Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Summer Souffle Dress

Summer Souffle Dress
Overall rating:
3.412 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
14
1 Star
3
33 of 51(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Summer Souffle Dress
Review 1 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 20, 2011

felt like lisle from sound of music

I REALLY wanted to like this dress, but it is not flattering. It hits high and then flares out abruptl making me look pregnant.
A little too Julie Andrews for me...
plus the sweetheart neckline is too high to go strapless
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lovely fabric
Cons: the hills are a little too alive, fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 26, 2011

beautiful dress, runs EXTREMELY SMALL

i bought this dress to wear to my wedding!
beautiful spring/summer dress. i feel like i'm walking around in a cloud! the cotton managed to feel streamlined and gauzy at the same time. i love the full skirt (i have such a hard time finding tea length) and added a green scarf around the waist.
the only downside is that it appears to run VERY SMALL on top. i normally wear a 4, and i bought the dress in a 10, and am considering returning it for a 12. the waist is just way too tight--i could barely squish my bosom (i only wear a b cup!) into the 4, 6, and 8. luckily, the skirt is very forgiving, and i like it long, so that works out well.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pretty light fun
Cons: runs waaay too small
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedApril 26, 2011

Lovely Summer Dress, Bad Cut

I love the light feel of this dress, the delicate flower print, sweetheart neckline, and pockets. The fabric is very light - and the skirt has that wonderful twirling effect. The material is a little thin and will definitely require nude undergarments. I choose to keep the straps on - and I think they are of good quality (and definitely lend to the versatility of this dress.)
Fit: I am a six/eight. This is the six - and although the back of the dress is flexible - I really think I would have been more comfortable in the eight. That being said - the cut was all wrong. The waist is cut ridiculously high - and hits at the most unflattering angle, so that the skirt flairs out at just the wrong spot. I am thick-waisted, so this problem may be exaggerated on my frame - but I imagine many people will encounter the same issue.
I think for maybe very hour-glass figures or those with a shorter torso it might be the perfect summer dress - but for me, despite how many things I love about this dress - there's no getting around feeling wider than normal.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: fabric, print
Cons: cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 28, 2011

a bit disappointed

the bodice seemed to be too short. the waist line needed to be a couple inches lower b/c the dress pooffed out halfway between my chest and bellybutton so it was not flattering. the print on the dress was nice though.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 1, 2011

Undecided

I love this dress, but I'm having a hard time with the fact that the top is so see through. I can foresee also that any sign of perspiration will definitely (and easily) show through the fabric.
Great idea for a summer dress.. but wish the material was thicker on top to show less undergarment details and inevitable perspiration during the late Spring and Summer months!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: fantastic idea for a dress, love the design, love the tulle underneath
Cons: thin fabric, easily will show any sign of moisture
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Athletic
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 5, 2011

Looks better on mannequin=(

This dress is supposed to be totally my style: sweetheart tube top, floral prints creeping up soft white cotton, even the tulles underneath the bottom of the dress spells my style out. However, this dress runs at least one size small. I am 34-27-36 and size 4 dresses and skirts fit me pretty well, but this size 4 is super tight at the smallest part. Speaking of which, the cinched part of the dress is uncomfortably right at the widest part of my ribcage. I have pretty narrow hips but am wider at the torso, so the fact that most of the fit wrapping around the top on my athletic build makes me look wider than I'd like. It falls down to my mid-calves, which is fine, but this probably would look better on a non-vertically challenged person. I can only recommend this to a slim model looking friend.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: gorgeous floral prints, soft cotton
Cons: unflattering fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):8
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 12, 2011

Beautiful!

