Customer reviews for Blooming Bulbs Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Blooming Bulbs Dress

Blooming Bulbs Dress
Average rating:
4.306 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
30 of 36(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Blooming Bulbs Dress
Review 1 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromNorthern VA
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Sophisticated dress, but fit is problematic

PostedMay 15, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I thought that the oversized, muted tulips on this dress were so pretty, plus I love Bailey 44 and own several of their pieces, so I decided to give this dress a try. I fluctuate between 4 and 6 in dresses, so I tried on both. Neither fit me great. Size 6 fit ok in the bust and the hips but was too big in the waist and armpits. Size 4 fit better in the waist/bottom area, but squashed my bust and gave it a "uniboob" appearance. I was pleased with the length (just above the knee), and the quality/heft of the fabric, but the fit just was not up to par for me. For $180, it should be perfect."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromoutside Chicago
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Misplaced seams make me sad....

PostedMay 1, 2011
User submitted photo
Cons: strange seam
"This is an absolutely beautiful dress. You will definitely be noticed, and not in a "what was she thinking" way. But....I'm taking it back. My husband loved me in this dress, until he noticed the bumpy line across the chest area. There is a strange seam in the lining where the heavier cotton fabric is attached to lighter fabric that makes up the majority of the lining. That seam shows right through the top fabric and makes a strange line across the dress, basically from armpit to armpit. This dress is $178 and I expect better workmanship for that price. Too bad, I really liked this dress, even at $178."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromOrlando
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

an art piece

PostedMarch 23, 2011
User submitted photo
"everything is just perfect. the dress is true to size."
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromBaltimore, MD
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Lovely Colors, Some Fit Issues

PostedMarch 29, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: colors
Cons: extra fabric in the middle
"Fit: I did have some fit issues with this dress. I am normally a six/eight. I tried the six first and found it was a bit clingy through the legs - so I sized up to the eight (wearing in photo) - and I found there was a lot of extra fabric through the middle - but still think the dress is quite lovely. So beware you may experience some extra fabric in the middle (as I am thick waisted and that's normally not an issue for me).
Otherwise, the colors on this dress - sigh - they are just beautiful, subtle and feminine. The zipper is exposed in the back to give it a bit of an edgy look. And the pattern is super flattering.
Overall - I really loved the dress - but I think because of the slight fit issues, it'll have to wait for a sale price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

quality

PostedJune 15, 2011
Pros: quality classic style updated with exposed zipper
"I won't reiterate the positives left by others. I'll add something new. Ever purchase an item to find the print changes from piece to piece? That's a quality issue. Good seamstresses know how to layout patterns on fabric to match stripes, get consistent results in terms of where flowers lay on a top etc. This manufacturer has done it right. So, what you see online is exactly what you'll get with respect to the pattern (I purchased two and the layout of the floral pattern was identical). For some this matters, others not. TTS and I'm curvy and didn't have a problem with fit. The dominant pale grey on top might wash some people out."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromCanada
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Definnitely a conversation piece

PostedApril 24, 2011
Pros: the print colours and simplicity of the cut of th
Cons: price. lining is not a great quality
"The print and colours on this dress caught my eye . I read the other reviews before making my decision. The dress looks great with wine coloured tights and a black cardigan. I see how the seam which runs across the bust line spoils the look of the upper part of the dress. But there is so much activity and with a necklace you dont notice it. I can wear this dress in the early spring and in the summer. The lining is not the greatest quality. If you are looking at this dress thinking it is form fitting, think again. It's a shift dress. I bought a size 4 based on the reviews. I can't gain any more weight or the dress will be too tight across the bottom half of my body. I weigh 126 lbs."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
Height:6 ft.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

