Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Time Gone By Dress

Time Gone By Dress
Overall rating:
4.277 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
40 of 47(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress
Review 1 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 26, 2010

Dita Von Teese

I had a baby 6 months ago, and this dress forgives, flatters, and is SEXY! I have never had so many compliments, EVER! I am a hardcore collector of high fashion. This dress delivers more than any couture dress. It has a glamourous 40's feel to it. I got a lot of Dita Von Teese comments. Do yourself a favor and buy it, NOW
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: sexy! flattering unique glamourous
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 24, 2010

Amazingly cute dress

The dress is beautiful and gives you a great hourglass figure. I'm 5'11" 135 lbs (tall and thin) and It was very flattering on my body. I don't know why it is called light grey in the description online because it is more a cream with a slight tint of pink. The binding on hem started to come off but I repaired it (a little disappointing, I expect better construction). Also, the tag says you can machine wash it. It is 100% rayon; the fabric is very delicate, so I'd recommend only dry cleaning.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful flattering aesthetic
Cons: wrong washing directions (easy fix)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 9, 2010

Beautiful, but too long!

I tried this dress today at my local Anthro and loved it. I am 5' 1", 34D-26-36 and size 4 fit to a T. Made me feel so pretty and feminine! The dress is very well made and the skirt part drapes beatifully. You can't tell from the photo, but the light-grey material is very thin and light, but the dress is fully lined so it has a good weight overall. Unfortunately, due to my shortness, the dress is below the knee and it's not the most flattering length for me. I don't think this can be shortened due to the layers and contract trim on the bottom. I wish it were available in Petite!!! When (or if) it goes on sale, I am going to give it another look. Perhaps I'll grow fond of longer dresses by then...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: feminine charm
Cons: too long for a petite girl :(
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 24, 2010

i wish i was a little bit taller......

beatiful dress, fits tts.
BUT: lenght was right under my knees but, i'm keeping it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: very flattering
Cons: there should also be a petite version
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 23, 2010

Pretty! Pretty! Pretty!

As soon as I put on this dress I felt very pretty and feminine. I am 5'5", 115lbs, 34A and tried on a size 2. That material might need some steaming, but that is the only fault I can find. Beautiful design, but a neutral enough color to wear for many occasions.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 7, 2010

Lovely retro dress

I saw this and the contrast trim caught my eye. I'm 5'10 and have a curvy figure (boobs and a butt) but this dress in a size 10 flatters me amazingly. The lie of the natural waist with the belt to emphasize it and then the soft flow of ruffles makes this such a lovely '50s dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fit, style
Cons: i wish there was just a bit more room in the bust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 19, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 19, 2010

boring

I was intrigued by this dress online, especially by all the fabulous reviews. I can see the potential in this dress, but it was so boring, church marm. Fit was true to size but the belt was tiny, did not fit me at all, when the dress did. The color of the dress was very boring, almost drowned me out. Maybe better for darker olive skin.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: had potential
Cons: color belt
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 2, 2010

So pretty, great color

I did not find that the color washed me out at all. This dress has such a great retro vibe, and made me feel so feminine! I'm a curvy 5'7" 145lb and 36D, and it was so flattering! A size 6 hit my waist perfectly, but was a little too tight in the chest, making the pleats stick out funny...and the 8 was too big. I'm waiting until it goes on sale to make my final decision, but I'm so in love with it!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautifully designed
Cons: busty ladies may have trouble
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 28, 2010

Sophisticated Silhouette

I tried this dress on a whim and fell in love with it once I put it on. The fabric is lightweight, airy and falls beautifully. It accentuates the waistline in a subtle way and the light grey-pink hue gives it a timeless, feminine feel. Gorgeous dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: great silhouette
Cons: fabric wrinkles easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 30, 2010

Glamour from Another Era

Beautiful and timeless! This is truly a masterpiece that can be dressed both up and down for multiple occasions. I've had mine for a month and I've gotten much wear out of it already.
I generally abhor built-in belts, but this one sits perfectly on the natural waist and is easily tucked in the nearby loop.
The flirty, flouncy layers of this dress' skirt are cut from a very generous amount of fabric. You will find it hard to resist twirling to admire the skirt's flare when nobody's looking. (Although, in this dress, EVERYONE will be looking! So go ahead and give them a twirl!)
While the dress looks beautiful in motion, it also falls fabulously when you are standing still. The skirt is long enough and wide enough that the edges ruffle rather than lay flat.
FInally, the pleating on the top seals the deal. I'm quite busty for my size, so it is often difficult for me to wear confined tops, especially if those tops are embellished and may draw attention to any squishing. These pleats gave me no trouble at all and laid just as they were supposed to.
I found that this runs true to size and is incredibly flattering. Well worth the reasonable price tag!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: flattering, unique muted color contrasts nicely w/ dark piping, flowy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedDecember 28, 2010

