mistake. It was far too long and made me look frumpy. Plus it just seemed to billow out from my hips. I'm so sad because I absolutely love the print. It's too bad that the petite sizes haven't been reordered because I would definitely give it another try."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sailboat Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

YES!!!!!!

PostedMay 24, 2011
"FINALLY!!! Is it just me or have most of the summer skirts this year been a little less than fabulous?
I love this skirt. The material is so comfortable. The lines are perfect, just enough flounce to make me feel girly but relaxed enough that I could skip stones in a lake w/o fretting over my skirt.
The buttons are a nice touch. I was worried that the style would give me the dreaded faux pregnancy pouch...not so! The lines are nice and clean, the buttons worked with me and not against me. Thank you, buttons.
And the print? Lovely."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sailboat Skirt
fromChicago, IL
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

The perfect skirt

PostedJune 1, 2011
Pros: quality design price
Cons: none
"Ladies, if you're on the fence about this one, it's a no brainer! It is stylish and well made and so cute! For reference I am a size 10 with shorter legs, longer torso, and I ordered a petite (I am in between regular and petite) and it fits like perfection. Tucked in a cute neutral t-shirt threw on some neutral wedges and I was good to go, my husband said I looked like a model, and my son asked where I was going and why I looked so pretty."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sailboat Skirt
Age range:Over 55
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

details in photo are different

PostedJune 5, 2011
Pros: cute vintage print
Cons: may be limited in what can be paired with it for m
"I loved this skirt but I did not find it big in the waist but small! I usually wear a 2 and needed a 4. I woudl like to try on the petite for length tho. But why does the photo show NAVY buttons???? I only see white top with this on me as the other colors are not as flattering next to my face."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sailboat Skirt
fromWashington, DC
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love this Skirt!

PostedMay 24, 2011
Pros: tts, print, colors, versatile
"This skirt has already been out for a couple of weeks in stores so I was fortunate enough to try it on already. Overall, the skirt has a very cute print comprised of numerous trendy colors, which will go with a lot of different color tops. The button detailing is charming, although I'm not sure how they will hold up in the wash. As far as sizing is concerned, I generally find Odille skirts to run about 1 size large, but with this skirt, I didn't find that the case, so would recommend that you purchase your normal size in this item. Also, with this skirt there is little to no poofiness to contend with either, so it will probably look great on many different body types and shapes. I would defintiely receommend this skirt to others."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sailboat Skirt
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Absolutely gorgeous!

PostedMay 26, 2011
"I would have to agree with all reviewers that this skirt is stunning and perfect for a vintage summer feeling. Will definitely sell out - hit stores sometime last month. I also sized up so it would hang lower on hips, if you want it to sit at your waist, true size fits a little large. I'm 5'2" and this hit 1 inch below my knees. Love the buttons on the front and the print is so whimsical."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sailboat Skirt
fromBaltimore, MD
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

My favorite skirt.

PostedMay 25, 2011
Pros: everything
Cons: none
"Now. I am not kidding, so go out and get this skirt when you can. You don't want to wait too long...this might totally sell out.
I size down and still has a little room to spare. Comfortable vintage looking versatility! Goes with basic tops. Airy material make this skirt totally wearable during hot summer days.
I am in love with this skirt!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sailboat Skirt
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Adorable summer time skirt!

PostedJune 3, 2011
Pros: knee length, a-line without being too poofy, beautiful print
Cons: none!
"I'm not really into the "nautical" look, but this print is so vintage and unique that it's definitely a must have! This skirt is the perfect shape and length. It hits just in the middle of my knees when worn at my natural waist. It has a wonderful a-line shape without being too poofy at all! The buttons down the front are a very cute detail. I usually wear a size 14 in skirts, but I ordered the 12 since the 14 was sold out already online. It fit perfectly at my natural waist. So, I'd say to size down if you want to wear it as a high- waisted skirt, but to stick with your regular size if you want to wear it lower. I may try to track down a 14 because I think I may be more comfortable wearing it lower. We'll see...
Very well-made skirt and it's even lined! Woohoo!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sailboat Skirt
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

a little poofy, good on the right person

PostedJune 13, 2011
Pros: 50's style buttons high waist
Cons: thick material print
"I love the idea of this skirt, and the buttons are great, and the material is nice. however, having a cotton lining makes it quite poofy, and on me it just didn't quote look right. i'm 5'7", 115, and the 0 was the right size for me, but because i have a small waist and big hips, it just made me look a little ridiculous. this might be better on someone with a straighter figure. also i found the print just a bit too cartoonish for my taste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sailboat Skirt
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love this

