Customer reviews for Gull Wing Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Gull Wing Dress

Gull Wing Dress
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
72 of 84(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gull Wing Dress
Review 41 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 1, 2011

Awesome classic

I never, ever, NEVER review things...so you know if I'm taking the time to create an account & do this, it's good. This dress was so perfect for my college graduation. It's very classic, yet also eye popping and a bit of a vintage 1940s sexy as well. I'm 5'9", 135 lbs, and I wear a 34C, and I found the size 2 to fit great. It's hard for me to find dresses that aren't too high above the knee but still don't look matronly on me with my height, but this dress did a great job of hitting the exact right length.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering shape, classic cut, great color (red)
Cons: pricy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Athletic
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 27, 2011

Pin up girl PERFECT!!!

When I saw the black and white Polka dot version I was in LOVE!! I ordered it online right away... It is even more lovely in person and is so flattering as well as having that fun vintage pin up girl flair to it. Very va va voom classy without trying too hard :-) Its a great length and has that twirly skirt that is so fun to wear. I think this fits very true to size I got my normal size 12 and it fits perfectly! I am about 150 lbs. and 5'7" tall 36 D for reference... The buttons do gap somewhat but that is so easy to fix! You wont be disapointed with this dress! GORGEOUS!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: the fit is perfect, vintage flair, length
Cons: buttons do gap but easy to fix
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Petite
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedMay 28, 2011

Simple yet Stunning!

I bought the striped version of this dress. When I first saw it hanging on the rack I wasn't impressed but once I tried it on (size 0) this dress was screaming "Buy Me!"
I'm 5'1" and very petite so I had to draw the neckstring in tighter, but this didn't bunch up the fabric in the back, which was good. The dress falls about half an inch below my knees. And, the print doesn't overwhelm my petite figure.
The thing I like most about this dress is its cut. There is just so much movement in the skirt because of the light airy fabric and A-line cut. I love how the skirt just dances around you as you're walking. This is going to be the perfect summer dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cut, fabric
Cons: the price, could be more fitting at the top
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 23, 2011

Gaps in the front leave little to the imagination

Super cute dress. Great material with nice piping detail. It definitely has that pinup sort of vibe. The dress can be adjusted for a custom fit so make sure you play with the tie at the neck.
Everyone in the dressing room from customers to the Anthro personal shopper thought it looked great on me.
Unfortunately, the buttons on the front gap so much that everyone got a full view of the girls. I'm a 36D so this may not be a problem for others who have a more moderate bust line. I wish they had thought this through and sown the front shut. I could take it to a tailor and have it done.
I'll think about it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: styling
Cons: gap that shows the world my breasts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):11
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJune 11, 2011

Very cute

Dress is really cute, I tried it on in the bright red, but wasn't sold. But the plum color is so much better!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 15, 2011

Gorgeous dress

Loved this dress. Fit was extremely flattering and received comments all around. Only con...the buttons neeed to be tightened up. Lost two by the end of the evening.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: feminine yet sexy fit
Cons: button not well fastened
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedFebruary 17, 2011

Cute

This dress fits TTS. I sometimes have to go up to a 4 because of my bust, but the 2 was perfect despite a 34C bra size. I thought that the waist tie made the dress puff out in a way that was unflattering, but I'm sure that not everyone will have this problem.
The dress is well-made; I can see why a lot of people like it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 9, 2011

Cute but oddly sized

I'm usually a size 4 at Anthropologie but was surprised to find that this dress, even in size 2 had a loose fit in the chest.
I'm a C cup, so I didn't have as much of an issue with it as others here, it's still flattering on my hourglass figure, but I'm very used to having dresses be somewhat snug in the chest. I probably could have gone down to a size 0 if the store had it, but I didn't even bother asking.
Material is also surprisingly synthetic for Anthropologie. Usually their dresses are more earthy, cotton, etc. I'm sure I'll get plenty of good wear out of it, regardless.
The color (red) is gorgeous and eye-catching. I tried the navy one on as well, also gorgeous, but far less zest, unless you're pairing it with a bright cardigan or bright red heels.
Worth getting if you've got a knockout killer hourglass figure to fill it out.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: happy and bright, great for curves
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedJanuary 22, 2011

flowy

I'm usually not one for "floppy" dresses but this one was a nice surprise. It fit TTS and made me feel very thin. The adjustable straps are nice and I managed fine with a strapless bra. It draws attention to the bust, so be prepared.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: sexy/classy, adjustable ties, material, wieghtless
Cons: none i could see
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedMay 15, 2011

Not enough chest coverage for me

This new purple color that was recently added is totally gorgeous! I am glad I did not grab this dress in coral or navy which were available earlier, although I was somewhat tempted. I think the purple one is the prettiest of the three. This silk dress feels and looks expensive and classy. I loved the way it draped and flowed around me. 2 complaints though -- 1. I was wearing a regular bra (which would not be an option with this dress) and, I swear, about half of it showed on the front and under arms. In addition, the buttons on the front also had openings between them, so I really don't know what type of bra would work with this dress. The kind that has very little fabric, apparently, but when you are a 34DD like I am, that's unrealistic. I could go braless, I suppose, but I don't think I'd feel comfortable. The second dislike was that this dress is a tad too long for me, and the contract trim on the bottom does not lend itself to hemming. But, I still liked it a lot! I may need to revisit it and bring a couple of strapless bras along to see if I can make it all work. Taller ladies with smaller busts, I think this dress would be a hit on you!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 2, 2011

