Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 61 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 27, 2010

Very Nice Dress

I really like this dress. Good quality and very flattering. I bought the size 8, and it fits, a smidge loose around the waist. I am 5'4" and 125 pounds with a 34D bust. The hem hit at the bottom of my knee, and the waistline is flattering. A good buy!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cons: the price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 3, 2011

Amazing Dress

I bought this dress in gray last week and have already worn it twice! The fit is amazing and looks great with different styles: I paired it with a fun pair of cowboy boots and the Sulky Belt (another great Anthro purchase) another day I paired it with the belt once again and a pair of Steve Madden Saddle Oxfords. This dress can look great on anyone! For reference I am 5' 3" 130lbs wear a 32B it hits just above the knee I hope you like this dress too!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: it fits my body shape well
Cons: i wish it were a little less expensive!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJanuary 3, 2011

Buy based on your bust size!

I am 5'7" and 125 and a 32B. I am a classic pear and normally wear a 6-8 on bottom and a 4-6 on top. I ended up purchasing this dress in a 2, but could have also worn a 4 if I wanted more room in the shoulders.
This is a very flattering and forgiving dress, but I wish it was a little longer. it hits me enough above the knee that I feel uncomfortable wearing it without tights or leggings considering I am usually chasing after kiddos, bending, stooping and scooping up babies.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: machine washable, flattering fit, versatile, pockets
Cons: short if you are average/tall height, buttons are thin, loose threads around button holes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2010

One of my favorite Anthro purchases!

I love this dress! I saw it in stores a few weeks ago and had to buy it immediately! It's very similar to the popular Reed Shirtdress, except (obviously) corduroy. The material is soft and cozy and the silhouette is very flattering. There is smocking at the back (similar to the Secret Treasures shirtdress), making the fit comfortable as well. My regular size 2 fit perfectly. It fell just above my knees (I'm about 5'3"). I do wish the dress were lined, but that's a very minor complaint, especially in light of all the other great things about the dress. This dress will be a staple for me--highly recommended!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft cozy material, feminine and flattering, versatile, tts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 9, 2010

Have to Have

I tried this a few days ago and can't stop thinking about it! I missed out on the Reed because of the length-it was just too short for me. This dress is a bit longer, which is perfect for fall and my 5"5" frame. My usual size felt fine but fit a bit roomy. When I sized down it was a tiny bit tight across the chest, fine everywhere else and I liked the skirt much better-it wasn't as full which made it more flattering. The fabric is soft and cozy, and the styling options are endless.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cons: it was shown in red but disappeared., more colors please!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 10, 2010

5', 32b, 25" nat. waist ~105lbs.
The fit of the Reed was a petite girl's dream. I took a size 0 in both dresses and I found that the new cord version is a bit bigger and on my frame, shapeless without a belt to cinch in the waist. With a dress like this you'd probably belt it irregardless of the fit but it's always amazing when you find something that fits like it's tailored made for you(which is what the Reed felt like). The hem of the dress came maybe 2" past my knees while the Reed came 2" above my knees. The bust was a bit loose and could definitely accommodate larger sizes. The quality of the dress is good.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 16, 2010

Beautiful, practical, and comfy!

There aren't enough words for me to express my love of this dress! It's soooo flattering and comfortable and is going to go fantastically with a multitude of fall/winter looks. I have a couple of the Reed shirt dresses and those have always been some of my favorites, but I think I like this one is even better. It's a couple of inches longer than the Reed ones which I actually prefer. This one comes right to my knees. I paired it with the Meridian Gate Belt; the red of the belt really sets the dress off in a nice way.
Please, please, please Anthropologie -- get this in other colors! I'd totally buy it again in different hues.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 19, 2010

Shirtdress craze.. love it <3

I have about gazillionth shirtdresses from Anthro.. what can I say, I love shirtdresses and seriously live in them ;) This one is no exception.. I love the material (soft corduroy), it has a nice weight to it that it will carry well through the fall/colder season. The sleeves are just right, they aren't as tight as say the Reed dress or the Sugarcoated dress. It fits really well and looks good with or without the belt (unlike say the Two-wheeler - I think the two-wheeler def. looks better with belt). As far as sizing, I feel that it fits TTS (I got it in size 12 - which is my normal size). I can't say enough good thing about the dress. Unfortunately I had to knock one star down on the quality because there are some loose threads on the buttons (small flaws that can be easily fixed, but still rather annoying).
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: great fit, flattering, comfortable
Cons: some loose threads
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 25, 2010

