Customer reviews for Blooming Bulbs Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Blooming Bulbs Dress

Blooming Bulbs Dress
Overall rating:
4.306 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
30 of 36(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Blooming Bulbs Dress
Review 1 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 7, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
PostedMay 7, 2011

strange line across the bust ruins the dress

Like other reviewers said, the lining has a seam that runs across the top of the chest, and the seam shows through the dress. It ruined an otherwise nice dress, and looked terrible. It is quite noticeable . The fit also had some issues, there was a lot of bunching near the stomach area, since it is rather shapeless up-and-down. I tried the next smaller size to fix the stomach bunching, but it was too tight across the bust. For the price, the dress has too many obvious flaws.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cons: fit, strange seam across bust
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
PostedMay 4, 2011

Beautiful multi season dress

I saw this dress online and thought that the colors was gorgeous. I ordered the dress in a 6 and an 8 (I wear both depending on the cut) and the 6 was slightly snug across the chest (34 DD). The 8 was too big all over though so I kept the 6. My only issue with the dress is that there is a seam that comes right across the top of the chest that I wish was not there. I don't know that it's very noticable to others but I noticed it. Not a big enough issues to make me return it becuase I really love it other than that and it can be worn in almost any weather other than the height of summer and dead of winter. Got lots of compliements when I wore it to church on Easter.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: mutli season, great colors
Cons: seam across the top
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedMay 15, 2011

Sophisticated dress, but fit is problematic

I thought that the oversized, muted tulips on this dress were so pretty, plus I love Bailey 44 and own several of their pieces, so I decided to give this dress a try. I fluctuate between 4 and 6 in dresses, so I tried on both. Neither fit me great. Size 6 fit ok in the bust and the hips but was too big in the waist and armpits. Size 4 fit better in the waist/bottom area, but squashed my bust and gave it a "uniboob" appearance. I was pleased with the length (just above the knee), and the quality/heft of the fabric, but the fit just was not up to par for me. For $180, it should be perfect.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 23, 2011

Very Nice

I had a baby 8 months ago and this dress is perfect for me. Beautiful fit and enough room in the midsection to hide imperfection. The shape is stunning as are the colors. The seam the other reviewers mentioned is not a problem if you have an average chest size...around B-C. The zipper in the back is in style. Length is slighly above the knees. A paire of cute wedges looks great with this dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Athletic
PostedJune 3, 2011

It was Okay

My body type ranges around being curvy, athletic and hourglass shape. I generally wear a size 6/28 and I can fit into the bra sizes of 34B and 36A. My shirt size can go between small to medium and my height is 5 feet 4 inches. Anyhow, the dress is of high quality and it is beautiful. The print work on the dress is pretty. The thing with the fit of this dress is made for slim/slender skinny girls who don't have much hips on them. Now, my hips are pretty wide and my butt is pretty big. So this dress does not fit well or even look well on my body. The middle part of the dress (my tummy area) looks to wide along with the fit. Shift dresses just don't go well for curvy or hourglass figured ladies but it is good to go for slim/slender figured ladies with minimal hips. Maybe for women who wear size 00-4 or xxs-s only. Do not get this dress if you are healthy or thick figured.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: well-made, beautiful print and art work, nice length of dress
Cons: not good for curvy or hourglass shaped women
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 1, 2011

Perfect Spring Dress

I bought this dress online and it went well above and beyond all my expectations. Yes the material is thick, however the Spring in New England is long and cold so this would be a perfect outfit paired with a pair of tights and a cardigan. The dress fits like a glove. Maybe not perfect for hot summer days but for cool spring and fall days it works wonders
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great pattern, great fit, comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 14, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 14, 2011

So Artsy

beautiful fabric, well constructed
was not sure about back zipper exposed but i know it is on all clothing. received many complements.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: true to size awesome fabric
Cons: back zipper
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 16, 2011

love

Love this dress - bough size 8, usually wear an Australian size medium - fits well, although their is a little too much fabric in the belly area.
Love the exposed zipper, it does seem to suit the dress and add a little extra something to the back.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fabric, colours
Cons: loose in stomach
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJune 20, 2011

great dress

I like this dress a lot; so does my husband. Maybe I am a weird shape, but this dress fits me well. I see the seam across the bust line that other reviewers mention, but it doesn't show through for me (one benefit of having small boobs, maybe?). The pattern and colours are great and the exposed zipper gives the dress a bit of an edge.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: design, colours, fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMarch 31, 2011

