Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Average rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 61 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromHouston, TX
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Buy based on your bust size!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: machine washable, flattering fit, versatile, pockets
Cons: short if you are average/tall height, buttons are thin, loose threads around button holes
" I am 5'7" and 125 and a 32B. I am a classic pear and normally wear a 6-8 on bottom and a 4-6 on top. I ended up purchasing this dress in a 2, but could have also worn a 4 if I wanted more room in the shoulders.
This is a very flattering and forgiving dress, but I wish it was a little longer. it hits me enough above the knee that I feel uncomfortable wearing it without tights or leggings considering I am usually chasing after kiddos, bending, stooping and scooping up babies.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromSLC, UT
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

classic cute

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
" This dress has tons of potential, I bought it this morning and have already used it as a main piece in multiple looks. Perfect for layering or adding a belt.
I wear anything from an 8 to a 12 (6' 145#) and had to get a 12 in this dress in order to accommodate layering under it. It hits right above my knee .
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Near perfection!

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Pros: cut and color
" This dress is close to perfect. The fit is exceedingly flattering. The elastic in the back makes for a comfortable fit; the longer length makes it better for winter and work-appropriate (I'm almost 5' 8" and it grazes my knees); the nipped waist is feminine. The fine corduroy is delicate but sturdy enough for cooler weather -- as are the elbow-length sleeves. The colors are gorgeous and fit is TTS. This is one of the few items I've been happy to pay full price for (particularly since the price is reasonable). This dress is a winner! "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Perfect Fall Dress

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Pros: fitted in the waist!
" I love this dress.....I paired it with a camel sweater and red lipstick.....HUGE hit! "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromNorthern Virginia
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

great cold weather dress

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
" The Reed and other shirtdresses didn't work for me, too short and didn't like the tight arms. But this is a winner. While very basic in shape and color, this dress is perfect because of it! There are many styling options which makes the dress a great buy. Fabric is soft and warm, enough weight to hang just right. Cut is perfect, the size 4 was absolutely right on for me (this is my usual size). The stretchy panel in the back gives enough to make a perfect fit for any body shape. Length is just above the knee. You can wear a variety of belts, shoes, can layer underneath (a cardigan on top is possible but maybe a little bulky). Totally great. My dress had loose hanging threads, the only quality issue. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
" 5', 32b, 25" nat. waist ~105lbs.
The fit of the Reed was a petite girl's dream. I took a size 0 in both dresses and I found that the new cord version is a bit bigger and on my frame, shapeless without a belt to cinch in the waist. With a dress like this you'd probably belt it irregardless of the fit but it's always amazing when you find something that fits like it's tailored made for you(which is what the Reed felt like). The hem of the dress came maybe 2" past my knees while the Reed came 2" above my knees. The bust was a bit loose and could definitely accommodate larger sizes. The quality of the dress is good.
"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromNC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Felt like a coat

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Pros: color
Cons: material, cut
" I saw this dress online and was in love with it, tried it on in the store and was so disappointed. The dress felt like a coat and did nothing for my figure, slightly better with a belt but definitely not worth full price. I am 5'7" and a curvy size 6-8 and usually shirt dresses are my favorite style for playing up my curves, not this one. "
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromToronto, ON Canada
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

You'd never guess

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Pros: flattering feminine
" I walked right past this dress, and never even noticed it. That is how unimpressive it looks on the hanger. But when I told the consultant that I wanted to start wearing dresses, she immediately brought this one to me. I looked at her like she was crazy. This dress looked so plain and matronly, I was immediately turned off. But I tried it on anyways, what did I have to lose? I am 5'5", 115lbs and 34A. I tried on a size 2 in the navy. Do you know the feeling you get when you put something on and it just feels right? Well, that happened with this dress. It is so effortless, but looks like a million bucks. The consultant said it was more of an everyday dress that was so versatile you could wear it countless ways. She also noted that it was a good starter dress for the newbie. The corduroy is a fine grade. The waist is very well defined. The dress does not feel heavy. It will look great for years to come. Can't wait to wear it! "
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute

PostedOctober 7, 2010
" Cute dress for Fall. I'm petite at 5'3 and would prefer if it were maybe just a touch shorter and not quite so full in the skirt, but overall I like the fit and the look. I'm normally a size 4, but I sized down to a 2 and I'm glad I did. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great fit

PostedNovember 20, 2010
" I'm 5'7, 0/2, but with a 30ddd bust. I tried the 0 in the navy. It fit great and didn't pull over the bust, although I did unbutton the top button for a more flattering look. It gave a great hourglass silhouette. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Triple Threat!

