Customer reviews for Great Dot Maxi Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Great Dot Maxi Dress

Great Dot Maxi Dress
Average rating:
3.88 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
6
1 Star
1
20 of 25(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Great Dot Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromNo Anthro Zone - Bakersfield, CA
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Cut for Busty Gals and Low Waist to Hip Ratio!

PostedMarch 26, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: silk bodice, fully lined, perfect drape, bra strap snaps, kick pleat, busty or non busty cut, versatile polkas, excellent construction
Cons: rayon and poly, unruly cowl
"This dress is cut for Gals that are Curvy on Top, and Gals with Low Hip/Waist Ratio. 8 inches or less. I wasn't impressed by the unruly short cowl.
SIZE: I ordered my normal SIZE 4 for M. Soeurs. I'm 5'6" Tall, 130 Lbs, 35-28-36, Narrow Shoulders, Low Waist. Normally 4 to 6 in Anthro Brands. 6 to 8 for other designers.
FIT: Spot on. Arm holes not too low. Perfect fit through waist, and hips with spare room to sit comfortably in non-stretch Silk and Rayon. For ref. my waist/hip ratio is 8" (36-28). This dress will fit most gals with waist/hip of 8" or less. Length is perfect for heels, a little long for flats.
Can be worn with or without Belt.
FABRIC: The Bodice is Drapey, see-thru Silk with some Sheen. The Online Product image appears White for the Bodice, but is Ivory. The Navy, Polka Dot, Love Skirt is substantial Rayon.
DETAILS:
1. No Pockets.
2. Full Polyester Lining.
3. Shell and Liner have separate Back Kick Pleat.
4. Bodice and Liner not connected at neckline.
5. Side Zip with hook.
6. Bra Strap Snaps
7. Quality materials
8. Excellent construction
COWL: The short un-cooperative cowl was unflattering on busty me. No matter how I placed the folds, It was either laying to one side or sticking out like a horn. Gag! Everytime I moved, the cowl changed position and shape.
PHOTOS: I tucked the cowl into the bodice. Later I hand sewed it at the edge to the inside of the liner. Love the results! Wearing 3.5 inch heels for length ref.
STYLE TESTED 3 ways...
with... Anthro's All Along Knit Jacket in Black by Cartonnier, Mrs. Blackbeards Necklace in Red, and Red strappy heels.
with... Anthro's Highest Vista Platforms in Navy and Green by Frye, Green Vintage length Cardi, and Anthro's Spectrum Phlox Necklace by Lavish
with... Pink Vintage length Cardi, Gold and Teal Strappy Sandals, and Anthro's Condensation Necklace.
Other color suggestions are...Red, Black, Ivory, Gold, Tan and Orange.
Highly recommended versatile Maxi Dress for Curvy and not so Curvy on Top Gals with LOW HIP/WAIST RATIO."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Pros: quality silk, fit
Cons: needs a belt
"This maxi dress is terrific! It is a bit more classy than your typical maxi dress, but not so formal that it can't be worn daily.
I found that the dress fit TTS. The top of the dress fit me fine and wasn't too large (especially considering that i am only an "A" cup.) The length of the size 0 went exactly to the floor (i'm 5'3"). I will wear fancy flats/sandals with the dress so that it remains a maxi dress.
The silk is very fine quality. It is thick enough to hang well. The fit of the dress is fabulous. It gently grazes my hips and doesn't add any unwanted bumps.
I wish it had pockets. I tried it on with a dark blue belt (darker than the navy bottom) and it completed the look so wonderfully! The belt pulled everything together."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromGreenville
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect!!

