Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Time Gone By Dress

Time Gone By Dress
Average rating:
4.277 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
40 of 47(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress
Review 1 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Absolutely fetching!

PostedDecember 10, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: perhaps the prettiest dress in my closet, very feminine and flattering.
Cons: wish it came in other colors--i'd buy them all.
"I saw this dress on the website and had to have it. I went to Anthropologie and asked for it, only to be told that it was no longer on the floor--they only had a few sizes left, and they'd check if my usual size 4 was back there. I was very sorry when the closest she had was a 6. I tried it on, however, and it fit! It's like a magic dress! It almost seemed like the bust was a little tight, but not much. It was so beautiful I didn't want to take it off. I wore it several times over the next few days, got compliments from total strangers on it, and even my jaded fashionista daughters allowed that it was a very pretty dress. I kept worrying that it would get stained or something. Now for the big confession: I went to another Anthropologie store and bought the same dress in the size 4. Both dresses fit me (!), even across the bust, and now I have a backup in case of tragedy."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Time Gone By Dress
fromCambridge, MA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Lovely and Understated!

PostedOctober 24, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: everything!
"I really didn't think I would like this dress because of the color and fit...But boy was I wrong; it was just lovely! I tried it on sz. 0 and I think it fit TTS."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Feminine and Classic

PostedOctober 19, 2010
User submitted photo
"When I first spied this dress, I tried it on, and put it immediately back on the rack. I adored the overall fit, and it made me look curvy and I felt beautiful in it, but those sleeves! And not the ruffly portion themselves, no, fellow Anthro shopper, it came down to the armholes. They are gaping. From the side, my shoulders looked wider than they actually are. In the end, I couldn't get the sweet little number off my mind, and a few weeks later, I found myself back at the shop, buying it for my Engagement Photo shoot. I get constant compliments on it, and I have come to terms with my shoulder trauma."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Time Gone By Dress
fromRichmond, VA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

AMAZING: this dress is so gorgeous

PostedOctober 31, 2010
User submitted photo
"I'd been looking at this dress for a while online, but I recently had a change to go into an Anthropologie & as it was my birthday, my parents provided me with a little extra money as a birthday present. Well, I immediately grabbed this dress to simply to see how it looked on, perhaps to buy it later when it went on sale. However, it fit so well I just had to get it. It's very well made, well worth paying full price for. I have an hourglass figure, 5'4" and 112 lbs & the 0 fit like a glove. You should definitely buy this dress if you've been thinking about it. It's my new favourite dress already."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Time Gone By Dress
fromNY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Glamour from Another Era

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Pros: flattering, unique muted color contrasts nicely w/ dark piping, flowy
"Beautiful and timeless! This is truly a masterpiece that can be dressed both up and down for multiple occasions. I've had mine for a month and I've gotten much wear out of it already.
I generally abhor built-in belts, but this one sits perfectly on the natural waist and is easily tucked in the nearby loop.
The flirty, flouncy layers of this dress' skirt are cut from a very generous amount of fabric. You will find it hard to resist twirling to admire the skirt's flare when nobody's looking. (Although, in this dress, EVERYONE will be looking! So go ahead and give them a twirl!)
While the dress looks beautiful in motion, it also falls fabulously when you are standing still. The skirt is long enough and wide enough that the edges ruffle rather than lay flat.
FInally, the pleating on the top seals the deal. I'm quite busty for my size, so it is often difficult for me to wear confined tops, especially if those tops are embellished and may draw attention to any squishing. These pleats gave me no trouble at all and laid just as they were supposed to.
I found that this runs true to size and is incredibly flattering. Well worth the reasonable price tag!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Time Gone By Dress
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

sweet dress

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
"I really like this dress! It is very flattering and doesn't wash out my light but olive skin. I find the color to be closer to khaki than gray though.....The belt it comes with isn't too bad but I tried a significantly wider belt and it really changed the look for the better. At 5'1" 115 lbs the size zero was perfect."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Time Gone By Dress
fromProvo, UT
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Amazingly cute dress

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Pros: beautiful flattering aesthetic
Cons: wrong washing directions (easy fix)
"The dress is beautiful and gives you a great hourglass figure. I'm 5'11" 135 lbs (tall and thin) and It was very flattering on my body. I don't know why it is called light grey in the description online because it is more a cream with a slight tint of pink. The binding on hem started to come off but I repaired it (a little disappointing, I expect better construction). Also, the tag says you can machine wash it. It is 100% rayon; the fabric is very delicate, so I'd recommend only dry cleaning."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Time Gone By Dress
fromNorthern VA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful, but too long!

PostedOctober 9, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: feminine charm
Cons: too long for a petite girl :(
"I tried this dress today at my local Anthro and loved it. I am 5' 1", 34D-26-36 and size 4 fit to a T. Made me feel so pretty and feminine! The dress is very well made and the skirt part drapes beatifully. You can't tell from the photo, but the light-grey material is very thin and light, but the dress is fully lined so it has a good weight overall. Unfortunately, due to my shortness, the dress is below the knee and it's not the most flattering length for me. I don't think this can be shortened due to the layers and contract trim on the bottom. I wish it were available in Petite!!! When (or if) it goes on sale, I am going to give it another look. Perhaps I'll grow fond of longer dresses by then..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

I love this Dress!

