Customer reviews for Gull Wing Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Gull Wing Dress

Gull Wing Dress
Average rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
72 of 84(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gull Wing Dress
Review 41 for Gull Wing Dress
fromQuebec, Canada
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedJune 4, 2011
"I already own this dress in navy and red and couldn't resist to the polka dot version. It is beautiful and I couldn't resist, It fits true to size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Gull Wing Dress
fromAlpharetta, GA
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:8 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful and Flowy!

PostedJune 14, 2011
Pros: flowy great for curvy figures
Cons: delicate buttons
"I tried the striped version of this dress on last weekend and fell in love!! I am almost 5'8", 34dd, 143 lbs. I typically wear a size 6, but I tried on the size 4 and it fit perfect. I have hips, and that's the beauty of this dress...it's so flowy on the bottom that it doesn't matter if you have some curves. I am large chested, but I didn't notice the dress pulling at all in the chest area like other reviewers did. I only gave it 3 stars for quality because there were two of these dresses marked down because of missing buttons, which leads me to believe the buttons on the front are very delicate...and of course there are no replacements that come with the dress. I think I'm going to have to bite the bullet and get this dress!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Gull Wing Dress
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

This product is a must-have

PostedAugust 22, 2011
"I'm a little ashamed to admit that I now own this dress in THREE colors (navy, plum and red), but I just had to have it - and, at the sale price, how was I to pass it up? The dress is stunning, and each color looks entirely unique. I'm a size 10, and I didn't find the same problems with the gaping in the front that other reviewers noted. It fit perfectly on me, and it was the perfect length, just below the knees. Always get compliments on them and will happily have them in my closet for years to come."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Gull Wing Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Flow-y or baggy?

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
"Let me just say, I think this dress is adorable and very wearable. However, it is not really designed with us flat-chested women in mind. I usually wear a 2-4 (5'6", 135lbs, 34B) and when I tried both of those sizes on in the store, I found that the fabric around my chest was still loose—not in a flattering way. Unfortunately they didn't have the 0 available for me to try, but I'm sure that size would have fit. Otherwise, it is very flattering (if you can fit the chest right) and hides other flaws well, especially because you can adjust the neck tie and the middle sash to suit."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Gull Wing Dress
Age range:40-44
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

very slimming

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Pros: perfect fit for hourglass types
Cons: front ruffles didn't work for me
"I loved how slimming this dress was, and how well it was designed to cover any issues you might have with the dreaded bra bulge. The waistline hit me at my narrowest part and did amazing things for my extreme hourglass figure. Unfortunately I couldn't get over the white piped ruffles along the front...they fell very asymmetrically and I felt that it made the top look sloppy on me. I wish the same style was available without the "wing ruffles"...I'd buy a bunch in different colours."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Gull Wing Dress
fromBaltimore, MD
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
"This dress fits TTS. I sometimes have to go up to a 4 because of my bust, but the 2 was perfect despite a 34C bra size. I thought that the waist tie made the dress puff out in a way that was unflattering, but I'm sure that not everyone will have this problem.
The dress is well-made; I can see why a lot of people like it.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Gull Wing Dress
Age range:30-34
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Pretty dress for smaller bust

PostedApril 10, 2011
Pros: beautiful color feel and drape, flattering at the waist
"I originally saw this dress in the store months ago and recently purchased online. I should have tried on in the store. It's a beautiful dress and great color (I got the orange/red). I am 5'4", 140 lbs, 36C, 38 in hips and 28 in waist. I got the dress in a 6. It fit amazingly well everywhere except up front in the bust. There was enough material but it still pulled leaving gaps between the buttons. I have a bit of a muscular upper back but it did not pull through there. Just right at the buttons, so I returned. As it was not tight, I am not sure going up a size would do much except make it sloppy and the material is so fine I am not sure I would trust a tailor I did not know well :-("
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Gull Wing Dress
fromBoulder, CO
Age range:45-49
Height:5 ft.
Height:4 in.
Body type:Full-figured
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Gaps in the front leave little to the imagination