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Pros: style, cut, high quality of fabric
"I am so in love with this dress. I am wearing it to my sisters rehearsal dinner and cinching it with a god belt. The fit of the dress is amazing because the fabric is heavy enough to allow a drape. The top is nice and I am flat chested, it drapes well for all cup sizes."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromBoston
Age range:25-29
Height:4 ft.
Height:11 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

unique maxi dress

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
"There has been a couple of really great 40's era dresses out for spring, and this one is really fantastic. The photos just doesn't due it justice.
Unfortunately, i found it ran a little large on the top, and it seems like the kind of dress where is has to fit you perfectly to look good. If it does fit, you should snag it up. It really is a dream!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromTampa, FL
Age range:Over 55
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

fun for spring

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Pros: the style
Cons: the workmanship
"the style of the dress is fun for this spring and the colors are great but the workmanship was so poor I returned it. The seams did not match and the top looked cheap"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromNew York, NY
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Lovely shape, charming dots

PostedApril 7, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I love this dress. The fabric is substantial but flowy and not too hot, it's fully lined, and it feels delicate, graceful, and vintage. I didn't like the cowlneck, which draped down and exposed the underlining in a weird way, but the cowl tucked into the top and it looked great that way.
I tried this dress on with the open spaces wedges (I'm 5'5", and these wedges are about 4") and the dress came to slightly above my ankles, but I think there was enough space for this to work with slightly smaller heels, although maybe not flats for someone my height. I worried that the dress might cut my gut in the wrong way, but it was very comfortable at the waist. One online reviewer mentioned a pregnant-looking belly (believe me, I am the QUEEN of this problem) but I didn't have that issue at all.
I range from a size 4 to 6, and am sometimes an 8 in pencil skirts or high-waisted designs (like the Seaside Fields Dress). I took my normal size six and it was a perfect fit. So happy to be diving into the maxi dress trend! Hope this one doesn't languish in my closet, but I'm very happy with the purchase at the second-cut price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromCleveland, OH
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very Cute and Chic

PostedApril 7, 2011
Pros: beautiful, classic, trendy, comfortable, true to size
"I am not sure what some of the more negative reviews are about - I think this dress is wonderful. It is true to size. I am like a size 00 or xs so I always have to get all my clothes altered a little bit - and the same is true with this. It was not really really big, nor did it fit me. It is just what I expected for the 0. The top is not see through - I dont understand why this was an issue with some unless if they wore a black bra underneath. This looks so great with a red belt and some red flip flops (I like it with flip flops b/c it keeps it on the casual side). Definitely grab with up with the sale ladies. I got it at the first cut and more than happy with it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromDallas, TX
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Not flattering

PostedApril 1, 2011
"Made me look pregnant... and not in the cute, rosy way.... The top is also transparent. Pass on this one."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromAlbany, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

A Real Classic!

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Pros: superb style color fabric texture!
"What is there not to love about this dress? And at the sale price - snatch this one up Anthro Girlies! This dress will never go out of style - even with the maxi hemline in and/or out of trend. The dress can always be shortened! "Dots" are a genuine classic! Wearing this dress with a cute little cardi hits-the-"dot". The dress might be a-tad too long depending on your body type - but it is well worth the cost of a simple heming alteration!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromNew York, NY
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Disappointment In the Dressing Room

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Pros: classic dress, well made, long in length
Cons: unflattering on most, long in length
"This dress is very Jackie O with a modern twist. I loved the dress from the photo and in person. However, this dress was is not designed everyone.
I'm 5'9 and the dress went down to my ankles therefore a woman on the shorter side may have to have it hemmed. The dress was very flattering for someone with or without a bust since it's is very baggy. The breaking point was the bottom. I found it to be very tight on my thighs giving an extremely unflattering and uncomfortable look.
Baggy on top-Tight in the middle and baggy on the bottom. I had to put it back : ("
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromLos Angeles
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

weird fit

PostedApril 8, 2011
"Great dress, so expensive, wonderful styling, except the front at the neckline. It has a cowl type neckline that falls strangely, and shows the slip underneath. It would be great if the slip didn't show. It looks poorly designed because of this flaw. Worth it though if you can manage it or fix it. I am sending it back"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromEl Cerrito, CA
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

