Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Summer Souffle Dress

Summer Souffle Dress
Overall rating:
3.412 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
14
1 Star
3
33 of 51(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress
Review 1 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedApril 28, 2011

Gorgeous summer frock!

I was very taken with the elegant femininity of this dress as soon as I saw it on display. The fabric is light and airy, without being too informal. The pattern has a beautiful watercolor feel to it. But what I love most about this dress is the fit; I'm a size 4 and, for me, the dress fits like a glove in that size. The bodice looks perfectly molded to my body and the cut nicely accentuates my waist. The only detraction is perhaps the zipper which seems shoddy and caught on the fabric several times when I tried it on. However, overall, this is my favorite Anthro summer pick thus far!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: feminine and striking great fit
Cons: mediocre zipper
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 1, 2011

this dress is very different in person. it's very flimsy cotton material. the dress is very long. i got it in the mail and didn't even want to try it on.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 28, 2011

a bit disappointed

the bodice seemed to be too short. the waist line needed to be a couple inches lower b/c the dress pooffed out halfway between my chest and bellybutton so it was not flattering. the print on the dress was nice though.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 29, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 29, 2011

Too Slim Of A Range.

When I spotted this dress online, I fell in love right away. I wanted it to be my graduation dress and so I went to the closest store, found my size, and tried it on. I have an hourglass figure so I thought it would accentuate my curves gloriously, wrong. This dress is pretty much made for ladies who have a super short torso since I have a long torso and it hit me in all the wrong places. It's a wonderful dress, just made for only a slim fit of body types; which all in all, is a pure shame.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: nice material, beautiful design, decent fitting
Cons: for certain body types only, hits too high for curvy women
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedApril 30, 2011

Beautiful on small-boned women!

I did not try this on, but I was in Anthropologie in NYC on Easter Sunday and I saw a young Asian woman (very slim build) with this on, and it looked fantastic on her. I don't think it would look good on a woman with any weight in her waist or hips. If you are tiny, though, this is the perfect dress for you!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: very feminine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedMay 5, 2011

beautiful dress, slightly poorly made

I actually purchased this dress to be my wedding dress this summer, for a river side wedding. I love the design but have had a little trouble with the sizing. the first dress i ordered was a little too tight in the bodice, but beautifully made: so i ordered the next size up. It came and fit a little better....a little too big now, but had a lot of little errors. Like i could see where someone had used the seem ripper to re-do parts. Also there is a black thread stuck between sewed together layers in the bodice, so it's this thin white fabric, with black thread that sticks out but that i can't get to in order to remove. lots of little things like that make the overall quality a little low. but for time's sake, i didn't want to send it back to get another one, so I'm sticking with it. I'm embroidering over the flowers to make it unique and give it depth, and so far so good. It's kinda my perfect wedding dress.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 8, 2011

Lovely.

I was in my local store today looking for a dress to wear for an upcoming special event and this fabulous frock immediately caught my eye.
I had been a bit afraid that the dress would be too long for me because I am so short...but when I tried it on I was pleasantly surprised. The size 6 fit me perfectly and fell about an inch past my knee. The waistline was very flattering and the material was soft and a gorgeous cream color. This dress is the perfect mix of classy and romantic.
I can't wait to show it off!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 6, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 6, 2011

Disappointed

I bought this dress to wear on my honeymoon in Greece but am very disappointed. The dress is beautiful and has a gorgeous design but the dress lining was cut and hemmed unevenly so a part of it hangs weirdly out from under the skirt. Very poor manufacturing.
Also the optional spaghetti straps are sort of adjustable but can only be adjusted so far before they are sewn tightly preventing further adjustment. This is stupid because the top of the dress is way too small (I always wear a 4, but in this dress I am gasping for breath and its bursting at the seams) and would fit better if only it could be adjusted further.
I am calling Anthropologie today to either return or exchange the dress...I am so disappointed!
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros: pretty, soft and feminine, full skirt
Cons: poorly poorly made
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 9, 2011

