Customer reviews for Fennel Flower Skirt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Anthropologie.

Fennel Flower Skirt

Fennel Flower Skirt
Average rating:
4.72 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Fennel Flower Skirt
Review 1 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromOakland, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedMay 21, 2010
User submitted photo
"This skirt ran anything but big on me. It was the opposite: ran small. But I expected as much for a pencil skirt and typically this cut doesn't go well with my hour-glass shape. But this one was passable in terms of the cut on me. I purchased it and took it home to try on with matching shoes; and after basic wear around my house, the fabric gave quite a bit. So maybe it does run big after wear, you should be mindful of this when sizing.
It wrinkled pretty bad from minor sitting. Creased quite a bit at the hips also after sitting. So much so that it just looked too worn. Wow imagine if I'd actually wore it out and about for an actual day. Because of this, I ended up returning.
The print is very cute as others have commented. The color is in fact dark grey as noted, it is not black."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

Runs tiny in the waist

PostedMay 12, 2010
Pros: easy to pair with other stuff
Cons: waist runs really small
"I'm usually an 8 but had to size up to a 10 in this, though a 12 probably would have been ideal (my store was out of that size). The waist runs really small, but the hips flare out a good bit - in my opinion, I think you need an hourglass frame to work this to its fullest potential. Nevertheless, this is a pretty, flattering skirt that works equally well for the workday and evening play. The print and fabric seems Asian-inspired to me. The zip is in the back and is topped off by 2 bronze buttons. I plan to pair this with a silk-trimmed cobalt cotton tee and black patent heels for work."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromLaie, HI
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Professional, but fun!

PostedMay 25, 2010
"I love the embroidery on this skirt. It adds just the right amount to make the skirt fun! What I love about this skirt is how I can easily wear it to work, but I can also dress this down and wear it casually. I get compliments on this all of the time! It fits TTS, I picked up my usual size 0 (5'3 112 lbs) and it hit just above the knee."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fennel Flower Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

PostedMay 17, 2010
"1. I'm 5'5" tall, 130lbs, 35-28-38 and I bought a size 8. It hits right above my knee. Perfect length.
2. Unlike everyone else, I thought this skirt ran big. It was loose in the waist and I could wear it down at my natural waist. However, I can tell by the shape of the hips that this skirt is supposed be highwaisted and sit about 3 inches above your natural waist.
3. It has a kick pleat, which is sewn shut when you try it on. You'll have to cut this open after you buy it. However, it does make the skirt feel tight and ride up when you walk. THis will go away after you cut open the kick pleat.
4. Love the fabric. It cool for summer, but with winter colors. Perfect for all year round in Florida."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fennel Flower Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful! Classy! Perfect!

PostedMay 31, 2010
"As much as I LOOOVVVVVVE full skirts, they are not that great on me. I'm hourglass, but petite, especially on top and a full skirt really emphasizes the bottom part. Plus, a more fitted look around the knee is much more flattering to my legs. The Skybridge Dress, for instance, was incredibly leg-flattering - much to my surprise.
This skirt is made of lovely, substantial material. It's fairly soft. And all the little details are impeccable - the three buttons on the back (one hidden), the embroidery of both flower and stem.
I have to agree that it does wrinkle a little in the back with wear - actually it creases a bit, but it's no big deal. It's not that noticeable because of the dark fabric. And it's not that bad in the first place.
I got my usual size in a fitted skirt and, being an older woman, was greatly gratified that it fit all over, including the waist.
I've worn it with tops tucked or left out, mostly green and yellow. Today, I'm wearing it with the Ridgeway Blouse, a strand of startling yellow wooden beads and some pumpkin colored cutout booties from Everybody (everything from Anthro today). Fab-a-lus."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromAlta Loma, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect lil pencil skirt!

