Customer reviews for Blooming Bulbs Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Blooming Bulbs Dress

Blooming Bulbs Dress
Overall rating:
4.306 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
30 of 36(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Blooming Bulbs Dress
Review 1 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMarch 28, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Hourglass
PostedMarch 28, 2011

not for my body type

i tried it on in my usual size but found it pouches out at the stomach. i wasn't able to size down due to needing to accomodate my chest, but for smaller chested girls i would advise sizing down. pattern is very pretty.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 3, 2011

Spring dress for cooler climates

I got this dress at a local boutique in Berkeley, not realizing that Anthro had it. I love this brand. I was immediately drawn to the beautiful colors and patterns, but wasn't sure the colors would be good with my darker skin tone. I also wasn't sure if the A-line of the dress would work with my height (5'3"). I was given a size 2 to try, which I thought was too small, but it fit really nicely, though at first I thought I'd prefer a more nipped waist (there is another Bailey 44 black floral dress with a nipped waist that is absolutely stunning). But the style (exposed zipper is great) and painterly print were too beautiful to pass up. The material is thick, but I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, so this is not an issue here. If anything, I'll be wearing a cardi with it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful painterly pattern
Cons: would look even prettier with nipped waist
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMarch 31, 2011

Winter pattern with a Summer style

I really liked this dress online, but when I went to the store I couldn't justify buying it. The dress' cut is perfect for summer, but the fabric would be better suited for the chilly spring months or winter. It's a very thick cotton and I can't imagine wearing this outside on a hot day. Because it is so heavy the dress clings to your body and gives you no breathing room. The colors are also a tough pull for a summer dress. Grays, purples and beige???? Pretty dress but got lost along the
way. Should have been released in the fall as a winter/spring dress.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: high quality, very pretty
Cons: thick fabric, tight, dark colors
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 4, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 4, 2011

Loved the dress, hated the lining

I SO loved the look of this dress. Even being a small woman, I didn't feel overwhelmed by the print. But what I didn't understand at all is that the lining had a seam that runs across the top of the chest, and the seam shows through the dress. It ruined the smooth line of the dress, and looked terrible. Sad, because it was love at first sight, and it could have been 4 stars across the board.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: beautiful unique fabric
Cons: terrible lining seam placement
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 10, 2011

Fabulous Frock!

Love love love this spring dress! I live in an area that really doesn't warm up for another month or so and the heavier fabric and warm tones of this dress will allow me to wear it with burgundy tights and a cardigan until it's warm enough to wear on it's own. The top has a very flattering cut which is work appropriate and the color palate is perfect!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: design and cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 16, 2011

Hello Gorgeous

Print is beautiful and exemplifies the Anthro esthetic. I tried on a size 8 due to my pear shape and the dress is a shift. Fit perfectly and others have mentioned the quality of the fabric is excellent. It's a work of art. Length came to about 11/2 inch above knee cap.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: colors, fabric, fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 24, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
PostedApril 24, 2011

Definnitely a conversation piece

The print and colours on this dress caught my eye . I read the other reviews before making my decision. The dress looks great with wine coloured tights and a black cardigan. I see how the seam which runs across the bust line spoils the look of the upper part of the dress. But there is so much activity and with a necklace you dont notice it. I can wear this dress in the early spring and in the summer. The lining is not the greatest quality. If you are looking at this dress thinking it is form fitting, think again. It's a shift dress. I bought a size 4 based on the reviews. I can't gain any more weight or the dress will be too tight across the bottom half of my body. I weigh 126 lbs.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: the print colours and simplicity of the cut of th
Cons: price. lining is not a great quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 25, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedApril 25, 2011

Unflattering

The print is gorgeous and I wanted to like it, but it had no shape on the bottom.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 1, 2011

Misplaced seams make me sad....

This is an absolutely beautiful dress. You will definitely be noticed, and not in a "what was she thinking" way. But....I'm taking it back. My husband loved me in this dress, until he noticed the bumpy line across the chest area. There is a strange seam in the lining where the heavier cotton fabric is attached to lighter fabric that makes up the majority of the lining. That seam shows right through the top fabric and makes a strange line across the dress, basically from armpit to armpit. This dress is $178 and I expect better workmanship for that price. Too bad, I really liked this dress, even at $178.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons: strange seam
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 20, 2011

Bailey 44 does it again!!!