PostedNovember 28, 2010
" This dress has quality, fit and versatility. I absolutely love it. One of my top purchases from Anthropologie ever. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromKansas City, MO
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Tough Fit for those with curves

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Pros: beautiful colors, nice design, quality dress
Cons: tight in chest and arms, not flattering on a curvy figure
" I am almost 5'7" and 150 pounds with a 34 C chest and large hips. I read the reviews and sized up to a size 10. It still didn't work. The buttons won't work across my chest, but the waist is a little loose. It also emphasizes my curves on the lower half a little more than is flattering. When worn open, over another dress, this dress looks fantastic. It is just not the right fit for curvy girls to wear normally though.
PS - I tried to size up to a twelve, but they are out. Customer service gave me the number of the one store that had it in that size, but when I called, it was not there. I will probably return this dress. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Not Worth It

PostedNovember 14, 2010
" I really wanted this dress to work but the cut didn't work at all and the corduroy was stiff and hard. Nothing about this dress worked. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromSan Jose, CA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Proportions for a Child, not Adult

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Pros: classic style, classic fabric
Cons: dull color, child proportions, not mainstream proportions for adults
" Size 10 arrived. Waist reached just above my ribs. Hem landed 5" above my knees. Looked absurd. "
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Good Fall Dress

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Pros: pockets
Cons: cheap buttons
" Full disclosure, I don't normally wear a lot of color or corduroy, but something about this dress online caught my eye. The length is great, however the buttons seem a bit thin for the fabric. Not the quality I would expect for the price. Love, love, love the pockets! "
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Puffy Sleeves a Deal Breaker

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Pros: figure flattering, great fabric
Cons: puffy sleeves too juvenile
" I just returned this dress despite the fact that I really liked it! Ultimately it went back to the store because of the puffy sleeves. The puff is not even that big, but after taking a closer look at myself in the mirror I decided it was noticeable enough to take me over the schoolyard fence from being a mother of 2 children to making me feel like the child. I really wish the puffy sleeve trend would be reserved for those under the age of 5. I am hoping a spring version is released--sans puffy sleeves! "
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great Dress!

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Pros: everything
Cons: none
This customer did not provide a text review.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

big problem......

PostedNovember 19, 2010
" The dress was just as I thought...except that I had to take it back to the store because the pockets were tightly stitched together! Not the usual few stitches to tear apart.
Extra trip for the store to try to open the pocket!
"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromWashington State
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Adorable Dress

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: adorable styling, has great pockets!!, lovely shade of navy, pinwale corduroy, did i mention it is adorable
Cons: adds width to torso, no stretch, no room for ample bust, skirt starts high under bust
" When I saw this dress I immediately fell madly deeply in LOVE. I was so excited when it finally arrived at my door. But, when trying it on I my heartbreak took over. As a super busty woman (36JJ) It became immediately obvious that this dress was cut for a slender body with a small to moderate bust. The corduroy id gorgeous, but does not have any stretch. The skirted part of the dress starts high above the waistline and tends to poof out a bit. so if you carry any extra girth in your midsection this dress will do nothing to hide it, rather it will add to it and accentuate it in a profile view. If you have a less curvy body type you a one lucky girl, because this dress was probably made just for you! This dress is completely unlined and the corduroy is rather lightweight. "
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Good Reed dress substitute

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
" This is so similar to the Reed dress, that it left me feeling blah about it. I own the Reed in 3 colors and just didn't feel like bringing this one home. The fit is slightly large. I am between a 0 and 2 in dresses and the 0 was plenty roomy on me. I am 5'8" and the waistband of this dress sat higher than my natural waist, so the fit was off for me. I would recommend for those who missed out on the Reed earlier this year, but I am wondering if other Reed shirtdress owners feel the same way about this dress as I do. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>