Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Pencil Eraser Dress

Pencil Eraser Dress
Average rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
25 of 40(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Review 21 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromLos Angeles, CA
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

i really wanted this to work...

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Pros: cute design and colors
Cons: unflattering makes my hips look huge
"I wanted this dress in navy, but even the xsmall was too big for me. I'm petite at 5'0'... the waist was perfect and the top was a little loose, but my biggest problem was the hip area. I have average hips, but these pockets bulged out and made me look so wide. The horizontal stripes didn't help much either. You should definitely try this one on at the store instead of ordering it online because I'm sure other people would run into this problem as well. I'm disappointed because I really wanted to love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Unrealistic Shape of A Dress

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Pros: soft top cute colorway
Cons: extra fabric in upper hip
"This dress looks really cute - on the web site. I tried on the navy. The top was a very thin, soft, flattering tee. I thought maybe it was too thin for a casual ensemble dress. The skirt was cute, but honestly, it was like a pencil skirt with a huge poufy spot a the lower waist and upper hip. Basically, it felt like the skirt was upside down! Maybe it could be altered? I would not be able to pay more than $30 for this dress."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromSan Antonio, Tx
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Mixed feelings

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
"After reading previous reviews, this dress fits much better than I anticipated. I don't have much on top (32A) and thought it may not fit well, but actually it works well. The fabric isn't that great of quality and the blue kinda reminds me of someone who just broke out of prison. Maybe im being too critical, but honestly, thats sort of what it reminds me of. Not the best dress, but cute anyways."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromnew york, ny
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

pencil and not ink

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Pros: cute in photo
Cons: overall fit
"I wanted to love this dress for its nautical theme but this dress fell short. I bought the dress in navy/small but the sizing was off. The top was way too baggy and the cinched waist and full bottom created unnecessary poofing at the hips and belly area (not flattering for me!). The arm holes also had a large opening (hello peek-a-boo bra). Sadly, this made its way to the return pile."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromportland or
Yes,I recommend this product.
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

cute, runs large

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Pros: green color, good for boy-ish body shapes
Cons: runs big - order down, top fabric is very thin
"This dress is very cute but it will not fit a large range of body types. It runs very large and comes out at the hips, so if you don't want to accentuate that this is not the dress for you. I bought my usual size small but had to exchange for a XS, which fit perfectly! The style and fabrics are also very versatile and can go from day to night, summer to winter w. a cardi and jacket."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
"This dress looked adorable on the hanger and at the sale price, I was excited. However, the fit is awful. The top fit fine, although there was a little extra fabric, but the cut of the bottom is ALL WRONG. It makes your hips look huge the way the pleats cross in the front and taper toward the outside of your leg. I don't know what shape this would be flattering on!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

I liked the fit

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Pros: comfortable, great fit, nice color, pockets!
Cons: arm holes a little low
"I bought this dress online before reading the reviews which normally don't do and I am glad I did or else I may have missed out on this dress! I am typically a 2 or 4 in dresses so I bought a S and it fits the way it looks on the picture. I am 5'6 123 lbs. and 34B. I like the fit of the top. I believe the top is supposed to be slightly loose. Like when you tuck your shirt in and pull it out a little so that hangs a little (stress a little - like the picture) over the waist of your bottom (skirt pants, whatever). The arm holes are a little on the low side. However, my bra does not show as far as I can tell. I find the bottom flattering too. I don't think the horizontal stripes make me look wider because the bottom comes in slightly creating a nice curvy look. The bottom is not too close fitting and not too loose. So overall the dress provides a nice shape with out being too revealing. I find it appropriate for work and weekend. I really like it :-)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromOrange County, CA.
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

NIGHTMARE FROM THE 1960'S

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Pros: color
Cons: everything else
"I have already reviewed this, but somehow my negative review was not posted, so here I go again, I dont know what they were thinking with this weird conception, with the faded scratched out lines on this dress, the only time I would wear this is to clean the house, or as an apron, woulldnt be cought dead wearing this freakish design:["
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

Unexpected

PostedAugust 31, 2010
"I thought this dress would be a nice simple piece, but apparently like many others this wasn't the dress for me. The neckline was too big & the top over sized; creating a droopy mess. The skirt was made of a much heavier material than the t-shirt top & it was very long. The entire dress was just out of proportion."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromSan Francisco, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Easy fall dress

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Pros: casual yet stylish and cute
Cons: neckline a little low
"I needed a new dress to go to an outdoors event for the weekend and picked this one up at the local Anthro store. I got it in an XS and because I am an A cup the top was loose and I needed to wear an extra padded bra. Once, I wore the right bra, the dress worked perfectly. Recommend it, esp. for the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
"Ordered a large, was too big, went to the store and found a small - it fit perfectly. Not sure if it's just this garment, or if all the sizes are off on this site, but other than getting the size right, I really love this dress, it's very flattering and classy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromKentucky!
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Hips For Days

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Pros: pockets
"I went ahead and bought this dress even though I have some baby makin' hips. It does indeed accentuate the area but I don't think it looks bad at all. So, don't be afraid to order this dress because of that!
I love the pockets!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromFt Lauderdale, FL
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

super cute

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Pros: super cute style tts
Cons: needs a zipper its a b to get into
"I only wish it had a zipper. It fit tts and I love it. super cute it fits enough on the bottom to be flattering and I like that its loose up top. I am tiny but I like the way itgives the illusion that I'm not so flat up top."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Such a cute dress!

PostedJune 24, 2010
Pros: for every day or parties.
"This dress is so comfortable and the fit is perfect. I'm a bit short and it fit me just past the knee, I love that. It flatters any figure, I just love this dress. You can even dress it up with heels and it looks amazing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Not Impressed

PostedJuly 18, 2010
"Had really high hopes for this dress...but it has a little too much fabric in the hip area and ultimately is unflattering. Didn't have any problems with the top as other reviewers said, it was the bottom for me. Fits TTS."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Pencil Eraser Dress
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

low on wow factor

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Pros: good color
Cons: top ran big
"This dress ran big and loose on top. Just didn't have that Anthro wow factor. Good color but had to take it back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Pencil Eraser Dress
fromCharleston, SC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Cute and comfy

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Pros: true to size (in my opinion), comfortable, not see-through, love the pockets
Cons: top may stretch out over time, not sure what to pair it with for cooler weather
"Very cute and comfy - good for the sale price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Average rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5.0
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Design: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5.0
Quality: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5.0
See more reviews: <<prev 1 2next