Customer reviews for Pebbled & Primped Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Pebbled & Primped Boots

Pebbled & Primped Boots
Average rating:
3.872 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
57 of 78(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Review 1 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromAnthro Starved Bakersfield, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Boot Goodness! Unique Texture and Color!

PostedNovember 6, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: flexible sole for walking, tts, great styling, unique versatile color, unusual texture, great price
Cons: slight imperfections
"I've never been a fan of full length boots. But then I have never found true comfort. I had to have these. The obvious attraction is the twisted ruffle. The boots are rather plain viewed from the front.
I have many pairs of Miss Albright shoes. Why not Boots too!
SIZE: I normally wear size 8. I ordered a 1/2 size up. I probably didn't need to. So I am calling these TTS.
FIT: Loose, but not sloppy. I have a 13" calf, these are 16". Not really too big. There is plenty of extra room in the length. The toe is comfortably rounded. I could easily wear thick socks. I am just under 5'6'. These are the perfect height at just below the knee.
FEEL: Not only are these awesome looking, but they feel like heaven. Most important is the flexible sole for walking. I could easily walk for miles.
LEATHER: I don't think the leather looks cheap. The color is different! Looks Black, Brown, Grey, and Olive Green. All colors I happen to like. The texture gives these boots a different look. There are lighter areas that add depth and reflect light. I don't view these as flaws. They don't resemble plastic rain boots.
OTHER: The zipper of one boot was sticky. I used silicone on both. The low grooved heel is the perfect heigth. The sole is non-slip. There is one very small square of dark leather at the top of the right boot that can be seen in the attached images.
Recommended - Order TTS! Considering the comfort and style I give these 5 full stars. The slight imperfections are to be expected in a boot at this price. And the unusual color makes them unique and versatile."
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Crushed

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
User submitted photo
"These were going to be my boots. I fell in love with them the minute I saw them online.
I tried them on today at my local Anthropologie just as a formality, because I already knew I was buying them. And that is when my heart broke.
The leather isn't as soft as I wanted. The calf is really big (and I am by no means thin in the legs). I sized up from my normal 8.5 to a 9 and even so, I found the boot to be tight across the top of my foot, a strange place to be tight. I really felt like I was just wearing rain boots.
I like them, but with regret they aren't for me."
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

I found my grey boots!

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Pros: beautiful design and excellent quality
Cons: dark grey not black wide around calf
"I purchased these because I love the ruffle and Miss Albright. I found that compared to her boots from last year (I have the Winding Ruffles and Sidesaddle Boots from last fall) the sole is much more substantial and the leather is not as soft (it's stiff but not so much it'll require breaking in). The boots are also a dark grey, not black, and though the leather feels smooth to the touch, it appears to have a texture to it (which you can see in the product shots, I just noticed it a lot more in person). The shaft of the boot is noticebly large around my calf, but the leather holds up so the boots don't slide down my leg. Overall I like the boots and am going to keep them!"
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Like, but wanted to love these boots

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Pros: cool color cute ruffle
Cons: very strange fit
"I LOVE the ruffle on these boots, so cute. Also I like the sort of gunmetal color, very cool and different.
However the fit is VERY odd. I have thin calves so I knew they would be big at the top, but I can at least wear them with jeans. So I was anticipating that, but I have never had shoes that fit like these in the foot. I have very narrow/thin feet and these are tight through the top of the foot, something I've never experienced. Also it's a strange combination with the huge calf area, because I can't think of one person these would fit perfectly all the way from top to bottom.
So while I am happy to put them on in the morning because of the cute ruffles, I am also glad to take them off at the end of the day because the odd fit makes my feet hurt a bit."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromohio
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Gorgeous boots.

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
"i rarely pay full price for shoes as i'm not really a "shoe person..." but these boots were an exception. i had to see them the moment i saw them in the catalog! keep in mind they are the same ones, although when i was at the store, I started to wonder if they came in 2 colors seeing that online they say "black." like the previous reviewers, they are not a true black - more of a taupy gray, which i don't have a problem with!
as far as sizing goes - i wear a size 6-6.5 for flats/heels. I sized up to a 7 for these. I could have gotten away with a 6.5, but was more comfortable (esp with thick socks in ohio winters!) in the 7. if you're inbetween sizes, i'd go with the higher one.
Also, for my frame, i do have avg-slightly larger calves. girls with skinny calves might be sized out as they were already gapped on me. i don't mind as i like to be comfortable and they'll go over skinny jeans just fine!
super comfy and study. i recommend these for putting something special to winter outfits!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

I think they're a great, versatile boot!

