Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 61 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 7, 2010

cute casual dress for winter

I ordered this dress in the navy color and it fit TTS for me, 5'5", 124, 34B. I was going to order size 6 but opted for size 4 and it is fit just right. If you are more busty, size up. I love it and will wear it with a long sleeve T underneath, tights and boots.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: lovely and casual
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 12, 2010

unfortunate misfit

The dress could have been great, but was made for a petite figure and that, unfortunately, was not indicated anywhere. I am 5'9' and the waist of the dress hit approximately 5 inches above my waistline (would be nice if it was mentioned somewhere in the description of the product). Given its short length, fluffy skirt and short sleeves, it looked like a dress I grew out of. A pity, because the color (gray), the material, even the overall shape was very attractive and would have been great for both work and play. I will be sending it back.
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: lovely color good quality material, versatile styling
Cons: made for a petite figure, cut for a very high waist
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 10, 2010

Urban Cowgirl

Super comfortable dress - am wearing the navy colored one with over-the-knee boots, tights, belt and a turtleneck underneath.
Fits true to size and I like the smocking in the back - it's good for the waist.
I'm 5'8" and the dress hits just above the knee.
This is a light corduroy fabric (fine wale), so it should work fine in the spring.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: soft fabric, versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 19, 2010

Higher than expected waist but love it

I love this dress. I am 5'5 and 125lbs, and am a pear shape. I fit well into a 4. The only drawback is that the waist is a little high, but I am hoping a belt will help that. Overall this is a great dress I can't wait to wear- dress it up or down and I am excited to figure out accessories for it!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: comfort fit polished look for work on a casual
Cons: little bit higher waist
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 18, 2010

Not for curvy girls

I really, really wanted to love this red dress- but it simply looks ridiculous. I am 5 "8, 145, 34c and ordered up to an 8 per suggestion of other reviews. The top button pulls when buttoned which is fine bc I like the look of it unbuttoned with a cami anyhow) but am returning it because it makes my curvy booty look ginormous. This dress is not at all flattering if you have both boobs and a butt. Way too much fabric and not enough form. So sorry it must go back.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: great fabric
Cons: too much of it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 21, 2010

I felt very comfortable in this dress. The color gray is rich and warm and would compliment any skin tone. It seems to run a bit small and I am glad I ordered a size up
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: can be dressed up or down
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 22, 2010

Great Dress!!

I passed on the previous versions of the Reed Shirtdress, however this version seems a much better fit & color anyway. Not to mention I live in a colder climate where I can wear this dress pretty much more than half the year due the heaviness of the fabric. The cord is fine and is also a rich navy color - not to mention the quality is top-notch. The dress is also comfortable beyond belief in addition to being totally work appropriate.
I think it's an elegant investment piece sure to be a staple in your wardrobe for years to come. You will be able to accessorize easily (with many colors) with this piece. Fit was TTS. I purchased a 6 & had room to spare due to the high waist. I am 5'6 and 135lb and normally a 6-8 in dresses. Regarding the poofiness in the shoulder another reviewer mentioned. I didn't have that issue at all since I have pretty broad shoulders so I filled them out nicely.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cord quality excellent, easy to accessorize
Cons: none so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 16, 2010

Very nice dress

I love this dress. nice lines, great fit and Pockets!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pockets
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 6, 2010

Perfect Fall Dress

I love this dress.....I paired it with a camel sweater and red lipstick.....HUGE hit!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fitted in the waist!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 7, 2010

Great Dress

I love this dress! It is super comfortable and practical. I bought it in red for the holidays. Can dress up with big necklace or down with a simple scarf. Will wear this dress for years.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 27, 2010

Perfect for any day!

