Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 1 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 7, 2010

A dress I could actually wear to work

Finally, a dress that doesn't have too many pleats or is too short! I'm 5'4" and 145 lbs, and a 10 fits me perfectly. It is definitely warm and heavy but without feeling weighed down. The thing I love the most about it is that the skirt isn't too poofy (a problem with other anthro shirtdresses) and the length is perfect to wear to work. The dress hits me right above the knees. Can't wait for it to get cold enough to wear.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 18, 2010

Great Sizing

This is an awesome staple. I am a sucker for navy dresses and shirtdresses especially. I am 5'4" and curvy, but this dress looked like it was too heavy of a material on me. It did not look bunched up, just like I needed a petite version, and I am not a petite. So if you are curvy, the fabric might stick to your curves. I loved how I didn't have to size up in this dress, and I felt like the sleeves were not tight at all!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great staple
Cons: too thick of a material for me
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 23, 2010

Gorgeous go-to dress

I bought this in-store a couple of weeks ago and have already worn it four times, and will be wearing it tonight. I travel a lot on book tour, and this dress is perfect to roll up in my duffle bag, slip on for the event, and then wear home on the plane.
I'm 5'2", avec hips, and this dress looks stunning on! It's also incredibly comfortable and the perfect shape for girls with small waists--really accentuates the positive.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 24, 2010

Beautiful, even if it IS navy

What can I say that everyone hasn't said before me? I agree, this is a beautiful dress and perfect on an hourglass figure. It is lady-like, fits well, and a basic with really comfortable material. This figure flattering dress will take you from fall to winter, and be something you can style with a belt or without. I prefer without, personally, but I don't like the sportier styles. I'm not a fan of navy, but this dress was so beautiful that I got over it. For reference I am 5'4" tall, 38/31/37 and weigh 130 pounds. I bought the size 4 and it fit perfectly. It hits right at the knee. Take if from all the reviewers, you are going to LOVE this one!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful basic, versatile, comfortable, figure flattering
Cons: wish it came in another color but oh well
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

Great dress but not for me

I was so excited to get this dress in the mail because I loved it so much from afar. As I took it out of the box, my love grew. Perfect fall color, lux cord, great length. Unfortunately, when I put it on I turned into a double wide. This dress did not work for my body type....it was too voluminous and added weight to my curvys. The dress runs true to size, maybe even a little big. If you have a big bust the extra stretch allows for a good fit.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: fit (not for the already wide)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 5, 2010

Great Cord Dress!

This is a beautiful dress. I saw it in the store and didn't hesitate to buy it. I wear an 8 petite and the length was perfect, unexpected as usually regular dresses are too long for me. I'm 5'4" with a 29" inseam. I love the fabric and the color. This dress will be great with boots for winter.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great style and fabric
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 7, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 7, 2010

Cute

Cute dress for Fall. I'm petite at 5'3 and would prefer if it were maybe just a touch shorter and not quite so full in the skirt, but overall I like the fit and the look. I'm normally a size 4, but I sized down to a 2 and I'm glad I did.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 6, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 6, 2010

Warm Weather Classic

Shirtdresses are a favorite of mine, so I was excited to see a warm weather version. I loved every detail, from the brass colored buttons to the contoured waist; pockets; full skirt; and tabbed long sleeves. I have a 34d bust and waver between sizes 6 and 8. Since the buttons pulled ever so slightly on the 6, I would purchase the 8. Normally I do not like chest pockets due to my larger bust, however, I did not think they added any girth in this instance. The corduroy is fine and soft and would keep you warm on a cool day. The dress works equally well belted or as is. This comfortable classic has definitely made its way to the top of my list. Highly recommended.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: silhouette, soft fabric, coverage, comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 17, 2010

Too Big for little people

I loved this dress online and even when I received it in the mail. However, it is not made for petite people. I am 5'2'', 110lbs and I usually wear an XS or S and a 0 or 2. I think this dress is made for much taller women. Even at a size 0, the dress has so much extra fabric from the waist down, that I was swimming in it. It looks like I am wearing curtains, becasue the side seams are cut on a bias. Also, I don't see how you could layer a longsleeve underneath as it isn't roomy enough in the shoulders. I do think it is well made and the nave corduroy is completely classic and will last forever. But alas, I have to send it back.
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: classic style, well made
Cons: too much extra fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedNovember 18, 2010

sizing all wrong

Can I just say that I love the style of Anthropologie, but the sizing and the quality of things should be more consistant for the price of the clothing. How could I have a dress in a size 4 and then a size 8. I recently purchased this dress in a size 4, and it fit great except for the chest pulled a little, so I thought I would purchase the 6 no problem. I try on the 6 and its just as snug in the chest if not smaller than the 4. For someone that has to do my shopping online and have to pay for shipping, it is quite frustrating when things don't fit and I have to keep returning them. I am now only going to buy things on sale, because by the time I find the right size I might as well pay full price!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: style
Cons: fit was all off
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 19, 2010

Great Dress for the Fall/Winter

the fit is great! i got a ton of compliments on this dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 24, 2010

Classic and Cute

Boy is this dress cute! I got it in red and it is so comfy and very flattering, the elastic inset in the back gives it great shape. I am small, 32b and usually wear a 0 in most Anthro dresses but I sized up to a 2 because the shoulders were a little tight. The waist is a bit high but I am short 5'3" so it is fine on me, I am not sure how it would work on taller women. The red is a rich, true red and the corduroy is velvety and soft. Well worth the full price.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 29, 2010

Timeless & lovely!

