Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Summer Souffle Dress

Summer Souffle Dress
Overall rating:
3.412 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
14
1 Star
3
33 of 51(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress
Review 1 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 22, 2011

gorgeous dress

This dress is so pretty in person. The pattern looks handpainted and the cotton feels lovely on. I would say that it fits very snugly in the chest area and would suggest people to size up, unless you are very small. I will say the dress is very short-waisted, which is a matter of taste and may be a negative for some people. I found it extremely flattering. One thing I did not like was the attachments for the detachable straps showed when they were attached and looked like bra straps. I didn't try it on without the straps so I can't speak to that.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: gorgeous print flattering shape
Cons: price
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 26, 2011

SIGH

I pined over this dress for days before I finally decided to buy it. I got it on Friday...it's beautiful, and well made. however...I think it's only meant to be worn by petite small framed ladies(I am athletic with a medium build) by the time I had the top pulled up to where it *should* be...the waist was sitting at a most unflattering place on my torso. after consulting with my husband...(who informed me that I looked like an extra from sound of music) I have decided it must go back.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful fabric beautiful pattern
Cons: wacky fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 26, 2011

beautiful dress, runs EXTREMELY SMALL

i bought this dress to wear to my wedding!
beautiful spring/summer dress. i feel like i'm walking around in a cloud! the cotton managed to feel streamlined and gauzy at the same time. i love the full skirt (i have such a hard time finding tea length) and added a green scarf around the waist.
the only downside is that it appears to run VERY SMALL on top. i normally wear a 4, and i bought the dress in a 10, and am considering returning it for a 12. the waist is just way too tight--i could barely squish my bosom (i only wear a b cup!) into the 4, 6, and 8. luckily, the skirt is very forgiving, and i like it long, so that works out well.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pretty light fun
Cons: runs waaay too small
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedApril 26, 2011

Lovely Summer Dress, Bad Cut

I love the light feel of this dress, the delicate flower print, sweetheart neckline, and pockets. The fabric is very light - and the skirt has that wonderful twirling effect. The material is a little thin and will definitely require nude undergarments. I choose to keep the straps on - and I think they are of good quality (and definitely lend to the versatility of this dress.)
Fit: I am a six/eight. This is the six - and although the back of the dress is flexible - I really think I would have been more comfortable in the eight. That being said - the cut was all wrong. The waist is cut ridiculously high - and hits at the most unflattering angle, so that the skirt flairs out at just the wrong spot. I am thick-waisted, so this problem may be exaggerated on my frame - but I imagine many people will encounter the same issue.
I think for maybe very hour-glass figures or those with a shorter torso it might be the perfect summer dress - but for me, despite how many things I love about this dress - there's no getting around feeling wider than normal.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: fabric, print
Cons: cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedMay 8, 2011

a beauty with a couple flaws

I immediately fell in love with this dress seeing it online. The only difference I really noticed in person is the dress is a bit wrinkly. It's not that big a deal, but I'll definitely steam the dress a little bit before I wear it out.
I am normally a size 2, but the bust area of the dress was tight. It was uncomfortable and I had some trouble zipping up the back. I went up to a size 4 and it fit a lot better. It's still very form fitting and I think for women with a larger bust it would be very tight fit.
I'm 5'8" and the dress hits at around my knees. It's a fairly long dress so I'm not sure it would be flattering to everyone. The top is also fairly sheer so I would recommend a nude colored bra to wear underneath.
This is something you'd definitely have try on before purchasing since it may fit differently person to person. Overall, I still think this is a beautiful dress. I wish you ladies luck! :)
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: machine washable! always a +
Cons: tight around the bust area, material wrinkles easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 28, 2011

I really, really, really wanted to love this dress, and had hopes of using it as a dress for my casual summer wedding. Alas... the bodice was very short, almost empire-style. However, the skirt was wonderful;very flouncy with a layer of crinoline.
It's a pretty summer dress, but didn't look as great as it could have.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedApril 28, 2011

