Customer reviews for College Ruled Top

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

College Ruled Top

College Ruled Top
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for College Ruled Top
Review 1 for College Ruled Top
PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 21, 2010

lounge or out and about

Tried on this top and it is quite nice. The material is very soft cotton with a mid weight, I love it. The color is off white/light beige with gray stripes which look a little blue in color. The fit is flattering, it skims the body, not too tight or loose. I went with my usual size, small. The stripes are only in the center of front and back, and this gives an illusion of shapeliness rather than wideness. It is longer in the back. Looks great over skinny jeans, though I originally tried it on as a loungewear item - so it could be multi-functional.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for College Ruled Top
PostedOctober 12, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 12, 2010

great casual or lounge top

This top is really soft and casual. I normally hate the way striped tops look on me, but I continue to try them on... this one actually looks good! I guess it's because the stripes don't wrap all the way around. This top is quite long. I'm 5'6 and it hit right at the bottom of my butt. I like long tops, though, so this was a plus for me. I got an XS and the fit is great... I would definitely say this top runs large. When I saw the XS I thought no way could this be the smallest size they offer. But again, it's kinda meant to be a lounge top, so it's slightly loose and very comfy. It could also be worn for a casual outing. I do wish the sleeves were slightly longer, an extra 1/2 inch would have been perfect! Price is a bit high for a such a casual top, but I know I will get plenty of use out of it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: soft, long length, flattering stripes
Cons: runs large
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for College Ruled Top
PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 31, 2010

Great lounge top

I purchased this shirt in a small, which is my usual t-shirt size. It was a little large, but I plan to put it in the dryer so I'm OK with the size. It's a great lounge top that I've already paired with skinny jeans and boots. I agree with the other reviewer who liked the fact that the stripes are just on the front and back and not the sides. I do wear a cami underneath this.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: comfy top
Cons: runs slightly large
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for College Ruled Top
PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 21, 2010

Great Top

I ordered my usual size M and it fit fine. I have worn it with my dark charcoal AG Angel cords. As another reviewer already stated, it is flattering with the stripes only being in the front and back and not wrapped all of the way around the sides. The fabric is very soft and comfortable.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for College Ruled Top
PostedNovember 19, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 19, 2010

Less than impressed

I really wanted to love this top. I ordered it online in my usual size (I am 5'3" 115lb & got an XS) & it just fits strangely. The neck opening is HUGE-like to the point where I have to wear a tank top & a strapless bra, & it is just too long for the way that it fits on me. The lack of striping at the sides combined with the way that it nips in seems to magnify any love handles you may have. It seems like the perfect shirt for someone who is tall & thin or hour-glass shaped...but not for me.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cons: fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for College Ruled Top
PostedNovember 26, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 26, 2010

Broadening

I love the boyish, nautical vibe of some of this season's stripey tops.
This one was a misfire for me. It is thin enough and wide enough at the neck to necessitate a cami beneath. This added bulk. The bands at the side made me look wider than usual too. Love the idea, don't love the execution.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for College Ruled Top
PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedNovember 28, 2010

Nice.

Like the other reviewer, I bought this in a size too large but plan on shrinking it a little in the dryer. I am 5'5", 115lbs, 32A and bought a small. I agree that the neckline is a bit wide, but I do plan on wearing a tank or cami underneath. The material is thin, but I think this allows it to be so flowy. The length is longer than most tops I have tried on at Anthro, but that was part of the appeal for me. A nice casual top to wear with skinny jeans (my staple). Great with sneakers or boots.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for College Ruled Top
PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 24, 2011

Soft and cozy

Great piece for those in between type of days! Fits TTS...love the longer length!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for College Ruled Top
PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJanuary 26, 2011

Soft and Comfy

This shirt is a casual, soft piece is suitable for those days when comfort is key. The stripes are on the front and the back with the side cut in in the plain off-white colored fabric. The shirt is a little more yellow toned than the photo and the stripes are grey.
The fit is TTS.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for College Ruled Top
PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedDecember 28, 2010

Cozy and Cute

I received this top for Christmas, and I love it. It is so soft, and fits just perfect. I find it to be rather TTS- It is meant to fit a little looser and flowing. I wore it with skinny jeans and high brown boots- but I love the previous poster's idea of pairing it with rolled boy jeans! Also, I love the soft black and Ivory colors- a nice change from standard black and white.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: fit, colors
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for College Ruled Top
PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJanuary 5, 2011

I love this top. Its really flattering on as it cinches in a the waist and it hides all the problem areas. I especially love it because of the length. It hits just at the bottom of the tush, GREAT coverage and really comfortable and great for running around and doing errands. I bought a M and I am 5'10" 140 lb 34B
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for College Ruled Top
PostedOctober 15, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 15, 2010

Love this

I saw this top as I was in line paying for another outfit and something really told me to try it on. As simple as it looks, it is surprisingly flattering. I am normally a 12/14 so not a small girl and I always avoid stripes, but this looks really great on. I hope they start selling more of this brand. Very comfy.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: comfortable and great fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for College Ruled Top
PostedOctober 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 24, 2010

Great Lounge Top

This is a great lounge top. Warm and comfy. Fits TTS
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for College Ruled Top
PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedOctober 23, 2010

Ehhh....

This top runs large. I got a small and it was too big. I liked that the stripes didn't wrap around, but the oatmeal and gray washed me out and I didn't like the pure oatmeal sleeve. It is REALLY long. I couldn't wear it with jeans. You would have to wear leggings and that is not my style. It is a shame. I was really excited about this one. Going to half to return it!
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: stripes are unique and didn't wrap around
Cons: too long
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for College Ruled Top
PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedNovember 1, 2010

Super flattering -- LOVE IT!

This top looked cute online but in person it's TERRIFIC! Wearing it right now with BF jeans rolled up. It's long enough to wear with skinny jeans and boots too. Slightly longer in back than front. The solid insets at the sides are super flattering. Highly recommend!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for College Ruled Top
PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age range:18-24
Height (feet):5
Height (inches):1
Body type:Petite
Style:Feminine - soft and romantic
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJanuary 24, 2011

This is a great casual top. It's soft and loose but has shape to it due to the way it's cut. It's nice and long and can be worn with leggings or jeans. It's longer in the back than it is in the front. The arms are a little long and loose on me, but works with the casual loungey nature of the shirt. The colors of the photo are accurate, the cream has a slight yellow undertone, and the stripes are a graphite color.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.