Customer reviews for Back Porch Blouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Back Porch Blouse

Back Porch Blouse
Overall rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
34 of 38(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Back Porch Blouse
Review 1 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 8, 2011

WOW!

I said "wow" when I tried this on. It fits beautifully. It's versatile, you can wear it open like a cardigan or buttoned up as a blouse. I bought the size 6, I am 5'9" and 140 lb
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 12, 2011

Not great on me

I would have to agree with 2nd reviewer of this blouse that it was not great for me. I am a curvy girl 36D, size 10, olive skin with yellow undertones, black hair and I did not really care for this blouse on me. The cut good. I had room to close the blouse and the fit was very flattering. But the color was another story... Just for reference the color of this is more of a dark french vanilla vs ivory. Ivory usually looks good on me. This color did not. It just looked blah... I don't have any other descriptive word that fits better. This was just blah on me. It just kinda blended into my skin and made me look blah.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cut, quality, fit
Cons: color on olive skin
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 13, 2011

Timeless and Beautiful

I saw this in my store and it caught my eye. It has a beautiful lace design. I love the snap closure in front and the ruched sleeves. I am 130 lbs., 36-28-35 and bought the size 4. I am usually a size 6. The size four is definitely fitted on me but I did try on with a shirt underneath, which is how I will wear it. I think it is easy to dress up or down and a timeless piece in my closet. The price is steep and I wasn't sure about paying that much but I'm not sure this will make to sale and I didn't want to risk it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJanuary 15, 2011

I didn't think much of this when I saw it online, but it caught my eye in the store.
I had to size up, mostly because of the bust. I'm a 36D and even in the next size up, the tiny snaps kept popping open. This is ok, because I probably will only wear it open over a dress or cami anyway.
The sleeves are slightly puffed and ruched, giving the top a little bit of structure.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedFebruary 12, 2011

Charming Versatile Blouse

I tried this top on in the store and it was love. It looks great with jeans and other pants, tucked into a skirt and belted, or over a dress. I know I will get a lot of wear out of it.
My only issue is that it has snaps instead of buttons (I think only one other reviewer mentioned this and I want to emphasize it as it made a big difference for me). I have a 36D chest and even after sizing up from the 10 to the 12, the snaps still pop open. I will take it to a tailor to have them swap the snaps for buttons or hook and eye closures so I have the option to wear it closed if I want.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: femenine detail, tailored fit, ruched sleeves, versatility
Cons: snaps
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedFebruary 13, 2011

Really cute blouse

So I didn't buy this blouse..yet...only because they didn't have it in size 14 and the 12 was just a bit too snug. Very well made. I love the shirring down the sleeves...adds that perfect dose of femme styling. Also, extremely versatile. Hoping I can order it soon!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fabricstylecolor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedFebruary 17, 2011

Runs very small

This top is pretty, but very tricky. I tried on my usual size 10 in the store & bought it. However, on getting it home I realized I should have sized up to prevent gaping at my chest (has snaps up the placket). It also fit too snug where it hit at the hips. I ordered a '12' and *then* a '14' online when the 12 was also tight in the same areas. A sales lady showed me a corset belt to style this top with, and it is fabulous. Overall, worth the effort to find the right size - I recommend trying on several sizes in the store!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: delicate pretty
Cons: worry about ripping the delicate lace, runs very small especially in hips, snaps
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedFebruary 18, 2011

Doilies and Lace

Last year, I purchased a top quite similar to this one, namely the 'Eyelet Dahlia Blouse' made by Mise en Scene by Ruffian. My affinity for eyelet and lace compelled me to try this version. The pretty ivory lattice pattern is delicate looking, but substantial. This blouse has a very relaxed feel to it. I really liked the ruching on the sleeves. I tried my usual size 6 (for reference, I am 5'7 with a 34d bust) which fit very well; to my surprise and pleasure, I detected absolutely no pulling with the snap closures. Though the hem was a bit shorter than anticipated, it did at least reach my upper hip. The open lacework means that a camisole must be worn beneath if you plan to wear this as a top. It would look equally wonderful worn as a jacket or cardigan, especially over a dress during the hot days of summer. During cooler months, a turtleneck layered beneath would really set off the intricate lace. This is a versatile, seasonless garment. Definitely recommended.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty lace, machine washable, can be worn multiple seasons
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 31, 2010

Exactly as I expected

In response to the reviewer below me, in her photos it is pretty obvious to me that she is an inverted triangle body shape. That's part of her issue here, this cut is not meant to flatter that particular shape. I am hourglass, leaning ever so slightly toward pear and this fit me like a dream. I wish I would have thought to take photos when I tried it on. Alas, I will not be able to until I receive it for my birthday present. My mother purchased this for me for my birthday and I know it will be getting tons of wear, it is also a transitional piece. It will very successfully make it through all seasons with the right colors and textures beneath it. Yes, you must wear a cami or some sort of under layer, but I personally think that is very obvious from the photos, as well as part of it's charm. I love the sleeves and the detailing, a must try. :)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: feminine easily layered detailed
Cons: will not flatter all shapes
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 4, 2011

simply stunning

I tried this top/jacket at the Brinton Lakes Anthropologie store and fell in love with its many personalities. Easy to pair with your faded jeans, skirts and summer dresses. I paired mine with the military style sanctuary vest. One can wear it open as a vest/jacket or as a top with a cami or as a belted shirt. Well made. I am five foot tall and shy of a 100 pounds and the 0 fit very well .I usually take a 2 in Anthro tops.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedMarch 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMarch 7, 2011

