Customer reviews for Soft Scallops Cardi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Soft Scallops Cardi

Soft Scallops Cardi
Overall rating:
3.757 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Star
0
25 of 37(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Soft Scallops Cardi
Review 21 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 23, 2010

Feminine and a decent bargain

I've had my eye on this forever, and finally snagged it in the ivory after the second markdown. I'm really glad I did, since it is the perfect topper for 75% of my dresses. The quality and detailing are fantastic. The lace and sheerness of the body look ethereal and delicate, but the blend of fibers make this warmer than it looks and also more durable. Slightly itchy, too, but not unbearably so, and a reasonable trade off for the added quality. I prefer the closure in the middle since it seems to emphasize the flounce of the "skirt" but it's nice that it can be adjusted to give the wrap effect. I do wish that it had a couple inches added to the hem so I could wear it with jeans, but it's a small quibble since it looks so perfect with dresses. Deeply cute and a nice price.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedSeptember 30, 2010

Nice cardigan

I got this recently and really like it. I didnt find its too short (and am 5'9") I got the large in green. The length was appropriate- the bottom of the cardigan hits at the waist (doesn't look to cropped).Can tie in middle or at side, if you adjust the threading of the drawstring. Nice lacework. Material is a little scratchy but not bad if you have a sleeved shirt underneath. Overall Im quite pleased with it. Works well with jeans or a dress.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 25, 2010

Great basic cardi

I purchase this in the green and I love the color. It is a great basic cardi to wear over tanks and dresses. Fits true to size. Much thinner than I thought it would be.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style:Bohemian - layered and quirky
PostedJanuary 22, 2011

nice sweater

This is another gift for those of us who check the sale site daily. The green is a deep olive/forest color. The crochet detail on the sleeves and collar is beautiful and make this sweater special. It's very short but really works with tank dresses or longer tops. Fit is true to size, however the sleeves are very long. This is just a nice sweater to have on hand for the silly sale price.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: pretty color
Cons: would like a little more length in the body
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedJuly 29, 2010

Nice long sleeves, pretty place detail

Tried this top on because of the color, lace detail and the long sleeves. Fabric is looks like it might be itchy, but it wasn't. Tried on my true size M and felt it fit TTS if a little larger. I'm a 34B and could wear something long sleeved underneath if I was interested in doing so. Green/olive color was very stunning and while I loved it, beige was more wardrobe friendly for me.
Agree with other poster about it being different than the product shot, but I hadn't seen it so, not an issue for me. Sweater can be worn now on a nice summer night into Fall. Perfect to take to Italy in the Fall.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cons: little pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedJuly 29, 2010

Gorgeous Moss Color

The Moss is very beautiful and rich. The sweater is slightly itchy. It is short and looks great with the right blouse or tank underneath...see model in picture on-line. Fits TTS. A wonderful late summer/autumn piece.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJuly 29, 2010

Cute, but...

I saw this sweater in store and had to try it on. The lace detail around the edges is really pretty and the fit was good, but I was surprised at the price tag considering the quality. It does not feel like a $128 sweater. It's a little rough and thin feeling.
I'm typically a 4/6 or small in tops and I tried this in the small and it fit fine. The chest was good (I'm a 34 B/C) and the length was more cropped coming to the top of my hips so I would wear this with skirts or dresses. The lace detail around the wrists does not stretch so the sleeves must be worn long (I always seem to push cardigan sleeves up to 3/4 without thinking).
The sweater will not wrap like the product shot. It looks like the tie might be on the edge of the lace in the front creating a wrapped look, but in real life the ties are woven (and can be unwoven) from beyond the lace. I unwove one side in the attached pictures to create a wrapped look. All in all it's a cute sweater, but I'll be waiting to see if it goes on sale. I've attached some pictures for reference.
Overall rating
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedAugust 5, 2010

Pretty, but itchy and sheds

This sweater is very similar to one I purchased at Anthro a few years back in that the details are really lovely, but the fabric is not the best. It is a little itchy, but on top of that, there are long fibers that shed easily. I really get tired of sweaters that shred even the littlest bit because it makes me think my clothes look really messy by the end of the day. The olive is a pretty color if you can wear that tone of green, but the cream is definitely more versatile in my opinion.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: details
Cons: sheds, itchy
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedSeptember 21, 2010

Great details!

