Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Time Gone By Dress

Time Gone By Dress
Overall rating:
4.277 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
40 of 47(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Time Gone By Dress
Review 1 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

I love this Dress!

I ordered this dress on line and just got it and it fits great! I am 5'3 and 150lb and I am a very true size ten and when I slipped this dress on it fit very well, runs very true to size! It is supper faltering as well. I little pricey yes, but I would say worth it. If you are on the fence about this dress I would say go for it! I love it! It is defiantly going to become one of my go to dresses!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 18, 2010

simply gorgeous

This dress left me speechless. It fits like it was made for me! (I should note that I am petite, with no chest.) I really couldn't be more excited about it. It's so flattering.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

very feminine and sophisticated

I got this dress in cream for my engagement pictures and I loved it! It's light and swingy and very feminine. I am 6'1 and 36-26-36 and it hit me right above the knee, but accentuated my hips a bit too much. Stay away if you have big hips. Otherwise, it's very pretty!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: classic but different, flattering color
Cons: wrinkles easily, accentuates hips
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 6, 2010

my "jackie o" dress

This dress is perfect for work, an afternoon lunch, or an early fall wedding. I am a size 2 and half the reason I purchased this dress was because it flattered my figure so beautifully. I have worn this dress twice, both times with my hair in a high bun with sterling silver ball earrings (not sure if i can mention the brand...). Paired with black open toed pumps. I am typically wary of dresses that come with a belt, but this one is fabric covered and doesnt' look cheap. I get tons of compliments on this dress!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 24, 2010

Amazingly cute dress

The dress is beautiful and gives you a great hourglass figure. I'm 5'11" 135 lbs (tall and thin) and It was very flattering on my body. I don't know why it is called light grey in the description online because it is more a cream with a slight tint of pink. The binding on hem started to come off but I repaired it (a little disappointing, I expect better construction). Also, the tag says you can machine wash it. It is 100% rayon; the fabric is very delicate, so I'd recommend only dry cleaning.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: beautiful flattering aesthetic
Cons: wrong washing directions (easy fix)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 31, 2010

AMAZING: this dress is so gorgeous

I'd been looking at this dress for a while online, but I recently had a change to go into an Anthropologie & as it was my birthday, my parents provided me with a little extra money as a birthday present. Well, I immediately grabbed this dress to simply to see how it looked on, perhaps to buy it later when it went on sale. However, it fit so well I just had to get it. It's very well made, well worth paying full price for. I have an hourglass figure, 5'4" and 112 lbs & the 0 fit like a glove. You should definitely buy this dress if you've been thinking about it. It's my new favourite dress already.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 4, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 4, 2010

Super cute, but not for a full bust

I tried this on today and although it's super cute and mostly flattering I could not bring it home. I have a full bust which caused the pleats in the neckline to bulge.The overall fit was lovely and it is a beautiful dress, but I could not get past the way the neckline looked. When I showed it to my best friend, she agreed that the neckline looked funny.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: flattering fit and drape
Cons: not for women with a full bust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 7, 2010

Cute but not the best color

This is a simple dress that has a classic look/appeal. But something about the colors just did not work with my skintone (Asian, pale, yellowish undertone). I looked pasty and blended-in with the dress! As for fit, I tried both a 4 and 6. The 4 waistline seemed to hit too high but the 6 was too loose on top. I would have gone with the 6.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: classic elegant
Cons: color not for me
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 26, 2010

Dita Von Teese

I had a baby 6 months ago, and this dress forgives, flatters, and is SEXY! I have never had so many compliments, EVER! I am a hardcore collector of high fashion. This dress delivers more than any couture dress. It has a glamourous 40's feel to it. I got a lot of Dita Von Teese comments. Do yourself a favor and buy it, NOW
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: sexy! flattering unique glamourous
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedNovember 30, 2010

dull

i bought this dress because it looked so cute online, when i received it the color wasn't what i expect it and it was so wrinkled because of the way they put it in the box,it didn't look like they made that packege with care at all.the dress looks good but not as good as i thought.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 9, 2010

Beautiful, but too long!