I bought this dress in dark grey. It fits well and I love the way it looks. I received a ton of compliments.
I love shirt dresses and this has to be one of the cutest ones I've seen in a long time. The corduroy is perfect for the colder weather. I sometimes pair mine with leggings.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: machine washable!!!
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 31, 2010

FireBall

Oh How I feel so extra special in this simple comfortable number. This dress fits true to size for me. It has stretch around the lower back area so there is a little room for weight gain: ) I am a size 4, 36 c and thought to possibly go up just on the basis of the breast area--- but did not have to go up in size solely due to the elastic in the lower back area. It you are alot heavier up top I would suggest going up in size and possible altering the dress--its worth it. Its a nice deep cherry. This baby will look great with or without a belt...Its totally worth it...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 4, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 4, 2010

Adorable must have

I love this dress, great for work or a night out. Can be dressed up with pumps or down with tights and boots. It's a bit high wasted for me (I'm 5'7 and I got a size down (4 to 2) and it fits perfectly. The slightly puffy sleeves are feminine and sweet to this mostly plain dress. It's pricey, but a closet staple to be worn for years.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: versitle comfy great staple
Cons: high wasted pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 10, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 10, 2010

Near perfection!

This dress is close to perfect. The fit is exceedingly flattering. The elastic in the back makes for a comfortable fit; the longer length makes it better for winter and work-appropriate (I'm almost 5' 8" and it grazes my knees); the nipped waist is feminine. The fine corduroy is delicate but sturdy enough for cooler weather -- as are the elbow-length sleeves. The colors are gorgeous and fit is TTS. This is one of the few items I've been happy to pay full price for (particularly since the price is reasonable). This dress is a winner!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cut and color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 11, 2010

Easy shirt dress

I just received this dress in Navy after waiting on backorder. I love it! It is very soft and will be very easy to wear. I hopped online to post a review and saw that more colors are available! Will be placing another order!
Fits true to size. I'm petite and this dress hits me perfectly just above my knee, no need for additional alterations.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 13, 2010

Great dress!

I thought both the red and navy colors of this dress looked great, ended up buying the navy. It's very flattering and the corduroy is a good weight - not heavy as I feared it might be. I think it'll look great with tights and boots for a casual look, and I can't wait to wear it a little dressed up with a couple layered necklaces and pumps!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedNovember 14, 2010

Love it but had to leave it.

I loved this dress, until I put it on. I am a size 2 in any dress I have ever purchased. I am 123 lbs. and 5'7". I thought this would be a great dress for me to wear for work, and while the quality and style is beautiful, it wouldn't button around my bust (which is only a 34 B). It was the strangest fitting dress- the wait was too high! I knew going up to a 4 would just be sloppy, so sadly, I had to send it back.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: weird sizing!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 14, 2010

Cannot wait to wear this dress

I love the cut and color of this dress, I bought it in navy, all though it was a tough decision between navy and the red. Now the next tough decision is to decide which color tights I will pair or not pair with this dress?
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cut is flattering to my figure, material is soft
Cons: a bit pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 17, 2010

Too Big for little people

I loved this dress online and even when I received it in the mail. However, it is not made for petite people. I am 5'2'', 110lbs and I usually wear an XS or S and a 0 or 2. I think this dress is made for much taller women. Even at a size 0, the dress has so much extra fabric from the waist down, that I was swimming in it. It looks like I am wearing curtains, becasue the side seams are cut on a bias. Also, I don't see how you could layer a longsleeve underneath as it isn't roomy enough in the shoulders. I do think it is well made and the nave corduroy is completely classic and will last forever. But alas, I have to send it back.
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: classic style, well made
Cons: too much extra fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedJanuary 8, 2011

Best Compliments

I picked the Refined Cord Shirtdress in red as my Christmas outfit. Like may others I can't button the top button. I wore Eddie Bauer's Dream Henley underneath, kept the outfit modest and my arms warm. Anthropologie's Speckled Sweater Tights went prefect with the Dream Henley - cozy warm look. I wore a wide brown leather belt around the waist and Anthropologie's pearl handband in my hair and a snowflake necklece. I Love this dress and outfit! Most amazing .. I got lots of compliments! I wore the outfit as a test run to the mall with a friend and folks were coming up to me with compliments on the dress all evening & on Christmas I received compliments all day, even from my brothers who never notice clothes! I was shocked, this is a winner!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color & shape holds up worn it many times
Cons: too small around the chest i am unable to button.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<< prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 8 next >>>