Lovely

I loved this dress in person and online. It is so feminine. THe fabric is lightweight and the full skirt is so much fun. I don't see needing a slip underneath as it is double lined already. The fit was perfet on my hourglass shape and with a belt this will easily become a staple in my summer wardrobe.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMay 12, 2011

Amazingly fun & flirty frock

I was in need of a dress to wear to an evening outdoor wedding & I stumbled across this dress at my anthro store. Although it is cream, it has enough color to make it acceptable for a wedding. I paired it with a rustic red belt & red ballet flats to balance it out. It's such a precious dress & so figure flattering--it made my waist look so tiny! Definitely will become a summer staple dress for me. Oh, and it does amazing things when you dance in it--it twirls beautifully when you spin & move!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 23, 2011

Beautiful summer frock

I found the size fit the same as other Moulinette Seours dresses. It sits high and has a beautiful drape. The straps are flimsy and one actually ripped apart - I fixed it, but my husband thought that was ridiculous for a $200 dress. The price is high, but I didn't want to risk the dress being sold out (it is already gone in certain sizes online). Paired it with the thin gold belt and heels.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful drape classic
Cons: price flimsy straps
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 12, 2011

really need to try this on first

after reading all the widely varied reviews of this dress, i was a bit hesitant. however, since it's a beautiful dress and hard to get ahold of -- when i first saw it, it was only available in a 10 -- i snatched it up when it became available in a 4, and then just to be safe, again when it became available in a 2. i'm 5'0", 34c and i recently bought the overwhelmed aster dress (also by moulinette soeurs) in a regular size 2 (tried it on in the store). i might've been able to get into a 0 in that dress, but the 2 fit comfortably and there was no 0 in the store. 4 was the smallest size available in this dress, so i snatched it up, then a 2 a day later. the sizing is odd with this dress. the dress is definitely not for someone with a long torso. the 4 fit me well -- not gaping in the rib cage and the top was the right length to cover my short torso. the 2 however fit far worse. the torso seemed way too short (would've spent the whole night tugging it up), but that sort of made sense given that it was one size down from the 4... but, the rib cage on the 2 was noticeable looser than the 4. the length seemed to be the same on both the 2 and the 4. the length hits 1-2 inches below my knee, so being short, i'll need to wear this with heels to add a little length visually to what can actually be seen of my legs.
maybe it was this particular size 2 dress, but it fit terribly. i will be returning it to a store shortly. i washed the 4 as recommended, and love it even more. the poofiness at the waist has diminished a little with washing, although the bottom is still full thanks to the crinoline lining.
my biggest complaint -- with the price of this dress, the peculiar fit/sizing, and the lack of availability in stores, anthropologie.com really should've made an effort to offer discount shipping. it's so expensive and then to have to pay shipping twice was so frustrating.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: simple yet elegant summer dress
Cons: really wonky sizing, not available in stores
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 22, 2011

gorgeous dress

This dress is so pretty in person. The pattern looks handpainted and the cotton feels lovely on. I would say that it fits very snugly in the chest area and would suggest people to size up, unless you are very small. I will say the dress is very short-waisted, which is a matter of taste and may be a negative for some people. I found it extremely flattering. One thing I did not like was the attachments for the detachable straps showed when they were attached and looked like bra straps. I didn't try it on without the straps so I can't speak to that.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: gorgeous print flattering shape
Cons: price
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 26, 2011