I tried this dress today at my local Anthro and loved it. I am 5' 1", 34D-26-36 and size 4 fit to a T. Made me feel so pretty and feminine! The dress is very well made and the skirt part drapes beatifully. You can't tell from the photo, but the light-grey material is very thin and light, but the dress is fully lined so it has a good weight overall. Unfortunately, due to my shortness, the dress is below the knee and it's not the most flattering length for me. I don't think this can be shortened due to the layers and contract trim on the bottom. I wish it were available in Petite!!! When (or if) it goes on sale, I am going to give it another look. Perhaps I'll grow fond of longer dresses by then...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: feminine charm
Cons: too long for a petite girl :(
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedDecember 10, 2010

Absolutely fetching!

I saw this dress on the website and had to have it. I went to Anthropologie and asked for it, only to be told that it was no longer on the floor--they only had a few sizes left, and they'd check if my usual size 4 was back there. I was very sorry when the closest she had was a 6. I tried it on, however, and it fit! It's like a magic dress! It almost seemed like the bust was a little tight, but not much. It was so beautiful I didn't want to take it off. I wore it several times over the next few days, got compliments from total strangers on it, and even my jaded fashionista daughters allowed that it was a very pretty dress. I kept worrying that it would get stained or something. Now for the big confession: I went to another Anthropologie store and bought the same dress in the size 4. Both dresses fit me (!), even across the bust, and now I have a backup in case of tragedy.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: perhaps the prettiest dress in my closet, very feminine and flattering.
Cons: wish it came in other colors--i'd buy them all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 9, 2010

simple yet sophisticated

I've owned the ivory version of this dress for a few months and I love it. There are two colors to this dress, the earlier dresses came in Ivory and the current dressed are in beige. The beige has an olive undertone. The material is not the typical off the rack, more of something that you would sew by yourself. It is a very pretty dress, fits TTS (I am 5'7 34C fits size 2; hits at about the knees), there are enough rooms for the bust area. Although it might be somewhat loose if you are skinny. I saw a girl tried the beige in the store and it fits her nicely. I am guessing it fits most body type. May not be a perfect fit for someone with a very broad shoulder. Just a bit of a precaution, the arm holes are somewhat wide, might not be a match if you are feeling cautious with that area.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: tts, young and fresh
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 24, 2010

i wish i was a little bit taller......

beatiful dress, fits tts.
BUT: lenght was right under my knees but, i'm keeping it!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: very flattering
Cons: there should also be a petite version
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedDecember 15, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 15, 2010

Vintage and romantic dress!

I would have purchased but I ran out of money :-)
I liked the simplicity of the design and the romantic little sleeves and sash at the waist. A seriously versatile and just adorable dress. Fit was TTS, no surprises there. I am typically a 6 and loved the fit!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: vintage design, black edging
Cons: needed a higher credit card limit :-(
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 7, 2010

Lovely retro dress

I saw this and the contrast trim caught my eye. I'm 5'10 and have a curvy figure (boobs and a butt) but this dress in a size 10 flatters me amazingly. The lie of the natural waist with the belt to emphasize it and then the soft flow of ruffles makes this such a lovely '50s dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fit, style
Cons: i wish there was just a bit more room in the bust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 19, 2010

Feminine and Classic

When I first spied this dress, I tried it on, and put it immediately back on the rack. I adored the overall fit, and it made me look curvy and I felt beautiful in it, but those sleeves! And not the ruffly portion themselves, no, fellow Anthro shopper, it came down to the armholes. They are gaping. From the side, my shoulders looked wider than they actually are. In the end, I couldn't get the sweet little number off my mind, and a few weeks later, I found myself back at the shop, buying it for my Engagement Photo shoot. I get constant compliments on it, and I have come to terms with my shoulder trauma.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 19, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 19, 2010

boring

I was intrigued by this dress online, especially by all the fabulous reviews. I can see the potential in this dress, but it was so boring, church marm. Fit was true to size but the belt was tiny, did not fit me at all, when the dress did. The color of the dress was very boring, almost drowned me out. Maybe better for darker olive skin.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: had potential
Cons: color belt
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 23, 2010

Pretty! Pretty! Pretty!

As soon as I put on this dress I felt very pretty and feminine. I am 5'5", 115lbs, 34A and tried on a size 2. That material might need some steaming, but that is the only fault I can find. Beautiful design, but a neutral enough color to wear for many occasions.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Time Gone By Dress
PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
PostedJanuary 18, 2011

Cute vintage dress.

This dress is surprisingly cute. I wasn't sure about it because of the someone drab color but the fit is very flattering. The dress is somewhat longer than most Anthro dresses so probably won't work on someone shorter than 5'5. Otherwise I'd say it fits TTS.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>>