Customer reviews for Lipstick Queen Medieval

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Lipstick Queen Medieval

Lipstick Queen Medieval
Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lipstick Queen Medieval
Review 1 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedNovember 8, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 8, 2010

Lipstick-shy?

Lipstick Queen Medieval is good for those like me who are lipstick-shy. If you forget you're wearing Medieval lipstick there are no horrible consequences--it will just fade away. It goes on like Chapstick, moisturizing and soft, but also leaves a noticeable tint.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: moisturizing, pretty, subtle
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 19, 2011

Light pink lipstick

Color is very subtle, but on me looks quite pink as opposed to the red I was hoping for. I also found it to be drying.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 14, 2010

For those afraid of lipstick

Sheer and goes on sheer. It is darker in color than the picture here suggests. Truly looks fantastic on any skin tone. This is the go to color when you want to brighten your face. Instant "Radiance in a Tube". Worth the money, I have many tubes of very expensive lipsticks that I do not wear as often as this one.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great color, gives a natural glow to skin
Cons: has parabens, cost
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedDecember 25, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 25, 2010

The best lipstick ever

This is the easiest to wear lipstick I have ever used. The color is so natural, just like you but more so. Gives a flush to the lips that is very flattering to my skin. I have a pale olive complexion and brown eyes. As another reviewer said, it wears off evenly. Does not dry your lips. Only downside is, it is not long lasting as are the "sinner" lipsticks and must be reapplied but it is so fabulous I don't mind.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 7, 2011

Flattery

The perfect pink/red sheer color. It's not thick like lipstick, too shiny like a gloss, or too flat like a stain, it's ALL THREE in one!! Incredible product and highly recommended. Oh, and it doesn't dry out my lips like EVERYTHING else.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJanuary 20, 2011

Gorgeous Red!!!!

I bought this lipstick on a whim. I am a hardcore MAC fan but I've been looking for a red lip stain for awhile and have never been able to find a flattering red. For reference, I am Latina with coloring like Eva Mendes with darker hair and most red lipsticks tend to be too dramatic for daytime or don't match my coloring. Midieval compliments my coloring perfectly. It reminds me of the way lips look after you have had a cherry icicle. Natural, soft, with enough color to make your lips pop but not draw too much attention to the lipstick. The lipstick is easy to wear and makes your lips feel super soft. It fades off without that ring that most dark lipsticks tend to leave behind. I highly recommend this product.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 28, 2010

Perfect low key color, like my natural lip color, just better. Much better.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedAugust 29, 2011

LOVELY LIPS!

Lipstick Queen Medieval brings happiness to my face! Is soft,smooth & Sheer . Not dark, but deep,not bright, but deep sheer color.Both myy daughter & I LOVE IT!!
I would recomend this lipstick as i beleive it can look good on everyone! I wore it with smokey eyes and WoW!!!! & looked great together;
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: sheersoftjust right
Cons: hard to find
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedApril 16, 2011

In love...

I'm not a huge lipstick wearer, my lips already have a nice red hue, and I hate how most of the lipsticks I have tried make my lips look dry and cracked. Lipstick Queen Medieval is nothing like that. With vitamin E this lipstick goes on smooth and leaves my lips feeling moisturized while adding to their natural color. Lipstick Queen Medieval has the comfort and ease of a chapstick, yet I feel like a queen. I definitely recommend this product!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: moisturizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedAugust 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:45-49
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedAugust 3, 2011

Excellent and beautiful for everyone

Do not be afraid of the color, it's transparent; therefore, the depth of color is adjustable. One light layer will provide beautiful, natural loveliness. More application will provide a fantastic and more dramatic look. Lipstick Queen's products are incredibly moisturizing and comfortable to wear. I own several colors in all the finishes.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: moisturizing beautiful color, well-made
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJanuary 12, 2012

Utterly wonderful!

I tried this on a lark and now I'm obsessed. It wears so much better than most lipsticks - no cracking, drying, bleeding color but plenty of lovely, soft, moisturizing but not greasy sheer pigment that's bound to bring compliments. I'm lazy with my make up and on days when I can get away with a little powder and mascara, this is the perfect finishing touch. It's unlike any lipstick I've ever tried. As another reviewer pointed out, you can go with a light flush of red or layer it some for a deeper look. I'm already on my second tube and I'm beyond glad I decided to try it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great color, moisturizing, not greasy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedMarch 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 28, 2011

Sublte healthy looking color

I wouldn't call this a lipstick--it falls more in the category of tinted lip balm. It feels nice--not too heavy or greasy. I think it would look good on just about anybody, if only because it's so sheer. Before you put it on, it looks intensly red--but once you put it on, the red just accents your natural color. On me it looked more pink than red, and it wasn't very obvious that I was wearing lipstick at all. If there's any risk in buying it, I think it's that you may find it's a little too subtle. Definitely not a night- time, going out lipstick, but a nice choice for a fresh, natural daytime look.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: feels good, fool proof color
Cons: may be too subtle for some
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedDecember 7, 2011

BEST RED IVE FOUND!

