Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Average rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 1 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromHouston, TX
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Buy based on your bust size!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: machine washable, flattering fit, versatile, pockets
Cons: short if you are average/tall height, buttons are thin, loose threads around button holes
"I am 5'7" and 125 and a 32B. I am a classic pear and normally wear a 6-8 on bottom and a 4-6 on top. I ended up purchasing this dress in a 2, but could have also worn a 4 if I wanted more room in the shoulders.
This is a very flattering and forgiving dress, but I wish it was a little longer. it hits me enough above the knee that I feel uncomfortable wearing it without tights or leggings considering I am usually chasing after kiddos, bending, stooping and scooping up babies.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromSaint Louis, MO "THE GATEWAY CITY"
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

FireBall

PostedOctober 31, 2010
User submitted photo
"Oh How I feel so extra special in this simple comfortable number. This dress fits true to size for me. It has stretch around the lower back area so there is a little room for weight gain: ) I am a size 4, 36 c and thought to possibly go up just on the basis of the breast area--- but did not have to go up in size solely due to the elastic in the lower back area. It you are alot heavier up top I would suggest going up in size and possible altering the dress--its worth it. Its a nice deep cherry. This baby will look great with or without a belt...Its totally worth it..."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromAB, Canada
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Shirtdress craze.. love it <3

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: great fit, flattering, comfortable
Cons: some loose threads
"I have about gazillionth shirtdresses from Anthro.. what can I say, I love shirtdresses and seriously live in them ;) This one is no exception.. I love the material (soft corduroy), it has a nice weight to it that it will carry well through the fall/colder season. The sleeves are just right, they aren't as tight as say the Reed dress or the Sugarcoated dress. It fits really well and looks good with or without the belt (unlike say the Two-wheeler - I think the two-wheeler def. looks better with belt). As far as sizing, I feel that it fits TTS (I got it in size 12 - which is my normal size). I can't say enough good thing about the dress. Unfortunately I had to knock one star down on the quality because there are some loose threads on the buttons (small flaws that can be easily fixed, but still rather annoying)."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromBirmingham, AL
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

This Dress is a Perfect Fall Staple Piece!

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: wonderful fit nice length for petites
"I tried this dress on yesterday in the store and I couldn't believe how perfect it is! I am 5'1, 120lbs, 32C and the 2 fits TTS. I usually wear a 2-4 in Antropologie but tend the stick with a 2 in dresses. I even added the Suspended Droplets Henley like it was styled on the website and had plenty of room for a layered piece underneath. There's something about this dress that really "molds" and flatters your body. The length is perfect too; I have constant trouble with dresses being too long but this one hit right at my knee cap so knee high boots will look great with it as well. This one's a winner in my book!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Just try it on

PostedDecember 1, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: the red is fabu!, simplicity, lightness
Cons: short-ish sleeves
"This dress looks better in person than in photos and feels great on. I'm 34-27.5-36.5 and the 2 was perfect. It absolutely required a belt on me though, as the waist was a tad high. The wide belt solved that problem. The only thing that held me back were the sleeves: It's winter and I'd rather they were longer. But next time I go back I will just bring in a long sleeved top to layer underneath and try again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Best Compliments

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
User submitted photo
Pros: color & shape holds up worn it many times
Cons: too small around the chest i am unable to button.
"I picked the Refined Cord Shirtdress in red as my Christmas outfit. Like may others I can't button the top button. I wore Eddie Bauer's Dream Henley underneath, kept the outfit modest and my arms warm. Anthropologie's Speckled Sweater Tights went prefect with the Dream Henley - cozy warm look. I wore a wide brown leather belt around the waist and Anthropologie's pearl handband in my hair and a snowflake necklece. I Love this dress and outfit! Most amazing .. I got lots of compliments! I wore the outfit as a test run to the mall with a friend and folks were coming up to me with compliments on the dress all evening & on Christmas I received compliments all day, even from my brothers who never notice clothes! I was shocked, this is a winner!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromWashington State
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Adorable Dress