Nice dress, but not on me

I went to the store to seek out this dress, as I love shirt dresses. However, I have a long waist and it didn't really flatter me with the fuller skirt. Accentuated my hips and I am a size 2 at the largest. However, it's made well and if it wasn't as bull skirted, I would have bought it.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: quality
Cons: too full in skirt
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 26, 2010

Perfect Fall/Winter Dress

Love this dress! I usually wear a 6 or 8, and bought a 6 in this dress. Perfect for layering and dressing up or down. Very warm, will definitely be able to wear into winter.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute design very flattering cut and fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 1, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 1, 2010

Cute & Comfortable

This is a really cute dress. Very simple but you can dress it up with accessories and some boots. It can easily work for you in fall, winter & spring. It fits tts. I am a size 4 and it fit great.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 2, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 2, 2010

cute dress but not for me

This dress is great looking on the right person. I love shirtdresses. Sadly this one didn't work for me. I have wide hips and the pleats really just added way too much width to my hips.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute style, great fall dress
Cons: pleating
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 9, 2010

new dress i lurve u

Ok, there are a lot of reviews so I'll give specifics. I'm 5'3", 36-28-40, 34B, and the 6 fits PERFECTLY. Measured lying flat the dress is 18" bust, 14.5" waist, 14" shoulder to shoulder (my exact measurements, yippie!) The length hits me just at the bottom of my knee. I have larger arms and the arms are roomy and comfortable. In fact, the whole dress is so comfortable and non-fussy, it's probably the only dress I'll wear for the rest of my life out of laziness. Oh, and it's super flattering. My only complaint is that the waist sits a little high - I have a pretty short torso and it hits about 1" above my natural waist. But if you are tall and have big boobs this will be bordering on an empire waist. I hope this review helps! P.S. Anthro, if you release this in more colors I promise I will buy them all.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fit, ease of wear, fabric, everything else!
Cons: waist sits just a tiny bit high
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 27, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 27, 2010

Should be called "Endless Possibilities" dress!

Tried this on and fell in love with it immediately. I bought it in navy in a size 0. I am 5'1, 95lbs. It fits pefectly. I think it's the most comfortable dress I have ever owned. My little cloth packet that is supposed to have the extra button(s) was missing, but hopefully I never lose a button. I had ordered from a store and had it shipped so I did have a chance to check everything.
My sister also ordered the same dress after I told her about it. We are both waiting for the grey shade to make it's debut. Neither of us are crazy about the red.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great style fabric fit
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 10, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 10, 2010

Near perfection!

This dress is close to perfect. The fit is exceedingly flattering. The elastic in the back makes for a comfortable fit; the longer length makes it better for winter and work-appropriate (I'm almost 5' 8" and it grazes my knees); the nipped waist is feminine. The fine corduroy is delicate but sturdy enough for cooler weather -- as are the elbow-length sleeves. The colors are gorgeous and fit is TTS. This is one of the few items I've been happy to pay full price for (particularly since the price is reasonable). This dress is a winner!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cut and color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 11, 2010

i loveloveLOVE this dress. it's roomy enough where i don't feel like my bust is squashed in and the cord is warm enough for the colder nyc months. i initially bought it in red but came back and bought the navy version. i've used it for work and out to play and i absolutely adore it.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 14, 2010

Simple yet elegant

Very simple design, yet every stitch resonates elegantly. I wore it first to a jazz concert with a bold necklace tucked in the collar. Very flattering. Good buy!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 1, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedDecember 1, 2010

Just try it on

This dress looks better in person than in photos and feels great on. I'm 34-27.5-36.5 and the 2 was perfect. It absolutely required a belt on me though, as the waist was a tad high. The wide belt solved that problem. The only thing that held me back were the sleeves: It's winter and I'd rather they were longer. But next time I go back I will just bring in a long sleeved top to layer underneath and try again.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: the red is fabu!, simplicity, lightness
Cons: short-ish sleeves
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 4, 2010

Proportions for a Child, not Adult

Size 10 arrived. Waist reached just above my ribs. Hem landed 5" above my knees. Looked absurd.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: classic style, classic fabric
Cons: dull color, child proportions, not mainstream proportions for adults
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 14, 2010

Really comfortable!

I missed out on the Reed shirtdresses, and so when I saw this in the store, I grabbed it to try it on right away.
It is very comfortable, and cute. The deep navy color is great, and it's effortless. It looks good with or without a belt. It would look great paired with red pumps.
It also looks really cute the way Anthro had styled it on the website, with a long sleeve tee under and boots.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: effortless, comfortable, versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<< prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 8 next >>>