Not a great color and unflattering cut

I thought this dress looked really cute on the hanger, but when I tried it on, I was very disappointed. The color is really bland and washed me out. I also found it was too tight and shortened my torso and made my hips and waste look much wider than they are. I'm a standard size 6 and small, and this dress felt really tight on my bust, and because it's a plain color, it showed every little curve. It also wrinkles very easily, and once again, because of the plain color, it's quite noticeable. In the end, I definitely decided to pass on this dress.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros: looks really cute on the hanger
Cons: bland color, too tight, too wide at hips and waste, wrinkles really easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 7, 2011

time gone by dress

Fits perfect in all the right places, luxurious!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: material
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age range:25-29
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):6
Body type:Curvy on top
Style:Vintage - distinctive and timeless
PostedJanuary 18, 2011

Cute Dress, Slightly Awkward Fit

I love this gorgeous vintage-feeling dress. I bought mine in the peach colorway a few months ago and I've received so many compliments every time I wear it!
The only caveat is that it runs very large in the bust. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6 in Anthropologie dresses, but I wound up going with the 4 because the 6 was falling off of me.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute vintage feel, slimming fit
Cons: runs large in the bust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 19, 2011

Love, love, love!

I love this dress! It fits TTS, and is very flattering on my figure! It hugs my slight curves well and the flairs/tiers on the arms and at the bottom of the hem gives some swing and shape to my slight figure. The picture does not do justice to this dress! It is incredible and absolutely gorgeous! When the dress is in "motion," it is very playful. The color and the black trim are a perfect combination; just the right amount of seriousness that is balanced by the playfulness of the swinging hem.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 19, 2010

Feminine and Classic

When I first spied this dress, I tried it on, and put it immediately back on the rack. I adored the overall fit, and it made me look curvy and I felt beautiful in it, but those sleeves! And not the ruffly portion themselves, no, fellow Anthro shopper, it came down to the armholes. They are gaping. From the side, my shoulders looked wider than they actually are. In the end, I couldn't get the sweet little number off my mind, and a few weeks later, I found myself back at the shop, buying it for my Engagement Photo shoot. I get constant compliments on it, and I have come to terms with my shoulder trauma.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

I love this Dress!

I ordered this dress on line and just got it and it fits great! I am 5'3 and 150lb and I am a very true size ten and when I slipped this dress on it fit very well, runs very true to size! It is supper faltering as well. I little pricey yes, but I would say worth it. If you are on the fence about this dress I would say go for it! I love it! It is defiantly going to become one of my go to dresses!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 18, 2010

simply gorgeous

This dress left me speechless. It fits like it was made for me! (I should note that I am petite, with no chest.) I really couldn't be more excited about it. It's so flattering.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 29, 2010

Color and Cut Not Quite Right

I love the concept of this dress and seem to remember the cream version. The gray just seemed a bit washed out to me, perhaps it would look better on darker skin tones?
The quality was a bit flimsy, wrinkled rayon with stray threads and I found the cut not very flattering on my small bust. I suspect this dress is cut for an hour glass figure. Otherwise it was true to size and very cute. If you see it in the store, give it a shot...maybe you will have better luck!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: very cute design
Cons: strange cut around bust, washed-out gray color, a bit flimsy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 2, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 2, 2010

Fun dress, creates a great shape

I am somewhat closer to the "noodle" shape than "hourglass" shape. I tried on the XS (am 5'4" and 115lbs, athletic frame) at my local store and fell in love-- it gave me the illusion of an hourglass shape. I find it a really fun and flowy dress with a much more forgiving cut than any of these pencil-shaped silhouettes that seem to be everywhere these days. The neckline is cute and charming, not a deep-V, which would be too obvious here-- so the dress manages to be sexy and still sweet.
I do take off 1 star because it's in this sort of blah-looking taupe. I would love this dress in a less boring color, but it's still a win given the way it drapes off of the body. Wishlisted!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fit styling and movement
Cons: boring color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 5, 2010

Least Flattering Color Imaginable

This is literally the best fitting dress I have ever tried on - I am 5'10" and 130 lbs and the size 2 seemed like it was literally tailored to fit me, and the sleeves and skirt were so flowy and graceful, and the belt was such a beautiful touch, and the contrast-color hems are great. However, with my pale-olive complexion and black hair, the light, washed out gray color made me look like I was dead, or a vampire. My friends who were shopping with me have darker, yellow-tinted skin and it made them look washed out too. PLEASE make this dress in a different color!
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>