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
User submitted photo
Pros: adorable styling, has great pockets!!, lovely shade of navy, pinwale corduroy, did i mention it is adorable
Cons: adds width to torso, no stretch, no room for ample bust, skirt starts high under bust
"When I saw this dress I immediately fell madly deeply in LOVE. I was so excited when it finally arrived at my door. But, when trying it on I my heartbreak took over. As a super busty woman (36JJ) It became immediately obvious that this dress was cut for a slender body with a small to moderate bust. The corduroy id gorgeous, but does not have any stretch. The skirted part of the dress starts high above the waistline and tends to poof out a bit. so if you carry any extra girth in your midsection this dress will do nothing to hide it, rather it will add to it and accentuate it in a profile view. If you have a less curvy body type you a one lucky girl, because this dress was probably made just for you! This dress is completely unlined and the corduroy is rather lightweight."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

sizing all wrong

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Pros: style
Cons: fit was all off
"Can I just say that I love the style of Anthropologie, but the sizing and the quality of things should be more consistant for the price of the clothing. How could I have a dress in a size 4 and then a size 8. I recently purchased this dress in a size 4, and it fit great except for the chest pulled a little, so I thought I would purchase the 6 no problem. I try on the 6 and its just as snug in the chest if not smaller than the 4. For someone that has to do my shopping online and have to pay for shipping, it is quite frustrating when things don't fit and I have to keep returning them. I am now only going to buy things on sale, because by the time I find the right size I might as well pay full price!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromPortland, OR
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Love this fall dress

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Pros: color, soft material, length, flattering style
"What a great fall dress. The material is soft, the color is a nice, fall-basic navy, the length is great (to the knee), the skirt flares enough to be fun and flattering but not so much that it's overwhelming, and the cut is so flattering. After much debate between my usual size 6 and an 8 I decided to size up to the 8...it's a little big, but will allow room for layering a tank or tee, which the 6 wouldn't (it was a very close fit through the shoulders and bust) so I'd say the dress runs slightly small, and it's definitely worth sizing up if you plan to layer. I'm looking forward to wearing it with a tee underneath, a belt, and tall boots!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromChicago
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

A dress I could actually wear to work

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
"Finally, a dress that doesn't have too many pleats or is too short! I'm 5'4" and 145 lbs, and a 10 fits me perfectly. It is definitely warm and heavy but without feeling weighed down. The thing I love the most about it is that the skirt isn't too poofy (a problem with other anthro shirtdresses) and the length is perfect to wear to work. The dress hits me right above the knees. Can't wait for it to get cold enough to wear."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

new dress i lurve u

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Pros: fit, ease of wear, fabric, everything else!
Cons: waist sits just a tiny bit high
"Ok, there are a lot of reviews so I'll give specifics. I'm 5'3", 36-28-40, 34B, and the 6 fits PERFECTLY. Measured lying flat the dress is 18" bust, 14.5" waist, 14" shoulder to shoulder (my exact measurements, yippie!) The length hits me just at the bottom of my knee. I have larger arms and the arms are roomy and comfortable. In fact, the whole dress is so comfortable and non-fussy, it's probably the only dress I'll wear for the rest of my life out of laziness. Oh, and it's super flattering. My only complaint is that the waist sits a little high - I have a pretty short torso and it hits about 1" above my natural waist. But if you are tall and have big boobs this will be bordering on an empire waist. I hope this review helps! P.S. Anthro, if you release this in more colors I promise I will buy them all."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Too Big for little people

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Pros: classic style, well made
Cons: too much extra fabric
"I loved this dress online and even when I received it in the mail. However, it is not made for petite people. I am 5'2'', 110lbs and I usually wear an XS or S and a 0 or 2. I think this dress is made for much taller women. Even at a size 0, the dress has so much extra fabric from the waist down, that I was swimming in it. It looks like I am wearing curtains, becasue the side seams are cut on a bias. Also, I don't see how you could layer a longsleeve underneath as it isn't roomy enough in the shoulders. I do think it is well made and the nave corduroy is completely classic and will last forever. But alas, I have to send it back."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromBoston, MA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Wonderful Fall/Winter Staple

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Pros: comfortable high-quality material, versatile outfit pairings
"I love this dress. I adore shirtdresses, but this is definitely the most comfortable one I have ever tried on. I wear a size 4 and this dress fits TTS. The corduroy is soft and flattering. The only thing I noticed when I was trying the dress on was that the sleeves puff out a tiny little bit at the shoulders, and the picture online doesn't show that feature very well. While it is true that there were a few loose threads, I love this dress too much not to give it five stars. I can't wait to wear it with cabled tights and knee-high boots! I wish the dress came in more colors, because I can't get enough of it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromWashington, DC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

One of my favorite Anthro purchases!

