Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Average rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 61 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

GREAT DRESS!

PostedOctober 7, 2010
"This dress rocks, plain and simple! It might be the most comfortable dress I have ever worn. I purchased a size 2 to accomodate my chest (large c cup) and it fit perfect. I usually wear a 0 in anthro dresses. I love the neutral color. Looks great with chunky heels or tall boots! Perfect for work or running around with the kids!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromWoodbridge, VA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love this Dress!

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
"Worth every penny.
5'3", 112 lbs, 34A. Usual size in dresses is 2 (like the Reed shirtdress), but chose a 0 in this one.
Material = soft and comfortable
Basically I agree with every nice thing said about this dress. Also the length wasn't too long on me, being a petite person which was definitely nice."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love it

PostedOctober 2, 2010
"I tried this on yesterday in the store. I am usually a 6 unless I have to size up for my chest (I'm breastfeeding) but this was just perfect. Very flattering! I had to choose between this dress and a pair of skinny jeans and I chose the jeans but now I am totally dreaming over the dress and am panicking that it may sell out so I'll be in my store first thing Monday morning to buy it. I think it's one of those things I'll like for a really long time and can accessorize to fit my mood or the season or the trend. Don't pass it up! (But I'm scared saying that until I get my own size 6!)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very happy with purchase

PostedNovember 29, 2010
"Finally, a flattering shirt dress for an hour glass figure. True to size. Deep cut v-neck. When the girls need coverage a cami or a scarf work well with style of dress. Pockets in skirt are deep and so you won't worry about losing your belongings whenever you sit down."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Didn't work for me

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Pros: beautiful and well made, beautiful red color
Cons: too short
"This is a beautiful well made dress, but my usual size 8 was too tight and the length was not long enough for this type of dress. I am 5'6" and it hit above knee and was too full, making it look matronly. Did nothing for me. Back it went."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Cute dress, but definitely not for petites

PostedDecember 9, 2010
"Adorable concept for a dress. Love the color. Clearly this is not labeled a petite size - but I'm about 5'3", so sometimes I can wear regular sizes. This is just way too much corduroy for my small frame, so I won't be keeping it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromNew York
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

I gave it a second chance.....

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Pros: gray color is amazing fit is understated sexy
Cons: a bit squishy in the booby area
"I saw the gazillion reviews for this and vowed to try this puppy on at my local store. I did, in navy, and I looked like a prairie woman. The dress was weirdly snug in some areas and gigantic in others. I was sad but figured it wasn't meant to be. I left it but kept peeking at it online and reading more and more positive reviews, pining away. Then, today at my store, I discovered the gray. The skies opened and I grabbed it, hoping that this one would look magically good when the other hadn't. I buttoned it up (squashing my chest, which is 36dd into the size 8, which fit everywhere else) and gazed in the mirror. My daughter said, "mommy, you look soooo pretty." I was astonished- something about the gray made the dress look incredibly lush and made my blonde hair and gray eyes pop. I put on anthro's bow belt and the look was elevated to one of the best dresses I've ever worn, and I have a thousand dresses. If this didn't work for you the first time, try it again in the gray. I went home and put it back on with a minimizer bra and cannot wait to wear it out. So happy I gave it another shot!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great dress

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Pros: warm, versatile, comfortable
Cons: long
"Great dress. Fits great, very warm and comfortable. Petites might need a little hem. Size up if you're large-busted. Elastic back will not keep buttons from pulling over your chest."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromColo Spgs, CO
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
"Great dress! Fits like a dream and is super comfy. I paired it with a scalloped silver beaded anthro belt and black boots. I'm 5'3, 34D and sz8 is a keeper."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect throw on dress!

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Cons: none!
"Love love love this dress. Very comfortable and looks great, especially with a belt! If you are between two sizes, I would suggest ordering up."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromNorth Carolina
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Pros: great cut
Cons: wish it had one more button on top
"This is a versatile dress, perfect for work or weekends. I'm 5"4', 135 lbs, 36B and a size 6 fits great. The length of the dress is nice (basically right at my knee), and it looks really cute with tights and boots. I just wish it had one more button on top. To wear it to work, I have to wear something underneath so I'm not flashing my co-workers every time I bend over. Otherwise, it's a great dress, although I simply don't think I'll ever understand why every single dress I've ever bought from Anthro requires me to spend about 15 minutes clipping loose threads off."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love, love, love!