PostedOctober 4, 2010
"I ordered this dress on line and just got it and it fits great! I am 5'3 and 150lb and I am a very true size ten and when I slipped this dress on it fit very well, runs very true to size! It is supper faltering as well. I little pricey yes, but I would say worth it. If you are on the fence about this dress I would say go for it! I love it! It is defiantly going to become one of my go to dresses!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Time Gone By Dress
fromChicago, IL
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedOctober 9, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I'd previously tried on the peach colorway in a size 2 so this time I tried my true size 0 in the new grey colorway. While the fit was perfect this time, I think I actually like the peach better. The grey just looks a little drab. That said, the cut is flattering: the flutter sleeves don't stick out, the subtle pleating around the neck enhances the bust, and the fabric is floaty and light. I just wish it came in a better color than peach or grey.
For reference, I'm 5'2", 100 lbs, and the dress hits me just past the knees."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Time Gone By Dress
fromNew York, NY
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Not a great color and unflattering cut

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Pros: looks really cute on the hanger
Cons: bland color, too tight, too wide at hips and waste, wrinkles really easily
"I thought this dress looked really cute on the hanger, but when I tried it on, I was very disappointed. The color is really bland and washed me out. I also found it was too tight and shortened my torso and made my hips and waste look much wider than they are. I'm a standard size 6 and small, and this dress felt really tight on my bust, and because it's a plain color, it showed every little curve. It also wrinkles very easily, and once again, because of the plain color, it's quite noticeable. In the end, I definitely decided to pass on this dress."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Belt size doesn't match

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Pros: flattering to hourglass figure
Cons: belt size too small for larger dress sizes!
"I tried the 12 on in the store and it was very fitted but the belt was way to small so I ordered the next size up online - now the dress is slightly too loose and the belt is still the same size. Positively idiotic that belt size was not increased for a larger dress. It causes the dress to bunch unattractively- will have to get a black ribbon to belt it, which is disappointing because the belt is cute!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

very feminine and sophisticated

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Pros: classic but different, flattering color
Cons: wrinkles easily, accentuates hips
"I got this dress in cream for my engagement pictures and I loved it! It's light and swingy and very feminine. I am 6'1 and 36-26-36 and it hit me right above the knee, but accentuated my hips a bit too much. Stay away if you have big hips. Otherwise, it's very pretty!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Dress

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Pros: this dress fits perfectly flatters everyone
Cons: dry clean only rayon so it cannot get wet
"This dress is fantastic! I have it in pink."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Time Gone By Dress
fromToronto, ON Canada
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Pretty! Pretty! Pretty!

PostedNovember 23, 2010
"As soon as I put on this dress I felt very pretty and feminine. I am 5'5", 115lbs, 34A and tried on a size 2. That material might need some steaming, but that is the only fault I can find. Beautiful design, but a neutral enough color to wear for many occasions."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

So pretty, great color

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Pros: beautifully designed
Cons: busty ladies may have trouble
"I did not find that the color washed me out at all. This dress has such a great retro vibe, and made me feel so feminine! I'm a curvy 5'7" 145lb and 36D, and it was so flattering! A size 6 hit my waist perfectly, but was a little too tight in the chest, making the pleats stick out funny...and the 8 was too big. I'm waiting until it goes on sale to make my final decision, but I'm so in love with it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Least Flattering Color Imaginable

PostedOctober 5, 2010
"This is literally the best fitting dress I have ever tried on - I am 5'10" and 130 lbs and the size 2 seemed like it was literally tailored to fit me, and the sleeves and skirt were so flowy and graceful, and the belt was such a beautiful touch, and the contrast-color hems are great. However, with my pale-olive complexion and black hair, the light, washed out gray color made me look like I was dead, or a vampire. My friends who were shopping with me have darker, yellow-tinted skin and it made them look washed out too. PLEASE make this dress in a different color!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

time gone by dress

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Pros: material
"Fits perfect in all the right places, luxurious!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love, love, love!

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
"I love this dress! It fits TTS, and is very flattering on my figure! It hugs my slight curves well and the flairs/tiers on the arms and at the bottom of the hem gives some swing and shape to my slight figure. The picture does not do justice to this dress! It is incredible and absolutely gorgeous! When the dress is in "motion," it is very playful. The color and the black trim are a perfect combination; just the right amount of seriousness that is balanced by the playfulness of the swinging hem."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Time Gone By Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

simple yet sophisticated

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Pros: tts, young and fresh
"I've owned the ivory version of this dress for a few months and I love it. There are two colors to this dress, the earlier dresses came in Ivory and the current dressed are in beige. The beige has an olive undertone. The material is not the typical off the rack, more of something that you would sew by yourself. It is a very pretty dress, fits TTS (I am 5'7 34C fits size 2; hits at about the knees), there are enough rooms for the bust area. Although it might be somewhat loose if you are skinny. I saw a girl tried the beige in the store and it fits her nicely. I am guessing it fits most body type. May not be a perfect fit for someone with a very broad shoulder. Just a bit of a precaution, the arm holes are somewhat wide, might not be a match if you are feeling cautious with that area."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 3 next>>