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Pros: soft cozy material, feminine and flattering, versatile, tts
"I love this dress! I saw it in stores a few weeks ago and had to buy it immediately! It's very similar to the popular Reed Shirtdress, except (obviously) corduroy. The material is soft and cozy and the silhouette is very flattering. There is smocking at the back (similar to the Secret Treasures shirtdress), making the fit comfortable as well. My regular size 2 fit perfectly. It fell just above my knees (I'm about 5'3"). I do wish the dress were lined, but that's a very minor complaint, especially in light of all the other great things about the dress. This dress will be a staple for me--highly recommended!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

poofy

PostedOctober 10, 2010
"This dress would be perfect if not for the poofy shoulders -- sort of Elizabethan. The fabric is a lovely, soft navy cord; the cut is perfect and flattering. SO disappointing to have those little poofs on the shoulders."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromSoCal
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great fall dress

PostedNovember 12, 2010
"I just received the navy on backorder and then went to the store to try on the other colors. Be warned: the fit across the bust was slightly smaller on the red and gray versions. I am busty (36D) and have trouble with shirtdresses, so not everyone may notice this problem. I could still button the dresses, but I looked much better in the navy (looser across the chest). As for the colors, the navy was my favorite. It had a deep, almost velvety quality. The red was very bright and vibrant, almost too much (and I like bright colors). Maybe because there's so much fabric it felt a little overwhelming to me. As for the gray, I almost mistook it for the navy. It is a dark charcoal that I think would be easy to match to other clothing. Overall, a nice versatile shirtdress that will get a lot of wear in the coming months."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful Staple! Versitle

PostedOctober 4, 2010
"I didn't even give this a second look until I saw it in the store. They only had a 0 and a 4 left. I grabbed the 0 due to the full skirt- PERFECTION! This is the ONLY shirtdress I have ever purchased. I am short- 5'1, 34A and curvyish. Normally wear a 2. The three-quarter sleeves are lovely, especially when you want to layer. I am having this shortened to accomodate boots. Great dress, deep color, fantastic fit! I took one star away b/c it's not lined."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Very cute on, versatile

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Pros: figure flattering, great length
"I rarely buy anything full price from anthro but I saw this online, went into the store to try it on and came home with it. I foresee wearing this dress a lot so for $128 I think it is a deal. I usually wear a size 8 or 10, 6'0" 155 lbs, flat chested, boy shape. I tried on size 10 and it fit perfectly. I paired it with the Three Beacons Belt in neutral (also full price, darn it!)...but the outfit was just too cute to pass up. Highly recommend."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
fromLafayette, IN
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Cute fall/winter dress!

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Pros: rich color quality material
"I have been searching for a cute dress to wear in the colder months and I finally found it!! This is a very adorable dress. It's thick corduroy without being heavy, so I think it will keep me warm all winter. It has just a little detail on the shoulder which adds a feminine touch without being frilly. And the dress fits like a glove! I'm 5'1" 118 lbs. I don't have a large chest but I do have broad shoulders and some curves on my lower half. The dress is extremely flattering! I bought a size 0 and it fits even in length. I usually try to buy petite sizes, but this one fit me perfectly in "normal" sizes :) Very cute dress! Wear with a brown belt and boots :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Thank You Jesus For This Dress!

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Pros: versatile forgiving lines
Cons: zippo!
"I recently gained some weight, and am so thankful to have found this dress. It's very forgiving, and I was actually able to buy my usual size in it (mainly because of the A-line; I gained in my bottom half). The top is a bit snug, but I left it unbuttoned and wore a garnet red stretch cami underneath, and threw on a caramel belt and matching boots and was good to go. I'm so grateful to have something to wear that makes me feel sharp in the interim that I'm getting back in shape. (And because of the cut, it will still fit me once I do.) YAY FOR MY LOVELY NAVY DRESS!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>