1940s glam

PostedApril 5, 2011
Pros: well made, perfect fit flows well
"After reading all the reviews, I went down to my local Anthro to try on different sizes. According to the size chart, I should be in size 4. It was too big. I'm 5'3", 34A/27/?(safe to say no hips). The 2 was fine in the waist but loose in the chest because of my A cup size, as another reviewer also mentioned. I thought the 0 might be too tight in the waist, but it fit perfectly everywhere. The length of the skirt was perfect, too. No need to hem - just needs a slight heel for me. Love the slit. I had no problem with the cowl not settling, though it needs a good steam. The bodice is a bit sheer, but I didn't have a problem with this. The skirt part is lined. It flows and moves beautifully. This is a beautiful dress for 3 seasons in the SF Bay Area."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedApril 6, 2011
"I'm a sucker for maxi dresses and because of the cute polka dots, this one caught my eye. The fit is a little on the small side, especially in the thigh area. I have an hourglass figure and decided to size up one size so that it would have a flow-y comfy fit. This dress is very flattering and looks super cute with a wide waist belt and heels. And at the second cut sale price, this dress was more than worth it!! It will be perfect for the upcoming Spring/Summer months."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
frommontgomery county, PA
Age range:35-39
Height:6 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Cute if you have a boyish figure!

PostedApril 15, 2011
Pros: print - very creative
Cons: snuggles around the hips
"This dress is flattering for the straight body figure. I am 6' and size 10. The length of this dress was above my anles which is not flattering. I tried to see some reasoning around this dress, but it was snuggled around my hips. So this dress is best for someone with a straight body and tiny frame. It's kind of cute though!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromRockville, MD
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Super Cute Summer Frock

PostedApril 21, 2011
Pros: great length, super glamorous
Cons: top is a little sheer
"I wasn't so sure about this dress. I'm on the shorter side and maxi dresses don't really look so hot on me. Well, this dress is the exception to that rule! It is the perfect length for my 5'4" frame and looks super glamorous. I think it fits TTS (I'm 135lbs. and typically wear a sz 4 in Moulinette). The top is a little sheer but I don't think I'll have a problem if I wear a nude colored bra. I can't wait until the weather is warm enough for me to rock this with the style it deserves!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromNC
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

fantastic dress, classic

PostedApril 21, 2011
Pros: flattering on most body types, classic
Cons: dot pattern crooked at waist
"gorgeous dress. great value with the sale. It's very classic, drapes well.
I am 5' 6", 118lbs...my measurements put me between a 0 and a 2 on the chart. After reading the other reviews, I decided to get the 2 and it fit perfectly. If anything, the bottom might have been a little loose.
My only complaint is that the pictured dress is so well assembled...paying attention to the dot print on the skirt. On the actual dress I got, the dots are not properly lined up, so on one side of the dress there is no dot at the seam, and at the opposite side there is a half a dot showing at the seam. Bummer. I'm still keeping it b/c the price was great and I'm hoping other people are not as OCD as I am. Also hoping that covering the waist-line with a belt will make that less noticeable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromchula vista, CA
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

OMG AMAZING!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Pros: material comfortable, great for tall or short
"im 5'10 125 lbs.
usually long dresses arent long enough and hit me at an awkard length but this dress doesnt! its perfect!
its not too tight in the waist but it gives me a shape. the material is unbelievably comfortable and easy to wear. i paired it with some brown clogs and was overwhelmed with compliments the whole day!!! and at this price how can you not throw this into your shopping cart ASAP!?
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromLincoln, NE
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Mumsy, but beautiful

PostedMay 20, 2011
"The neckline on this dress is super--modest and drapey at the same time (I haven't seen anything comparable in quality, really). I tried this dress on in my true size four and it was a good fit. my 5'5-ness was actually a good height for the length, too. I just think this silhouette was a bit too mature for my 25 year old self. Nevertheless, try it for yourself as you may think otherwise."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
fromeast coast
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Good for a thin figure

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
"I tried this on today at anthro, nice silhouette, just not for me. Fits a tad on the snug side, especially on the hips. The size 12 was ankle length. Could be glammed up with a really great summer hat! If you're tall and thin and into classic style, it's a DO!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Great Dot Maxi Dress
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Lovely Dress

PostedApril 3, 2011
"I really love everything about the idea of the dress - it is such a classic style. The fabric drapes really well and would be comfortable to wear for many occasions.
I ended up returning the dress because it is about 3-4" too short on me. I am 5'8" 110lbs and I got a 0. It fit perfectly in all aspects except with the length - it definitely felt like it needed to be longer for it to stay a maxi or a lot shorter to look in proportion on me.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>