Customer reviews for Samhain Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Samhain Dress

Samhain Dress
Average rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
11 of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Samhain Dress
Review 1 for Samhain Dress
fromAlbuquerque, N.M.
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful Holiday Dress

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Pros: great design / flattering cut, looks exactly as pictured, bow is sewn down on the front
Cons: runs large for eva franco
"I have been looking at this dress every day since it was posted on the site. I was hoping that someone would review it, but I couldn't wait any longer, so I ordered it anyway. I figured that since every other Eva
Franco I own is a size 6, that this would be no exception. I received it in the mail today, and was so excited to try it. As I zipped it up I could already tell that it was too big. I was pretty surprised, because it was fine through the bust, but the area around my ribcage was really loose, and I thought I had a big ribcage! I am 5'7, 135 lbs, 34B, with a curvy figure for reference. I loved the design though, and the quality seems great. It looks exactly as pictured. The bow is sewn down, so it doesn't look overwhelming at all, just flattering. The belt is also very cute, and it is consistent with the good quality of the rest of the dress. I will be exchanging it for a size 4, so just beware, it does run big for Eva Franco! Also, just wanted to add that it probably takes a certain personality to pull it off. My husband told me he thought it looked like wrapping paper, but I don't care, I love it anyway!
"
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samhain Dress
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful dress, but weird sizing

PostedDecember 20, 2010
"I was in Anthro today and tried this on just for kicks. The fabric is beautifully shiny, with black and gold and copper. I'm pale with red hair and it's a great alternative to a LBD.
The fit is a little odd, however. I'm normally a 4 and, with a 32D chest, have trouble finding stuff that fits both top and bottom. The first size 4 fit well in the bust but was big everywhere else. The 2 fit better overall but I had to cram 'em in. So I grabbed another 4....and that one fit better than the first size 4! It's more like a size 3, if there was such a thing.
I'm 5'7 and the dress hits several inches above my knee. The skirt bells slightly; not enough to swing, but not quite a-line. It's a pretty forgiving cut and the fabric is just stiff enough.
I ended up getting the dress--I'm going to try swapping out the belt, which is a total joke and doesn't sit right no matter how tight or loose it is.
I also bought the Sequin Flame blazer, which was on sale. It fits perfectly over the dress and looks like a total outfit, albeit very sparkly. But this is for NYE, so sparkly is A Good Thing, right?"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samhain Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

awesome, but runs LARGE!

PostedDecember 7, 2010
"I'm 5'2" and 120 pounds. I'm usually a size 6 in clothing and according to the size guidelines on this site, I'm smack in between and size 4 & a size 6. I ordered a 6, because, well, it's the holiday and I'm not getting smaller in the month of December! However, once i received the dress, it was huge! I had to go back to the store and exchange it for a size 2!-note, I am NOT a size 2, ever! And I was still able to wear a strapless bra with room to spare! If you do not have a store near you, I suggest you buy 1 to 2 sizes smaller than usual. Enjoy it's beauty!"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samhain Dress
fromMcLean, VA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Sad Disappointment

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Pros: the beautiful colour, the bow!
Cons: the belt looks somewhat cheap, poor quality, too large, awkard length
"I saw this dress in my local Anthropologie store and immediately fell in love with the colour, metallic shine, bow and belt. Then, I looked at the price tag and realized I just could not afford this dress when I didn't have the perfect occasion to which I could wear it. Everyday after work I would look at the dress online and wonder if it would have looked as good on as it did on the hanger. And then it came to me, my office Christmas party would be the perfect place to show off this dress. I went back to my store to try it on and it was a sad disappointment. The dress was much too big on and I had to continuously pull it up to keep it from falling off and it had an awkward length, falling at the middle of my knee. Also, the hook in the back of the dress was falling off and there were many loose threads at the hem. The dress didn't work for me, but it has the potential to be beautiful."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samhain Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

A cute party dress

PostedNovember 16, 2010
"I liked this glittery party dress. The material was stiff but this is exactly what made this dress so appropriate for night. A bow in front is very cute, not overwhelming at all. A belt which comes with it is not flimsy as you would expect. Sizing is good as well: 130lbs, 5'7'' and 34B and 6 fit perfectly."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samhain Dress
fromDallas, TX
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Too Tight in Chest Area

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Pros: cute design
Cons: fit
"I tried this on at the store in my usual size 10, and while it fit in the waist and the hips, it was SO TIGHT at my chest. I'm a 36DD for reference, and when i eventually got it zipped up my breasts where really squished and hanging out. i could have sized up, but then it would have been too big in other places.
just a warning for big chested girls!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samhain Dress
fromSan Francisco Bay ARea
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Lovely dress...not for me.