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: ruggedly feminine unique and versatile
Cons: a lining in the entire shaft would have been nice.
"I have been on the Boot Hunt for a long time; every year in fact. These really fit the bill for a great fall boot being both feminine and rugged in a unique way.
Many reviewers note that the boots "aren't black". No, they are not, but they are chameleon-like: a blend of gray, black, brown, hints of green, and and overall sheen. To me, this makes them versatile, they go with everything! In a brown outfit they complement and blend, black, same thing.
I think the color is genius.
The overall shape and color give the boot a rugged feel
while the ruffle and actual cut and details make it feminine.
I did not find the calf to be enormous. In fact, it is mostly snug up until the last 1-1.5 inches or so. I do not have monster calves.
I did find the widest point of the forefoot to be snug - however, I have flat feet so I may be a bit wider there.
I did size up from my usual 8.5 to 9, as per other reviews, knowing that I was planning on wearing with pants, socks, and such. Given the snugness in the forefoot I am glad I did. If you are not wide at that point I would suggest buying your usual size.
Also, the leather in the boots I received is quite soft, not stiff as others have found.
I put up two pictures. Note that I was standing in the bright sun, which is washing out the boots, in darker light you just couldn't see them very well. One pic is to show the room at the top of the shaft/calf, which to me, is not a terrible amount."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromWhite Plains, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Made for me

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Pros: unusual fit
Cons: same
"I have narrow feet and huge calves so I decided to ignore everyone and get my normal size. I'm really glad I did, they fit me perfectly. The only other knee-high boots I have that fit this well were made for "extended calves" so consider that when purchasing these. They have a shiny, pretty texture. I guess that could look a little plastic, but they feel great so who cares."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Darling Boots

PostedAugust 31, 2010
"These boots are absolutely darling...but are definitely NOT black! They are a different kind of gray color with a pebbled surface."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Good for girls with "athletic" calves

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Pros: grayish color is unique as is the texture, comfy, way cute
Cons: as always price
"I went back and forth between these and the bow boots. But I already owned tan Frye boots. So I went with these.
From the picture they looked grayish to me, and they are. Which is exactly what I wanted as I already own black boots.
I guessed that the texture would be pebbled as well, hence the name. Gives it a little more depth.
I wear a 8 1/2 in boots and these were true to size. I know most people wont like that the calf area is bigger, but I love it. It's hard for me to buy boots because I play hockey and my calves get built up.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Awesome!

PostedNovember 19, 2010
"I love these boots! True, they are definitely not Black, however they are even better! Super neutral and go with everything! I'd call them more of a pewter color. Love the ruffle styling and have gotten tons of compliments on them. Perfect for wearing over skinny jeans."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromLong Beach, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Lovely

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Pros: color ruffle
Cons: large calf
"I love these boots. They are very cute and definitely the style I was looking for at this price point.
Yes, the shaft is very wide, but it's the style of the boot. They are not supposed to be a chic, slim fitting boot. These have very much a rugged, outdoor feel to them- including the actual color of them. The ruffle is a sweet detail that makes the boot unique and purchase-worthy, in my opinion.
As for the sizing, I followed the other reviews and bought 1/2 size up (a 7.5 instead of a 7) but I have a bit of room to space. If I was able to try them on at the store, I would've bought a 7. They fit fine and I didn't want to worry about returning.
For some it seems, the calf area is bothersome. I have tiny calves and am 5'2", and I think they look great. They don't look like rain boots at all- I mean they are NOT rubber!
The color is nice, I actually prefer it to black or brown. It makes them different.
In the end, these are an awesome addition to my wardrobe. I plan to buy tall, brown Frye boots eventually to add to my boot collection (I already own heeled, black boots). I think these are perfect for someone who wants a unique boot to round out a nice collection of boots.
Also, the price is great- $100 less than Frye and they are great quality. A bit stiff, but they should soften with time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
2 / 5
2.0 / 5.0