Bought for wedding rehearsal

I love this dress! Based on some other reviews, I was worried that it would be too puffy on the bottom. I thought it was perfect. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is the straps are slightly difficult to adjust and the waist hits just a tiny bit too high. I will also have to wear nude undergarments which is what I expected for a white dress. I am typically a size 2 in all anthro dresses (5'5", 34B, 128lbs) ans this dress ran a tiny bit tight. If you are in between sizes, order up! Over all it is a great dress and I can't wait to wear it!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute it twirls good quality
Cons: runs a little small waist cut a tiny bit high
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 1, 2011

Undecided

I love this dress, but I'm having a hard time with the fact that the top is so see through. I can foresee also that any sign of perspiration will definitely (and easily) show through the fabric.
Great idea for a summer dress.. but wish the material was thicker on top to show less undergarment details and inevitable perspiration during the late Spring and Summer months!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: fantastic idea for a dress, love the design, love the tulle underneath
Cons: thin fabric, easily will show any sign of moisture
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 5, 2011

Beautiful

This will be my wedding dress (hippie, outdoorsy wedding dress). I love it. I am a 14 with 36DD chest. The 14 fit me perfectly; it doesn't pinch up top and works well with a strapless bra. The print is beautiful and the tulle is fun and fluffy underneath. The torso is short, but I'm going to have a sash that I wear with it to minimize the appearance.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: great colors nice fit.
Cons: torso too short.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Petite
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 9, 2011

A flouncy find! Very Mad Men!

This is an adorable dress. The only negative is that it is quite high-waisted - the waist is just below the bust. Trying to pair it with a sweater was difficult, until I found a tiny cropped sweater in yellow, which works perfectly. It does have straps, so it doesn't have to be worn strapless. The material is just a bit sheer, which isn't a problem in the volunimous skirt, but the top is a bit sheer.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: adorable feminine.
Cons: sheer, high waist
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 12, 2011

Beautiful!

Beautifully made dress! This dress not only fits me perfectly, the details and craftsmanship are fantastic.
Other reviews commented on this dress having too high a waist but I am 5'8" and it hits me right at the smallest part of my waist!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedMay 12, 2011

Cuter online than in person

I tried this on in the store yesterday and it is not nearly as cute as it looks. The shape falls strangely, you would need to wear a belt with it. It also seems to be pretty poorly constructed with cheap fabric. I would skip it.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedMay 17, 2011

Not fit for a normal sized person

I'm 5 ft and 105 lbs with a 34b chest and i could NOT zipper this over my boobs no way... i always wear a zero from anthro but a zero in this dress doesn't stand a chance. i'd need at least a 2 or 4 and then it would be far too long. It's a pretty dress but nowhere near 200$ in quality and the fit of this dress is made for someone taller and thin. The puffiness of the skirt of the dress is a nice touch and that's the only plus I'll give it. I'd recommend this to a friend but only one out of everyone I know might stand a chance of fitting in to it.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: puffy pretty skirt
Cons: made for a stick thin person
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 16, 2011

beautiful dress!

I bought this dress to wear to my upcoming wedding.I wanted my wedding to be casual yet special and this dress captures that.I love the soft cotton material and Tulle gives the dress a light airy feeling.I love the flower print, it is so unique and beautiful and artfully placed on the dress.I am 120 lbs and a size 4 fits perfect and actually compliments my figure.My only complaint is that the straps could of been constructed better.Other than that I love this dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons: straps could of been constructed better.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 17, 2011

Biggest disappointment

Sadly, this dress in real life did not live up to its beauty online. Was so excited to try this on - but it did me absolutely no favors. I am 5'2", 34C, 27" waist, usually 2 in dresses. Bust was tight so I would say this runs a little small, and top is extremely short-waisted. Crinoline is waaaaay too much for the bottom of the dress - adds volume to my hips from every angle. Skirt is also disappointing long - hits me 2-3 inches below my knee - not flattering. Had so much promise for a great summer occasion dress - would recommend for much taller ladies.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 21, 2011

Lovely, but try before you buy.

