Customer reviews for Sailboat Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Sailboat Skirt

Sailboat Skirt
Overall rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
49 of 55(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sailboat Skirt
Review 1 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 4, 2011

To the Lighthouse, everyone!

This is a fantastic skirt - beautifully lightweight for hot summer days, lined, good price point, and a number of sizing options are available. It's also very versatile. It's casual enough in style to be worn at the beach, playground, etc., but the print is special and works really well in other settings. There are lots of good summer colors in the skirt so it can easily be worn with white, yellow, light green, red, and blue tops and cardigans.
I was thrilled to be able to get this in a petite length (which I measured to be 21.5 inches). This is a full A-skirt and the regular skirt would have been too much, in width and length, on a small petite (5 ft 3 inches tall, 100 lbs, got size 0P). I notice that some reviewers indicate the regular sizes are running a little big, but I would guess that the petite sizes are smaller in the waist and hips as well as in length. I have a 24 in waist and often have problems
with the waist of skirts being too big, but the 0P skirt worked really well for me.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cotton, lined, well-priced, versatile, good fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 13, 2011

a little poofy, good on the right person

I love the idea of this skirt, and the buttons are great, and the material is nice. however, having a cotton lining makes it quite poofy, and on me it just didn't quote look right. i'm 5'7", 115, and the 0 was the right size for me, but because i have a small waist and big hips, it just made me look a little ridiculous. this might be better on someone with a straighter figure. also i found the print just a bit too cartoonish for my taste.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: 50's style buttons high waist
Cons: thick material print
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 20, 2011

Love this

Super flattering, very springy! A little roomy around the waist, but the length was good. Love the nautical scene and the buttons on the front. Fun to wear!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJuly 12, 2011

I absolutely adore this skirt

It's seasonless, really. It's soft and flowy without being over-the-top. I actually really like the faded colors, it'll be perfect for fall! I can't wait to pair it with brown tights, boots and a creme turtleneck sweater.
I wore it this weekend to the beach and it was GENIOUS! Easy on and off for putting on bathing suits and cute enough to wear to dinner after.
So incredibly happy with this purchase =)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJuly 15, 2011

Finally!

After coveting this skirt since it first came out, I finally broke down and bought it. I was concerned about the length and fit, and it wasn't available at the store the last time I was in an Anthropologie (the closest one is a 5-hr drive). I had a friend pick it up for me, and based on the reviews and her opinion, I ended up purchasing a size 4 (thought I would need a size 6). For reference, I am 5'10", 143lbs, and slightly pear-shaped. My natural waist measures 27". This skirt fits great! There is a little bit of room in the waist (enough that it won't feel tight after a large meal), and it hits me mid-knee. With it's A-line design, it doesn't come close to being restrictive (or even snug) in the hips. I love the pockets, and button details on the front. Not that people can see it, but the lining is even pretty, with yellow, scallop threading along the border. The fabric is lovely and whimsical, and I am already picturing multiple prints/solids that I'll be able to wear with this skirt. It's light-weight, but the print is muted enough that I plan on wearing it into the fall months here in FL. If you're on the fence, go ahead and give it a try - and if you're between sizes, I suggest going down a size in this skirt.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 24, 2011

Beautiful drape

I love everything about this skirt, but especially the drape of it. There's something really beautiful about the way it moves with me.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 24, 2011

Perfect Summer Skirt!

I saw this skirt in the store today and bought it. Its such a fun print and perfect for Summer. I love that it has pockets and how the fabric is a bit muted (turned inside out). The colors are beautiful and I already have several tops that will go with it and it looks great with flip flops. I'm 5'4", 115lbs and got a 0 regular. IMO, it does run a little big in the waist.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Petite
PostedMay 24, 2011

Very different

I am 5'4", 127, and I bought this in a size 6. I saw this skirt in the store and was not going to try it. I decided to and really was surprised. The colors are normally to bright for me, but it will look good with dark clothing. I love the nautical print. I bought a size 6 regular so it hangs a little lower on my hips, I am not a big fan of high skirts. The fit of this skirt is great!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: print and fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 31, 2011

pretty fabric and silouette

This is a very pretty skirt, however the fabric/pattern makes me worried I would only be able to style it a few ways. It runs TTS, and the metal details on the front are adorable. It's a more full skirt, but its just at/slightly below the knee. Will definitely pick up on sale!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 16, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 16, 2011

Confused at first

I received this skirt in the mail and when I first tried it on I was underwhelmed. I had oreder my usual size 8 and it was snug and high-waisted. I also felt like the colors were more washed out than I expected. I brought it back to the store to exchange for a 10 but that was impossible so I decided to return it. While I was browsing I saw the sales-girl wearing it super high-waisted with a cute belt and blouse. She was even curvier than me and I loved the way this skirt fit her curves. I ended up keeping the skirt and now I fricking love it. I get compliments every time I wear it and I love it with a thin neutral colored t tucked in. I think my initial confusion was due to the fact that I normally rock untucked shirts and that is just not a good look with this skirt. Overall I really like it and I'm glad I kept it. With the shirt tucked in it makes my waist look tiny. I also have found that the fabric has some give in it and now it is perfect. I'd say give this skirt a couple of days if you are not sure.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: design, fit, color
Cons: limited sizing, fabric wrinkles easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 20, 2011

sailaboat skirt

adorable print/design, great fabric but I ordered my normal size 4 and it was too tight around the waist. I'm short waisted, 5'3". Had to return it, no size 6 at the store, but of course found other things to purchase :)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: love the nautical motif
Cons: runs a little small
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 29, 2011

