Customer reviews for Gull Wing Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Gull Wing Dress

Gull Wing Dress
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
72 of 84(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gull Wing Dress
Review 41 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Body type:Athletic
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedMay 19, 2011

Absolutely Beautiful

I was heart broken when this dress sold out during its first run... But so delighted to see it return! This would be a great dress for summer because it isn't heavy, and the material is cut so that it flows with your movements.
I'm about 5'3" with a 32B bust, and I weigh about 120 lbs. I often have trouble with the length of dresses and skirts because I have really muscular calves. The length and fullness of this skirt is perfect because it prevents my legs from looking like those of a drag queen!
Additionally, I can get away with wearing no bra, which is always a plus in the summertime. : )
It's hard to say what the quality of this dress will be like in the long run because it feels so delicate, but I had no issues with the zipper any of the times I tried it on.
I'll buy one the moment I get paid.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 4, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 4, 2011

I already own this dress in navy and red and couldn't resist to the polka dot version. It is beautiful and I couldn't resist, It fits true to size.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJune 18, 2011

Lovely Dress

This is a such a pretty dress. The moment I saw it, it reminded me of a rainbow skirt my mom had in the late 70's early 80's. It's very vintage looking. It fits comfortably and TTS. I think it's best to tie the bow in the front the way they have it modeled. I would wear a razorback bra or strapless as the cut in the back exposes the back and shoulders. It is a stunning dress and I'm glad I bought it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):9
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJanuary 19, 2011

Darling

I feel like a pin-up girl wearing this dress! It's so feminine and flattering. My usual 4 fit nicely on me - I'm 5'9", 125lbs, 34D. I didn't have the sagging bust issues that previous reviewers mentioned. The top is loose, but I wouldn't call it ill-fitting. I think the loose top and flowy skirt create an hourglass effect which can be flattering on so many body types.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fun and girly
Cons: not for small busted
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Hourglass
PostedJanuary 23, 2011

very slimming

I loved how slimming this dress was, and how well it was designed to cover any issues you might have with the dreaded bra bulge. The waistline hit me at my narrowest part and did amazing things for my extreme hourglass figure. Unfortunately I couldn't get over the white piped ruffles along the front...they fell very asymmetrically and I felt that it made the top look sloppy on me. I wish the same style was available without the "wing ruffles"...I'd buy a bunch in different colours.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: perfect fit for hourglass types
Cons: front ruffles didn't work for me
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:30-34
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedApril 10, 2011

Pretty dress for smaller bust

I originally saw this dress in the store months ago and recently purchased online. I should have tried on in the store. It's a beautiful dress and great color (I got the orange/red). I am 5'4", 140 lbs, 36C, 38 in hips and 28 in waist. I got the dress in a 6. It fit amazingly well everywhere except up front in the bust. There was enough material but it still pulled leaving gaps between the buttons. I have a bit of a muscular upper back but it did not pull through there. Just right at the buttons, so I returned. As it was not tight, I am not sure going up a size would do much except make it sloppy and the material is so fine I am not sure I would trust a tailor I did not know well :-(
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful color feel and drape, flattering at the waist
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:45-49
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):4
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedMay 23, 2011

Gaps in the front leave little to the imagination

Super cute dress. Great material with nice piping detail. It definitely has that pinup sort of vibe. The dress can be adjusted for a custom fit so make sure you play with the tie at the neck.
Everyone in the dressing room from customers to the Anthro personal shopper thought it looked great on me.
Unfortunately, the buttons on the front gap so much that everyone got a full view of the girls. I'm a 36D so this may not be a problem for others who have a more moderate bust line. I wish they had thought this through and sown the front shut. I could take it to a tailor and have it done.
I'll think about it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: styling
Cons: gap that shows the world my breasts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:50-55
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
PostedJune 2, 2011

A classic with updated features

I got this in black with white polka-dots. Has a nautical feel. Love the swing and drape of the fabric, and the way the belt can be tied in many different ways. Very flattering, but have to adjust at the top just right, or else the buttons on the bodice gap open. Material is nice and silky, but also a bit delicate. Will have to handle with care.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: silky material, drapes well, flattering fit for petites
Cons: a bit delicate, top buttons gap open
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:40-44
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):2
Body type:Athletic
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedMay 26, 2011

Understated sexy dress

I purchased the polka dot dress. It's a very ladylike dress, yet the open front and neck tie make it very sexy. This dress is a bit tricky. I'm 5'2", 34C bust. I tried size 4 and it fits well but the front was very low cut and my cleavage was shown in a very unflattering way. Then my Anthro consultant (thank you!) untied the back straps and pulled them closer and made it tighter, and it works! I love this dress. The silk makes the dress very elegant, and I think the price is great for a quality dress like that. I'm going to wear it for my date this weekend.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: high quality and flattering cut
Cons: front is too low-needs adjustment before wearing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:35-39
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJune 2, 2011