PostedJune 20, 2011
"Super flattering, very springy! A little roomy around the waist, but the length was good. Love the nautical scene and the buttons on the front. Fun to wear!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sailboat Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect summer skirt--differs from model shot

PostedMay 24, 2011
"I spotted this skirt a few weeks back in store. I ended up sizing down to a 0 (25" waist, 36" hips) since the skirt is meant to sit higher on the waist. This looks great tucked in with a basic top. It is lined and has pockets--so a bit heavier, but still comfortable for summer.
The fabric of the skirt is inside out; the bright print is on the inside, and the outside has the faded reverse of the print. This makes the pattern seem less "loud" or dated and more vintage looking.
Looking at this on-line, it looks to me as if the model is wearing the skirt inside out--in other words, the bright print is on the outside. I do not see the big brass buttons in the model shot either, again, suggesting it might be inside out.
I prefer the faded, vintage fabric look of the skirt when worn right side out. I am usually not a fan of big buttons, but these are very nice and even have a kind of blue paint around their center that makes them more of a piece with the skirt."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sailboat Skirt
fromAustralia
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Sweet, nautical skirt

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Pros: lovely print
Cons: too big in the waist
"I totally, completely feel in love with this skirt when I first saw it online and i'm so glad that I ended up buying it. The print is just lovely and I quite like the fuller skirt. However I will have to break out my sewing kit as the skirt doesn't sit on my natural waist line as it is suppose to. I brought a size 4 and my waist is 26/27 inches. My waist is only a 26 if I measure tight so I thought the 4 would fit fine. If your between measurements I would suggest sizing down."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sailboat Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

a Happy Skirt!

PostedJune 1, 2011
"I bought this last month before it was available on the website. I saw it in-store and knew as soon as I'd tried it on that I was willing to pay full price for it! I'm 5'2" & 120lbs and could squeeze into the 0, but bought the 2 instead (I'm typically a size 2-4). Being short, I felt that it looked best at my natural waist; it hits just below the knee. I've worn it quite a few times, and it always receives many compliments! The buttons and pockets make it that much more fun to wear. I usually pair it with flats and a white blouse tucked in."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sailboat Skirt
fromNJ
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Petite size flairs out like a triangle

PostedJune 3, 2011
Pros: lovely colors & print, nice light weight
Cons: poor draping/shape for petite sizing
"Sigh. I tried the regular sizes on in the store (tried 6&10, 8 was not available in the store) and LOVED this skirt. I just wanted the length to be a little shorter, so i ordered the petite size 8 online. I just received the petite size today, and I realized I don't love this as much as the regular length one from the store. While the print is still fabulous, the cut is just off. The petite skirt just flairs out like a triangle and the shape is simply unflattering on my body, the regular length just drapes so much better on my waist and hips. I'm going to return the petite and go back to the B&M to see if the regular size 8 is available. Also, the petite size 8 fit like a regular size 6 at the waist/tummy area for me. I'm going back to get the regular size 8, which I believe will drape better. If you really want a petite size, I'd size up for the waist area. Otherwise, the print is really lovely."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sailboat Skirt
fromSan Diego
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Frump City.

PostedJune 24, 2011
"So disappointed. Love, love the fabric, color, and texture. Love the details and the pockets. But the skirts looks frumpy on me. I usually wear a size 6, so ordered in Petite 6. Well, it's still too long; partly 'cause the waist is a bit loose. And now that I've realized I need a size 4P, I see that every petite size is gone, probably 'cause everyone else sized down to avoid these problems. And this isn't the kind of skirt I can fix by paper-bagging it with a belt or rolling the waistband over once. I also doubt I could get it altered w/o paying an arm & a leg, due to the structure & lining."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sailboat Skirt
fromlow country of South Carolina
Age range:Over 55
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Newport

PostedJune 10, 2011
"Great skirt, light weight, and a good length for me. I orderd the petite and it came just below the knee."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 3 next>>