Customer reviews for Back Porch Blouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Back Porch Blouse

Back Porch Blouse
Average rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
34 of 38(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Back Porch Blouse
Review 1 for Back Porch Blouse
fromNorthern VA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Not sure what to make of it

PostedDecember 28, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I saw this shirt online and was totally fascinated by its delicate, airy and feminine qualities. So, of course, I was excited to try it on in the store and...it made me feel puzzled--I just don't know how I would make it work in my wardrobe. I tried on my regular size 4 (I am 5'1", 34D-26-36) and the fit was boxy, short and tight in the chest--very different from the website photo. The spaces between the buttons were gaping. On top of that, the shirt is completely see-through, so some sort of an under-layer is in order. Perhaps, it could work as a light summer jacket over a dress..."
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Back Porch Blouse
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedMay 26, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I'm somewhat torn about this top. I passed up the size 0, so it's probably too late now anyway since it's sold out pretty much everywhere. I tried it as a blouse, and wasn't wild about it that way, since the bottom button pulls quite a bit (I'm 5'1, 32A, 105 lbs). I think, as others have said, it would work better as a cardigan. It generally fit well everywhere, especially in the torso and back, but the sleeves looked too loose on me and were a very awkward length - I wish they were shorter. All in all, it's very pretty and I see why others love it, but I don't think it's for me."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Back Porch Blouse
fromSeattle, WA
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful lace blouse

PostedJune 4, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: versatile
Cons: delicate
"I don't know why I waited so long to try on this blouse, it is absolutely gorgeous. The lace is intricately cut and the little button snaps are delicate yet sturdy. The color is ivory. I like having the option to wear it as a blouse or a cardigan so I stuck with my usual size 6, which is bordering on a little big. I didn't have an issue with pulling between the snaps when closed, and I am busty (C cup). You could maybe size down if you plan to only wear it open."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Back Porch Blouse
fromSalt Lake City, UT
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very summerish

PostedJuly 12, 2012
User submitted photo
"At first I wasn't sure how to wear this with but I've been wearing it with pants skirts, with everything!
My only concern is that the snaps come undone SO easily but since you must wear a tank underneath the situation isn't totally embarrassing.
I think this runs small. I'm usually a size 2 and took a 0 on this one.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Back Porch Blouse
fromsan francisco, CA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

hate it!

PostedMay 1, 2011
User submitted photo
"this blouse is super unflattering and weird looking. Overall the blouse runs small so I would size up if you buy it. But total pass for me!"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Back Porch Blouse
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Super Multifunctional

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Pros: gorgeous unique good quality
Cons: may not be for women with longer leaner builds.
"When I picked up this lacey shirt I really didn't know how functional it would be however the elaborate work was so pretty I thought it was worth a try.
I was pleasantly surprised in the fitting room after trying on 10 different items to find that that this shirt can be worn open as a cardigan as well! It has cute ruching/folds on the arms/sleeves and is a very flattering fit for women with shorter torsos. The length for me ends right below the waistline for pants.
A twist is that the buttons are snap buttons making it a tad whimsical. A must buy in my opinion. Totally worth the price.
Size reference: 32b - 25 - 36, usually wear a size 0/xs in tops."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Back Porch Blouse
fromMidwest MO
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Doilies and Lace

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Pros: pretty lace, machine washable, can be worn multiple seasons
"Last year, I purchased a top quite similar to this one, namely the 'Eyelet Dahlia Blouse' made by Mise en Scene by Ruffian. My affinity for eyelet and lace compelled me to try this version. The pretty ivory lattice pattern is delicate looking, but substantial. This blouse has a very relaxed feel to it. I really liked the ruching on the sleeves. I tried my usual size 6 (for reference, I am 5'7 with a 34d bust) which fit very well; to my surprise and pleasure, I detected absolutely no pulling with the snap closures. Though the hem was a bit shorter than anticipated, it did at least reach my upper hip. The open lacework means that a camisole must be worn beneath if you plan to wear this as a top. It would look equally wonderful worn as a jacket or cardigan, especially over a dress during the hot days of summer. During cooler months, a turtleneck layered beneath would really set off the intricate lace. This is a versatile, seasonless garment. Definitely recommended."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Back Porch Blouse
fromBoulder/Wellington
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Not for big busted women

