Customer reviews for Monarch Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Monarch Skirt

Monarch Skirt
Average rating:
4.171 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
29 of 35(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Monarch Skirt
Review 1 for Monarch Skirt
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Oy!

PostedApril 26, 2011
Pros: cute print, lightweight and gauzy
Cons: too much material!
"If only this skirt had 1/3 of the material. I don't mind fullness, but it was just too much. I couldn't even find the pockets there was so much material to get though. Too bad because the print is cute and the material is light and gauzy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monarch Skirt
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

PostedJune 6, 2011
Pros: nice print
Cons: odd fit
"This skirt did not work for me. The print was very nice but it was way to short. I'm 5'9" and it came about an inch above my knee. I had read a review that said it fell below the knee. I even ordered a little big so it fell lower. I had to send it back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monarch Skirt
fromWashington DC
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Print yes... fit no...

PostedJune 4, 2011
Pros: pretty print
Cons: fitted waisteline
"I had high hopes for this skirt since I am happily obsessed with any printed/solid/anything other than shorts kinda thing. Well, I saw this print on line, and I thought it was going to be great! uh, it was ok. Butterflies yes. Fab no. My biggest issue is the fitted waistline. I would have loved this skirt if it had an elastic waistline. Instead, the waistline had a zipper which forces you to wear it in a certain position. I prefer a more flexible waistline to wear the skirt wear I am comfortable for it to fit. So as is, it is sat so high on my waist that the fullness of the skirt didn't allow me to wear it where I was most comfortable. Ah well. Pretty print.... disappointing fit..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monarch Skirt
fromCalifornia
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Nothing special

PostedApril 18, 2011
"For the price $79 - I expected something more interesting. Color, style and q-ty are very simple and boring. It goes back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monarch Skirt
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Didn't work for me

PostedApril 22, 2011
"I really like the print and quality of the skirt but it just did not work for me. I had sized down from my usual 8 to a 6 (because of other reviews). The skirt fit at the waist but flared straight out at the hips. The pleats did not lay flat on me. Nice for the right person, but just not for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monarch Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Cute enough

PostedMay 26, 2011
"Darling print and nice length and pockets. Unfortunately I was led astray by one or two reviews that said the Monarch had an elastic waistband. Because of that, I sized down too far, and ło and behold, no elastic! Ah well. It's very thin and a bit too pouffy anyway, and made me look extra hippy. Definitely great for anyone looking to add a few curves!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monarch Skirt
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Black & Yellow

PostedJune 4, 2011
"I'm 5'3" 125 lb & usually wear 4-6 or small in bottoms. Size 4 fit well. Waistband doesn't stretch. Fabric fluffs out easily & doesn't always lay flat. Pockets are handy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monarch Skirt
fromBoston, MA
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Too much material.

PostedApril 29, 2011
"I wanted to love this skirt so badly, as it would be the perfect staple for summer. Unfortunately, it just didn't work for me.
It definitely runs large - size down one to two sizes. I usually have trouble with Anthro skirts w/o stretch in the waist in 14s, and I could wear the size 12 in this, though it was a little snug.
My big issue with this, and maybe this is just my body type, is that it did not taper down as picture on my waist. Granted, my waist is about10 inches smaller than my hips (with a wider backside), so maybe it is that is why. But, it was very fitted at the waist and then extremely poofy from the hips down. Made me look 2-3 sizes larger than I am.
I am still debating sizing up to the 14 to see if I can wear it a bit lower to get the drape right, but I'm not sure I want to bother at full price. The color and print is really lovely, and on the right figure, I think it would be beautiful."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monarch Skirt
fromCanada
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Better in person

PostedApril 19, 2011
Pros: cute print, pockets!
Cons: a touch on the sheer side
"I scrolled right past this skirt on the website, but in person the pattern just caught my eye. I am normally a 14 in Anthro skirts but the 12 fits nicely, and I found the waistband to be so flattering that I even tucked my blouse in, which I never do! My only 'complaint' is that it is very thin- even the lining is see- through when you stand in the light, so I am now questioning if it is work appropriate sans tights or a slip. Never-the-less, super cute, and am pleased."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monarch Skirt
fromVirginia
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

an even better purchase now that it is on sale!

PostedMay 29, 2011
Pros: quirky pattern, comfortable fit
"I loved this skirt from the moment I spotted it and it has been in my wish list a long time. I finally bit the bullet and purchased at full price, then to my delight obtained a PA the following week! As a lover of butterflies as well as quirky patterns that don't look like what they really are from far away, I am totally pleased with this purchase!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monarch Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

NOT for someone with hips!