Love this dress, tried it on in the store in a size 6. I am between a 6 and 8 in a dress because of a 34D bust. The size 6 was too tight, didn't have an 8 in the store so I ordered it on line. Problem is the 8 didn't fit any better than the 6. I decided the dress is not for the larger busted. However, I recommended this dress to a friend and it looks wonderful on her. Loved the material, I didn't find a problem with the lining and the colors are to die for. It will go with any accessories you choose. Great dress for a summer wedding reception. I ended up sending it back, and am disappointed it didn't fit the way I would like. Hope this one works for you.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 20, 2011

Surprisingly Classic

Shift dresses are such a classic shape, and I am so so so THRILLED that Bailey 44 aced the execution of this little number. For brevity's sake, I am a consistent size 4, but I'll encourage you to reference y other reviews for my measurements, etc.
The dress is beautifully fitted, and hits just a smidge above my knee (I' 5'5). i think one of the best features of this dress is actually the back zipper. It is fantastically sewn on--heavy, sturdy, and is that key variable for an awesome fit, whereas a side sip may have pulled the fabric at the waist awkwardly.
Finally, there may be ginormous bulbs on the print, but the color is surprisingly versatile, surprisingly classic. It is truly worth every penny.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 21, 2011

The fabric of this dress is absolutely stunning!! Too bad the fit it a little off. I bought this for my daughter for an upcoming trip, but will be returning it. As I said, the fabric is absolutely gorgeous and I bought her regular size 4 and a 6 - neither worked. The 4 was too tight in the bust and the 6 looked fine in the front (even the seam across the front didn't show), but it was too tight in the back. It fit, but was unflattering. There was too much space in the stomach area in the front, so we attempted to pull it a little to the back to even the fit out, but to no avail. Too bad because the print is just stunning. PLEASE make another dress in this fabulous fabric!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 24, 2011

Classy Classic

How can you go wrong with a shift dress....the answer...you can't! I read all the reviews, and was concerned about the mystery seam across the bustline, however, I had no problem at all. I ordered my regular size 0 and the dress fit beautifully and no visible seam. I am small chested (32A) so possibly the fact there was no "pull" was the reason no seam showed? In any case, the dress is very well made, the print just gorgeous, and I love the exposed zipper in the back. When you put this dress on, it's a simple dress to slip into, yet you feel put together in it. Great dress for a bridal shower, dinner party, walk on the boardwalk....just about anything. Like I said...just step into it and go! I wouldn't over accessorize it because of the print, so to me just a nice pair of either pumps or flats depending on the event and earrings....maybe a small strand of pearls and off you go! Classy...classic...and comfortable!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: well made and beautifl print
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 1, 2011

Perfect Spring Dress

I bought this dress online and it went well above and beyond all my expectations. Yes the material is thick, however the Spring in New England is long and cold so this would be a perfect outfit paired with a pair of tights and a cardigan. The dress fits like a glove. Maybe not perfect for hot summer days but for cool spring and fall days it works wonders
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great pattern, great fit, comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 14, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 14, 2011

So Artsy

beautiful fabric, well constructed
was not sure about back zipper exposed but i know it is on all clothing. received many complements.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: true to size awesome fabric
Cons: back zipper
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 7, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
PostedMay 7, 2011

strange line across the bust ruins the dress

Like other reviewers said, the lining has a seam that runs across the top of the chest, and the seam shows through the dress. It ruined an otherwise nice dress, and looked terrible. It is quite noticeable . The fit also had some issues, there was a lot of bunching near the stomach area, since it is rather shapeless up-and-down. I tried the next smaller size to fix the stomach bunching, but it was too tight across the bust. For the price, the dress has too many obvious flaws.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cons: fit, strange seam across bust
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
PostedMay 4, 2011

Beautiful multi season dress

I saw this dress online and thought that the colors was gorgeous. I ordered the dress in a 6 and an 8 (I wear both depending on the cut) and the 6 was slightly snug across the chest (34 DD). The 8 was too big all over though so I kept the 6. My only issue with the dress is that there is a seam that comes right across the top of the chest that I wish was not there. I don't know that it's very noticable to others but I noticed it. Not a big enough issues to make me return it becuase I really love it other than that and it can be worn in almost any weather other than the height of summer and dead of winter. Got lots of compliements when I wore it to church on Easter.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: mutli season, great colors
Cons: seam across the top
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedMay 15, 2011

Sophisticated dress, but fit is problematic

I thought that the oversized, muted tulips on this dress were so pretty, plus I love Bailey 44 and own several of their pieces, so I decided to give this dress a try. I fluctuate between 4 and 6 in dresses, so I tried on both. Neither fit me great. Size 6 fit ok in the bust and the hips but was too big in the waist and armpits. Size 4 fit better in the waist/bottom area, but squashed my bust and gave it a "uniboob" appearance. I was pleased with the length (just above the knee), and the quality/heft of the fabric, but the fit just was not up to par for me. For $180, it should be perfect.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 16, 2011

love

Love this dress - bough size 8, usually wear an Australian size medium - fits well, although their is a little too much fabric in the belly area.
Love the exposed zipper, it does seem to suit the dress and add a little extra something to the back.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fabric, colours
Cons: loose in stomach
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 23, 2011

Very Nice

I had a baby 8 months ago and this dress is perfect for me. Beautiful fit and enough room in the midsection to hide imperfection. The shape is stunning as are the colors. The seam the other reviewers mentioned is not a problem if you have an average chest size...around B-C. The zipper in the back is in style. Length is slighly above the knees. A paire of cute wedges looks great with this dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>