this is why I shop Anthro

PostedApril 5, 2011
Pros: unique, good for long torso, fabulously gorgeous work of art, price right for the quality
"This is why I shop Anthro! As a tall girl, I am sized out of most boutique sellers which only carry clothes up to a 10 or 12. This makes no sense, because us taller girls draw the eye walking into a room whether we like it or not (this is hard if you are shy, or can't find clothes that have style.) This dress is a case in point. Nowhere else will you find this in a 14. I saw this dress was by Bailey 44, a brand which generally fits me great in an XL, and I jumped on it. (Anthro is also the only place that carries Bailey 44 in XL, by the way, which is awesome!)
Now to the dress. It is made of a luxurious heavy sateen, which allows the photographic print to have a feel of depth which you would not get with a lighter fabric. The colors are gorgeous, ranging from a pale grey to a darkest plum, just like the photo shows. So your accessory choices are broad. The dress is a work of art, that, with the right accessories, you could wear anywhere. For a lunch with a pal. A wedding. The red carpet. Or to meet the queen. Who would pause to compliment you on the dress, by the way.
The fit is excellent. I am long waisted, and the tip of the darts hit right where they should on my 36D chest, not up around my clavicles. I have broad shoulders and thus favor deeper necklines. This dress has a higher neckline than I usually wear, but it needs to as a canvas for the print. It works. The slight curve at the waist hits my waist, not my rib cage. It skims, without looking baggy. Can't tell I've had three children.
I imagine from the cut that it would likely fit and flatter a shorter curvier girl just as well. It is very well proportioned. The length is short, but not mini.
Yay, yay, yay! Looking at reviews on the site now that they are listing heights and shapes, I know that I am not the only 6 foot girl out there. If you are model height, you will ROCK THIS DRESS.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromNew York, NY
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Winter pattern with a Summer style

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Pros: high quality, very pretty
Cons: thick fabric, tight, dark colors
"I really liked this dress online, but when I went to the store I couldn't justify buying it. The dress' cut is perfect for summer, but the fabric would be better suited for the chilly spring months or winter. It's a very thick cotton and I can't imagine wearing this outside on a hot day. Because it is so heavy the dress clings to your body and gives you no breathing room. The colors are also a tough pull for a summer dress. Grays, purples and beige???? Pretty dress but got lost along the
way. Should have been released in the fall as a winter/spring dress.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromSyracuse, New York
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Bailey 44 does it again!!!

PostedMay 20, 2011
"Love this dress, tried it on in the store in a size 6. I am between a 6 and 8 in a dress because of a 34D bust. The size 6 was too tight, didn't have an 8 in the store so I ordered it on line. Problem is the 8 didn't fit any better than the 6. I decided the dress is not for the larger busted. However, I recommended this dress to a friend and it looks wonderful on her. Loved the material, I didn't find a problem with the lining and the colors are to die for. It will go with any accessories you choose. Great dress for a summer wedding reception. I ended up sending it back, and am disappointed it didn't fit the way I would like. Hope this one works for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromHarrisburg, PA
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful multi season dress

PostedMay 4, 2011
Pros: mutli season, great colors
Cons: seam across the top
"I saw this dress online and thought that the colors was gorgeous. I ordered the dress in a 6 and an 8 (I wear both depending on the cut) and the 6 was slightly snug across the chest (34 DD). The 8 was too big all over though so I kept the 6. My only issue with the dress is that there is a seam that comes right across the top of the chest that I wish was not there. I don't know that it's very noticable to others but I noticed it. Not a big enough issues to make me return it becuase I really love it other than that and it can be worn in almost any weather other than the height of summer and dead of winter. Got lots of compliements when I wore it to church on Easter."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

strange line across the bust ruins the dress

PostedMay 7, 2011
Cons: fit, strange seam across bust
"Like other reviewers said, the lining has a seam that runs across the top of the chest, and the seam shows through the dress. It ruined an otherwise nice dress, and looked terrible. It is quite noticeable . The fit also had some issues, there was a lot of bunching near the stomach area, since it is rather shapeless up-and-down. I tried the next smaller size to fix the stomach bunching, but it was too tight across the bust. For the price, the dress has too many obvious flaws."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromOklahoma
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedMay 21, 2011
"The fabric of this dress is absolutely stunning!! Too bad the fit it a little off. I bought this for my daughter for an upcoming trip, but will be returning it. As I said, the fabric is absolutely gorgeous and I bought her regular size 4 and a 6 - neither worked. The 4 was too tight in the bust and the 6 looked fine in the front (even the seam across the front didn't show), but it was too tight in the back. It fit, but was unflattering. There was too much space in the stomach area in the front, so we attempted to pull it a little to the back to even the fit out, but to no avail. Too bad because the print is just stunning. PLEASE make another dress in this fabulous fabric!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromNew York, NY
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Athletic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

It was Okay

PostedJune 3, 2011
Pros: well-made, beautiful print and art work, nice length of dress
Cons: not good for curvy or hourglass shaped women
"My body type ranges around being curvy, athletic and hourglass shape. I generally wear a size 6/28 and I can fit into the bra sizes of 34B and 36A. My shirt size can go between small to medium and my height is 5 feet 4 inches. Anyhow, the dress is of high quality and it is beautiful. The print work on the dress is pretty. The thing with the fit of this dress is made for slim/slender skinny girls who don't have much hips on them. Now, my hips are pretty wide and my butt is pretty big. So this dress does not fit well or even look well on my body. The middle part of the dress (my tummy area) looks to wide along with the fit. Shift dresses just don't go well for curvy or hourglass figured ladies but it is good to go for slim/slender figured ladies with minimal hips. Maybe for women who wear size 00-4 or xxs-s only. Do not get this dress if you are healthy or thick figured."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Classy Classic