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Pros: color and quality
"The material in this dress is gorgeous. The copper is really stunning. I like the strapless look as well as the fitted waist. Unfortunately, the bodice was too big for me (I am a 0) and the bow was just not my look. I would recommend it, though, as I think it is a lovely cocktail dress."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samhain Dress
fromDallas, TX
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Metallic Superstar!

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Pros: great styling, beautiful material, well made
"I loved how this dress looked online and I was not disappointed!
In regular lighting, it is not quite as bright as it appears online. It is just lovely. The colors are so pretty. It looks a little darker in regular light.
The bow rocks.
The fit was true to size for me. I usually wear a 0 or a 2. I went for the 2 on this as the bodice was just a bit snug on the 0.
This dress will remind some people of the 80s, but for me, it is a timeless beauty.
I'll be wearing this again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samhain Dress
fromchicago, IL
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

A little bit of a let down

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Pros: nice dress for the holiday season
Cons: flimsy belt and not flattering for my built
"I saw this dress in the catalog and I knew I had to have it. When the dress arrived to my house it wasn't what I expected. The skirt was a bit full (I thought it would be a little more fitted) and it actually made my bottom half look bigger. The dress hit me right below my knee. The dress is true to size. The good thing about this dress is the color, it really shines and is great for the holiday season. Sadly, I will be returning this because its not flattering on me (I'm 5'6" 155lb and size 10)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samhain Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Unique--not for everyone

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
"I still love the way this dress looks on the model--sleek, modern, like a darker Betsy Johnson.
This dress looked really goofy on me. For reference, I am short and curvy (32D/25/36). The bow poofed way out and would not lay flat in front. The skirt also looked very flouncy, almost as if I had a crinoline on. This might look cute on someone younger than I am, styled more funkily. For my intended cocktail use it was a bad pick."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samhain Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love it!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
"I ordered this dress to wear for a big New Year's Gala - it was the perfect dress! I normally wear a size 8 and the 8 fit perfectly. I'm 5'3 and the length came just to my knees - I may hem it an inch or two for future wear. I also pinned down the bow so it would lay flat and the belt didn't really stay in place. But, I got SO many compliments on the dress! I think this is a dress that I will have for many years to come - it's vintage feel makes it a classic! I plan on dressing it down with slouchy boots and a jean jacket or a sweater to get more wear out of it..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samhain Dress
fromNOVA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Sadly disappointed

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Pros: fabric was beautiful, well made
Cons: did not have a flattering fit
"I bought this dress for a wedding and even though I still love the fabric of this dress I could not get over the fit. The bow in the front was a lot bigger than I thought and almost looked sloppy. I also thought the bottom would have a structured look but instead it looked like a messy parachute. It might look better on someone thats is more petite than me, im 5'6, 155 lbs. The size 8 did fit for anyone that needs help with sizing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samhain Dress
fromCleveland, OH
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

beautiful co.or, big bow

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Pros: color, silk
Cons: bow--odd placement...on me, belt--replace with other
"for me, this dress was close, but not quite it---I ordered a size (5'6, 135lbs, 34B). Fit was fine, but the bow threw me off a bit. I love bows, and large ones too, but this did not lay in a flattering spot. Worth trying, especially at the sale price, but i took mine back.
This is a great color--not too shiny (to my surprise), and a great change to a black dress. Belt would be replaced if I kept it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samhain Dress
fromAtlanta, GA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Beautiful Dress

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Pros: color, fabric, fit, great cocktail dress
Cons: material can catch easily on some things, i've seen girls at other parties wearing my dress!
"I'd been eyeing this dress for a while, hoping it would go on sale. I tried it on in the store and loved it, but spending $260 on one dress is a little much. But when Anthro put in on sale online for $95 with two-day shipping, I ordered the dress in a flash!
I think it fits TTS, but I'm very curvy and decided to order a 10 instead of my normal size 8. I have a tiny waist but big hips, rear and chest. I wanted to have more fabric for that hip area, so it would make me look thinner by not bulging out at the rear. I plan on getting the waist and chest area altered in the future, as it now fits a little big.
The fabric and included tiny belt is beautiful. I wore this to a holiday party and got compliments on it from both men and women. The bow on the chest isn't ostentatious at all. It looks great with black or brown tights, especially patterned ones.
But now that it's no longer the holiday season, I need to explore how to style this dress differently. But regardless, it'll be a classic for years to come!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.