Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Pencil Eraser Dress

Pencil Eraser Dress
Average rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
25 of 40(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Review 21 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Great value on sale

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
" I was hesitant to purchase this dress - several bloggers mentioned it was TTS but warned about adding volume on bottom half. Never having tried it on in the store, I took the plunge when it went on sale and bought the navy in XS. And wow, is it ever darling! Slightly wide in the hips but doesn't add pounds. Top half is a good fit on me (34C). The detail in the stripes on the skirt give it a real vintage feel and I have been alternating tying the belt front and back. Not too low cut, I threw on a cardigan and braved the AC at the office - co-workers raved about it and one went out and purchased the olive! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromnew york, ny
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

pencil and not ink

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Pros: cute in photo
Cons: overall fit
" I wanted to love this dress for its nautical theme but this dress fell short. I bought the dress in navy/small but the sizing was off. The top was way too baggy and the cinched waist and full bottom created unnecessary poofing at the hips and belly area (not flattering for me!). The arm holes also had a large opening (hello peek-a-boo bra). Sadly, this made its way to the return pile. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Unexpected

PostedAugust 31, 2010
" I thought this dress would be a nice simple piece, but apparently like many others this wasn't the dress for me. The neckline was too big & the top over sized; creating a droopy mess. The skirt was made of a much heavier material than the t-shirt top & it was very long. The entire dress was just out of proportion. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Unrealistic Shape of A Dress

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Pros: soft top cute colorway
Cons: extra fabric in upper hip
" This dress looks really cute - on the web site. I tried on the navy. The top was a very thin, soft, flattering tee. I thought maybe it was too thin for a casual ensemble dress. The skirt was cute, but honestly, it was like a pencil skirt with a huge poufy spot a the lower waist and upper hip. Basically, it felt like the skirt was upside down! Maybe it could be altered? I would not be able to pay more than $30 for this dress. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromLos Angeles, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Gorgeous dress for hour-glass figure

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Pros: cute for business or after-hours, creates gorgeous hourglass figure
Cons: runs big size down at least one size
" I bought this a little worried that it wouldn't fit well and got a small as I heard so many mention it ran large. Indeed it does. I normally get 4, 6 or 8 depending on the shape of the dress and the small fits me beautifully. My hips and shoulders are a bit wide but I have a narrow waist, which suits this dress perfectly. The top is a tad thin so wearing to work, I'd throw a tank underneath, but it's perfectly acceptable for the evening. My suggestion - size down and as long as you're comfortable accentuating an hour glass figure (definitely didn't minimize my hips, but it absolutely showed off bust and small waist, ala Mad Men) you'll love this dress! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
" This dress looked adorable on the hanger and at the sale price, I was excited. However, the fit is awful. The top fit fine, although there was a little extra fabric, but the cut of the bottom is ALL WRONG. It makes your hips look huge the way the pleats cross in the front and taper toward the outside of your leg. I don't know what shape this would be flattering on! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
" Ordered a large, was too big, went to the store and found a small - it fit perfectly. Not sure if it's just this garment, or if all the sizes are off on this site, but other than getting the size right, I really love this dress, it's very flattering and classy. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromFt Lauderdale, FL
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

super cute

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Pros: super cute style tts
Cons: needs a zipper its a b to get into
" I only wish it had a zipper. It fit tts and I love it. super cute it fits enough on the bottom to be flattering and I like that its loose up top. I am tiny but I like the way itgives the illusion that I'm not so flat up top. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromSan Francisco, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Easy fall dress

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Pros: casual yet stylish and cute
Cons: neckline a little low
" I needed a new dress to go to an outdoors event for the weekend and picked this one up at the local Anthro store. I got it in an XS and because I am an A cup the top was loose and I needed to wear an extra padded bra. Once, I wore the right bra, the dress worked perfectly. Recommend it, esp. for the price. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromNY, NY
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Strange fit, nice pattern

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Pros: pattern and color combination
Cons: fit and fabric
" I really like the design concept, but the fit is off from the top to bottom. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the top is big and for me it was baggy. The top needed to be a heavier cotton or a mix of fabrics to give it less stretch. The top fabic will stretch out and stay stretched out. The skirt has a nice pattern. More
everyday than dressy. For people with a straight body this will not
work. The skirt will stick out at
the hips. It works better for me
because I have some curves.
Overall, the fit of the top and the
bottom don't match. They need
adjustment. It's almost like the
top is a different size from the
bottom and the fabric on the top doesn't help. I usually buy a small or medium, but the small was the closest fit for me.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromKentucky!
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Hips For Days

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Pros: pockets
" I went ahead and bought this dress even though I have some baby makin' hips. It does indeed accentuate the area but I don't think it looks bad at all. So, don't be afraid to order this dress because of that!
I love the pockets! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Not Impressed

PostedJuly 18, 2010
" Had really high hopes for this dress...but it has a little too much fabric in the hip area and ultimately is unflattering. Didn't have any problems with the top as other reviewers said, it was the bottom for me. Fits TTS. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromBoston, MA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

PostedJuly 20, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Oh my the horizantal strips on this dress did nothing but bad things to my hips. I tried on the extra small and thought it fit perfect, except for the fact I thought it made me look bigger than I am. May look better on others who have more of a boyfish or petite figure. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromCharleston, SC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute and comfy

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Pros: true to size (in my opinion), comfortable, not see-through, love the pockets
Cons: top may stretch out over time, not sure what to pair it with for cooler weather
" Very cute and comfy - good for the sale price "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

I liked the fit

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Pros: comfortable, great fit, nice color, pockets!
Cons: arm holes a little low
" I bought this dress online before reading the reviews which normally don't do and I am glad I did or else I may have missed out on this dress! I am typically a 2 or 4 in dresses so I bought a S and it fits the way it looks on the picture. I am 5'6 123 lbs. and 34B. I like the fit of the top. I believe the top is supposed to be slightly loose. Like when you tuck your shirt in and pull it out a little so that hangs a little (stress a little - like the picture) over the waist of your bottom (skirt pants, whatever). The arm holes are a little on the low side. However, my bra does not show as far as I can tell. I find the bottom flattering too. I don't think the horizontal stripes make me look wider because the bottom comes in slightly creating a nice curvy look. The bottom is not too close fitting and not too loose. So overall the dress provides a nice shape with out being too revealing. I find it appropriate for work and weekend. I really like it :-) "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

very cute

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Pros: cute t-shirt top unique color
Cons: very fitted skirt
" after reading the reviews for this, i really wasn't expecting much. however, after receiving it in the mail & trying it on myself, i'm very pleased with it. the top is a little loose, but not particularly baggy, & it doesn't show an obscene amount of cleavage. the skirt doesn't poof out for me at all, but it is very narrow & fits very much like a pencil skirt. i tied the bow in the front & to the side, & it looked fine. this dress also fits me true to size; it didn't run too big or too small (based on one review that i read, i had originally ordered a size smaller than usual, & i had to exchange it). "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromportland or
Yes,I recommend this product.
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

cute, runs large

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Pros: green color, good for boy-ish body shapes
Cons: runs big - order down, top fabric is very thin
" This dress is very cute but it will not fit a large range of body types. It runs very large and comes out at the hips, so if you don't want to accentuate that this is not the dress for you. I bought my usual size small but had to exchange for a XS, which fit perfectly! The style and fabrics are also very versatile and can go from day to night, summer to winter w. a cardi and jacket. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Average rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5.0
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Design: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5.0
Quality: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5.0
See more reviews: <<prev 1 2next