PostedMay 15, 2010
"This is a gorgeous, gorgeous skirt in person! The embroidered flowers are so feminine and delicate, and the raised black stems complete the sort of Asian inspired look. Based upon other reviews, I expected the skirt to run super small, but I took my regular size 8. (5'3, 145lbs with buns, hun!) LOL This skirt will work at work or dressed up with sexy heels!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromTucson, AZ
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

Runs Small, Well Made

PostedMay 14, 2010
"I tried this on in store in a size 12. I normally wear a 12 or 14. I could barely get the 12 on over my bottom. My store rarely carries size 14 so it was not available for me to try on. However, I think even the 14 would be too small. It seems like Floreat-branded items tend to run small.
The skirt itself is heavier than I would expect for this time of year. It seems very substantital. The embroidery is well done. The black is more of a washed-out black.
Cute skirt."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromSan Diego, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0

PostedMay 27, 2010
Pros: flattering shape, beautiful embroidery
Cons: variations within sizes, runs half size small
"This skirt is beautiful. It's the perfect body-flattering shape, and the dark charcoal cotton contrasts gorgeously against the pretty yellow embroidery. It's so beautiful it made it almost worth trying on nearly every skirt in my size (AND the next one up) just to find one that fit me right. It seems to fit a half size small. Most of my usual 6s were too snug while most of the 8s were too loose on me. (I'm 5'6" 125 lbs and curvy -- I usually take a 4 at Anthro but size up to a 6 in sheaths and pencil skirts because of the curves.)
Falling between sizes on this was a bummer for me but understandable. It happens sometimes. What was less acceptable to me was the variation within sizes, which I think is probably reflected in the variation in reviewers' impressions of fit, too.
I ended up choosing an 8, but the smallest one of those. But I really shouldn't have had to try on two 6s and three 8s just to find one that fit me pretty well amongst all the others. Because of that I have to only give the quality 3 stars, even though the stitching and fabric and embroidery quality are actually really nice. And, also because of that, I have to suggest trying these on and buying in a store if you're at all able to. If not, and if it was me, I'd play it safe and order one size up with the thought that I might have to have a seamstress fine-tune the fit for me.
But if you're willing to do either of those things, I do definitely recommend the skirt. It's really beautiful and it looks fabulous with a white shirt to make the colors pop even more. I picked up a Poetess Blouse on sale at the same time, to wear with it at work. It's the perfect non-cheap and non-cliche'd sexy librarian look. Can't wait to wear it. ;)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fennel Flower Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
4 / 5
4.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
3 / 5
3.0 / 5.0

good "basic" skirt

PostedMay 12, 2010
Pros: good basic would coordinate with many things, nice detailing
Cons: wrinkled up easily when walking
"After looking at this skirt closer up - I think the pattern is just darling. It is a grey black with golden yellow daisies. As another reviewer noted, the back detailing has two bronze flower buttons which were pretty cute. I have an hourglass frame and felt that my regular size in floreat brand skirts worked. It actually was pretty flattering on - accenting my smaller waist, but still having room for hips/butt. It hit right above my knee (5'4) when worn on the true high waist.
When walking around the fitting room, however, the skirt kept creeping up, creasing, inevitably causing it to wrinkle (cotton skirt). Based on this, I knew I would never be able to wear it for a long day at work and decided to pass it up.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromSan Francisco, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Just Great

PostedMay 12, 2010
Pros: layers well, adorable design, well structured
Cons: runs just a tad bit small
"Totally on the artsy side, which is what always gets me at anthro.
I originally picked up the similar green & floral penciled abronia skirt in store... but after spotting this item today I'm thinking about returning it. This feels so substantially-made with its thick cotton and precious two-button closure. I don't think this is everyone's skirt, but I really just love how it looks.
The yellow fennel is embroidered on, giving it a very sweet vibe, and the "grey" is more like a light black. It does run a tad smaller, but I still picked it up in my normal size two. So if you're border-line, I'd go up.
Otherwise a great purchase I can't wait to wear!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

perfect spring skirt

PostedMay 15, 2010
Pros: everything
"just bought this skirt today and love it. unlike the other reviewers, i think the skirt runs true to size. i got the size 6. it's very flattering and i would even consider wearing it in the winter w/ tights since the material is substantial. like most of my anthro clothes, it will stay in my closet forever."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromedison, nj
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Striking skirt--LOVE IT!