Beautifully made dress! This dress not only fits me perfectly, the details and craftsmanship are fantastic.
Other reviews commented on this dress having too high a waist but I am 5'8" and it hits me right at the smallest part of my waist!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 12, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedMay 12, 2011

Cuter online than in person

I tried this on in the store yesterday and it is not nearly as cute as it looks. The shape falls strangely, you would need to wear a belt with it. It also seems to be pretty poorly constructed with cheap fabric. I would skip it.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):0
Body type:Petite
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedMay 17, 2011

Not fit for a normal sized person

I'm 5 ft and 105 lbs with a 34b chest and i could NOT zipper this over my boobs no way... i always wear a zero from anthro but a zero in this dress doesn't stand a chance. i'd need at least a 2 or 4 and then it would be far too long. It's a pretty dress but nowhere near 200$ in quality and the fit of this dress is made for someone taller and thin. The puffiness of the skirt of the dress is a nice touch and that's the only plus I'll give it. I'd recommend this to a friend but only one out of everyone I know might stand a chance of fitting in to it.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: puffy pretty skirt
Cons: made for a stick thin person
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedJune 22, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJune 22, 2011

Doesnt worth the money

I got a crush on this dress when I saw it online. It is really too expensive and after a long time struggle I ordered it. For reference, I am 5.5 feet (166 cm), 32 b, and 105 lb, usually wearing size 0. I thought the skinny design and high waistline might fit for me. When I received my first order, size 0, it was really tight on my bust. Otherwise, it looks terrific. So I sent it back for exchanging to size 2. The exchanged products really let me down. It was washed by the former owner, the label nearly dropped, and several places defective. Then I sent it back again and exchanged for the third one. I have to say the the dress is elegant but doest worth for 200 dollar.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: beautiful flower, good design
Cons: low quality, too expensive, tight on the top
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedJune 30, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 30, 2011

CUTE EXTRA PUFFY SUMMER DRESS

This dress takes the cake for puffiness that I have ever come across, and I am a lover of puffy dresses, there has not been one puffy dress that I did not love, but that said, the jury is out on this one, I was not fortunate to come across this dress at store level, but obsessd over this on the website, lookes soo adorable, cute, summery, for all types of occasions and is worthy of being a wedding dress infact, based on the many reviews pretty much everyone said this ran 1-2 sizes small, for this brand I have lots of 4's and one 6, as I am 34b, 28, 34, 120 lbs, and at 5'6, so I decided to be on the safe side and order 6/8/10, I didnt even try on the 6 or 8, but went straight for the 10, because it looked like a 4, zipped it up, which was slightly a pain, because of the overlap in material at the zipper, wish it wasnt there, SUPER TIGHT! EVERYWHERE, WHAT?, Soo tight, couldnt breath or be comfy in any way possible, even after adjusting the straps as long as they could go, they actualy needed to be about 6 inches longer, looked in the miror, my boobs looked like they where bursting at the seems, and on the verge of breaking the seems, I took out my measure tape, the bust was barely at 33 inches, and the waist was just making it at 27 inches, and this was the size 10?? So in my opinion this dress does not run 1-2 sizes smaller but 3-4 times smaller, so here I am debating on weather I should fork over the money for a size 12 in the hopes the bust and waist may be even an inch bigger, so lke I said the jury is out on this one, the dress is cute and pretty, but kind of unusual weirdly puffy, like a cupcake or cake topper, and runs extra, extra small, hym, what to do?
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute unique summer pattern
Cons: runs 3-4 sizes small, unusual extra puffy bottom
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Athletic
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedApril 26, 2011

SIGH

I pined over this dress for days before I finally decided to buy it. I got it on Friday...it's beautiful, and well made. however...I think it's only meant to be worn by petite small framed ladies(I am athletic with a medium build) by the time I had the top pulled up to where it *should* be...the waist was sitting at a most unflattering place on my torso. after consulting with my husband...(who informed me that I looked like an extra from sound of music) I have decided it must go back.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful fabric beautiful pattern
Cons: wacky fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 1, 2011

this dress is very different in person. it's very flimsy cotton material. the dress is very long. i got it in the mail and didn't even want to try it on.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 2, 2011