Before I talk about how much I love it I'm going to attempt to help with sizing advice, since some of the reviews contradict each other.
This review is for the navy colorway.
I'm 5'3, weigh about 120 and nearly always take a 4 or Small. My bra size is 32D, if that matters. In this dress I took the 6, and probably could even do with the 8, especially if it didn't have that elastic back part. I think the varied sizing advice has to do with torso length.
For reference, my bellybutton is exactly between the 3rd and 4th buttons on this dress (from the top, down). I was glad I ordered 3 sizes to try, but now I'm even wishing I had ordered the 8, just to be certain!
I have to say, I love this dress a ridiculous amount. Though the pic makes the shoulders seem poofy, they aren't in real life. It's beautifully made and seems as though it will hold up through many washings. I can even cross my arms completely, unlike in some other shirt-dresses! I'm enamored with its versatility and plan to do my best to wear it out this winter. I was surprised the navy was my favorite of all 3 colors, but it's rich and deep.
I would definitely buy this in other colorways! I'd love to see plum, olive, mustard or burgundy!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: well-constructed, plenty of room for hips, adequately cut through the shoulder, versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedDecember 4, 2010

great dress but check for loose buttons

I bought this in the navy and it's lovely. I am a pear-shaped 5'5", 115, 32c and the 0 is a perfect fit. I got it home and realized that two buttons were about to come off and I can't find any extra buttons on it anywhere -- which seems sloppy for a $128 dress. Before you wash it, give the buttons a good look. Otherwise, a really cute dress. The fabric is super soft, the fit is great.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: soft cute versatile
Cons: quality lacking
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 4, 2010

Beautiful dress, great quality. Heavy cord. I am usually a size 4 in dresses, but found the 4 to run large. When I tried on the size 2, it was a little snug in the arms but fit nice everywhere else.
If you plan to layer, I would suggest staying with your regular size, but if not, size down.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 6, 2010

My favorite fall/winter dress

I just bought this today in the store, I loved it so much I got it in navy and red. The waist is higher than other dresses but for shorter girls like me it's great. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars for design is because it would've been better if they just made this with long sleeves. The cut reminds me of the Reed shirt dress from this summer except this dress doesn't bunch in the middle like the Reed dress. The quality of fabric is pretty good and the fit is so flattering and feminine. It's a great price for such a timeless dress. My new favorite.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: fit, quality
Cons: only 3/4 sleeves
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 20, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 20, 2010

Tough Fit for those with curves

I am almost 5'7" and 150 pounds with a 34 C chest and large hips. I read the reviews and sized up to a size 10. It still didn't work. The buttons won't work across my chest, but the waist is a little loose. It also emphasizes my curves on the lower half a little more than is flattering. When worn open, over another dress, this dress looks fantastic. It is just not the right fit for curvy girls to wear normally though.
PS - I tried to size up to a twelve, but they are out. Customer service gave me the number of the one store that had it in that size, but when I called, it was not there. I will probably return this dress.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful colors, nice design, quality dress
Cons: tight in chest and arms, not flattering on a curvy figure
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 21, 2010

I felt very comfortable in this dress. The color gray is rich and warm and would compliment any skin tone. It seems to run a bit small and I am glad I ordered a size up
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: can be dressed up or down
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 24, 2010

in love, per the usual

every time anthro comes up with a new shirt dress, i am all over it, so of course this was no different. i gravitate towards greys (i have grey green eyes and chocolate brown hair) and that's what i ended up with here. the dark grey is a rich color that suits the brass buttons so beautifully. when i came out of the dressing room in this, several people commented on how flattering the cut and color were. now, down to the nitty gritty: this dress is made for women with SHAPE. i'm a 32 DD with a very narrow waist and wide hips and this could not be more flattering to my overall hourglass figure. the corduroy has a nice amount of stretch to it for comforts sake, and it TRULY does hide any problem areas in the tummy, even at inconvenient times of the month. i feel like the grey fit perfectly true to size, but it's the only color i tried on so i can't comment on the red or navy. my only teeny weeny complaint is that (once again) i brought a dress home from anthro COVERED in loose threads. this is the reason for my four star quality rating. it just BUGS me and seems slapdash, but not everyone is a third generation seamstress. if you are hesitant about buying this dress and the other billion positive reviews haven't convinced you, well, you're an idiot. take this baby home. its a classic and a winner.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: gorgeous fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedDecember 27, 2010

Perfect for any day!

I bought this dress in dark grey. It fits well and I love the way it looks. I received a ton of compliments.
I love shirt dresses and this has to be one of the cutest ones I've seen in a long time. The corduroy is perfect for the colder weather. I sometimes pair mine with leggings.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: machine washable!!!
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 8 next >>>