Great Purchase

A great dress. The neckline and open front between the buttons is a bit low for the occasion I planned on wearing the dress to. The fit is very flattering so I decided to keep the dress for another occasion.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: good fit, love the color/pattern
Cons: opening between the buttons, choosing the right bra
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age range:Under 18
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):11
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
PostedJune 5, 2011

Perfect

I wore this dress to my older brother's graduation and it was perfect. I am very tall so I have a hard time finding a dress that is long enough to look proportional, yet short enough to look age appropriate. This dress does that wonderfully. The only reason why I didn't give this 5 stars was that after about 20 minutes of wearing it I noticed that the slip was tearing away from the piping underneath. I wish it was better quality.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: design, comfort, wearable, easy to accessorize
Cons: poor quality, expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 4, 2011

sooooooo cute!!

This dress is the perfect summer spring dress! The only thing that prevented me from buying it was the baggyness below the chest area. Because of my petite frame and zero boobage, the material seemed to be loose there. Other than that, it was super cute.
Other points to consider:
-the flaps on the chest may need steaming because they had a few creases in them and didn't lay nicely.
-the top part does sit a little low but it may help to tie the strings a little tighter to pull it up a bit.
-i really don't see this being a winter dress paired with leggings and a cardi because the material is very lightweight.
Other than that, if you can pull this one off go for it!! :)
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: springy summery, super cute!
Cons: sits a bit low
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 18, 2011

Flow-y or baggy?

Let me just say, I think this dress is adorable and very wearable. However, it is not really designed with us flat-chested women in mind. I usually wear a 2-4 (5'6", 135lbs, 34B) and when I tried both of those sizes on in the store, I found that the fabric around my chest was still loose—not in a flattering way. Unfortunately they didn't have the 0 available for me to try, but I'm sure that size would have fit. Otherwise, it is very flattering (if you can fit the chest right) and hides other flaws well, especially because you can adjust the neck tie and the middle sash to suit.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 15, 2011

easy, feminine

The shape is feminine and flattering. the spaghetti straps are adjustable. I got the blue which is easy to wear for all occasions and I wore it on a cruise with red patent wedges. The neckline is a bit low but worked because the straps were adjustable.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: flatteing comfortable
Cons: the neckline is edgy low
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJune 10, 2011

Great Dress for Small Chest

For my height, this dress was a really great length. It came just below my knee for my 5"8 frame. The 12 which is what I normally wear in G of S fit fine except the cleveage area. The buttons were pulling all the way over. If I had gone up to the 14, it would have been baggy everywhere else. I don't think I would have wanted to alter the dress at that price. The plum color is amazing. Possible sale pricing.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):6
Height (inches):0
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJune 15, 2011

Top portion may run large

I tried this on in the multi, size 10...I am 6'0" 155lbs, usual size 8 or 10. In dresses I usually opt for a 10 to get the extra length. This dress is very falttering on...cinches in just the right place for a slimming effect and the straps are adjustable which helps with a long torso like mine. The top portion was just too large for me...I am a 36 C. I could't fill it out. I do not think the size 8 would zip up since the 10 just barely did (side zip which I struggle with). Overall, very cute if it works for you.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: flattering cut
Cons: top too big
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 29, 2011

Sad but true

This is a beautiful dress! The trim is gray, not white, but still beautiful and the dress is a vibrant red/orange, true to the picture. The dress fits nicely and has a light, airy feel to it. However, I am 32D and the ruffles on the front of the dress combined with a large bust did not flatter my figure and the buttons did not lay well on the chest. However, I highly recommend this dress for everyone with a smaller bust! I am so sad I had to return it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great neckline color and waist definition
Cons: does not fit well on large bust., sash ties a little too high.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):11
Body type:Hourglass
PostedJanuary 23, 2011

beautiful, but fits a bit funny in the chest

I'm 5'11'' and 36DD and I often have trouble finding dresses that fit in the chest. I was surprised when this one fit just fine -- a bit too roomy, actually. There's something slightly off about the chest area, like it's too puffy? I can't imagine this fitting smaller chested ladies.
That being said, I still bought it. The strangeness in the chest wasn't enough to prevent me from purchasing it.
I adore the tie in the back and the slightly asymmetrical seam (longer in the back, shorter in the front).
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fabric, back, hemline
Cons: chest
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):10
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 26, 2011

Cute Dress

When I saw this dress on the rack in the stripe multi-color pattern I thought it was adorable. When I tried it on, however, I didn't find it as flattering. My biggest complaints about this dress were the complicated halter straps that goes through the sleeves and kept getting tangled and the fact that even though the dress fit perfectly in my normal size, the buttons gaped slightly in the front showing my bra. Overall, I thought the pattern was adorable and the concept was great, but on it just didn't do it for me. I would recommend others at least try this dress, but it is a pass for me personally.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pattern, material, fits tts
Cons: buttons gape in the front, complicated halter straps
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<< prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>>