Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 61 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2010

A dress I could actually wear to work

Finally, a dress that doesn't have too many pleats or is too short! I'm 5'4" and 145 lbs, and a 10 fits me perfectly. It is definitely warm and heavy but without feeling weighed down. The thing I love the most about it is that the skirt isn't too poofy (a problem with other anthro shirtdresses) and the length is perfect to wear to work. The dress hits me right above the knees. Can't wait for it to get cold enough to wear.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 14, 2010

Really comfortable!

I missed out on the Reed shirtdresses, and so when I saw this in the store, I grabbed it to try it on right away.
It is very comfortable, and cute. The deep navy color is great, and it's effortless. It looks good with or without a belt. It would look great paired with red pumps.
It also looks really cute the way Anthro had styled it on the website, with a long sleeve tee under and boots.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: effortless, comfortable, versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 14, 2010

perfect for fall

The picture online does not do this pretty little dress justice. On, it is a lovely shape - very trim through the waist and then a pretty A-line skirt that hit flatteringly just above the knee on me (I'm 5'7"). The color online looks almost black but it's definitely navy in person. It's a fine corduroy and very soft.
Overall, the dress made me think of that time each year when I was growing up when my mom and I would go back to school shopping and I would inevitably end up with a corduroy skirt that I was just aching to wear -- even if it was only July or August. Always, I'd have to wait agonizingly for the cooler days of September to roll around before I could delight in my duds. Now, living in the deep South, where it's still hot as anything in September, I guess I'm in for another tempting couple of weeks with this lovely little thing hanging in my closet, waiting for a cool day...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty soft shapely
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 9, 2010

may run small

no need to lavish more praise on this dress, just a note on fit:
--if you have a long torso, order up one size!
(i am usually a size 4, hourglass figure, but i'll be returning this for a 6) the top of the elastic in the back hit too high-- just below my bra. since my ribcage is bigger than my waist the dress ended up feeling uncomfortably tight. so, if you're built anything like me definitely go up a size.
-- the skirt seemed a little wider than expected, but hopefully this won't be the case once my waist is in the right place
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 11, 2010

I gave it a second chance.....

I saw the gazillion reviews for this and vowed to try this puppy on at my local store. I did, in navy, and I looked like a prairie woman. The dress was weirdly snug in some areas and gigantic in others. I was sad but figured it wasn't meant to be. I left it but kept peeking at it online and reading more and more positive reviews, pining away. Then, today at my store, I discovered the gray. The skies opened and I grabbed it, hoping that this one would look magically good when the other hadn't. I buttoned it up (squashing my chest, which is 36dd into the size 8, which fit everywhere else) and gazed in the mirror. My daughter said, "mommy, you look soooo pretty." I was astonished- something about the gray made the dress look incredibly lush and made my blonde hair and gray eyes pop. I put on anthro's bow belt and the look was elevated to one of the best dresses I've ever worn, and I have a thousand dresses. If this didn't work for you the first time, try it again in the gray. I went home and put it back on with a minimizer bra and cannot wait to wear it out. So happy I gave it another shot!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: gray color is amazing fit is understated sexy
Cons: a bit squishy in the booby area
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 16, 2010

Perfect for Pear Shapes!

I love shirtdresses, and this one (particularly the red) is great for the holidays! I am definitely a pear shape with a size 6 top and size 10/12 bottom most of the time. In this dress, I ordered an 8 and it is perfect! It's feminine and fitted on top while forgiving on the bottom. The fabric is what you would expect from a narrow wale corduroy - not too heavy and nicely soft. The red is a slightly muted blue-based red (not tomato red), which I prefer. Putting the navy on my Christmas list!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: shape, structured design with feminine details
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 18, 2010

Great Sizing

This is an awesome staple. I am a sucker for navy dresses and shirtdresses especially. I am 5'4" and curvy, but this dress looked like it was too heavy of a material on me. It did not look bunched up, just like I needed a petite version, and I am not a petite. So if you are curvy, the fabric might stick to your curves. I loved how I didn't have to size up in this dress, and I felt like the sleeves were not tight at all!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great staple
Cons: too thick of a material for me
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 28, 2010

COZY + CUTE Fall dress

This navy frock is extremely comfortable and cozy. I originally passed on it b/c on the hanger it looked a bit blah. Then, I went back and tried it on and it's exquisite!
The 3/4 sleeves that button up are adorable. The pockets are perfectly placed and provide the perfect spot to stash new treasures.
The back pinches in creating a subtle flare to the skirt and hour-glass fit.
I agree, that a long sleeve shirt (pink) will look great inside in the dress, and make it even cozier for winter. Therefore, definitely go up one size. I went for an 8 (tend to go with 6 or 8 in anthro dresses).
I've never bought a design from this designer, but the dress is very similar to Maeve dresses (which I adore)... in look and fit!
My store in Cincinnati was sold out, but the on-line company was extremely helpful in ordering my size. I'm very happy! Thanks!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 6, 2010