I bought this dress for my casual garden wedding this summer and it is absolutely perfect. It's light and airy and very flattering--I'm in love.
That said, the first time I tried on the dress I was not impressed. I'm glad I didn't buy it online, because I think the pictures do not accurately represent the dress. In fact, my local store never even got the dress as part of their regular shipment but there were quite a few in stock due to online returns.
A few things to note before you purchase this dress:
It runs a bit big. The first one I tried was a 4 and while it fit (I'm 5'4", 140 lbs.,high-waisted, and rather small on top) it was NOT flattering. I'm usually a size 8 in dresses, but can sometimes get into a 6. Size 6 in this dress fits me PERFECTLY, so if you're in between sizes, try the smaller one.
The waist really is quite high. This works well for me, but I can see it being an issue for those with a longer torso. It may look more empire-waisted than pictured.
Also, the top is VERY sheer. There's not quite enough structure there to hold everything in--and I'm only a 36B. I wouldn't really recommend this if you have a larger bust. You'll also need a nude strapless bra or in my case, a bustier because it is totally see-through, even in dim fitting room lighting. Once I got that figured out, I fell head over heels for this dress.
One more thing: unless you have a model's long legs, the dress is tea length. This makes it look rather formal, which is another reason I love it for my wedding. I probably wouldn't wear it in a casual setting.
It's comfortable, delicate and beautiful and I can't wait for the big day.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering for a pear-shaped girl!, comfortable and soft, perfect for a summer formal event
Cons: top is very sheer, waist is very high, runs large
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on top
PostedMay 22, 2011

I was a bit apprehensive about buying this after reading the mostly negative reviews, but I just received it and LOVE it. It does have a very full skirt, but when ironed it looks great. I'm 5'7", 34D, and a 12 fit me great. Paired with a jacket and heels looks fabulous. A belt does help pull things together, but with those simple accessories this is a dress that would go well in any wardrobe.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 1, 2011

I'm a big fan of Moulinette Soers dresses and usually are good for the price. I tried this one on just for the fun of it. It is very full at the bottom which makes it fun and somewhat retro looking. Great dress for Summer parties/weddings. Definately more suited for the younger ladies. Overall, a sweet and fun little dress!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedJune 30, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 30, 2011

CUTE EXTRA PUFFY SUMMER DRESS

This dress takes the cake for puffiness that I have ever come across, and I am a lover of puffy dresses, there has not been one puffy dress that I did not love, but that said, the jury is out on this one, I was not fortunate to come across this dress at store level, but obsessd over this on the website, lookes soo adorable, cute, summery, for all types of occasions and is worthy of being a wedding dress infact, based on the many reviews pretty much everyone said this ran 1-2 sizes small, for this brand I have lots of 4's and one 6, as I am 34b, 28, 34, 120 lbs, and at 5'6, so I decided to be on the safe side and order 6/8/10, I didnt even try on the 6 or 8, but went straight for the 10, because it looked like a 4, zipped it up, which was slightly a pain, because of the overlap in material at the zipper, wish it wasnt there, SUPER TIGHT! EVERYWHERE, WHAT?, Soo tight, couldnt breath or be comfy in any way possible, even after adjusting the straps as long as they could go, they actualy needed to be about 6 inches longer, looked in the miror, my boobs looked like they where bursting at the seems, and on the verge of breaking the seems, I took out my measure tape, the bust was barely at 33 inches, and the waist was just making it at 27 inches, and this was the size 10?? So in my opinion this dress does not run 1-2 sizes smaller but 3-4 times smaller, so here I am debating on weather I should fork over the money for a size 12 in the hopes the bust and waist may be even an inch bigger, so lke I said the jury is out on this one, the dress is cute and pretty, but kind of unusual weirdly puffy, like a cupcake or cake topper, and runs extra, extra small, hym, what to do?
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute unique summer pattern
Cons: runs 3-4 sizes small, unusual extra puffy bottom
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 1, 2011

Very Pretty

I bought this to be my "Summer Dress." The fabric is beautiful and light, and the design is very striking. The extra poof makes you feel very girlie.
However, one of the straps tore within 5 minutes of wearing the dress. Luckily I had the ability to sew it back when I got home. The bodice is cut really high and the poof makes you look a bit pregnant, lol. The waistline is definitely not flattering. I am usually a size 2 and bought the size 2, and it fit perfect.
HOWEVER, I fixed this issue by getting a wide, satin, tan sash to tie around the middle, and it offset the weird waistline cut and looked extra pretty.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: flowing fabric great design light
Cons: weird cut at waistline straps aren't sewn strong.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>