PostedMay 23, 2011
Pros: styling
Cons: gap that shows the world my breasts
"Super cute dress. Great material with nice piping detail. It definitely has that pinup sort of vibe. The dress can be adjusted for a custom fit so make sure you play with the tie at the neck.
Everyone in the dressing room from customers to the Anthro personal shopper thought it looked great on me.
Unfortunately, the buttons on the front gap so much that everyone got a full view of the girls. I'm a 36D so this may not be a problem for others who have a more moderate bust line. I wish they had thought this through and sown the front shut. I could take it to a tailor and have it done.
I'll think about it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Gull Wing Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Sad but true

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Pros: great neckline color and waist definition
Cons: does not fit well on large bust., sash ties a little too high.
"This is a beautiful dress! The trim is gray, not white, but still beautiful and the dress is a vibrant red/orange, true to the picture. The dress fits nicely and has a light, airy feel to it. However, I am 32D and the ruffles on the front of the dress combined with a large bust did not flatter my figure and the buttons did not lay well on the chest. However, I highly recommend this dress for everyone with a smaller bust! I am so sad I had to return it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Gull Wing Dress
fromBoston
Age range:50-55
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Petite
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

A classic with updated features

PostedJune 2, 2011
Pros: silky material, drapes well, flattering fit for petites
Cons: a bit delicate, top buttons gap open
"I got this in black with white polka-dots. Has a nautical feel. Love the swing and drape of the fabric, and the way the belt can be tied in many different ways. Very flattering, but have to adjust at the top just right, or else the buttons on the bodice gap open. Material is nice and silky, but also a bit delicate. Will have to handle with care."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Gull Wing Dress
fromColumbia, SC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute but oddly sized

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Pros: happy and bright, great for curves
"I'm usually a size 4 at Anthropologie but was surprised to find that this dress, even in size 2 had a loose fit in the chest.
I'm a C cup, so I didn't have as much of an issue with it as others here, it's still flattering on my hourglass figure, but I'm very used to having dresses be somewhat snug in the chest. I probably could have gone down to a size 0 if the store had it, but I didn't even bother asking.
Material is also surprisingly synthetic for Anthropologie. Usually their dresses are more earthy, cotton, etc. I'm sure I'll get plenty of good wear out of it, regardless.
The color (red) is gorgeous and eye-catching. I tried the navy one on as well, also gorgeous, but far less zest, unless you're pairing it with a bright cardigan or bright red heels.
Worth getting if you've got a knockout killer hourglass figure to fill it out."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Gull Wing Dress
fromNorthern VA
Height:5 ft.
Height:1 in.
Body type:Hourglass
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Not enough chest coverage for me

PostedMay 15, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This new purple color that was recently added is totally gorgeous! I am glad I did not grab this dress in coral or navy which were available earlier, although I was somewhat tempted. I think the purple one is the prettiest of the three. This silk dress feels and looks expensive and classy. I loved the way it draped and flowed around me. 2 complaints though -- 1. I was wearing a regular bra (which would not be an option with this dress) and, I swear, about half of it showed on the front and under arms. In addition, the buttons on the front also had openings between them, so I really don't know what type of bra would work with this dress. The kind that has very little fabric, apparently, but when you are a 34DD like I am, that's unrealistic. I could go braless, I suppose, but I don't think I'd feel comfortable. The second dislike was that this dress is a tad too long for me, and the contract trim on the bottom does not lend itself to hemming. But, I still liked it a lot! I may need to revisit it and bring a couple of strapless bras along to see if I can make it all work. Taller ladies with smaller busts, I think this dress would be a hit on you!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Gull Wing Dress
fromHouston, TX
Age range:18-24
Height:5 ft.
Height:3 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

not for me, but still gorgeous!

