Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 1 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2010

I wasn't wowed by it on the hanger but I loved it once I got it on! Cute! Perfect for fall and work. I am very happy with this purchase. The size 0 fit me great (5'4" 105 lbs, 34a).
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 10, 2010

5', 32b, 25" nat. waist ~105lbs.
The fit of the Reed was a petite girl's dream. I took a size 0 in both dresses and I found that the new cord version is a bit bigger and on my frame, shapeless without a belt to cinch in the waist. With a dress like this you'd probably belt it irregardless of the fit but it's always amazing when you find something that fits like it's tailored made for you(which is what the Reed felt like). The hem of the dress came maybe 2" past my knees while the Reed came 2" above my knees. The bust was a bit loose and could definitely accommodate larger sizes. The quality of the dress is good.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 16, 2010

This Dress is a Perfect Fall Staple Piece!

I tried this dress on yesterday in the store and I couldn't believe how perfect it is! I am 5'1, 120lbs, 32C and the 2 fits TTS. I usually wear a 2-4 in Antropologie but tend the stick with a 2 in dresses. I even added the Suspended Droplets Henley like it was styled on the website and had plenty of room for a layered piece underneath. There's something about this dress that really "molds" and flatters your body. The length is perfect too; I have constant trouble with dresses being too long but this one hit right at my knee cap so knee high boots will look great with it as well. This one's a winner in my book!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: wonderful fit nice length for petites
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2010

A dress I could actually wear to work

Finally, a dress that doesn't have too many pleats or is too short! I'm 5'4" and 145 lbs, and a 10 fits me perfectly. It is definitely warm and heavy but without feeling weighed down. The thing I love the most about it is that the skirt isn't too poofy (a problem with other anthro shirtdresses) and the length is perfect to wear to work. The dress hits me right above the knees. Can't wait for it to get cold enough to wear.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 14, 2010

Really comfortable!

I missed out on the Reed shirtdresses, and so when I saw this in the store, I grabbed it to try it on right away.
It is very comfortable, and cute. The deep navy color is great, and it's effortless. It looks good with or without a belt. It would look great paired with red pumps.
It also looks really cute the way Anthro had styled it on the website, with a long sleeve tee under and boots.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: effortless, comfortable, versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 14, 2010

perfect for fall

The picture online does not do this pretty little dress justice. On, it is a lovely shape - very trim through the waist and then a pretty A-line skirt that hit flatteringly just above the knee on me (I'm 5'7"). The color online looks almost black but it's definitely navy in person. It's a fine corduroy and very soft.
Overall, the dress made me think of that time each year when I was growing up when my mom and I would go back to school shopping and I would inevitably end up with a corduroy skirt that I was just aching to wear -- even if it was only July or August. Always, I'd have to wait agonizingly for the cooler days of September to roll around before I could delight in my duds. Now, living in the deep South, where it's still hot as anything in September, I guess I'm in for another tempting couple of weeks with this lovely little thing hanging in my closet, waiting for a cool day...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty soft shapely
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 18, 2010

Great Sizing

This is an awesome staple. I am a sucker for navy dresses and shirtdresses especially. I am 5'4" and curvy, but this dress looked like it was too heavy of a material on me. It did not look bunched up, just like I needed a petite version, and I am not a petite. So if you are curvy, the fabric might stick to your curves. I loved how I didn't have to size up in this dress, and I felt like the sleeves were not tight at all!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great staple
Cons: too thick of a material for me
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 28, 2010

COZY + CUTE Fall dress

This navy frock is extremely comfortable and cozy. I originally passed on it b/c on the hanger it looked a bit blah. Then, I went back and tried it on and it's exquisite!
The 3/4 sleeves that button up are adorable. The pockets are perfectly placed and provide the perfect spot to stash new treasures.
The back pinches in creating a subtle flare to the skirt and hour-glass fit.
I agree, that a long sleeve shirt (pink) will look great inside in the dress, and make it even cozier for winter. Therefore, definitely go up one size. I went for an 8 (tend to go with 6 or 8 in anthro dresses).
I've never bought a design from this designer, but the dress is very similar to Maeve dresses (which I adore)... in look and fit!
My store in Cincinnati was sold out, but the on-line company was extremely helpful in ordering my size. I'm very happy! Thanks!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 2, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 2, 2010

cute dress but not for me

This dress is great looking on the right person. I love shirtdresses. Sadly this one didn't work for me. I have wide hips and the pleats really just added way too much width to my hips.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute style, great fall dress
Cons: pleating
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 6, 2010