Great Purchase

A great dress. The neckline and open front between the buttons is a bit low for the occasion I planned on wearing the dress to. The fit is very flattering so I decided to keep the dress for another occasion.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: good fit, love the color/pattern
Cons: opening between the buttons, choosing the right bra
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):7
Body type:Straight and slender
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedJanuary 22, 2011

flowy

I'm usually not one for "floppy" dresses but this one was a nice surprise. It fit TTS and made me feel very thin. The adjustable straps are nice and I managed fine with a strapless bra. It draws attention to the bust, so be prepared.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: sexy/classy, adjustable ties, material, wieghtless
Cons: none i could see
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):11
Body type:Hourglass
PostedJanuary 23, 2011

beautiful, but fits a bit funny in the chest

I'm 5'11'' and 36DD and I often have trouble finding dresses that fit in the chest. I was surprised when this one fit just fine -- a bit too roomy, actually. There's something slightly off about the chest area, like it's too puffy? I can't imagine this fitting smaller chested ladies.
That being said, I still bought it. The strangeness in the chest wasn't enough to prevent me from purchasing it.
I adore the tie in the back and the slightly asymmetrical seam (longer in the back, shorter in the front).
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fabric, back, hemline
Cons: chest
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 9, 2011

Cute but oddly sized

I'm usually a size 4 at Anthropologie but was surprised to find that this dress, even in size 2 had a loose fit in the chest.
I'm a C cup, so I didn't have as much of an issue with it as others here, it's still flattering on my hourglass figure, but I'm very used to having dresses be somewhat snug in the chest. I probably could have gone down to a size 0 if the store had it, but I didn't even bother asking.
Material is also surprisingly synthetic for Anthropologie. Usually their dresses are more earthy, cotton, etc. I'm sure I'll get plenty of good wear out of it, regardless.
The color (red) is gorgeous and eye-catching. I tried the navy one on as well, also gorgeous, but far less zest, unless you're pairing it with a bright cardigan or bright red heels.
Worth getting if you've got a knockout killer hourglass figure to fill it out.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: happy and bright, great for curves
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 15, 2011

easy, feminine

The shape is feminine and flattering. the spaghetti straps are adjustable. I got the blue which is easy to wear for all occasions and I wore it on a cruise with red patent wedges. The neckline is a bit low but worked because the straps were adjustable.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: flatteing comfortable
Cons: the neckline is edgy low
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):3
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedJanuary 16, 2011

not for me, but still gorgeous!

Don't get me wrong -- this dress will definitely look awesome on some people. But on me, I wasn't a fan. I tried on the red color because it is super punchy and saturated, which I adore. However, I believe that the navy blue colorway looks much more expensive than the red color, which reads kind of cheap. The material was soft, but not as soft and comfortable as I thought a $168 dress should be. The ribbon sash ties right at the waist, and I took this in my regular size. It was a little loose, though, so I think going down a size is feasible as well. For someone small-chested like me, the low cut was also not a problem.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: good design
Cons: material was kind of lacking
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 18, 2011

Flow-y or baggy?

Let me just say, I think this dress is adorable and very wearable. However, it is not really designed with us flat-chested women in mind. I usually wear a 2-4 (5'6", 135lbs, 34B) and when I tried both of those sizes on in the store, I found that the fabric around my chest was still loose—not in a flattering way. Unfortunately they didn't have the 0 available for me to try, but I'm sure that size would have fit. Otherwise, it is very flattering (if you can fit the chest right) and hides other flaws well, especially because you can adjust the neck tie and the middle sash to suit.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedFebruary 17, 2011

Cute

This dress fits TTS. I sometimes have to go up to a 4 because of my bust, but the 2 was perfect despite a 34C bra size. I thought that the waist tie made the dress puff out in a way that was unflattering, but I'm sure that not everyone will have this problem.
The dress is well-made; I can see why a lot of people like it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 29, 2011

Flattering and flowy

This sale buy took me by surprise. I got the striped one and it is gorgeous. The skirt is a flowy a-line, nice thick waist tie, and I found the neckline easily adjustable to my bust. The skirt height is short. I am petite and it was at my knee. I think the polka dotted option is a little longer.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedMarch 29, 2011

Sad but true

This is a beautiful dress! The trim is gray, not white, but still beautiful and the dress is a vibrant red/orange, true to the picture. The dress fits nicely and has a light, airy feel to it. However, I am 32D and the ruffles on the front of the dress combined with a large bust did not flatter my figure and the buttons did not lay well on the chest. However, I highly recommend this dress for everyone with a smaller bust! I am so sad I had to return it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great neckline color and waist definition
Cons: does not fit well on large bust., sash ties a little too high.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Gull Wing Dress
PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Hourglass
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedMay 15, 2011

Not enough chest coverage for me

This new purple color that was recently added is totally gorgeous! I am glad I did not grab this dress in coral or navy which were available earlier, although I was somewhat tempted. I think the purple one is the prettiest of the three. This silk dress feels and looks expensive and classy. I loved the way it draped and flowed around me. 2 complaints though -- 1. I was wearing a regular bra (which would not be an option with this dress) and, I swear, about half of it showed on the front and under arms. In addition, the buttons on the front also had openings between them, so I really don't know what type of bra would work with this dress. The kind that has very little fabric, apparently, but when you are a 34DD like I am, that's unrealistic. I could go braless, I suppose, but I don't think I'd feel comfortable. The second dislike was that this dress is a tad too long for me, and the contract trim on the bottom does not lend itself to hemming. But, I still liked it a lot! I may need to revisit it and bring a couple of strapless bras along to see if I can make it all work. Taller ladies with smaller busts, I think this dress would be a hit on you!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
<<< prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>>