PostedMay 21, 2010
Pros: quality
Cons: none
"The embroidery caught my eye on this skirt since I love stuff like that when it's done well. The fabric is substantial and the skirt is very well made. I tried on my normal size 8 in pencil skirts and it fit slightly close, but with different underwear on when I tried it on again it fit much better. It came right to the top of my knee (I'm about 5'7") which is a good length for me. Also thought it was priced correctly for the quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fennel Flower Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Beautiful

PostedJune 14, 2010
"Flattering fit and extra detail with the black tree trunk (hard to see at first). Fits true to size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromTampa Bay
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Fabulous Skirt!

PostedMay 28, 2010
Pros: beautifully made and a beautiful skirt
Cons: none
"As soon as this appeared online I put in "saved for later" as I always like to read at least a few reviews to help get a feel for fit, quality, etc. The reviews started coming in and I am glad I waited a bit to order as I took a reviewers advice and sized up one from 4 to 6 and so happy I did. The reviews are such a helpful tool when ordering without the opportunity to try on first. This skirt fits me perfectly in the size 6. A beautiful design, flattering fit, and cut of the straight pencil skirt is a big winner for me. The kickpleat is great once you cut the thread and open up, not hard to walk in at all. It does wrinkle a bit but that is to be expected if you are going to sit in your clothes! I wore it yesterday to a ladies luncheon and received many compliments. I am so very happy with this purchase. The quality is very nice as well. Love the little lined underskirt/slip. Such a nice touch in all my Anthro skirts. An added benefit which I so appreciate with this store! You will love it if this one works for you!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromDallas, TX
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect Fit

PostedMay 14, 2010
Pros: fit, color, buttons, price
"Like some of the other reviewers have said this skirt does run about a 1/2 size small. The 0 was perfect on me though because most anthro skirts are about 1/2 an inch big in the waist. The flower detail is sweet and gives this basic black pencil skirt a pop. There are 2 really cute flower buttons on the waist as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromCharlotte, NC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

LOVE THIS SKIRT!

PostedMay 25, 2010
Pros: beautiful yellow color, super flattering fit
"I overlooked this skirt online as it didn't just jump out at me, but then I saw this hanging in the store on a display...the colors and quality of the skirt are fabulous! I figured I'd try it on, but didn't expect much...I absolutely LOVE it! It fits TTS and I have an odd shape...no hips or rear and normally larger in the waist, but this was super flattering and actually gave me a very feminine shape! I was hesitant if I wanted to pay full price, but it was so flattering that I absolutely couldn't pass this one up!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fennel Flower Skirt
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Adorable!

PostedMay 26, 2010
"I really love this skirt. It is high quality and fits very nicely. Very unique."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromNew York, NY
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

classy

PostedJuly 27, 2010
"this is one of my favorite skirts, I often have a hard time finding skirts Iike at anthro, but this was a winner. fit TTS, goes great with yellow shoes and a black top."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromWashington, DC
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

Perfect skirt

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Pros: good material, great colors, great fit
"I bought this skirt in the Boston shop this weekend. The embroidery is well-done, the colors are very rich, and the cut, for me, was flawless. Fits TTS and will be a very versatile piece for Fall and Winter. Highly recommend it for this price; if it makes it to sale, you've got a real bargain."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fennel Flower Skirt
fromSanta Barbara, CA
Yes,I recommend this product.
Design: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Quality: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0
Average rating: 
5 / 5
5.0 / 5.0

one of Anthropologie's better products!

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Pros: machine washable!
"This skirt is more beautiful in person, hands down. I work in an office and I try to buy Anthro items that work on the weekend as well as in a semi-casual office. This is one of those items. I am very petite with small hips and this skirt (size 0) still gave me an hourglass shape, without making me look too curvy, A-lined for the office.
I didn't mind paying full price for this one, very durable and unique. Lots of small details to make it feel unique.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
See more reviews: prev 1 2 next>>