Felt like a coat

I saw this dress online and was in love with it, tried it on in the store and was so disappointed. The dress felt like a coat and did nothing for my figure, slightly better with a belt but definitely not worth full price. I am 5'7" and a curvy size 6-8 and usually shirt dresses are my favorite style for playing up my curves, not this one.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: material, cut
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 9, 2010

new dress i lurve u

Ok, there are a lot of reviews so I'll give specifics. I'm 5'3", 36-28-40, 34B, and the 6 fits PERFECTLY. Measured lying flat the dress is 18" bust, 14.5" waist, 14" shoulder to shoulder (my exact measurements, yippie!) The length hits me just at the bottom of my knee. I have larger arms and the arms are roomy and comfortable. In fact, the whole dress is so comfortable and non-fussy, it's probably the only dress I'll wear for the rest of my life out of laziness. Oh, and it's super flattering. My only complaint is that the waist sits a little high - I have a pretty short torso and it hits about 1" above my natural waist. But if you are tall and have big boobs this will be bordering on an empire waist. I hope this review helps! P.S. Anthro, if you release this in more colors I promise I will buy them all.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fit, ease of wear, fabric, everything else!
Cons: waist sits just a tiny bit high
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 10, 2010

poofy

This dress would be perfect if not for the poofy shoulders -- sort of Elizabethan. The fabric is a lovely, soft navy cord; the cut is perfect and flattering. SO disappointing to have those little poofs on the shoulders.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 10, 2010

Great Dress!

This customer did not provide a text review.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 13, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 13, 2010

Great dress!

I purchased this dress at my local Anthro store in size 0 and it fits TTS (I'm 5'3", 110lbs). It's classic, versatile and can be worn with many different things (belted, w/ a henley underneath, etc). Definitely worth the price. It's warm and super comfy too!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 7, 2010

Great Dress

I love this dress! It is super comfortable and practical. I bought it in red for the holidays. Can dress up with big necklace or down with a simple scarf. Will wear this dress for years.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 14, 2010

Perfect holiday dress

I purchased this dress in Red and I think it will be perfect for the holidays coming up. I would pair it with a belt and some heels to jazz it up a bit. I do think this dress runs a bit large. In other shirt dresses in anthro, I'm typically a size 6 (for example in the Reed shirtdresses) but that may be because the sleeves of that dress were very narrow. In the refined cord dress they are a bit bigger, which is perfect for me. I think I could have possibly even sized down to a 2, but they didn't have it in the store.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 14, 2010

adorable

I got this dress in red - and it is totally adorable. It fits just perfectly and makes me feel like a pretty lady! It is very flattering and makes my waist look very tiny. I am rather small anyway - only 110 lbs - 5'4" and I ordered an xtra small and it is TTS.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 19, 2010

Great Dress for the Fall/Winter

the fit is great! i got a ton of compliments on this dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 19, 2010

Perfect Staple Dress

If you don't have a Shirtdress, this is the one to get! It's timeless and flattering for all figures. This one fits TTS and can be dressed up with nice jewelry and heels or dressed down with a belt and boots! Love! And the red color is so rich and perfect for fall and winter.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedNovember 18, 2010

sizing all wrong

Can I just say that I love the style of Anthropologie, but the sizing and the quality of things should be more consistant for the price of the clothing. How could I have a dress in a size 4 and then a size 8. I recently purchased this dress in a size 4, and it fit great except for the chest pulled a little, so I thought I would purchase the 6 no problem. I try on the 6 and its just as snug in the chest if not smaller than the 4. For someone that has to do my shopping online and have to pay for shipping, it is quite frustrating when things don't fit and I have to keep returning them. I am now only going to buy things on sale, because by the time I find the right size I might as well pay full price!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: style
Cons: fit was all off
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 8 next >>>