Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Refined Cord Shirtdress

Refined Cord Shirtdress
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
2
144 of 161(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Refined Cord Shirtdress
Review 1 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2010

classic cute

This dress has tons of potential, I bought it this morning and have already used it as a main piece in multiple looks. Perfect for layering or adding a belt.
I wear anything from an 8 to a 12 (6' 145#) and had to get a 12 in this dress in order to accommodate layering under it. It hits right above my knee .
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 9, 2010

Have to Have

I tried this a few days ago and can't stop thinking about it! I missed out on the Reed because of the length-it was just too short for me. This dress is a bit longer, which is perfect for fall and my 5"5" frame. My usual size felt fine but fit a bit roomy. When I sized down it was a tiny bit tight across the chest, fine everywhere else and I liked the skirt much better-it wasn't as full which made it more flattering. The fabric is soft and cozy, and the styling options are endless.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cons: it was shown in red but disappeared., more colors please!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 9, 2010

great fall dress

it's warm and soft. It's feels good on the skin. It's not too poofy. I'm 5'4 and 125 lbs and a 34d. the dress came to the top of my knees. It appears black but in person was more of a rich navy blue. It will work well with a lot of things I already own. I can make it retro or look up to date... I can dress it up or down. I can belt it or open the top and let another shirt underneith show through. I love everything about this dress.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: everything
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 10, 2010

Good Reed dress substitute

This is so similar to the Reed dress, that it left me feeling blah about it. I own the Reed in 3 colors and just didn't feel like bringing this one home. The fit is slightly large. I am between a 0 and 2 in dresses and the 0 was plenty roomy on me. I am 5'8" and the waistband of this dress sat higher than my natural waist, so the fit was off for me. I would recommend for those who missed out on the Reed earlier this year, but I am wondering if other Reed shirtdress owners feel the same way about this dress as I do.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 14, 2010

Love this Dress!

Worth every penny.
5'3", 112 lbs, 34A. Usual size in dresses is 2 (like the Reed shirtdress), but chose a 0 in this one.
Material = soft and comfortable
Basically I agree with every nice thing said about this dress. Also the length wasn't too long on me, being a petite person which was definitely nice.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2010

I wasn't wowed by it on the hanger but I loved it once I got it on! Cute! Perfect for fall and work. I am very happy with this purchase. The size 0 fit me great (5'4" 105 lbs, 34a).
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 10, 2010

5', 32b, 25" nat. waist ~105lbs.
The fit of the Reed was a petite girl's dream. I took a size 0 in both dresses and I found that the new cord version is a bit bigger and on my frame, shapeless without a belt to cinch in the waist. With a dress like this you'd probably belt it irregardless of the fit but it's always amazing when you find something that fits like it's tailored made for you(which is what the Reed felt like). The hem of the dress came maybe 2" past my knees while the Reed came 2" above my knees. The bust was a bit loose and could definitely accommodate larger sizes. The quality of the dress is good.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 24, 2010

Beautiful, even if it IS navy

What can I say that everyone hasn't said before me? I agree, this is a beautiful dress and perfect on an hourglass figure. It is lady-like, fits well, and a basic with really comfortable material. This figure flattering dress will take you from fall to winter, and be something you can style with a belt or without. I prefer without, personally, but I don't like the sportier styles. I'm not a fan of navy, but this dress was so beautiful that I got over it. For reference I am 5'4" tall, 38/31/37 and weigh 130 pounds. I bought the size 4 and it fit perfectly. It hits right at the knee. Take if from all the reviewers, you are going to LOVE this one!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful basic, versatile, comfortable, figure flattering
Cons: wish it came in another color but oh well
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 25, 2010

Awesome dress!

I fell in love with this season's shirtdresses when I bought the Sugar Coated Shirtdress a few weeks ago. This one is beautiful! It's soft, warm, a good length and very well cut. The size zero definitely flattered my 4'11'' frame, and the nice muted navy color looks good on just about everyone. You can pair this with anything, dress it up or down, and wear it anywhere. I think the fabric will make it a good pick even well into winter. No flaws here - super high quality!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cut, fabric, color, quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 29, 2010

Thank You Jesus For This Dress!

I recently gained some weight, and am so thankful to have found this dress. It's very forgiving, and I was actually able to buy my usual size in it (mainly because of the A-line; I gained in my bottom half). The top is a bit snug, but I left it unbuttoned and wore a garnet red stretch cami underneath, and threw on a caramel belt and matching boots and was good to go. I'm so grateful to have something to wear that makes me feel sharp in the interim that I'm getting back in shape. (And because of the cut, it will still fit me once I do.) YAY FOR MY LOVELY NAVY DRESS!!!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: versatile forgiving lines
Cons: zippo!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 16, 2010

This Dress is a Perfect Fall Staple Piece!

