Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Time Gone By Dress

Time Gone By Dress
Overall rating:
4.277 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
40 of 47(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress
Review 1 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 3, 2010

love it!

This dress is so flattering! It skims the body really nicely and although the fabric feels thin, the whole dress is lined. I think this dress would look good on just about everyone. I even like the little belt that comes with it. It's a little flimsy, but it is just the right size and hits at just the right place. Overall, a great buy (even at full price!)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 9, 2010

I'd previously tried on the peach colorway in a size 2 so this time I tried my true size 0 in the new grey colorway. While the fit was perfect this time, I think I actually like the peach better. The grey just looks a little drab. That said, the cut is flattering: the flutter sleeves don't stick out, the subtle pleating around the neck enhances the bust, and the fabric is floaty and light. I just wish it came in a better color than peach or grey.
For reference, I'm 5'2", 100 lbs, and the dress hits me just past the knees.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 23, 2010

Does Wonders for Hourglass Figures

Since the design is modeled after the fit of dresses from an era where curves were celebrated and flaunted, this dress is perfect for women who have *gasp!* actual hips who aren't afraid to show it. Very comfortable, very frou frou. I wore this dress to a Broadway play and my date complimented me heavily on how I looked in it. I switched the thin belt for a thicker leather one and I think it works better.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cons: the belt is pretty cheap. prepare to use another.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 15, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 15, 2010

Vintage and romantic dress!

I would have purchased but I ran out of money :-)
I liked the simplicity of the design and the romantic little sleeves and sash at the waist. A seriously versatile and just adorable dress. Fit was TTS, no surprises there. I am typically a 6 and loved the fit!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: vintage design, black edging
Cons: needed a higher credit card limit :-(
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 30, 2010

Glamour from Another Era

Beautiful and timeless! This is truly a masterpiece that can be dressed both up and down for multiple occasions. I've had mine for a month and I've gotten much wear out of it already.
I generally abhor built-in belts, but this one sits perfectly on the natural waist and is easily tucked in the nearby loop.
The flirty, flouncy layers of this dress' skirt are cut from a very generous amount of fabric. You will find it hard to resist twirling to admire the skirt's flare when nobody's looking. (Although, in this dress, EVERYONE will be looking! So go ahead and give them a twirl!)
While the dress looks beautiful in motion, it also falls fabulously when you are standing still. The skirt is long enough and wide enough that the edges ruffle rather than lay flat.
FInally, the pleating on the top seals the deal. I'm quite busty for my size, so it is often difficult for me to wear confined tops, especially if those tops are embellished and may draw attention to any squishing. These pleats gave me no trouble at all and laid just as they were supposed to.
I found that this runs true to size and is incredibly flattering. Well worth the reasonable price tag!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering, unique muted color contrasts nicely w/ dark piping, flowy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 10, 2011

sweet dress

I really like this dress! It is very flattering and doesn't wash out my light but olive skin. I find the color to be closer to khaki than gray though.....The belt it comes with isn't too bad but I tried a significantly wider belt and it really changed the look for the better. At 5'1" 115 lbs the size zero was perfect.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJanuary 18, 2011

Cute vintage dress.

This dress is surprisingly cute. I wasn't sure about it because of the someone drab color but the fit is very flattering. The dress is somewhat longer than most Anthro dresses so probably won't work on someone shorter than 5'5. Otherwise I'd say it fits TTS.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 29, 2010

Color and Cut Not Quite Right

I love the concept of this dress and seem to remember the cream version. The gray just seemed a bit washed out to me, perhaps it would look better on darker skin tones?
The quality was a bit flimsy, wrinkled rayon with stray threads and I found the cut not very flattering on my small bust. I suspect this dress is cut for an hour glass figure. Otherwise it was true to size and very cute. If you see it in the store, give it a shot...maybe you will have better luck!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: very cute design
Cons: strange cut around bust, washed-out gray color, a bit flimsy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 2, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 2, 2010

Fun dress, creates a great shape

I am somewhat closer to the "noodle" shape than "hourglass" shape. I tried on the XS (am 5'4" and 115lbs, athletic frame) at my local store and fell in love-- it gave me the illusion of an hourglass shape. I find it a really fun and flowy dress with a much more forgiving cut than any of these pencil-shaped silhouettes that seem to be everywhere these days. The neckline is cute and charming, not a deep-V, which would be too obvious here-- so the dress manages to be sexy and still sweet.
I do take off 1 star because it's in this sort of blah-looking taupe. I would love this dress in a less boring color, but it's still a win given the way it drapes off of the body. Wishlisted!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fit styling and movement
Cons: boring color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 6, 2010

my "jackie o" dress

This dress is perfect for work, an afternoon lunch, or an early fall wedding. I am a size 2 and half the reason I purchased this dress was because it flattered my figure so beautifully. I have worn this dress twice, both times with my hair in a high bun with sterling silver ball earrings (not sure if i can mention the brand...). Paired with black open toed pumps. I am typically wary of dresses that come with a belt, but this one is fabric covered and doesnt' look cheap. I get tons of compliments on this dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 24, 2010

Lovely and Understated!