PostedApril 29, 2011
"I loved the quality, fabric and waistband on this skirt. If I could have figured out how to alter it I would have kept it. But again, as with some other skirts this season, it was way too poufy over my hips and made me look several sizes larger than I am. This is definately for a slender body style, and not for someone with an hourglass figure."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Monarch Skirt
fromIllinois
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

flowy summer skirt

PostedMay 10, 2011
Cons: runs extremely large
"This skirt is beautiful, and falls nicely to just below my knees. However, I'm usually a size 8 and this was so large I went with a size 4. I love the pockets, and the fact that the liner ends a few inches above the skirt, so you can see through just the bottom ~3-4 inches.
I love the butterfly design!
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Monarch Skirt
fromToronto, ON
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Sized out of this skirt.

PostedApril 6, 2011
Pros: great pattern, lined
Cons: runs large
"I really liked this skirt when I first saw it online. I still really like it! I tried it on at the store yesterday though and I've been totally sized out of this. I put on the 0 and it was way too big for me on my 24" waist. It seems that it's meant to be high waisted and it was seriously hanging low on me and it wasn't a skirt that looked good hanging lower in my opinion. If I really want it I'm going to have to have it altered. I guess I'll think about that but since that costs money I'd wait for sale or it will cost me too much to be worth all of that.
I love the design though...how it's butterflies and yet from a distance looks like a nice pattern. I really like insects too so it's a great skirt and great colour. I just wish I wasn't sized out of it since I'd say this is my favourite of the newest Anthro skirts."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Monarch Skirt
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Great Addition for the Summer

PostedApril 3, 2011
Pros: cost print versatile
Cons: size
"I just bought this skirt and I love it. It is a light-weight cotton and the print is adorable. Best part, very versatile for summer. And great price point, $78.00.
It runs a bit large, I am a size 4 and the 4 was a little big on me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Monarch Skirt
fromAussie
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

pretty skirt

PostedApril 14, 2011
Pros: nice pattern
"nice skirt, usually 8 to 10 in skirts and purchased a 6 which fit good, could be still a little large but dont have a 4 to compare."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Monarch Skirt
fromNew York, NY
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute Summer Skirt

PostedApril 11, 2011
Pros: not over the top in price, good quality
Cons: a little snug - suggest one size up
"This skirt is lovely - a great piece for casual Fridays at work and also to wear on the weekends - Saturday or Sunday Brunch and a little shopping after. All in all I am happy with my purchase, I just have to wait to wear it - spring/summer has not as yet reached New York!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Monarch Skirt
fromHERCULES, CA
Age range:Over 55
Height:5 ft.
Height:2 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

great skirt

PostedApril 28, 2011
"Love this skirt for the pattern and colors, but a bit wrinkly. Had to order one size smaller because it runs big. Skirt part below smocking a little billowy and can be unflattering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Monarch Skirt
fromPhiladelphia
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Pretty skirt!

PostedJune 4, 2011
Pros: pretty print
Cons: a little too much fabric at the rouching
"I absolutely love the yellow butterfly print of this skirt. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and I got this in a 4. I think the rouching is cute and flattering, my only complaint is that there's a little too much fabric/volume that juts out from the rouching. It looks cute with tanks tucked in. It may be able to be transitioned to autumn with boots, I'm not sure yet. I bought this online after reading the reviews. I'm only 5'1 so I was worried that it may be a little long for me - but had no problems with the length. Its just a little past my knees. Overall, I'm pleased with this purchase, especially at the sale price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Monarch Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Size Down

PostedMay 28, 2011
"I am normally a 6 in most Anthro skirts. I ended up buying a 2. It does not have an elastic waist - it looks like it does, but that is just the stitching. It does make one look a little hippy - not the best design, but the print is so pretty I had to get it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Monarch Skirt
fromNYC
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Runs large

PostedApril 4, 2011
User submitted photo
"Usually I have to size up in Lil, but apparently not in the brand's skirts! Granted this skirt has an elastic waist but my usual size 10 was literally sliding down my legs. So it was down to an 8, which was loose but stayed in place. I love the pockets in this easy skirt and the wide waistband defines the waist nicely. I love that this skirt is knee-length -- minis are cute but not for work. The skirt is even lined. Lil really nailed the details here. The pattern is pretty and the fit is great."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>