I tried this dress on yesterday in the store and I couldn't believe how perfect it is! I am 5'1, 120lbs, 32C and the 2 fits TTS. I usually wear a 2-4 in Antropologie but tend the stick with a 2 in dresses. I even added the Suspended Droplets Henley like it was styled on the website and had plenty of room for a layered piece underneath. There's something about this dress that really "molds" and flatters your body. The length is perfect too; I have constant trouble with dresses being too long but this one hit right at my knee cap so knee high boots will look great with it as well. This one's a winner in my book!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: wonderful fit nice length for petites
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 1, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 1, 2010

Cute & Comfortable

This is a really cute dress. Very simple but you can dress it up with accessories and some boots. It can easily work for you in fall, winter & spring. It fits tts. I am a size 4 and it fit great.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

cute, but not unique

This is a cute dress, but it's quite boring compared to the other dresses that anthropologie offers. There really aren't any details at all, actually, unless you count invisible pockets and some plain buttons as details. I wouldn't be surprised if you could find a similar dress for far less money at a department store. Maybe I'd buy this if I had a less pathetic salary :) But unless it goes on sale, I can''t justify spending this much money on something so plain.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: good quality, nice basic dress
Cons: too expensive for something so basic
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

Beautiful Staple! Versitle

I didn't even give this a second look until I saw it in the store. They only had a 0 and a 4 left. I grabbed the 0 due to the full skirt- PERFECTION! This is the ONLY shirtdress I have ever purchased. I am short- 5'1, 34A and curvyish. Normally wear a 2. The three-quarter sleeves are lovely, especially when you want to layer. I am having this shortened to accomodate boots. Great dress, deep color, fantastic fit! I took one star away b/c it's not lined.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

Good Fall / Winder Staple!

I like to have comfortable clothes to wear that aren't jeans and this really fits the bill. I bought this dress on-line in a size 4 and it fits comfortably with enough room to wear a turtleneck under it in the really cold months (I'm 5'5" 122 lbs, 32D and am kind of hippy). The length is perfect, just above the knee and the waist hits me right at the waist, but note that I am short waisted.
The material is substantial in weight without being stiff or unforgiving, with my ever must have pockets!!! I'm going to wear this with tights and weathered frye boots; or leggings & flats. I'm very pleased with this purchase
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 5, 2010

Great Cord Dress!

This is a beautiful dress. I saw it in the store and didn't hesitate to buy it. I wear an 8 petite and the length was perfect, unexpected as usually regular dresses are too long for me. I'm 5'4" with a 29" inseam. I love the fabric and the color. This dress will be great with boots for winter.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great style and fabric
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 19, 2010

Higher than expected waist but love it

I love this dress. I am 5'5 and 125lbs, and am a pear shape. I fit well into a 4. The only drawback is that the waist is a little high, but I am hoping a belt will help that. Overall this is a great dress I can't wait to wear- dress it up or down and I am excited to figure out accessories for it!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: comfort fit polished look for work on a casual
Cons: little bit higher waist
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 22, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 22, 2010

Great Dress!!

I passed on the previous versions of the Reed Shirtdress, however this version seems a much better fit & color anyway. Not to mention I live in a colder climate where I can wear this dress pretty much more than half the year due the heaviness of the fabric. The cord is fine and is also a rich navy color - not to mention the quality is top-notch. The dress is also comfortable beyond belief in addition to being totally work appropriate.
I think it's an elegant investment piece sure to be a staple in your wardrobe for years to come. You will be able to accessorize easily (with many colors) with this piece. Fit was TTS. I purchased a 6 & had room to spare due to the high waist. I am 5'6 and 135lb and normally a 6-8 in dresses. Regarding the poofiness in the shoulder another reviewer mentioned. I didn't have that issue at all since I have pretty broad shoulders so I filled them out nicely.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cord quality excellent, easy to accessorize
Cons: none so far
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 2, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 2, 2010

cute dress but not for me

This dress is great looking on the right person. I love shirtdresses. Sadly this one didn't work for me. I have wide hips and the pleats really just added way too much width to my hips.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute style, great fall dress
Cons: pleating
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Refined Cord Shirtdress
PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedOctober 31, 2010

FireBall

Oh How I feel so extra special in this simple comfortable number. This dress fits true to size for me. It has stretch around the lower back area so there is a little room for weight gain: ) I am a size 4, 36 c and thought to possibly go up just on the basis of the breast area--- but did not have to go up in size solely due to the elastic in the lower back area. It you are alot heavier up top I would suggest going up in size and possible altering the dress--its worth it. Its a nice deep cherry. This baby will look great with or without a belt...Its totally worth it...
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 8 next >>>