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: good design
Cons: material was kind of lacking
"Don't get me wrong -- this dress will definitely look awesome on some people. But on me, I wasn't a fan. I tried on the red color because it is super punchy and saturated, which I adore. However, I believe that the navy blue colorway looks much more expensive than the red color, which reads kind of cheap. The material was soft, but not as soft and comfortable as I thought a $168 dress should be. The ribbon sash ties right at the waist, and I took this in my regular size. It was a little loose, though, so I think going down a size is feasible as well. For someone small-chested like me, the low cut was also not a problem."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Gull Wing Dress
fromNew Jersey
Age range:25-29
Height:5 ft.
Height:11 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Very cute

PostedJune 11, 2011
"Dress is really cute, I tried it on in the bright red, but wasn't sold. But the plum color is so much better!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Gull Wing Dress
fromLouisiana
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

sooooooo cute!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Pros: springy summery, super cute!
Cons: sits a bit low
"This dress is the perfect summer spring dress! The only thing that prevented me from buying it was the baggyness below the chest area. Because of my petite frame and zero boobage, the material seemed to be loose there. Other than that, it was super cute.
Other points to consider:
-the flaps on the chest may need steaming because they had a few creases in them and didn't lay nicely.
-the top part does sit a little low but it may help to tie the strings a little tighter to pull it up a bit.
-i really don't see this being a winter dress paired with leggings and a cardi because the material is very lightweight.
Other than that, if you can pull this one off go for it!! :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Gull Wing Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

What happened with this 2nd round of colors?

PostedMay 24, 2011
"I tried on the blue version of this ages ago and it was love. My normal size 2 fit perfectly, although I could have sized down to a 0 if I had wanted it tighter across the chest. I tried several of these new colors on yesterday and the area below the bust DROOPS -- it looks awful. This is horribly disappointing since the first round of colors fit so differently in my experience! Guess I will hold out hope for a popback of the original. A shame, because the new colors are beautiful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Gull Wing Dress
fromChicago, IL
Age range:35-39
Height:5 ft.
Height:6 in.
Body type:Curvy on bottom
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Great Purchase

PostedJune 2, 2011
Pros: good fit, love the color/pattern
Cons: opening between the buttons, choosing the right bra
"A great dress. The neckline and open front between the buttons is a bit low for the occasion I planned on wearing the dress to. The fit is very flattering so I decided to keep the dress for another occasion."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Gull Wing Dress
fromAustin, TX
Age range:Under 18
Height:5 ft.
Height:11 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Preppy - clean-cut and tailored
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Perfect

PostedJune 5, 2011
Pros: design, comfort, wearable, easy to accessorize
Cons: poor quality, expensive
"I wore this dress to my older brother's graduation and it was perfect. I am very tall so I have a hard time finding a dress that is long enough to look proportional, yet short enough to look age appropriate. This dress does that wonderfully. The only reason why I didn't give this 5 stars was that after about 20 minutes of wearing it I noticed that the slip was tearing away from the piping underneath. I wish it was better quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Gull Wing Dress
fromMississippi
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Great Dress for Small Chest

PostedJune 10, 2011
"For my height, this dress was a really great length. It came just below my knee for my 5"8 frame. The 12 which is what I normally wear in G of S fit fine except the cleveage area. The buttons were pulling all the way over. If I had gone up to the 14, it would have been baggy everywhere else. I don't think I would have wanted to alter the dress at that price. The plum color is amazing. Possible sale pricing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Gull Wing Dress
fromchapel hill, nc
Age range:30-34
Height:6 ft.
Height:0 in.
Body type:Straight and slender
Style:Classic - simple and structured
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Top portion may run large

PostedJune 15, 2011
Pros: flattering cut
Cons: top too big
"I tried this on in the multi, size 10...I am 6'0" 155lbs, usual size 8 or 10. In dresses I usually opt for a 10 to get the extra length. This dress is very falttering on...cinches in just the right place for a slimming effect and the straps are adjustable which helps with a long torso like mine. The top portion was just too large for me...I am a 36 C. I could't fill it out. I do not think the size 8 would zip up since the 10 just barely did (side zip which I struggle with). Overall, very cute if it works for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>