I really didn't think I would like this dress because of the color and fit...But boy was I wrong; it was just lovely! I tried it on sz. 0 and I think it fit TTS.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: everything!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 14, 2010

So pretty

I loved this dress. The grey is very pretty and taupe-y. The flutter sleeves make you feel feminine and the swirly double layered bottom is so fun. I have a smaller top and fuller hips, but I fit into a size 4. The skirt is forgiving and skims the hips perfectly. I plan to wear it with black opaque tights and black pumps. I bought it for 2 weddings and a work holiday party, so the price tag ends up being worth it. Please try it on!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: belt hits at the perfect spot
Cons: the belt is a little flimsy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 27, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedNovember 27, 2010

This dress is beautifully designed! Unfortunaely, the fabric was too thin and did not look as if it would last very long. The dress more suited for summer and would have stayed in my closet unworn until then, so I mailed it back. I thought the sizing was accurate.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: design fit
Cons: fabric quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 26, 2010

Dita Von Teese

I had a baby 6 months ago, and this dress forgives, flatters, and is SEXY! I have never had so many compliments, EVER! I am a hardcore collector of high fashion. This dress delivers more than any couture dress. It has a glamourous 40's feel to it. I got a lot of Dita Von Teese comments. Do yourself a favor and buy it, NOW
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: sexy! flattering unique glamourous
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 31, 2010

AMAZING: this dress is so gorgeous

I'd been looking at this dress for a while online, but I recently had a change to go into an Anthropologie & as it was my birthday, my parents provided me with a little extra money as a birthday present. Well, I immediately grabbed this dress to simply to see how it looked on, perhaps to buy it later when it went on sale. However, it fit so well I just had to get it. It's very well made, well worth paying full price for. I have an hourglass figure, 5'4" and 112 lbs & the 0 fit like a glove. You should definitely buy this dress if you've been thinking about it. It's my new favourite dress already.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedJanuary 13, 2011

I wanted to love this dress

But it just didn't work out between us! The design is heartbreakingly gorgeous, and I love the vintage vibe and details -- the black accents, the belt, the flutter sleeves, etc. However, though the 0 was true-to-size and fit well, the sleeve holes were just MUCH too big and gaping. Also, I feel like the ruffled sleeves drew too much attention to themselves. If only this dress were just a little more versatile for everyday use!
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 9, 2010

simple yet sophisticated

I've owned the ivory version of this dress for a few months and I love it. There are two colors to this dress, the earlier dresses came in Ivory and the current dressed are in beige. The beige has an olive undertone. The material is not the typical off the rack, more of something that you would sew by yourself. It is a very pretty dress, fits TTS (I am 5'7 34C fits size 2; hits at about the knees), there are enough rooms for the bust area. Although it might be somewhat loose if you are skinny. I saw a girl tried the beige in the store and it fits her nicely. I am guessing it fits most body type. May not be a perfect fit for someone with a very broad shoulder. Just a bit of a precaution, the arm holes are somewhat wide, might not be a match if you are feeling cautious with that area.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: tts, young and fresh
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedDecember 10, 2010

Absolutely fetching!

I saw this dress on the website and had to have it. I went to Anthropologie and asked for it, only to be told that it was no longer on the floor--they only had a few sizes left, and they'd check if my usual size 4 was back there. I was very sorry when the closest she had was a 6. I tried it on, however, and it fit! It's like a magic dress! It almost seemed like the bust was a little tight, but not much. It was so beautiful I didn't want to take it off. I wore it several times over the next few days, got compliments from total strangers on it, and even my jaded fashionista daughters allowed that it was a very pretty dress. I kept worrying that it would get stained or something. Now for the big confession: I went to another Anthropologie store and bought the same dress in the size 4. Both dresses fit me (!), even across the bust, and now I have a backup in case of tragedy.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: perhaps the prettiest dress in my closet, very feminine and flattering.
Cons: wish it came in other colors--i'd buy them all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJanuary 18, 2011

Cute Dress, Slightly Awkward Fit

I love this gorgeous vintage-feeling dress. I bought mine in the peach colorway a few months ago and I've received so many compliments every time I wear it!
The only caveat is that it runs very large in the bust. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6 in Anthropologie dresses, but I wound up going with the 4 because the 6 was falling off of me.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute vintage feel, slimming fit
Cons: runs large in the bust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 26, 2010

Dress

This dress is fantastic! I have it in pink.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: this dress fits perfectly flatters everyone
Cons: dry clean only rayon so it cannot get wet
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>