Retro Summer

At first I thought this skirt might be a bit dowdy, but since I love the shore and sailing, I wanted to give it a try. I was not disappointed at all, it's adorable, not at all frumpy or dowdy...the muted colors give it a retro feel and the pattern is so cute..put it with a cami, sandals or espadrilles and off you go!
I ordered my usual size 0 and I would say it's TTS but I still do have room in the waist, so if it's supposed to fit high on the waist, then I should maybe have ordered a petite, but it doesn't bother me the way it fits. The length comes to just below my knee and I think it's not too bulky or overwhelming on my petite frame. I think it's a really great summer skirt! I always say...read the reviews, but if on the fence...try for yourself!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute pattern
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedJuly 5, 2011

Store skirt does not match the view online

I'm confused. Is this skirt to have a faded look because that is not what it is shown on the website. Despite the faded look, it is a cute skirt. I had to size down when I tried it on. Unfortunately I decided not to purchase because for one, the price and secondly, I don't have a top and a belt that would go well with it.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons: price, faded look
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJuly 10, 2011

I wanted to love it, but....

This skirt in the regular length just isn't for short girls. It was sold-out in the petite sizes, but I can usually pull off buying skirts in regular women's sizes. So, I decided to try it in the regular length (I'm 5'0'). BIG mistake. It was far too long and made me look frumpy. Plus it just seemed to billow out from my hips. I'm so sad because I absolutely love the print. It's too bad that the petite sizes haven't been reordered because I would definitely give it another try.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 24, 2011

Love this Skirt!

This skirt has already been out for a couple of weeks in stores so I was fortunate enough to try it on already. Overall, the skirt has a very cute print comprised of numerous trendy colors, which will go with a lot of different color tops. The button detailing is charming, although I'm not sure how they will hold up in the wash. As far as sizing is concerned, I generally find Odille skirts to run about 1 size large, but with this skirt, I didn't find that the case, so would recommend that you purchase your normal size in this item. Also, with this skirt there is little to no poofiness to contend with either, so it will probably look great on many different body types and shapes. I would defintiely receommend this skirt to others.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: tts, print, colors, versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 25, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 25, 2011

My favorite skirt.

Now. I am not kidding, so go out and get this skirt when you can. You don't want to wait too long...this might totally sell out.
I size down and still has a little room to spare. Comfortable vintage looking versatility! Goes with basic tops. Airy material make this skirt totally wearable during hot summer days.
I am in love with this skirt!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
PostedJune 12, 2011

Pretty! Pretty!

So pretty and comfortable. It stands for Anthro design. Size is a little bit bigger. But i still ordered my usual size 4 and it works for me. The price is good too.l
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJune 24, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJune 24, 2011

Frump City.

So disappointed. Love, love the fabric, color, and texture. Love the details and the pockets. But the skirts looks frumpy on me. I usually wear a size 6, so ordered in Petite 6. Well, it's still too long; partly 'cause the waist is a bit loose. And now that I've realized I need a size 4P, I see that every petite size is gone, probably 'cause everyone else sized down to avoid these problems. And this isn't the kind of skirt I can fix by paper-bagging it with a belt or rolling the waistband over once. I also doubt I could get it altered w/o paying an arm & a leg, due to the structure & lining.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJuly 26, 2011

Fun print, but may overwhelm a smaller frame

Very cute design. It's a full skirt and I think I would have preferred it to be A-line. The length on the 2 regular was a bit too long, but other reviewers were saying the petite was a bit poofier so I was afraid to try it and pay shipping twice. A size 0 may have worked better for me. While I think the faded out coloring is okay the vibrant colors when you reverse the skirt are a bit more up my alley. The current styling ensures it stays casual. The buttons and pockets are great details. I ended up returning as I decided it was a bit too whimsical for my personal style.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fun nautical print
Cons: a bit too voluminous and long
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sailboat Skirt
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 24, 2011

Perfect summer skirt--differs from model shot

I spotted this skirt a few weeks back in store. I ended up sizing down to a 0 (25" waist, 36" hips) since the skirt is meant to sit higher on the waist. This looks great tucked in with a basic top. It is lined and has pockets--so a bit heavier, but still comfortable for summer.
The fabric of the skirt is inside out; the bright print is on the inside, and the outside has the faded reverse of the print. This makes the pattern seem less "loud" or dated and more vintage looking.
Looking at this on-line, it looks to me as if the model is wearing the skirt inside out--in other words, the bright print is on the outside. I do not see the big brass buttons in the model shot either, again, suggesting it might be inside out.
I prefer the faded, vintage fabric look of the skirt when worn right side out. I am usually not a fan of big buttons, but these are very nice and even have a kind of blue paint around their center that makes them more of a piece with the skirt.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>