PostedMay 24, 2011
Pros: well made and beautifl print
Cons: none
"How can you go wrong with a shift dress....the answer...you can't! I read all the reviews, and was concerned about the mystery seam across the bustline, however, I had no problem at all. I ordered my regular size 0 and the dress fit beautifully and no visible seam. I am small chested (32A) so possibly the fact there was no "pull" was the reason no seam showed? In any case, the dress is very well made, the print just gorgeous, and I love the exposed zipper in the back. When you put this dress on, it's a simple dress to slip into, yet you feel put together in it. Great dress for a bridal shower, dinner party, walk on the boardwalk....just about anything. Like I said...just step into it and go! I wouldn't over accessorize it because of the print, so to me just a nice pair of either pumps or flats depending on the event and earrings....maybe a small strand of pearls and off you go! Classy...classic...and comfortable!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromGreenfield MA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Fabulous Frock!

PostedApril 10, 2011
Pros: design and cut
"Love love love this spring dress! I live in an area that really doesn't warm up for another month or so and the heavier fabric and warm tones of this dress will allow me to wear it with burgundy tights and a cardigan until it's warm enough to wear on it's own. The top has a very flattering cut which is work appropriate and the color palate is perfect!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromLincoln, NE
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Surprisingly Classic

PostedMay 20, 2011
"Shift dresses are such a classic shape, and I am so so so THRILLED that Bailey 44 aced the execution of this little number. For brevity's sake, I am a consistent size 4, but I'll encourage you to reference y other reviews for my measurements, etc.
The dress is beautifully fitted, and hits just a smidge above my knee (I' 5'5). i think one of the best features of this dress is actually the back zipper. It is fantastically sewn on--heavy, sturdy, and is that key variable for an awesome fit, whereas a side sip may have pulled the fabric at the waist awkwardly.
Finally, there may be ginormous bulbs on the print, but the color is surprisingly versatile, surprisingly classic. It is truly worth every penny."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromSan Francisco, California
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful Dress

PostedMay 15, 2011
"I loved this dress from the second I saw it online. I tried on the 2 and it was pretty large all over my mid section and in my hips. I sized down to a 0 and it fit great everywhere but there was still some bunching in the mid section that wasn't very flattering. I was planning on wearing this dress with a navy cardigan, so it wasn't a huge deal (nor was the line across the bust). It definitely is a beautiful dress and I plan to get plenty of use out of it, but I recommend you try it on first to see if you can see past the seam across the bust and the possibly bunching in the waist."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromEl Cerrito, CA
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Spring dress for cooler climates

PostedApril 3, 2011
Pros: beautiful painterly pattern
Cons: would look even prettier with nipped waist
"I got this dress at a local boutique in Berkeley, not realizing that Anthro had it. I love this brand. I was immediately drawn to the beautiful colors and patterns, but wasn't sure the colors would be good with my darker skin tone. I also wasn't sure if the A-line of the dress would work with my height (5'3"). I was given a size 2 to try, which I thought was too small, but it fit really nicely, though at first I thought I'd prefer a more nipped waist (there is another Bailey 44 black floral dress with a nipped waist that is absolutely stunning). But the style (exposed zipper is great) and painterly print were too beautiful to pass up. The material is thick, but I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, so this is not an issue here. If anything, I'll be wearing a cardi with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromCincinnati, OH
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very Nice

PostedMay 23, 2011
"I had a baby 8 months ago and this dress is perfect for me. Beautiful fit and enough room in the midsection to hide imperfection. The shape is stunning as are the colors. The seam the other reviewers mentioned is not a problem if you have an average chest size...around B-C. The zipper in the back is in style. Length is slighly above the knees. A paire of cute wedges looks great with this dress."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
fromnew england
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Loved the dress, hated the lining

PostedApril 4, 2011
Pros: beautiful unique fabric
Cons: terrible lining seam placement
"I SO loved the look of this dress. Even being a small woman, I didn't feel overwhelmed by the print. But what I didn't understand at all is that the lining had a seam that runs across the top of the chest, and the seam shows through the dress. It ruined the smooth line of the dress, and looked terrible. Sad, because it was love at first sight, and it could have been 4 stars across the board."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>