Felt like a coat

I saw this dress online and was in love with it, tried it on in the store and was so disappointed. The dress felt like a coat and did nothing for my figure, slightly better with a belt but definitely not worth full price. I am 5'7" and a curvy size 6-8 and usually shirt dresses are my favorite style for playing up my curves, not this one.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: material, cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 29, 2010

Very happy with purchase

Finally, a flattering shirt dress for an hour glass figure. True to size. Deep cut v-neck. When the girls need coverage a cami or a scarf work well with style of dress. Pockets in skirt are deep and so you won't worry about losing your belongings whenever you sit down.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 1, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedDecember 1, 2010

Just try it on

This dress looks better in person than in photos and feels great on. I'm 34-27.5-36.5 and the 2 was perfect. It absolutely required a belt on me though, as the waist was a tad high. The wide belt solved that problem. The only thing that held me back were the sleeves: It's winter and I'd rather they were longer. But next time I go back I will just bring in a long sleeved top to layer underneath and try again.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: the red is fabu!, simplicity, lightness
Cons: short-ish sleeves
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 8, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 8, 2010

Nice color & Fit

This is such a pretty dress. Tried on in store, and liked it very much!
Ordered Red and received today! So pretty! Great for holiday and everyday! TTS
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: color fabric fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 12, 2010

So Precious

This dress is an incredible deal; it is comfortable, versatile, and very, very attractive. I have wanted it since it came onto the website and finally purchased it a few weeks ago in Boulder. They only had a size 2 in the store, which was pretty tight in the chest for me, and I ordered the navy in a 4. It fits like a dream! (I'm 5'11, 150). It's very slimming and makes my athletic frame seem much more feminine. I rarely buy clothes new and even more rarely spend this much on a dress, but this beauty is well worth the price.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: durable fabric slimming deep pockets, great new colors too!
Cons: it was out of stock when i wanted it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 9, 2010

new dress i lurve u

Ok, there are a lot of reviews so I'll give specifics. I'm 5'3", 36-28-40, 34B, and the 6 fits PERFECTLY. Measured lying flat the dress is 18" bust, 14.5" waist, 14" shoulder to shoulder (my exact measurements, yippie!) The length hits me just at the bottom of my knee. I have larger arms and the arms are roomy and comfortable. In fact, the whole dress is so comfortable and non-fussy, it's probably the only dress I'll wear for the rest of my life out of laziness. Oh, and it's super flattering. My only complaint is that the waist sits a little high - I have a pretty short torso and it hits about 1" above my natural waist. But if you are tall and have big boobs this will be bordering on an empire waist. I hope this review helps! P.S. Anthro, if you release this in more colors I promise I will buy them all.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fit, ease of wear, fabric, everything else!
Cons: waist sits just a tiny bit high
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 10, 2010

poofy

This dress would be perfect if not for the poofy shoulders -- sort of Elizabethan. The fabric is a lovely, soft navy cord; the cut is perfect and flattering. SO disappointing to have those little poofs on the shoulders.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 10, 2010

Great Dress!

This customer did not provide a text review.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 13, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 13, 2010

Great dress!

I purchased this dress at my local Anthro store in size 0 and it fits TTS (I'm 5'3", 110lbs). It's classic, versatile and can be worn with many different things (belted, w/ a henley underneath, etc). Definitely worth the price. It's warm and super comfy too!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2010

One of my favorite Anthro purchases!

I love this dress! I saw it in stores a few weeks ago and had to buy it immediately! It's very similar to the popular Reed Shirtdress, except (obviously) corduroy. The material is soft and cozy and the silhouette is very flattering. There is smocking at the back (similar to the Secret Treasures shirtdress), making the fit comfortable as well. My regular size 2 fit perfectly. It fell just above my knees (I'm about 5'3"). I do wish the dress were lined, but that's a very minor complaint, especially in light of all the other great things about the dress. This dress will be a staple for me--highly recommended!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft cozy material, feminine and flattering, versatile, tts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 13, 2010

Cute dress

When I saw it online, I could not wait to go to the store and try it on. My friend thought it looked rather pathetic on the hanger but she agreed that it looked great when I tried it on. I am 5"3, 148 lbs and I got the size 12. A teeny weeny fitted around the waist but I really need to loose a little weight.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: dressy cool
Cons: waist a teeny bit fitted but it's me not the dress
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 21, 2010

Flattering

This dress is great; the set-in shoulder and elbow-length sleeve are very flattering. Accentuates the form, and hides a tummy nicely. Allows you to show your shape and look womanly even at those times when you don't want anything too clingy over your belly. Got this in a red, and couldn't help notice the looks this dress got while checking it out in the common area of the fitting room; a red dress really gets attention, even in a pretty modest, casual version like this one! Extra great with a belt to emphasize the waist.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: shape-enhancing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<< prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 8 next >>>