Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Pencil Eraser Dress

Pencil Eraser Dress
Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
25 of 40(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Review 21 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 12, 2010

very cute

after reading the reviews for this, i really wasn't expecting much. however, after receiving it in the mail & trying it on myself, i'm very pleased with it. the top is a little loose, but not particularly baggy, & it doesn't show an obscene amount of cleavage. the skirt doesn't poof out for me at all, but it is very narrow & fits very much like a pencil skirt. i tied the bow in the front & to the side, & it looked fine. this dress also fits me true to size; it didn't run too big or too small (based on one review that i read, i had originally ordered a size smaller than usual, & i had to exchange it).
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute t-shirt top unique color
Cons: very fitted skirt
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 19, 2010

Ill-fitting

This dress was very ill-fitting. I am 5'9 and weigh 125. This dress made me look extremely bottom heavy.
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 17, 2010

Great for curvy girls! :)

I saw this dress on the sale rack and thought god this is cute, they only had it in a small (i'm 5'8' 170 34dd) but it was so cute i tried it on anyway and weirdly enough it fit beautifully. the skirt does cinch in at the waist and puff a bit at the hips which works for me since my waist is much smaller than my hips but probably wouldn't work well for smaller hipped girls, the length is perfect at a bit above the knee. i agree with other reviews that the top is a bit thin and a bit baggy but didn't have a problem with cleavage showing which is rare with my 34 dds. overall great dress! i totally recommend it!!
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: vintage-looking pattern, skirt flatters hourglass figure
Cons: top too big and thin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 28, 2010

Mixed feelings

After reading previous reviews, this dress fits much better than I anticipated. I don't have much on top (32A) and thought it may not fit well, but actually it works well. The fabric isn't that great of quality and the blue kinda reminds me of someone who just broke out of prison. Maybe im being too critical, but honestly, thats sort of what it reminds me of. Not the best dress, but cute anyways.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PostedSeptember 29, 2010

I had higher expectations

I love the design but I wonder if the dress i got did not get inspected properly. It was NOT sewn right! I am VERY disappionted in anthropologie, for what I paid, I deserve better!
Overall rating
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 4, 2010

cute, runs large

This dress is very cute but it will not fit a large range of body types. It runs very large and comes out at the hips, so if you don't want to accentuate that this is not the dress for you. I bought my usual size small but had to exchange for a XS, which fit perfectly! The style and fabrics are also very versatile and can go from day to night, summer to winter w. a cardi and jacket.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: green color, good for boy-ish body shapes
Cons: runs big - order down, top fabric is very thin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedJune 22, 2010

Not exactly for Curvy Petites

I am 5', 135, usually a 10/12 in Anthro dresses, (and have to alter straps/tops on everything anyway bc of my height) so I ordered the L.
I'm returning it to exchange for a M to see if it works better. But both the top and the bottom seem very large, with the non-giving wasteband cinching in the middle. The waist would have been perfect except the top and bottom ballooned out too much. I'm a little worried the M waist will just be too small.
The top is a very soft jersey which I like.
The bottom is a somewhat stiff thin cotton - but I think it'd soften up with wear & wash.
I am a huge fan of pockets in dresses - but these pockets seemed to stick up and out a little bit too much, which especially considering the horizontal stripes on the bottom isn't great.
I ordered the Green - which is definitely an "olive" but I like it.
I liked it enough to exchange, and try again, but we'll see.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 17, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJuly 17, 2010

i really wanted this to work...

I wanted this dress in navy, but even the xsmall was too big for me. I'm petite at 5'0'... the waist was perfect and the top was a little loose, but my biggest problem was the hip area. I have average hips, but these pockets bulged out and made me look so wide. The horizontal stripes didn't help much either. You should definitely try this one on at the store instead of ordering it online because I'm sure other people would run into this problem as well. I'm disappointed because I really wanted to love it!
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: cute design and colors
Cons: unflattering makes my hips look huge
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJuly 20, 2010

I'm 5' 120lbs and I bought an xsmall. At first I agreed with other reviewers that there was too much fabric in the hips...it seemed to stick out exactly where you wouldn't want your dress to poof but after washing it I thought it shrunk a little to fit perfectly. The dress is super comfy and you could wear it with sandals or heels and it would look good. I love the tie belt.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: cute design and tie belt, perfect just above the knee length
Cons: poofs out a little below the hips, pockets are set far in and awkward to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 22, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJuly 22, 2010

I tried this dress in navy color. Nice styling, TTS, lower part of the dress looked like I'm really wide on the bottom.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 30, 2010

pencil and not ink

I wanted to love this dress for its nautical theme but this dress fell short. I bought the dress in navy/small but the sizing was off. The top was way too baggy and the cinched waist and full bottom created unnecessary poofing at the hips and belly area (not flattering for me!). The arm holes also had a large opening (hello peek-a-boo bra). Sadly, this made its way to the return pile.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: cute in photo
Cons: overall fit
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 13, 2010

Strange fit, nice pattern

I really like the design concept, but the fit is off from the top to bottom. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the top is big and for me it was baggy. The top needed to be a heavier cotton or a mix of fabrics to give it less stretch. The top fabic will stretch out and stay stretched out. The skirt has a nice pattern. More
everyday than dressy. For people with a straight body this will not
work. The skirt will stick out at
the hips. It works better for me
because I have some curves.
Overall, the fit of the top and the
bottom don't match. They need
adjustment. It's almost like the
top is a different size from the
bottom and the fabric on the top doesn't help. I usually buy a small or medium, but the small was the closest fit for me.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: pattern and color combination
Cons: fit and fabric
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 10, 2010

Unrealistic Shape of A Dress

This dress looks really cute - on the web site. I tried on the navy. The top was a very thin, soft, flattering tee. I thought maybe it was too thin for a casual ensemble dress. The skirt was cute, but honestly, it was like a pencil skirt with a huge poufy spot a the lower waist and upper hip. Basically, it felt like the skirt was upside down! Maybe it could be altered? I would not be able to pay more than $30 for this dress.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pros: soft top cute colorway
Cons: extra fabric in upper hip
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 30, 2010

Cute and comfy

Very cute and comfy - good for the sale price
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: true to size (in my opinion), comfortable, not see-through, love the pockets
Cons: top may stretch out over time, not sure what to pair it with for cooler weather
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 12, 2010

Great value on sale

I was hesitant to purchase this dress - several bloggers mentioned it was TTS but warned about adding volume on bottom half. Never having tried it on in the store, I took the plunge when it went on sale and bought the navy in XS. And wow, is it ever darling! Slightly wide in the hips but doesn't add pounds. Top half is a good fit on me (34C). The detail in the stripes on the skirt give it a real vintage feel and I have been alternating tying the belt front and back. Not too low cut, I threw on a cardigan and braved the AC at the office - co-workers raved about it and one went out and purchased the olive!
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJuly 20, 2010

Oh my the horizantal strips on this dress did nothing but bad things to my hips. I tried on the extra small and thought it fit perfect, except for the fact I thought it made me look bigger than I am. May look better on others who have more of a boyfish or petite figure.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Pencil Eraser Dress
PostedAugust 24, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedAugust 24, 2010

Strange fit + makes you look bigger

Well like the others I stalked this dress online for a bit before trying it on in the store. It was TTS, but it didn't really fit well. The bottom part of it fit (although it did make me look giant cause of the stripes and the big poof) but the top part was really loose. Which was weird for me as a DD, I never usually have that problem.
Wasn't worth it to me since it made me look big on bottom and was too big on top.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: quality
Cons: fit stripes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Pencil Eraser Dress
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Aesthetic/design
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Quality
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
<<< prev 1 2