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
"I am 5'3/34-36DD/10-12 blouse/8-10 bottom.
Last spring Ruffian for Mise En Scene did a white lace blouse that I liked the idea of-especially as it didn't require a cami underneath, but didn't purchase because the sleeves were too puffy. I was hoping this one would be a winner, but it didn't work for different reasons. Bodice is longer and narrower than the Mise En Scene and will require a cami underneath. Bust line not cut for D plus cups. Since the blouse requires a cami and is tight across the bust anyway, make sure you size up if you're in between sizes.
Love the sleeves and the blouse in general. It's a good shape for the right body type. Good quality. Though it's lace, it didn't seem fragile. Pretty sure I'd still dry clean it though. You could delicate wash in a bag and air dry, but ironing the lace and making sure the iron didn't catch any of the open work might be tricky."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Back Porch Blouse
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Timeless and Beautiful

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
"I saw this in my store and it caught my eye. It has a beautiful lace design. I love the snap closure in front and the ruched sleeves. I am 130 lbs., 36-28-35 and bought the size 4. I am usually a size 6. The size four is definitely fitted on me but I did try on with a shirt underneath, which is how I will wear it. I think it is easy to dress up or down and a timeless piece in my closet. The price is steep and I wasn't sure about paying that much but I'm not sure this will make to sale and I didn't want to risk it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Back Porch Blouse
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Pretty Enough

PostedApril 16, 2011
Pros: nice design fits tts
"I waited on this one for awhile and finally ordered it a few weeks ago. I deliberated a few days once it arrived before deciding to keep it. Here’s why: The construction, color and quality are all good. Nice fabric. Snap enclosures not my favorite, I wish it had buttons but thats not a deal breaker. The sleeves are cute. Its flattering enough….its just not a WOW kind of blouse. I kept it mostly because of its versatility as a blouse or cardigan. This fit me TTS. I am 5’3, 120 lbs and 36D and got the size 8"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Back Porch Blouse
fromflorida
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:5 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedMarch 4, 2011
"I wanted this top so that i could wear it over dresses as a light cardigan in the summer. My Anthro store didnt have my size and after reading other reviews about the fit i was apprehensive about ordering it on line but i did anyways and i ordered the 14. Im really glad that i did. The arms are a little snug but not uncomfortable and it barely snaps closed around my chest. I really like the length of it. It is very pretty and delicate and im a little worried about how it will hold up. I wish that it had buttons rather than snaps but i knew it had snaps when i purchases it so its just a preferance. I think it is absolutly beautiful though. When ordering i would size up and i would be aware that it is very delicate. I think it would be a good buy if it goes on sale."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Back Porch Blouse
fromGilbert AZ
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Not great on me

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Pros: cut, quality, fit
Cons: color on olive skin
"I would have to agree with 2nd reviewer of this blouse that it was not great for me. I am a curvy girl 36D, size 10, olive skin with yellow undertones, black hair and I did not really care for this blouse on me. The cut good. I had room to close the blouse and the fit was very flattering. But the color was another story... Just for reference the color of this is more of a dark french vanilla vs ivory. Ivory usually looks good on me. This color did not. It just looked blah... I don't have any other descriptive word that fits better. This was just blah on me. It just kinda blended into my skin and made me look blah."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Back Porch Blouse
fromedison, nj
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Versatile Piece

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
"Loved lace and anything lace like. I like that their are gathers on the sleeves and also the snaps on the front. Will definitely need a cami underneath if you wear as a blouse. I am normally a size 6 and the size 6 fit perfectly. I'm a 34B."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Back Porch Blouse
fromDenver, CO
Height:5 ft.
Height:9 in.
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Runs very small

