Customer reviews for Ikinimba Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Ikinimba Dress

Ikinimba Dress
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ikinimba Dress
Review 1 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedMay 20, 2011

Beautiful fabric!

I ordered my dress online. I love the fabric, it is cotton and the colors are vibrant. It is very well made and fits well too. I usually wear an 8 but I ordered a 10 and it is a good fit. the fabric is gathered on the stomach and billows a little bit. The pockets are a nice addition and the straps are adjustable.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality, colors, good lenth
Cons: smaller size, gathered on the belly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedMay 28, 2011

No bust to wear this dress

I'm at 34B and i could barely squeeze this over and zip it up. It was super cute dress but you need to be a size a to wear it. Too bad
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: print shape
Cons: bust too small
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 11, 2011

awesome dress

I adore this dress! The print is beautiful and the cut is very flattering. It's the perfect dress for summer parties! I love it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful pattern and cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedMay 17, 2011

LOVE this pattern!

I bought this fabric while living in Rwanda and had several pieces made from it. I get a lot of compliments! I am wondering if the designer is Taya Maxi or Barcelona?
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-15points
1of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedMay 20, 2011

Beautiful Dress...but weird fit!

This dress is beautiful in the picture and on, until I saw it from the side. I'm 5'9, 120lbs, size 2. The dress has the cutest pockets, but they create a weird 'poof' in the stomach area of the dress. The same happens in the back of the dress. The quality of this dress is superior; the fabric is sturdy but at the same time, stiff. It's a gorgeous dress with bright colors and a great print, but it didn't fit well on me. Also, the tie in the back adds a cute touch. I am sadly returning this one.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great quality beatiful colors
Cons: strange fit in the stomach/back area.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 22, 2011

beautiful but straight in the hips

this is a gorgeous dress! unfortunately, i have to return it because it's not at all A-line, and so it's too tight in the hips for me. If you usually need A-line or full skirts, you might want to go up a size and then have it taken in on top. if you can pull off pencil skirts and straight dresses, i seriously envy you because you'll look FABULOUS!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: gorgeous
Cons: not curve-friendly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 26, 2011

Great printed piece

I loved the look of this print online and it was just as I expected when it came. I usually range between a 0-2 in Anthro sizing and opted for the 2 in this dress since it's all cotton and I'm a little curvy. The 2 fit well but was just a bit snug through the bust.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 26, 2011

Wonderful but size up!

I ordered this dress in a size 2, and my heart sunk when I couldn't get the zipper up past my bust. I couldn't wait for my return to be processed, so I ordered a size four right a way, and I am glad I did. It fits like a glove, the fabric is beautiful, and it is supportive enough that I don't have to wear a bra (even with my 32Ds). I also feel great about the ethical origins of this dress. Keep it up anthro! I'd love to see more fair trade pieces!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: sturdy beautiful fabric ethically made
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 22, 2011

Perfect Summer Fun dress

True to size I purchased a 12 because to 10 (36B or 38C)was a bit tight on my chest area no Bra needed.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color fit ( no bra)
Cons: na
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ikinimba Dress
PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
PostedJune 7, 2011

Great dress. Small up top!

I ordered this dress online and received is yesterday. I am normally a size 4 in dresses, so that's what I ordered. The dress fit perfectly everyone but the bust. I had to squeeze my chest to make it fit. I ended up looking flat chested and very uncomfortable. However, the dress looked great elsewhere so I am going to try and order a size 6.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cotton pockets unique back
Cons: small up top
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.