Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Pencil Eraser Dress

Pencil Eraser Dress
Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
25 of 40(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Review 21 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 12, 2010

Great value on sale

I was hesitant to purchase this dress - several bloggers mentioned it was TTS but warned about adding volume on bottom half. Never having tried it on in the store, I took the plunge when it went on sale and bought the navy in XS. And wow, is it ever darling! Slightly wide in the hips but doesn't add pounds. Top half is a good fit on me (34C). The detail in the stripes on the skirt give it a real vintage feel and I have been alternating tying the belt front and back. Not too low cut, I threw on a cardigan and braved the AC at the office - co-workers raved about it and one went out and purchased the olive!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJuly 18, 2010

Not Impressed

Had really high hopes for this dress...but it has a little too much fabric in the hip area and ultimately is unflattering. Didn't have any problems with the top as other reviewers said, it was the bottom for me. Fits TTS.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedAugust 24, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedAugust 24, 2010

Strange fit + makes you look bigger

Well like the others I stalked this dress online for a bit before trying it on in the store. It was TTS, but it didn't really fit well. The bottom part of it fit (although it did make me look giant cause of the stripes and the big poof) but the top part was really loose. Which was weird for me as a DD, I never usually have that problem.
Wasn't worth it to me since it made me look big on bottom and was too big on top.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: quality
Cons: fit stripes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 8, 2010

low on wow factor

This dress ran big and loose on top. Just didn't have that Anthro wow factor. Good color but had to take it back.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: good color
Cons: top ran big
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedJune 22, 2010

Not exactly for Curvy Petites

I am 5', 135, usually a 10/12 in Anthro dresses, (and have to alter straps/tops on everything anyway bc of my height) so I ordered the L.
I'm returning it to exchange for a M to see if it works better. But both the top and the bottom seem very large, with the non-giving wasteband cinching in the middle. The waist would have been perfect except the top and bottom ballooned out too much. I'm a little worried the M waist will just be too small.
The top is a very soft jersey which I like.
The bottom is a somewhat stiff thin cotton - but I think it'd soften up with wear & wash.
I am a huge fan of pockets in dresses - but these pockets seemed to stick up and out a little bit too much, which especially considering the horizontal stripes on the bottom isn't great.
I ordered the Green - which is definitely an "olive" but I like it.
I liked it enough to exchange, and try again, but we'll see.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 17, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJuly 17, 2010

i really wanted this to work...

I wanted this dress in navy, but even the xsmall was too big for me. I'm petite at 5'0'... the waist was perfect and the top was a little loose, but my biggest problem was the hip area. I have average hips, but these pockets bulged out and made me look so wide. The horizontal stripes didn't help much either. You should definitely try this one on at the store instead of ordering it online because I'm sure other people would run into this problem as well. I'm disappointed because I really wanted to love it!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute design and colors
Cons: unflattering makes my hips look huge
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJuly 20, 2010

Oh my the horizantal strips on this dress did nothing but bad things to my hips. I tried on the extra small and thought it fit perfect, except for the fact I thought it made me look bigger than I am. May look better on others who have more of a boyfish or petite figure.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJuly 20, 2010

An Okay Dress...

This was on my wishlist for the longest and was glad to see it hanging on the rack when I browsed the store. Tried it on and was less than wowed. The skirt poofed out more than I'd like (I thought it would give more of a pencil skirt effect). I did love the way the top fit though and I love the olive color. I think this dress will look great on someone with a little more meat on their bones than me. Also, I'm not thrilled about having to tie a bow in the back. I'm 5'5, 128lbs, 32dd/34d and the S fit well. I will get the Seaside Fields Dress instead...I thought it was more flattering on.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: overall style, good quality, reasonably priced
Cons: tying belt into a bow, skirt was too poofy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedAugust 6, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 6, 2010

i stalked this dress online for a very long time -- i loved the concept and style. i finally got to try it on in store and my heart broke a little bit. it felt very large - the dress that ended up fitting me the best was two sizes down from my usual size. the top was loose and shapeless, almost sad-feeling. and the skirt, especially when you tie the sash, makes the bottom half of my body look HUGE HUGE HUGE.
it was a bit longer than i would have liked, too.
If you can make it work for you, then great. but i was so so so sad that this dress didn't work for me.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedAugust 25, 2010

How Did this make it to Anthro??!!

I love anthro, but sometimes, they have an off day. This is one of those days.
I guess they thought the dress looked pretty, which it is; the color is gorgeous, and the distressed horizontal stripes give it character, but that's about it. When you put a live woman in that dress, it'll make her hips huge with such an accentuated poof at the skirt. Also, the material for the top of the dress is AWFUL and so low grade. I saw this dress on the sale rack and the material is already pilling. Also, the fit of the top is HORRIBLE. I'm a 34D and it's still too loose, like a poor quality tshirt with the neck being too wide and too low.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: the look in the picture, color
Cons: fit, huge top, top material, poufy skirt
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 10, 2010

Unrealistic Shape of A Dress

This dress looks really cute - on the web site. I tried on the navy. The top was a very thin, soft, flattering tee. I thought maybe it was too thin for a casual ensemble dress. The skirt was cute, but honestly, it was like a pencil skirt with a huge poufy spot a the lower waist and upper hip. Basically, it felt like the skirt was upside down! Maybe it could be altered? I would not be able to pay more than $30 for this dress.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: soft top cute colorway
Cons: extra fabric in upper hip
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 17, 2010

Great for curvy girls! :)

I saw this dress on the sale rack and thought god this is cute, they only had it in a small (i'm 5'8' 170 34dd) but it was so cute i tried it on anyway and weirdly enough it fit beautifully. the skirt does cinch in at the waist and puff a bit at the hips which works for me since my waist is much smaller than my hips but probably wouldn't work well for smaller hipped girls, the length is perfect at a bit above the knee. i agree with other reviews that the top is a bit thin and a bit baggy but didn't have a problem with cleavage showing which is rare with my 34 dds. overall great dress! i totally recommend it!!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: vintage-looking pattern, skirt flatters hourglass figure
Cons: top too big and thin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 19, 2010

Ill-fitting

This dress was very ill-fitting. I am 5'9 and weigh 125. This dress made me look extremely bottom heavy.
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 28, 2010

Ordered a large, was too big, went to the store and found a small - it fit perfectly. Not sure if it's just this garment, or if all the sizes are off on this site, but other than getting the size right, I really love this dress, it's very flattering and classy.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 29, 2010

super cute

I only wish it had a zipper. It fit tts and I love it. super cute it fits enough on the bottom to be flattering and I like that its loose up top. I am tiny but I like the way itgives the illusion that I'm not so flat up top.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: super cute style tts
Cons: needs a zipper its a b to get into
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedOctober 1, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 1, 2010

Good start

This is the first dress I have bought here. The size reviews are definitely true, the top runs large. I am very thankful I ordered a small. I would never pay full price for this dress but on sale it is definitely worth it.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: stylish comfortable
Cons: large top
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 10, 2010

Hips For Days

I went ahead and bought this dress even though I have some baby makin' hips. It does indeed accentuate the area but I don't think it looks bad at all. So, don't be afraid to order this dress because of that!
I love the pockets!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pockets
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Aesthetic/design
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Quality
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
<<< prev 1 2