This cardigan is really cute. I got the beige color, and its definitely more tan/beige than cream/beige. The crochet details on the cuffs and collar are high quality and beautiful. I did not find the cardigan to be particularly scratchy, as some other reviewers have commented. I am between sizes (small and medium), so I ordered up to a medium after reading the reviews about the short length. It is still shorter than the typical cardigan, but the tie hits me midway between my bust and waist and creates a flattering silhouette. As others have noted, it does not tie off to the side as shown in the picture, but ties in the middle. This is not an issue for me. I still think it is very cute and victorian, and a good buy at the sale price.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: great details, good price, versatile color (beige)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedSeptember 9, 2010

the detailing on this was pretty, but didn't stand out to me. I liked the sleeves and the olive color was rich.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
PostedOctober 9, 2010

cute, but not without flaws

I originally bought this sweater to wear with the Norwegian Woods Skirt (an adorable skirt, btw), but ended up returning it for the following reasons: 1) The arms are slightly too long and the length isn't consistent with the sizing. ex: the xs in the moss had longer arms than the xs in the cream, which is what I ended up purchasing. 2) After trying on at home, I realized the fit in the arms were too tight for wearing normal layering pieces underneath. In the store, I tried it on with just my bra, and apparently, this is the best way it would fit, unless you wear it with a cami. I paired it with one of my short sleeve knit tops and the shoulders looked way too bulky (and I have a small frame). 3) However, the fabric is too itchy to wear with only a cami, especially since the arms fit too snugly. 4) Finally, this is minor, but the stitching of the tags came undone and they fell off. The overall aesthetics just didn't work for me.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: very cute detailing with lace
Cons: arms too long, arms too tight, itchy
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 3, 2010

beautiful

this sweater is gorgeous! i bought it in cream and love it! it is very detailed. light enough to wear during Texas fall/spring
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
PostedOctober 20, 2010

This is a cute top, but the styling does make it look strange whem I wear it closed. It gets really bunched up and crowded looking from all the fabric at the waist. I may never wear it, but I guess it's cute.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: unique
Cons: too much bunching
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedOctober 23, 2010

Very thin and coarse

It looks a lot better in these online pictures. I ordered the ivory, it is in fact a lot more darker tone, i would say it is close to be beige. The material is very thin and pretty coarse. And this is not a wrap design with tie on the side. It it in fact no extra fabric to wrap, it is tie in the center front. It is definitely not worth the full the price, with this amazing discount, I have to return it to the store.
Overall rating
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PostedOctober 20, 2010

vintage topper

The lace detail is beautifully structured, especially the split in the collar at the back and the pleats. As another reviewer said, you can tie it to the side; unlike the photo, the "belt" actually weaves through the lace, and this can be adjusted. The cropped shape and a wide open v-neck makes it look fresh. I'm wearing a scoopneck long sleeve tee underneath, which fixes the itch problem and the open neck. In the cream, the sleeves end just past the wrist (I'm 5'6", for reference), and the lace cuffs are loose enough so the sleeves can be pushed up comfortably. It's very much best as a top layer rather than a stand-alone top because it's cropped and open. I have my usual size, XS, in the cream (which is actually beige, and enhances the vintage look). As for the itchy factor, doesn't anyone at Guinevere test-wear their clothes? The alpaca is the culprit, and it does give it a soft fluffy sheen in person. But the itchiness is unbearable on bare arms. Overall, however, it is so cute and flattering.
Overall rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetic/design
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: beautiful lace, warm for how thin it is
Cons: needs something underneath
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Soft Scallops Cardi
PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
PostedSeptember 26, 2010

Missed the mark

Having read the reviews I was still willing to give this cardi a try, because I am on the petite side and usually cropped items look nice on me. However the proportions were all wrong. As others have mentioned, the sleeves are too long, and the overall cut was just way too short even for my 5'2" frame. Another couple of inches and it would've been fine. I didn't find the material itchy, though it certainly isn't snuggley soft. Returned it, not even worth the sale price.
Overall rating
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aesthetic/design
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Soft Scallops Cardi
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Average Rating
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Aesthetic/design
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
<<< prev 1 2