Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Summer Souffle Dress

Summer Souffle Dress
Average rating:
3.412 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
14
1 Star
3
33 of 51(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress
Review 1 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromIthaca, NY
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PERFECT! (with a few tweaks)

PostedApril 21, 2011
Pros: soft feminine high quality
Cons: very full skirt tulle
" I love this dress. It's feminine and flows beautifully and is exactly what I was looking for to wear to my grad school day-time graduation. I love the pattern, though I don't know if it was placed in exactly the same spot as the picture, it is definitely close. A few things I tweaked to make it perfect for me, and that might be considerations. First, I removed a layer of tulle that is in the skirt. It's a full skirt already and with it, it was too puffy. I also had it hemmed a couple inches. Again, I like it long, but it was really long. With those corrections, it's perfect. Also, please note that it might run a little large, so if you are between sizes, maybe order down. "
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromBaltimore, MD
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Lovely Summer Dress, Bad Cut

PostedApril 26, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: fabric, print
Cons: cut
" I love the light feel of this dress, the delicate flower print, sweetheart neckline, and pockets. The fabric is very light - and the skirt has that wonderful twirling effect. The material is a little thin and will definitely require nude undergarments. I choose to keep the straps on - and I think they are of good quality (and definitely lend to the versatility of this dress.)
Fit: I am a six/eight. This is the six - and although the back of the dress is flexible - I really think I would have been more comfortable in the eight. That being said - the cut was all wrong. The waist is cut ridiculously high - and hits at the most unflattering angle, so that the skirt flairs out at just the wrong spot. I am thick-waisted, so this problem may be exaggerated on my frame - but I imagine many people will encounter the same issue.
I think for maybe very hour-glass figures or those with a shorter torso it might be the perfect summer dress - but for me, despite how many things I love about this dress - there's no getting around feeling wider than normal. "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer Souffle Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

beautiful dress, slightly poorly made

PostedMay 5, 2011
" I actually purchased this dress to be my wedding dress this summer, for a river side wedding. I love the design but have had a little trouble with the sizing. the first dress i ordered was a little too tight in the bodice, but beautifully made: so i ordered the next size up. It came and fit a little better....a little too big now, but had a lot of little errors. Like i could see where someone had used the seem ripper to re-do parts. Also there is a black thread stuck between sewed together layers in the bodice, so it's this thin white fabric, with black thread that sticks out but that i can't get to in order to remove. lots of little things like that make the overall quality a little low. but for time's sake, i didn't want to send it back to get another one, so I'm sticking with it. I'm embroidering over the flowers to make it unique and give it depth, and so far so good. It's kinda my perfect wedding dress. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful

PostedMay 5, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: great colors nice fit.
Cons: torso too short.
" This will be my wedding dress (hippie, outdoorsy wedding dress). I love it. I am a 14 with 36DD chest. The 14 fit me perfectly; it doesn't pinch up top and works well with a strapless bra. The print is beautiful and the tulle is fun and fluffy underneath. The torso is short, but I'm going to have a sash that I wear with it to minimize the appearance. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

gorgeous dress

PostedApril 22, 2011
Pros: gorgeous print flattering shape
Cons: price
" This dress is so pretty in person. The pattern looks handpainted and the cotton feels lovely on. I would say that it fits very snugly in the chest area and would suggest people to size up, unless you are very small. I will say the dress is very short-waisted, which is a matter of taste and may be a negative for some people. I found it extremely flattering. One thing I did not like was the attachments for the detachable straps showed when they were attached and looked like bra straps. I didn't try it on without the straps so I can't speak to that. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromPrairieville, La
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Too Slim Of A Range.

PostedApril 29, 2011
Pros: nice material, beautiful design, decent fitting
Cons: for certain body types only, hits too high for curvy women
" When I spotted this dress online, I fell in love right away. I wanted it to be my graduation dress and so I went to the closest store, found my size, and tried it on. I have an hourglass figure so I thought it would accentuate my curves gloriously, wrong. This dress is pretty much made for ladies who have a super short torso since I have a long torso and it hit me in all the wrong places. It's a wonderful dress, just made for only a slim fit of body types; which all in all, is a pure shame. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromVentura County, CA
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedJune 1, 2011
" I'm a big fan of Moulinette Soers dresses and usually are good for the price. I tried this one on just for the fun of it. It is very full at the bottom which makes it fun and somewhat retro looking. Great dress for Summer parties/weddings. Definately more suited for the younger ladies. Overall, a sweet and fun little dress! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer Souffle Dress
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Lovely, but try before you buy.