Not as great in person

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
"This boots looked so lovely when viewed online. I thought about them for weeks before making my purchase, as they are fairly expensive. Considering the cost, I was expecting a superior product; however, these boots are really just of average quality. They look to be pleather and I am pretty sure they are going to wear poorly, making the "pebbling" look like scuffs and scrapes. Sadly, I returned these boots."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromLos Angeles, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

LOVE these boots!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Pros: great fit comfortable, versatile color, cute design
"These boots were a gift from my boyfriend and we both love the look and the fit. I usually wear 8 1/2 or 9, and bought the 8 1/2, since I live in southern California and will not need to wear these with thick socks. The fit is great.
Re: the color - they are absolutely not green, and they do not look like plastic. It's more of a shimmery charcoal gray, and can be worn with either black or brown. Very versatile."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
1 / 5
1.0 / 5.0

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
"These boots look fantastic in the catalog (and online), but this appearance is deceiving. The boots are less black and more brown in hue; the entire boot is stiff, rather than broken in as they appear; the zipper is of poor quality; there is no traction to speak of, although the flowers on the soles (which no one ever sees) are quite lovely. These boots might be the most uncomfortable that I have ever tried to wear. Overall, I was extremely disappointed and returned these boots immediately. I am a loyal Anthropologie customer and will continue to be, but this is not a good product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromChicago, IL
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

not nearly as cute as the picture!

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Pros: cute ruffle
Cons: odd color, shiny leather
"C'mon, Anthro, get your act together where color naming is concerned. These boots aren't anywhere close to black. Bronze, brown, even olive in some light, but not black or even charcoal. Had I known it was so far off, I wouldn't have ordered at all. That said, the boots are a cute style. Love that ruffle. The leather is a little shiny for my liking, making them rainboot-y as other reviewers have mentioned. No way do these look worth the money. Sad! I'd been so looking forward to wearing them for the next six months."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromRancho Cucamonga, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Gorgeous Boots

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Pros: great color and detail
Cons: may be a bit too small on small calves
"These boots are very well made and the bronze/silver color goes with both cool and warm toned clothes. The ruffle gives it a unique quality- These look great! My only negative is that they are a bit big for my small calves, but that is common with all boots."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromWashington, DC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Very cute but...

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Pros: unique style, high quality, comfortable
Cons: large in the calfs, color isn't as pictured
"These boots are very cute & unique but similar to other reviews the calf is larger than expected. Also the color is closer to grey than black. Overall, I am happy with the purchase & they seem like something I can wear for years. I typically wear a 7.5 - 8 & an 8 fit perfect."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromNorthern Va
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

lovely boots!

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Pros: ruffle is amazing
Cons: if you have tiny calves maybe not.
"I bought these in the store, and I LOVE them! I wear an 8.5-9 and the 9 was perfect. YES-they are more gray than black, but in a good way. YES they have a wider calf opening, but in a good way. I will definitely be able to wear them with jeans or skinny cargos perfectly. Also, I feel like this season is calling more for boots that aren't skin tight. I like that I can wear tall socks underneath for more texture.
The ruffle is awesome because no other boots have it :)
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Love the ruffles!

PostedNovember 6, 2010
"After reading reviews about the big calf and small boot size I decided to purchase them anyway. It's true the calf size is large but the overall look and feel of this boot makes up for that fact. I get so many compliments on these boots! Color isn't black, it's more of an olive green metallic. Quality of zipper and sole is a little lacking. We'll see how they hold up this season into winter."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pebbled & Primped Boots
fromCT
Yes,No, I do not recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Grey/Silver/Black

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Pros: the ruffle., unique
Cons: color
"These were my "it" purchase for fall, and I do love them because of their uniqueness. I'm unsure what to wear them with because of the weird color, though. Black, grey, silver...I wore them with a black dress and grey & black tights, that worked, but it's more thought than would go into a standard black pair. Maybe not as versatile. But, they're hot."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 3 4 next>>