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Pros: fit
"I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress! Initially, I assumed it was just an overpriced, boring and simple dress. I didn't think anything of it when i saw it on the hanger, until i tried it on! It has to be tried on to be appreciated! I am amazed by the fit.
It fits TTS, and what i like most about the dress is that the skirt portion of the dress doesn't poof out at all! It hangs very nicely, gently skimming the hips. I also bought the Wrightwick Manor Dress (also a shirt dress) and i like it, but not as much as this dress. The problem with the Wrightwick Manor Dress was that the skirt poofed out too much. I think the reason for the discrepancy is b/c the weight of the Refined Cord Shirtdress is thick and more stiff, making it hang better on the body, possibly b/c it's heavier and is pulled down. The other dress IS softer, but therefore, it tends to add a bit more volume to the lower half of the body.
This is a wonderful dress! There is absolutely nothing bad to say about it! I am 5'3" and the size zero just hits my knees.
The elastic at the back makes the dress forgiving on the body. It also helps cinch in the waist for a more defined look.
I am short waisted, and the waist of this dress hit me at my natural waist.
There is no need for a belt with this dress. It is completely perfect as is."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromcharlotte, north carolina
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

in love, per the usual

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Pros: gorgeous fit
"every time anthro comes up with a new shirt dress, i am all over it, so of course this was no different. i gravitate towards greys (i have grey green eyes and chocolate brown hair) and that's what i ended up with here. the dark grey is a rich color that suits the brass buttons so beautifully. when i came out of the dressing room in this, several people commented on how flattering the cut and color were. now, down to the nitty gritty: this dress is made for women with SHAPE. i'm a 32 DD with a very narrow waist and wide hips and this could not be more flattering to my overall hourglass figure. the corduroy has a nice amount of stretch to it for comforts sake, and it TRULY does hide any problem areas in the tummy, even at inconvenient times of the month. i feel like the grey fit perfectly true to size, but it's the only color i tried on so i can't comment on the red or navy. my only teeny weeny complaint is that (once again) i brought a dress home from anthro COVERED in loose threads. this is the reason for my four star quality rating. it just BUGS me and seems slapdash, but not everyone is a third generation seamstress. if you are hesitant about buying this dress and the other billion positive reviews haven't convinced you, well, you're an idiot. take this baby home. its a classic and a winner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

My favorite fall/winter dress

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Pros: fit, quality
Cons: only 3/4 sleeves
"I just bought this today in the store, I loved it so much I got it in navy and red. The waist is higher than other dresses but for shorter girls like me it's great. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars for design is because it would've been better if they just made this with long sleeves. The cut reminds me of the Reed shirt dress from this summer except this dress doesn't bunch in the middle like the Reed dress. The quality of fabric is pretty good and the fit is so flattering and feminine. It's a great price for such a timeless dress. My new favorite."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

unfortunate misfit

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Pros: lovely color good quality material, versatile styling
Cons: made for a petite figure, cut for a very high waist
"The dress could have been great, but was made for a petite figure and that, unfortunately, was not indicated anywhere. I am 5'9' and the waist of the dress hit approximately 5 inches above my waistline (would be nice if it was mentioned somewhere in the description of the product). Given its short length, fluffy skirt and short sleeves, it looked like a dress I grew out of. A pity, because the color (gray), the material, even the overall shape was very attractive and would have been great for both work and play. I will be sending it back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Puffy Sleeves a Deal Breaker

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Pros: figure flattering, great fabric
Cons: puffy sleeves too juvenile
"I just returned this dress despite the fact that I really liked it! Ultimately it went back to the store because of the puffy sleeves. The puff is not even that big, but after taking a closer look at myself in the mirror I decided it was noticeable enough to take me over the schoolyard fence from being a mother of 2 children to making me feel like the child. I really wish the puffy sleeve trend would be reserved for those under the age of 5. I am hoping a spring version is released--sans puffy sleeves!"
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromLos Angeles, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Flattering

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Pros: shape-enhancing
"This dress is great; the set-in shoulder and elbow-length sleeve are very flattering. Accentuates the form, and hides a tummy nicely. Allows you to show your shape and look womanly even at those times when you don't want anything too clingy over your belly. Got this in a red, and couldn't help notice the looks this dress got while checking it out in the common area of the fitting room; a red dress really gets attention, even in a pretty modest, casual version like this one! Extra great with a belt to emphasize the waist."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

I love this dress :)

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Pros: material, colour, fit
"This dress has so many wonderful reviews already, but I will add my own...
I tried both the red and the navy in the store, and it seems that the navy fits true to size, while with the red one may have to size up. I'm quite short (5'3) and the skirt reached just below my knee. The colours of both are beautiful, and versatile.
The dress is so comfortable and can be worn practically anywhere and with anything!
I really hope it goes on sale sometime so I can own both colours...
Needless to say, I would recommend the dress ;)
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromMiami
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect holiday dress

PostedNovember 14, 2010
"I purchased this dress in Red and I think it will be perfect for the holidays coming up. I would pair it with a belt and some heels to jazz it up a bit. I do think this dress runs a bit large. In other shirt dresses in anthro, I'm typically a size 6 (for example in the Reed shirtdresses) but that may be because the sleeves of that dress were very narrow. In the refined cord dress they are a bit bigger, which is perfect for me. I think I could have possibly even sized down to a 2, but they didn't have it in the store."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Good Reed dress substitute

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
"This is so similar to the Reed dress, that it left me feeling blah about it. I own the Reed in 3 colors and just didn't feel like bringing this one home. The fit is slightly large. I am between a 0 and 2 in dresses and the 0 was plenty roomy on me. I am 5'8" and the waistband of this dress sat higher than my natural waist, so the fit was off for me. I would recommend for those who missed out on the Reed earlier this year, but I am wondering if other Reed shirtdress owners feel the same way about this dress as I do."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>