PostedMay 21, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: flattering for a pear-shaped girl!, comfortable and soft, perfect for a summer formal event
Cons: top is very sheer, waist is very high, runs large
" I bought this dress for my casual garden wedding this summer and it is absolutely perfect. It's light and airy and very flattering--I'm in love.
That said, the first time I tried on the dress I was not impressed. I'm glad I didn't buy it online, because I think the pictures do not accurately represent the dress. In fact, my local store never even got the dress as part of their regular shipment but there were quite a few in stock due to online returns.
A few things to note before you purchase this dress:
It runs a bit big. The first one I tried was a 4 and while it fit (I'm 5'4", 140 lbs.,high-waisted, and rather small on top) it was NOT flattering. I'm usually a size 8 in dresses, but can sometimes get into a 6. Size 6 in this dress fits me PERFECTLY, so if you're in between sizes, try the smaller one.
The waist really is quite high. This works well for me, but I can see it being an issue for those with a longer torso. It may look more empire-waisted than pictured.
Also, the top is VERY sheer. There's not quite enough structure there to hold everything in--and I'm only a 36B. I wouldn't really recommend this if you have a larger bust. You'll also need a nude strapless bra or in my case, a bustier because it is totally see-through, even in dim fitting room lighting. Once I got that figured out, I fell head over heels for this dress.
One more thing: unless you have a model's long legs, the dress is tea length. This makes it look rather formal, which is another reason I love it for my wedding. I probably wouldn't wear it in a casual setting.
It's comfortable, delicate and beautiful and I can't wait for the big day. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromOrange County, CA.
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

CUTE EXTRA PUFFY SUMMER DRESS

PostedJune 30, 2011
Pros: cute unique summer pattern
Cons: runs 3-4 sizes small, unusual extra puffy bottom
" This dress takes the cake for puffiness that I have ever come across, and I am a lover of puffy dresses, there has not been one puffy dress that I did not love, but that said, the jury is out on this one, I was not fortunate to come across this dress at store level, but obsessd over this on the website, lookes soo adorable, cute, summery, for all types of occasions and is worthy of being a wedding dress infact, based on the many reviews pretty much everyone said this ran 1-2 sizes small, for this brand I have lots of 4's and one 6, as I am 34b, 28, 34, 120 lbs, and at 5'6, so I decided to be on the safe side and order 6/8/10, I didnt even try on the 6 or 8, but went straight for the 10, because it looked like a 4, zipped it up, which was slightly a pain, because of the overlap in material at the zipper, wish it wasnt there, SUPER TIGHT! EVERYWHERE, WHAT?, Soo tight, couldnt breath or be comfy in any way possible, even after adjusting the straps as long as they could go, they actualy needed to be about 6 inches longer, looked in the miror, my boobs looked like they where bursting at the seems, and on the verge of breaking the seems, I took out my measure tape, the bust was barely at 33 inches, and the waist was just making it at 27 inches, and this was the size 10?? So in my opinion this dress does not run 1-2 sizes smaller but 3-4 times smaller, so here I am debating on weather I should fork over the money for a size 12 in the hopes the bust and waist may be even an inch bigger, so lke I said the jury is out on this one, the dress is cute and pretty, but kind of unusual weirdly puffy, like a cupcake or cake topper, and runs extra, extra small, hym, what to do? "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromWashington, DC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful summer frock

PostedMay 23, 2011
Pros: beautiful drape classic
Cons: price flimsy straps
" I found the size fit the same as other Moulinette Seours dresses. It sits high and has a beautiful drape. The straps are flimsy and one actually ripped apart - I fixed it, but my husband thought that was ridiculous for a $200 dress. The price is high, but I didn't want to risk the dress being sold out (it is already gone in certain sizes online). Paired it with the thin gold belt and heels. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

a dress that will fit a selected few

PostedMay 3, 2011
Pros: pretty flowers, material is really nice and soft
Cons: only for short torso bodies, only for skinnier people., adds too much to the hips.
" This is definitely a dress that picks its wearer. Not many will be able to fit this dress. She'd have to be slender and needing to add a little around the hips. She'd have to probably have a short torso because a person with a long torso body will be wearing this dress more like an empire waistline.
I really wanted this dress to fit but it definitely didn't make it to my closet. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Summer Souffle Dress
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Proportion FAIL