SIGH

I pined over this dress for days before I finally decided to buy it. I got it on Friday...it's beautiful, and well made. however...I think it's only meant to be worn by petite small framed ladies(I am athletic with a medium build) by the time I had the top pulled up to where it *should* be...the waist was sitting at a most unflattering place on my torso. after consulting with my husband...(who informed me that I looked like an extra from sound of music) I have decided it must go back.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful fabric beautiful pattern
Cons: wacky fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 26, 2011

beautiful dress, runs EXTREMELY SMALL

i bought this dress to wear to my wedding!
beautiful spring/summer dress. i feel like i'm walking around in a cloud! the cotton managed to feel streamlined and gauzy at the same time. i love the full skirt (i have such a hard time finding tea length) and added a green scarf around the waist.
the only downside is that it appears to run VERY SMALL on top. i normally wear a 4, and i bought the dress in a 10, and am considering returning it for a 12. the waist is just way too tight--i could barely squish my bosom (i only wear a b cup!) into the 4, 6, and 8. luckily, the skirt is very forgiving, and i like it long, so that works out well.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pretty light fun
Cons: runs waaay too small
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedApril 26, 2011

Lovely Summer Dress, Bad Cut

I love the light feel of this dress, the delicate flower print, sweetheart neckline, and pockets. The fabric is very light - and the skirt has that wonderful twirling effect. The material is a little thin and will definitely require nude undergarments. I choose to keep the straps on - and I think they are of good quality (and definitely lend to the versatility of this dress.)
Fit: I am a six/eight. This is the six - and although the back of the dress is flexible - I really think I would have been more comfortable in the eight. That being said - the cut was all wrong. The waist is cut ridiculously high - and hits at the most unflattering angle, so that the skirt flairs out at just the wrong spot. I am thick-waisted, so this problem may be exaggerated on my frame - but I imagine many people will encounter the same issue.
I think for maybe very hour-glass figures or those with a shorter torso it might be the perfect summer dress - but for me, despite how many things I love about this dress - there's no getting around feeling wider than normal.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: fabric, print
Cons: cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Straight and slender
PostedMay 8, 2011

a beauty with a couple flaws

I immediately fell in love with this dress seeing it online. The only difference I really noticed in person is the dress is a bit wrinkly. It's not that big a deal, but I'll definitely steam the dress a little bit before I wear it out.
I am normally a size 2, but the bust area of the dress was tight. It was uncomfortable and I had some trouble zipping up the back. I went up to a size 4 and it fit a lot better. It's still very form fitting and I think for women with a larger bust it would be very tight fit.
I'm 5'8" and the dress hits at around my knees. It's a fairly long dress so I'm not sure it would be flattering to everyone. The top is also fairly sheer so I would recommend a nude colored bra to wear underneath.
This is something you'd definitely have try on before purchasing since it may fit differently person to person. Overall, I still think this is a beautiful dress. I wish you ladies luck! :)
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: machine washable! always a +
Cons: tight around the bust area, material wrinkles easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 1, 2011

Very Pretty

I bought this to be my "Summer Dress." The fabric is beautiful and light, and the design is very striking. The extra poof makes you feel very girlie.
However, one of the straps tore within 5 minutes of wearing the dress. Luckily I had the ability to sew it back when I got home. The bodice is cut really high and the poof makes you look a bit pregnant, lol. The waistline is definitely not flattering. I am usually a size 2 and bought the size 2, and it fit perfect.
HOWEVER, I fixed this issue by getting a wide, satin, tan sash to tie around the middle, and it offset the weird waistline cut and looked extra pretty.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: flowing fabric great design light
Cons: weird cut at waistline straps aren't sewn strong.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 2, 2011

Very Disappointing

I had such high hopes for this dress as it looked lovely on the model. The sizing of this dress was so strange, usually a 2 fits me fine but the 4 in this dress had me squashed into it and was very unflattering. The waist was cut very high making me look like I was 12 years old in a "spring sack".
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lovely fabric and print.
Cons: weird sizing and unflattering cut.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 5, 2011

Gorgeous fit...for taller girls

The dress fits very well if you happen to be taller...it hangs well, esp with a belt. It was a little big for me (they only had the size 8 and i'm usually a 6), but with a wide belt, perfect. Fabric is not as good quality as it could be tho.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>