Ive been looking for the perfect red lipstick for the last 5 years, and I finally found it! It can be a sheer 'barely there' look, or layered for a more dramatic red. This colour would look good on almost anyone, and I highly recommend giving it a try. Poppy king is the lipstick queen for sure!!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
PostedJanuary 10, 2012

A young, glamorous red

There's something youthful about this sheer red, and that's wonderful. The effect is fresh, dewy, and pure. But it's red, so it still has a certain glamour. It feels light, with no annoying perfume scent or taste. Wear a little for a soft, rosy effect, or layer on another coat or two for more intensity. It's impossible to put on too much if you stay inside the lines. It really works for any skin tone, but remember, it's never going to blend in and disappear entirely. It's RED.
This is the lipstick to give to your girlfriends who panic around cosmetics. Sometimes an outfit doesn't look "finished" without a touch of makeup — party dresses, tailored suits — and this can do the job all by itself, about as easily as slapping on Chapstick.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedMay 9, 2011

Medievil Lipstick

This lipstick is great for those with sensitive skin, it doesn't irritate at all like some lipsticks. The color is a bit disappointing. When I think of a stain I think of something much deeper - this is more of a gloss with some color. It's a nice product for daytime as it's very natural looking.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 20, 2012

Perfect lip stain

I spent weeks searching for the perfect sheer red lip stain. Heretofore what I'd mostly found -- and what I most definitely didn't want -- were varieties of gaudy crimson lipsticks and glosses that entered the room before I did. I'm Far East Asian, pale with a yellow undertint, and I usually wear minimal makeup. Lipstick Queen's Medieval is perfect. It's layerable, so a single swipe looks like natural pigment, a couple of passes make me look like perhaps I've been eating spicy food, and a third layer give me that post-popsicle pout. I gave LQ only 3 stars for aesthetic because the packaging could be so much better -- but then again, the money's all in the product, and I'm far happier with this $20 lipstick than with the $36 Dior lipstick I bought a month ago.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: packaging
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedAugust 27, 2012

Not what I expected

From the other reviews of medieval I thought that it would be more red, almost a red lip stain. On me, it is more of a coral shade instead. (For reference I have fair hair, skin, and pale green eyes.) I generally prefer reds with more blue in them than orange. It is still nice as a one coat moisturizer, which is the only reason that I would recommend this product. If I had tried it before buying it I wouldn't have purchased it because it takes several applications for the color to really come out and when it does, it is not that flattering with my complexion.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: moisturizer
Cons: color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedNovember 29, 2012

A gloss, not lipstick

If you are looking for a subtle, rosy tinted gloss then this is for you! I was hoping for something with a bit more oomph - some of that pretty red you see in the tube! I read others reviews which said you can layer for more red -- I don't really see how. Even when you layer, sure it gets a bit thicker, but also glossier and a little icky for me (I guess I'm a matte lip girl) with not much change in hue.
Another con: I'm very sensitive to any lipstick with fragrance. This has a bit of the taste/ gives me the same weird feeling in my throat as chapstick. In other words, it's OK and I'll use it. But I think there are similar products that have worked better for me like Revlon's Lip Butter (though I'll admit, their reds aren't quite as good but they are less than half the price. )
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: gloss (hey maybe it's a pro for some people)
Cons: it's a gloss, a bit irritating to throat, very little color
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedDecember 26, 2012

Gorgeous layerable color

I'm someone who probably has no business wearing red lipstick since I have fair, pinkish skin and rather thin lips. That said, I am in love with this lipstick! It's perfect for adding a tiny bit of va-va-voom. The color is layerable, which is great because I can add just a tiny bit of this beautiful red. Here's how I like it best so far: I line my lips with my usual just-darker-than-my-natural-lip-color tawny pink, then apply a light layer of Medieval, then apply lip balm, then smoosh my lips together to mix it all up!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful, layerable, sheer to opaque depending on how much is applied
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lipstick Queen Medieval
PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):5
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedDecember 21, 2012

Perfect Sheer Red

I have never been a lipstick girl...even at 29, I've never found a color I find flattering. Normally, I just use a sheer lip balm. This lipstick is definitely red, but a really sheer red that I think will flatter anyone! It's perfect for non-lipstick wearers to have something to up their game a little bit!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great color sheer flattering on all skin tones
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>