PostedMay 6, 2011
Pros: looks great on a hanger
Cons: invokes body proportion confusion
" stunner of a dress - beautiful print quality and looks great on a hanger.
it all stops there, though - after ordering a 0 and heading to the store to try a 2 and a 4, the bodice's base continually hit me lower than empire would and higher than natural waist would (quite confusing), and the back zipper kept getting caught in the material - original returned. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromSF CA and Toronto ON
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Gorgeous fit...for taller girls

PostedMay 5, 2011
" The dress fits very well if you happen to be taller...it hangs well, esp with a belt. It was a little big for me (they only had the size 8 and i'm usually a 6), but with a wide belt, perfect. Fabric is not as good quality as it could be tho. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromsan francisco, ca
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Cuter online than in person

PostedMay 12, 2011
" I tried this on in the store yesterday and it is not nearly as cute as it looks. The shape falls strangely, you would need to wear a belt with it. It also seems to be pretty poorly constructed with cheap fabric. I would skip it. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromIL
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Doesnt worth the money

PostedJune 22, 2011
Pros: beautiful flower, good design
Cons: low quality, too expensive, tight on the top
" I got a crush on this dress when I saw it online. It is really too expensive and after a long time struggle I ordered it. For reference, I am 5.5 feet (166 cm), 32 b, and 105 lb, usually wearing size 0. I thought the skinny design and high waistline might fit for me. When I received my first order, size 0, it was really tight on my bust. Otherwise, it looks terrific. So I sent it back for exchanging to size 2. The exchanged products really let me down. It was washed by the former owner, the label nearly dropped, and several places defective. Then I sent it back again and exchanged for the third one. I have to say the the dress is elegant but doest worth for 200 dollar. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Summer Souffle Dress
Height:5 ft.
Height:10 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

felt like lisle from sound of music

PostedApril 20, 2011
Pros: lovely fabric
Cons: the hills are a little too alive, fit
" I REALLY wanted to like this dress, but it is not flattering. It hits high and then flares out abruptl making me look pregnant.
A little too Julie Andrews for me...
plus the sweetheart neckline is too high to go strapless
"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromNew York, NY
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

PostedMay 1, 2011
" this dress is very different in person. it's very flimsy cotton material. the dress is very long. i got it in the mail and didn't even want to try it on. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Summer Souffle Dress
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

beautiful dress, runs EXTREMELY SMALL

PostedApril 26, 2011
Pros: pretty light fun
Cons: runs waaay too small
" i bought this dress to wear to my wedding!
beautiful spring/summer dress. i feel like i'm walking around in a cloud! the cotton managed to feel streamlined and gauzy at the same time. i love the full skirt (i have such a hard time finding tea length) and added a green scarf around the waist.
the only downside is that it appears to run VERY SMALL on top. i normally wear a 4, and i bought the dress in a 10, and am considering returning it for a 12. the waist is just way too tight--i could barely squish my bosom (i only wear a b cup!) into the 4, 6, and 8. luckily, the skirt is very forgiving, and i like it long, so that works out well. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Summer Souffle Dress
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

a beauty with a couple flaws

PostedMay 8, 2011
Pros: machine washable! always a +
Cons: tight around the bust area, material wrinkles easily
" I immediately fell in love with this dress seeing it online. The only difference I really noticed in person is the dress is a bit wrinkly. It's not that big a deal, but I'll definitely steam the dress a little bit before I wear it out.
I am normally a size 2, but the bust area of the dress was tight. It was uncomfortable and I had some trouble zipping up the back. I went up to a size 4 and it fit a lot better. It's still very form fitting and I think for women with a larger bust it would be very tight fit.
I'm 5'8" and the dress hits at around my knees. It's a fairly long dress so I'm not sure it would be flattering to everyone. The top is also fairly sheer so I would recommend a nude colored bra to wear underneath.
This is something you'd definitely have try on before purchasing since it may fit differently person to person. Overall, I still think this is a beautiful dress. I wish you ladies luck! :) "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Summer Souffle Dress
fromWashington DC
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

SIGH

PostedApril 26, 2011
Pros: beautiful fabric beautiful pattern
Cons: wacky fit
" I pined over this dress for days before I finally decided to buy it. I got it on Friday...it's beautiful, and well made. however...I think it's only meant to be worn by petite small framed ladies(I am athletic with a medium build) by the time I had the top pulled up to where it *should* be...the waist was sitting at a most unflattering place on my torso. after consulting with my husband...(who informed me that I looked like an extra from sound of music) I have decided it must go back. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 3 next>>