Very Disappointing

I had such high hopes for this dress as it looked lovely on the model. The sizing of this dress was so strange, usually a 2 fits me fine but the 4 in this dress had me squashed into it and was very unflattering. The waist was cut very high making me look like I was 12 years old in a "spring sack".
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lovely fabric and print.
Cons: weird sizing and unflattering cut.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 3, 2011

a dress that will fit a selected few

This is definitely a dress that picks its wearer. Not many will be able to fit this dress. She'd have to be slender and needing to add a little around the hips. She'd have to probably have a short torso because a person with a long torso body will be wearing this dress more like an empire waistline.
I really wanted this dress to fit but it definitely didn't make it to my closet.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: pretty flowers, material is really nice and soft
Cons: only for short torso bodies, only for skinnier people., adds too much to the hips.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 10, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):6
Height (inches):0
Body type:Athletic
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedMay 10, 2011

Sweet Girlie Dress

This dress brought a big smile to my face when I saw it online. Once it arrived in the mail, I had to work the straps a bit to get them to their maximum length. After achieving that feat, it fit perfectly. I love the flounce and bounce it has, and I feel that it's a great cocktail dress for the summer.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: light weight and great for hot weather
Cons: those somewhat pesky straps
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 15, 2011

Prettier in person

I totally disagree with the reviewer who said this was poorly constructed and cheap material. (My grandfather was a tailor, so I am very picky and know what to look for) This dress is well made and although the fabric is thin it is high quality and the dress is lined. Unfortuanately I could not buy this dress because the store did not have my size and my size is no longer available on line either. There is a reason this dress is selling well - it's a great dress
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: styling and construction
Cons: you didn't have my size
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 21, 2011

Lovely, but try before you buy.

I bought this dress for my casual garden wedding this summer and it is absolutely perfect. It's light and airy and very flattering--I'm in love.
That said, the first time I tried on the dress I was not impressed. I'm glad I didn't buy it online, because I think the pictures do not accurately represent the dress. In fact, my local store never even got the dress as part of their regular shipment but there were quite a few in stock due to online returns.
A few things to note before you purchase this dress:
It runs a bit big. The first one I tried was a 4 and while it fit (I'm 5'4", 140 lbs.,high-waisted, and rather small on top) it was NOT flattering. I'm usually a size 8 in dresses, but can sometimes get into a 6. Size 6 in this dress fits me PERFECTLY, so if you're in between sizes, try the smaller one.
The waist really is quite high. This works well for me, but I can see it being an issue for those with a longer torso. It may look more empire-waisted than pictured.
Also, the top is VERY sheer. There's not quite enough structure there to hold everything in--and I'm only a 36B. I wouldn't really recommend this if you have a larger bust. You'll also need a nude strapless bra or in my case, a bustier because it is totally see-through, even in dim fitting room lighting. Once I got that figured out, I fell head over heels for this dress.
One more thing: unless you have a model's long legs, the dress is tea length. This makes it look rather formal, which is another reason I love it for my wedding. I probably wouldn't wear it in a casual setting.
It's comfortable, delicate and beautiful and I can't wait for the big day.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering for a pear-shaped girl!, comfortable and soft, perfect for a summer formal event
Cons: top is very sheer, waist is very high, runs large
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 23, 2011

Beautiful summer frock

I found the size fit the same as other Moulinette Seours dresses. It sits high and has a beautiful drape. The straps are flimsy and one actually ripped apart - I fixed it, but my husband thought that was ridiculous for a $200 dress. The price is high, but I didn't want to risk the dress being sold out (it is already gone in certain sizes online). Paired it with the thin gold belt and heels.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful drape classic
Cons: price flimsy straps
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Summer Souffle Dress
PostedApril 21, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 21, 2011

PERFECT! (with a few tweaks)

I love this dress. It's feminine and flows beautifully and is exactly what I was looking for to wear to my grad school day-time graduation. I love the pattern, though I don't know if it was placed in exactly the same spot as the picture, it is definitely close. A few things I tweaked to make it perfect for me, and that might be considerations. First, I removed a layer of tulle that is in the skirt. It's a full skirt already and with it, it was too puffy. I also had it hemmed a couple inches. Again, I like it long, but it was really long. With those corrections, it's perfect. Also, please note that it might run a little large, so if you are between sizes, maybe order down.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft feminine high quality
Cons: very full skirt tulle
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>