Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Pencil Eraser Dress

Pencil Eraser Dress
Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
25 of 40(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Review 21 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 5, 2010

Easy fall dress

I needed a new dress to go to an outdoors event for the weekend and picked this one up at the local Anthro store. I got it in an XS and because I am an A cup the top was loose and I needed to wear an extra padded bra. Once, I wore the right bra, the dress worked perfectly. Recommend it, esp. for the price.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: casual yet stylish and cute
Cons: neckline a little low
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedOctober 10, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 10, 2010

Hips For Days

I went ahead and bought this dress even though I have some baby makin' hips. It does indeed accentuate the area but I don't think it looks bad at all. So, don't be afraid to order this dress because of that!
I love the pockets!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: pockets
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
PostedSeptember 3, 2010

NIGHTMARE FROM THE 1960'S

I have already reviewed this, but somehow my negative review was not posted, so here I go again, I dont know what they were thinking with this weird conception, with the faded scratched out lines on this dress, the only time I would wear this is to clean the house, or as an apron, woulldnt be cought dead wearing this freakish design:[
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros: color
Cons: everything else
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 17, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJuly 17, 2010

i really wanted this to work...

I wanted this dress in navy, but even the xsmall was too big for me. I'm petite at 5'0'... the waist was perfect and the top was a little loose, but my biggest problem was the hip area. I have average hips, but these pockets bulged out and made me look so wide. The horizontal stripes didn't help much either. You should definitely try this one on at the store instead of ordering it online because I'm sure other people would run into this problem as well. I'm disappointed because I really wanted to love it!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute design and colors
Cons: unflattering makes my hips look huge
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJuly 20, 2010

I'm 5' 120lbs and I bought an xsmall. At first I agreed with other reviewers that there was too much fabric in the hips...it seemed to stick out exactly where you wouldn't want your dress to poof but after washing it I thought it shrunk a little to fit perfectly. The dress is super comfy and you could wear it with sandals or heels and it would look good. I love the tie belt.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute design and tie belt, perfect just above the knee length
Cons: poofs out a little below the hips, pockets are set far in and awkward to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJuly 18, 2010

Not Impressed

Had really high hopes for this dress...but it has a little too much fabric in the hip area and ultimately is unflattering. Didn't have any problems with the top as other reviewers said, it was the bottom for me. Fits TTS.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJuly 20, 2010

Oh my the horizantal strips on this dress did nothing but bad things to my hips. I tried on the extra small and thought it fit perfect, except for the fact I thought it made me look bigger than I am. May look better on others who have more of a boyfish or petite figure.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJuly 20, 2010

An Okay Dress...

This was on my wishlist for the longest and was glad to see it hanging on the rack when I browsed the store. Tried it on and was less than wowed. The skirt poofed out more than I'd like (I thought it would give more of a pencil skirt effect). I did love the way the top fit though and I love the olive color. I think this dress will look great on someone with a little more meat on their bones than me. Also, I'm not thrilled about having to tie a bow in the back. I'm 5'5, 128lbs, 32dd/34d and the S fit well. I will get the Seaside Fields Dress instead...I thought it was more flattering on.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: overall style, good quality, reasonably priced
Cons: tying belt into a bow, skirt was too poofy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 17, 2010

Great for curvy girls! :)

I saw this dress on the sale rack and thought god this is cute, they only had it in a small (i'm 5'8' 170 34dd) but it was so cute i tried it on anyway and weirdly enough it fit beautifully. the skirt does cinch in at the waist and puff a bit at the hips which works for me since my waist is much smaller than my hips but probably wouldn't work well for smaller hipped girls, the length is perfect at a bit above the knee. i agree with other reviews that the top is a bit thin and a bit baggy but didn't have a problem with cleavage showing which is rare with my 34 dds. overall great dress! i totally recommend it!!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: vintage-looking pattern, skirt flatters hourglass figure
Cons: top too big and thin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 29, 2010

I had higher expectations

I love the design but I wonder if the dress i got did not get inspected properly. It was NOT sewn right! I am VERY disappionted in anthropologie, for what I paid, I deserve better!
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

cute, runs large

This dress is very cute but it will not fit a large range of body types. It runs very large and comes out at the hips, so if you don't want to accentuate that this is not the dress for you. I bought my usual size small but had to exchange for a XS, which fit perfectly! The style and fabrics are also very versatile and can go from day to night, summer to winter w. a cardi and jacket.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: green color, good for boy-ish body shapes
Cons: runs big - order down, top fabric is very thin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 30, 2010

pencil and not ink

I wanted to love this dress for its nautical theme but this dress fell short. I bought the dress in navy/small but the sizing was off. The top was way too baggy and the cinched waist and full bottom created unnecessary poofing at the hips and belly area (not flattering for me!). The arm holes also had a large opening (hello peek-a-boo bra). Sadly, this made its way to the return pile.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: cute in photo
Cons: overall fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 1, 2010

I liked the fit

I bought this dress online before reading the reviews which normally don't do and I am glad I did or else I may have missed out on this dress! I am typically a 2 or 4 in dresses so I bought a S and it fits the way it looks on the picture. I am 5'6 123 lbs. and 34B. I like the fit of the top. I believe the top is supposed to be slightly loose. Like when you tuck your shirt in and pull it out a little so that hangs a little (stress a little - like the picture) over the waist of your bottom (skirt pants, whatever). The arm holes are a little on the low side. However, my bra does not show as far as I can tell. I find the bottom flattering too. I don't think the horizontal stripes make me look wider because the bottom comes in slightly creating a nice curvy look. The bottom is not too close fitting and not too loose. So overall the dress provides a nice shape with out being too revealing. I find it appropriate for work and weekend. I really like it :-)
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: comfortable, great fit, nice color, pockets!
Cons: arm holes a little low
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 10, 2010

Unrealistic Shape of A Dress

This dress looks really cute - on the web site. I tried on the navy. The top was a very thin, soft, flattering tee. I thought maybe it was too thin for a casual ensemble dress. The skirt was cute, but honestly, it was like a pencil skirt with a huge poufy spot a the lower waist and upper hip. Basically, it felt like the skirt was upside down! Maybe it could be altered? I would not be able to pay more than $30 for this dress.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: soft top cute colorway
Cons: extra fabric in upper hip
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 12, 2010

very cute

after reading the reviews for this, i really wasn't expecting much. however, after receiving it in the mail & trying it on myself, i'm very pleased with it. the top is a little loose, but not particularly baggy, & it doesn't show an obscene amount of cleavage. the skirt doesn't poof out for me at all, but it is very narrow & fits very much like a pencil skirt. i tied the bow in the front & to the side, & it looked fine. this dress also fits me true to size; it didn't run too big or too small (based on one review that i read, i had originally ordered a size smaller than usual, & i had to exchange it).
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute t-shirt top unique color
Cons: very fitted skirt
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 19, 2010

Ill-fitting

This dress was very ill-fitting. I am 5'9 and weigh 125. This dress made me look extremely bottom heavy.
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 28, 2010

Mixed feelings

After reading previous reviews, this dress fits much better than I anticipated. I don't have much on top (32A) and thought it may not fit well, but actually it works well. The fabric isn't that great of quality and the blue kinda reminds me of someone who just broke out of prison. Maybe im being too critical, but honestly, thats sort of what it reminds me of. Not the best dress, but cute anyways.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Aesthetic/design
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Quality
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
<<< prev 1 2