Winter pattern with a Summer style

I really liked this dress online, but when I went to the store I couldn't justify buying it. The dress' cut is perfect for summer, but the fabric would be better suited for the chilly spring months or winter. It's a very thick cotton and I can't imagine wearing this outside on a hot day. Because it is so heavy the dress clings to your body and gives you no breathing room. The colors are also a tough pull for a summer dress. Grays, purples and beige???? Pretty dress but got lost along the
way. Should have been released in the fall as a winter/spring dress.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: high quality, very pretty
Cons: thick fabric, tight, dark colors
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 4, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 4, 2011

Loved the dress, hated the lining

I SO loved the look of this dress. Even being a small woman, I didn't feel overwhelmed by the print. But what I didn't understand at all is that the lining had a seam that runs across the top of the chest, and the seam shows through the dress. It ruined the smooth line of the dress, and looked terrible. Sad, because it was love at first sight, and it could have been 4 stars across the board.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: beautiful unique fabric
Cons: terrible lining seam placement
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 10, 2011

Fabulous Frock!

Love love love this spring dress! I live in an area that really doesn't warm up for another month or so and the heavier fabric and warm tones of this dress will allow me to wear it with burgundy tights and a cardigan until it's warm enough to wear on it's own. The top has a very flattering cut which is work appropriate and the color palate is perfect!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: design and cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 16, 2011

Hello Gorgeous

Print is beautiful and exemplifies the Anthro esthetic. I tried on a size 8 due to my pear shape and the dress is a shift. Fit perfectly and others have mentioned the quality of the fabric is excellent. It's a work of art. Length came to about 11/2 inch above knee cap.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: colors, fabric, fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMarch 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMarch 23, 2011

an art piece

everything is just perfect. the dress is true to size.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedApril 25, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedApril 25, 2011

Unflattering

The print is gorgeous and I wanted to like it, but it had no shape on the bottom.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 1, 2011

Misplaced seams make me sad....

This is an absolutely beautiful dress. You will definitely be noticed, and not in a "what was she thinking" way. But....I'm taking it back. My husband loved me in this dress, until he noticed the bumpy line across the chest area. There is a strange seam in the lining where the heavier cotton fabric is attached to lighter fabric that makes up the majority of the lining. That seam shows right through the top fabric and makes a strange line across the dress, basically from armpit to armpit. This dress is $178 and I expect better workmanship for that price. Too bad, I really liked this dress, even at $178.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons: strange seam
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 1, 2011

Beautiful!

Love the dress. When I saw this I knew I had to order. The A-line is great for my body type(slightly bigger on the bottom). I wasn't so sure of the zipper on the back, but I love it just as much as a hidden one. The colors are great. I love the grey background instead of white or cream.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 11, 2011

Not great on

I tried this dress on in Anthro yesterday and was definitely underwhelmed. I am 5'10" and generally wear a S/M or 6/8 in Anthro clothes. In this dress I found the size 6 to be more flattering than the 8, but overall thought the dress was very shapeless and bulged around my mid-section. Overall, I really liked the colors and design, but for me this was definitely a pass.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: colors, material
Cons: shape, fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 15, 2011

Beautiful Dress

I loved this dress from the second I saw it online. I tried on the 2 and it was pretty large all over my mid section and in my hips. I sized down to a 0 and it fit great everywhere but there was still some bunching in the mid section that wasn't very flattering. I was planning on wearing this dress with a navy cardigan, so it wasn't a huge deal (nor was the line across the bust). It definitely is a beautiful dress and I plan to get plenty of use out of it, but I recommend you try it on first to see if you can see past the seam across the bust and the possibly bunching in the waist.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blooming Bulbs Dress
PostedMarch 27, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMarch 27, 2011

The previous reviewer looks fantastic in this dress, but I was not over excited about it on me. Love the fabric though and I'm a big fan of this label.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>