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Pros: delicate pretty
Cons: worry about ripping the delicate lace, runs very small especially in hips, snaps
"This top is pretty, but very tricky. I tried on my usual size 10 in the store & bought it. However, on getting it home I realized I should have sized up to prevent gaping at my chest (has snaps up the placket). It also fit too snug where it hit at the hips. I ordered a '12' and *then* a '14' online when the 12 was also tight in the same areas. A sales lady showed me a corset belt to style this top with, and it is fabulous. Overall, worth the effort to find the right size - I recommend trying on several sizes in the store!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Back Porch Blouse
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

simply stunning

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
"I tried this top/jacket at the Brinton Lakes Anthropologie store and fell in love with its many personalities. Easy to pair with your faded jeans, skirts and summer dresses. I paired mine with the military style sanctuary vest. One can wear it open as a vest/jacket or as a top with a cami or as a belted shirt. Well made. I am five foot tall and shy of a 100 pounds and the 0 fit very well .I usually take a 2 in Anthro tops."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Back Porch Blouse
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:7 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Adorable top but all sizes fit the same

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Pros: adorable romantic versatile
Cons: inconsistent sizing
"This top is really really cute. I especially like it tucked in (i wore it with the yellow field skirt and a big brown leather belt).
The only weird thing about this blouse is that all of the sizes fit exactly the same! I tried on an 8, 10, and 12 and they all fit me almost identically. The strangest part was that I think the 10 was actually a little roomier than the 12.
I would go in to the store and try this on instead of ordering online because i think sizing is pretty inconsistent and all over the map.
That being said, it's worth the effort. I really love this! Very romantic and timeless."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Back Porch Blouse
fromColorado
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedMay 26, 2011
"This is one of the rarer full price purchases for me. I'm 34A and bought this in size 2. It fit very well over chest and shoulder. The lace creates a delicate look but it’s structured and well constructed. It looks great as a cardi over dresses or with a tank top and jeans or skirt. Not sure I'll use it very often as blouse but like the versatility."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Back Porch Blouse
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love it!

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Pros: fit style
Cons: price sheerness
"I tried this on in the store and the fit was perfect! I am a 34C, 27 inch waist and the 4 fit like a dream and had plenty of room for the much needed tank. I did not buy it due to the price, but I plan on sending the link to friends and family. I really want this!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Back Porch Blouse
fromColumbus, OH
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Charming Versatile Blouse

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Pros: femenine detail, tailored fit, ruched sleeves, versatility
Cons: snaps
"I tried this top on in the store and it was love. It looks great with jeans and other pants, tucked into a skirt and belted, or over a dress. I know I will get a lot of wear out of it.
My only issue is that it has snaps instead of buttons (I think only one other reviewer mentioned this and I want to emphasize it as it made a big difference for me). I have a 36D chest and even after sizing up from the 10 to the 12, the snaps still pop open. I will take it to a tailor to have them swap the snaps for buttons or hook and eye closures so I have the option to wear it closed if I want."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Back Porch Blouse
fromEau Claire, WI
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Exactly as I expected

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Pros: feminine easily layered detailed
Cons: will not flatter all shapes
"In response to the reviewer below me, in her photos it is pretty obvious to me that she is an inverted triangle body shape. That's part of her issue here, this cut is not meant to flatter that particular shape. I am hourglass, leaning ever so slightly toward pear and this fit me like a dream. I wish I would have thought to take photos when I tried it on. Alas, I will not be able to until I receive it for my birthday present. My mother purchased this for me for my birthday and I know it will be getting tons of wear, it is also a transitional piece. It will very successfully make it through all seasons with the right colors and textures beneath it. Yes, you must wear a cami or some sort of under layer, but I personally think that is very obvious from the photos, as well as part of it's charm. I love the sleeves and the detailing, a must try. :)"
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>