I'm worried about the shirt getting snagged on something, but aside from that it's adorable! Very unique cardigan.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedMarch 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedMarch 15, 2011

Versatile and Delicate

The delicate lace and dainty, yet structured silhouette of this top caught my eye in the store. Since purchasing it, I have worn it out at night with jeans and boots/heels, and tucked into a pencil skirt or worn with slacks for work. As for the fit - I am long and thin up top, and this fit TTS for me with a 0. I can see where the snap buttons would be a problem for bustier girls, so I would suggest sizing up if this is a concern. Overall, great purchase and timeless piece
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful pattern versatile
Cons: fabric is easily snagged
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 31, 2010

Super Multifunctional

When I picked up this lacey shirt I really didn't know how functional it would be however the elaborate work was so pretty I thought it was worth a try.
I was pleasantly surprised in the fitting room after trying on 10 different items to find that that this shirt can be worn open as a cardigan as well! It has cute ruching/folds on the arms/sleeves and is a very flattering fit for women with shorter torsos. The length for me ends right below the waistline for pants.
A twist is that the buttons are snap buttons making it a tad whimsical. A must buy in my opinion. Totally worth the price.
Size reference: 32b - 25 - 36, usually wear a size 0/xs in tops.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: gorgeous unique good quality
Cons: may not be for women with longer leaner builds.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMarch 31, 2011

disappointing purchase

After considering ordering this blouse for quite some time I finally got it and was so disappointed in the fit. I ordered my usual XS and It was very boxy on me and not flattering at all. Since I am not curvy I rely on my clothes to give me some shape and this didn't do it. I also think it would look better with buttons. I wish I could say I loved it but I can't!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 18, 2011

Not for big busted women

I am 5'3/34-36DD/10-12 blouse/8-10 bottom.
Last spring Ruffian for Mise En Scene did a white lace blouse that I liked the idea of-especially as it didn't require a cami underneath, but didn't purchase because the sleeves were too puffy. I was hoping this one would be a winner, but it didn't work for different reasons. Bodice is longer and narrower than the Mise En Scene and will require a cami underneath. Bust line not cut for D plus cups. Since the blouse requires a cami and is tight across the bust anyway, make sure you size up if you're in between sizes.
Love the sleeves and the blouse in general. It's a good shape for the right body type. Good quality. Though it's lace, it didn't seem fragile. Pretty sure I'd still dry clean it though. You could delicate wash in a bag and air dry, but ironing the lace and making sure the iron didn't catch any of the open work might be tricky.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJanuary 15, 2011

Versatile Piece

Loved lace and anything lace like. I like that their are gathers on the sleeves and also the snaps on the front. Will definitely need a cami underneath if you wear as a blouse. I am normally a size 6 and the size 6 fit perfectly. I'm a 34B.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJanuary 17, 2011

Adorable top but all sizes fit the same

This top is really really cute. I especially like it tucked in (i wore it with the yellow field skirt and a big brown leather belt).
The only weird thing about this blouse is that all of the sizes fit exactly the same! I tried on an 8, 10, and 12 and they all fit me almost identically. The strangest part was that I think the 10 was actually a little roomier than the 12.
I would go in to the store and try this on instead of ordering online because i think sizing is pretty inconsistent and all over the map.
That being said, it's worth the effort. I really love this! Very romantic and timeless.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: adorable romantic versatile
Cons: inconsistent sizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedApril 16, 2011

Pretty Enough

I waited on this one for awhile and finally ordered it a few weeks ago. I deliberated a few days once it arrived before deciding to keep it. Here’s why: The construction, color and quality are all good. Nice fabric. Snap enclosures not my favorite, I wish it had buttons but thats not a deal breaker. The sleeves are cute. Its flattering enough….its just not a WOW kind of blouse. I kept it mostly because of its versatility as a blouse or cardigan. This fit me TTS. I am 5’3, 120 lbs and 36D and got the size 8
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: nice design fits tts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 1, 2011

hate it!

this blouse is super unflattering and weird looking. Overall the blouse runs small so I would size up if you buy it. But total pass for me!
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Back Porch Blouse
PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 4, 2011

Elegant top

I bought this a while ago when it first showed up at my local store. It had a silk scarf tied around the neck, and I *love* the European flair this shirt has when paired with a beautiful scarf like this.
I have seen a couple reviews criticizing the fit - I am fairly hourglassy (130lbs, 34C) but I think it looks really flattering on me, with a skin-colored tank underneath. I can see how it would look boxy if you don't have a lot of natural curves, but I think it lays pretty nicely on someone curvy. I might avoid it if you are looking for something to add curve, though. I feel it makes me look a little more streamlined.
(PS - Any Glee fans? I'm pretty sure Quinn Fabray was wearing this shirt on the Lady Gaga episode recently.)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: euro flair, elegance
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next >>>